4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

BeastX
post Feb 20 2020, 08:12 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(projectnew @ Feb 20 2020, 04:25 PM)
guys a laptop 13 inch <3k please recommend.
use for university not gamer
Any laptop w 3500U, 10210U, 1035G1/G4 processor.......< cheapest 4 core ultra portable CPUs

with 2 ddr4 sodimm slots....if you want flexibility to upgrade to 64GB RAM

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 20 2020, 08:20 PM
BeastX
post Feb 21 2020, 01:03 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(singguli @ Feb 20 2020, 08:52 PM)
Any 14 inches laptop with dual ram channels upgradable to 32gb?
Any laptop with at least two DDR4 sodimm slots.... should be upgradable to 64Gb....
BeastX
post Feb 21 2020, 01:16 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Feb 20 2020, 09:43 PM)
Greetings to fellow forumers smile.gif

1. Budget : Max 7K
2. Usage  : university stuff (not engineering, just a commerce student), video editing, work stuff
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : 13 inch, light, very good battery life
To be more specific, Macbook pro is the standard here, meaning the battery life and weight should be on par or better than macbook
Macbook pro can easily fit my needs however I really cant bring myself to get comfortable with its butterfly keyboard. Any suggestion is really appreciated
If you can wait a while....Thinkpad w 4800U processor....
BeastX
post Feb 21 2020, 12:21 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 21 2020, 10:10 AM)
thinkpad with 4800u is not mac standard la (outlook problem.. )
Specifically battery life and weight .... did not mention appearance...
BeastX
post Feb 22 2020, 07:48 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Feb 22 2020, 03:25 PM)
My budget around rm2500
Slim n light weight..1.6kg..ok la
Battery life longer
Need to have display port@hdmi@vga
Faster(ssd@more ram?)
Or usb-c port that has display out..... you'll have to buy converter dongles though DP/HDMI/VGA.... RM10 or so for the 1080p resolution (or 4k@30Hz) ones (more expensive if you want to push 4k@60Hz)

This expands your options.... while the laptop remain relatively slim...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 22 2020, 07:50 PM
BeastX
post Feb 26 2020, 02:40 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ycho25 @ Feb 26 2020, 01:56 PM)
HI all sifu need recommendation for my boy for schooling

1. Budget : below 3k
2. Usage : assignment only
3. Requirements as below

Display: preferably 13/14 inch for 12 years old boy to carry
Battery Life: 8- 10 hours? longer the better
Weight: 1-2kg would be fine
teacher ask for stylus pen for assignment and must be default
storage: at least 256gb ssd
should be 2 in 1 laptop
must have ms office perpetual license
really headache what to choose
Acer spin 5 (SP513-53N-52HJ, i5-8265U)... around 2.8k with whiskey lake processors now.... new model coming soon with Ice lake processors (price should be higher though)...

The new one:

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 26 2020, 02:43 PM
BeastX
post Feb 26 2020, 08:27 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ycho25 @ Feb 26 2020, 07:13 PM)
how about asus zenbook flip 14
Assuming you're looking at the AMD model:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/ASUS-ZenBook-...s.435056.0.html

Though acer's 2017 design with large bezels is not the best looking... it still has a performance advantage against a 3500U (vs 8265U)....but the 3500U will have better iGPU though...

The new 2020 Spin series:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Spin-3-a...e.449311.0.html

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 26 2020, 08:30 PM
BeastX
post Feb 26 2020, 08:32 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(singguli @ Feb 26 2020, 07:06 PM)
For all the new huawei laptop launched 2020 which model Ram upgradeable?
I believe none....
BeastX
post Feb 26 2020, 08:36 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Nightengale @ Feb 26 2020, 06:40 PM)
Hi, I went back to school lately for post-graduate and realise after many years of using office laptop that my own one already kaput in terms of usability.

Budget: 3k and below
Usage:
Primary: Excel/PowerBI/Python - modest data analysis and programming.
Secondary: Indie-game machine - to play decent indie games on the side.
Requirements:
Display: 14 inch, or at least laptop that has 14 inch-level frame. Not too big like those 15 inch gaming laptops.
Keyboard: Good keyboard.
Build quality should ideally be solid. Prefer durability and solid over fancy look and feel.

My own research on the matter landed me on ThinkPad E495 and T495 ( though T495 is pricier by a bit ) - would like to know what other options are good in that range. I was also attracted to Matebook D15 but it's quite big and out of stock anyway.

Also, what are the unseen benefits of E vs T in terms of... stuff? I can't find them to try out at the store, so pretty leceh.
FYI.... New Thinkpads are coming soon....that doubles the CPU processing power....with less/equal power usage... T14, AMDseries....

L14:

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 26 2020, 08:43 PM
BeastX
post Feb 29 2020, 08:59 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Feb 29 2020, 08:19 AM)
Plan to Netflix in bed thou, then need to use a stand I suppose.

I can stay plug in most of the time, battery not an issue. Screen  colour gamut no need high lah, Netflix jer hahaha. Ram non upgradeable Nevermind.
With your budget.... Perhaps 2 in 1....Acer Spin 3 or 5, Asus Flex 14, Lenovo C340....essentially built-in stand w touch display...
BeastX
post Mar 6 2020, 09:16 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 5 2020, 10:46 PM)
Hi guys, I'm having a hard time to find a laptop that suits my needs, mostly for work.
1. 15" size (more is ok if its still thin and lite). thin bezels
2. 1080p is enough. 120/144hz is a plus but not mandatory
3. 1.8ish kg weight or less
4. <2cm thick
5. >=5 hrs battery life on normal use (spreadsheets/SAP)
6.Most importantly full sized keyboard (with conventional numpad, i dont like the numpads on some lenovos y series and illegear raven se)

New lg gram 17 dunno is coming to malaysia or not. New hp spectre x360 15 also dunno is coming to malaysia or not.
how about lenovo c740-15... with the 500nits screen option(not the 250 in the review below)

Good colour accurate screen (500nits) but only 60Hz... good/average keyboard...

Disclosure: My Bias, as one of the first owners on the laptop (in Malaysia)....

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Yoga-C...y.449482.0.html

I you have the budget and want the best variant.... with all the bells and whistle... c940-15(not available from Lenovo MY though):
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Yoga-C...e.447066.0.html

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 6 2020, 09:25 AM
BeastX
post Mar 6 2020, 05:24 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 6 2020, 05:03 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Really appreciate it.

Looks like there are some attractive laptops in the Lenovo Yoga ranges which meets my requirements.

Does anyone know how's the Yoga Slim 7 (15)?
Not bad... ice lake cpu with mx350 dGPU... does not actually do yoga 360... no touch(maybe), no pen input, less bright at 300nits... has more ports though... was just announced in ces2020, also being new there are no additional % discount added to it... it also have TB3 ports...

Also Slim 7 line (14 inch) will be released with the new ryzen 4000 series soon (8 core 16 threads)....

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 6 2020, 05:45 PM
BeastX
post Mar 6 2020, 08:37 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Mar 6 2020, 08:18 PM)
The numlock, /, * and - keys on the top rows. The large + key on the right and the large enter key below it.

Dedicated pageup and pagedown is also a must, but i dont quite mind where its placed as long as it is dedicated, not a secondary function.

I'm willing to stretch to 5k, but then again im not in any hurry.

My company provides me with the HP Zbook 15 which satisfies all my keyboard needs, but its damn thick and heavy.
Full size thinkpad keyboards.... with the switched Fn/Ctrl keys...?

Since you're not in a hurry... standard laptop....I recommend Thinkpad L15... with 4800U processor., no dGPU... should be much less than 5k.... Likely all plastic material, (with a metal lid?)

Personally I'm aiming for 4800HS processor at not more than 5k too...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 6 2020, 09:08 PM
BeastX
post Mar 8 2020, 09:53 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(TheStig123 @ Mar 8 2020, 09:30 PM)
Looking for a lightweight laptop.. preferably with i7, 16gb ram, 512gb ssd and with touchscreen.

Budget around/below RM4k.

Yoga c740 14.... 16GB soldered on, 1.4kg... up to i5 10510u, no dGPU (intel's 620 UHD)

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 8 2020, 10:03 PM
BeastX
post Mar 8 2020, 10:10 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(TheStig123 @ Mar 8 2020, 10:05 PM)
thanks. how's the battery life?

Was looking towards the Illegear Ionic at first actually.. but no reviews available online
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Yoga-C...e.454741.0.html

BeastX
post Mar 10 2020, 06:25 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 10 2020, 03:31 PM)
the ram and storage is the most important. I don't think can get CPU and GPU upgradeable units at RM2k currently, am I right?
CPU... notebooks with desktop CPU... very rare..
GPU... very limited module options, even if it exist.. unless u use external GPU w TB3...

BeastX
post Mar 12 2020, 11:32 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Rillu @ Mar 12 2020, 11:01 PM)
I'm looking for a good laptop with the criteria below to replace my very old laptop and also because I'm considering to take computer science course since I just got my SPM result:

Budget: Below RM 4k
Purpose: School, low tier gaming, youtube
Display: 13'' or 14'', touchscreen is optional
Processor: i5 or i7
Ram: 8GB

Thank you!
You'll need at least 16GB or option to upgrade to higher.... You may want to wait around 1 month or so for AMD's 4000series option/reviews....
BeastX
post Mar 13 2020, 01:45 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Rillu @ Mar 12 2020, 11:59 PM)
No, I don't have preferences on them. I'll do some correction on the ram too.
Ram: 8GB (or higher/option to upgrade)
Thing is this laptop I'm using is too old. Have been using it since 2012 so I wanna get it replaced as soon as possible. It frequently overheats, shut itself down and I have been getting bsod too often lately so I can't really wait anymore.
Thinkbook 14, intel 10510U, 8gb onboard ram leaving one sodimm slot empty (to add another 8gb ram dyi, makes it 16gb), 250nit IPS, Radeon 625 2gb dgpu, take a 512gb nvme ssd, leaving u free to add a sata ssd (dyi)...total RM3.6k before voucher codes/shopback....

Or you can take the Thinkbook 15 option w bigger/brighter screen, full keyboard (numpad)...slightly cheaper... Mainboard should be the same....

My opinion: a numpad will greatly help you in coding...

15:

14:

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 13 2020, 03:07 PM
BeastX
post Mar 18 2020, 12:30 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(uchi78 @ Mar 18 2020, 10:36 AM)
I m looking for 15" laptop with 16gb (min) or 2 slot (dont mind if one slot is soldered RAM)

Budget : around 4k
Weight: no preference
Battery : min 7hours.
usage: AutoCad 2d, microsoft Office, and internet browser. No gaming.

Currently looking at Thinkbook 15 , since Ionic illegear was out of stock and Yoga Slim 7 was only 8gb?

Any other recommendation ?
Thinkpad L15 AMD...
BeastX
post Mar 18 2020, 05:30 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(matakondona @ Mar 18 2020, 04:47 PM)
Looking for 14-15" laptop with 8 or 16GB RAM with SSD. Prefer I7 if possible

Budget :3-4k
Usage: AutoCad 2018, Microsoft Office, Internet Browser
Thinkbook 15... i7 10510, 8gb soldered RAM, DYI another 8gb separately (16GB), 2gb dGPU, IPS, 57Whr battery, 128gb NVMe ssd ...RM 3.3k before voucher discounts

Upgrade ssd yourself or w lenovo's option...

Edit: mistake in pricing

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 19 2020, 01:16 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1916sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:28 AM