Best LCD TV for Astro?
TSkittlsk
Jun 26 2007, 01:54 PM, updated 19y ago

Hi all sifus, I'm a newbie in LCD and am looking to get one soon. I spend 90% time watching Astro so I would like to know the best LCD TV for Astro in town. I've gone through a bit of the previous topics and I know that Astro doesn't look good on LCD but can I know which is the best? I've also spent some time shopping around but the more i shop (with different salesmen suggestions), the more I get confused.... I NEED HELP!!! Thanks to all sifus...
jy14
Jun 26 2007, 02:05 PM
In my opinion, Astro's picture quality is not that good, so, any LCD will be good enuf. Its up to your budget and also depends wat other purpose u plan to use the LCD with. If u wanna game PS3 or Xbox, then better get some with at least 720p. Anyway, enjoy your new gadget
htkaki
Jun 26 2007, 02:07 PM
first of all, what's your budget? Frankly speaking, for Astro viewing, most brands are as good such as Sony, Sharp, Toshiba, Panasonic and Samsung.
xterminator
Jun 26 2007, 02:09 PM
Maybe try sony...ready hd wan la...
enCORe
Jun 26 2007, 02:12 PM
Astro still have lots of artifacts, normal LCD will do
I'll buy HDTV if they support HD transmission,
TSkittlsk
Jun 26 2007, 02:12 PM

hi all sifus, About the budget, of course i guess the cheaper the better but i'm trying to strike for the balance on quality and price. I'm trying to get 40 inch LCD TV so i think it will cost me RM5k at least. Since all brands have similar quality on Astro, I guess the cheapest "branded" LCD TV around is LG? Corrrect me if I'm wrong please. QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 26 2007, 02:07 PM) first of all, what's your budget? Frankly speaking, for Astro viewing, most brands are as good such as Sony, Sharp, Toshiba, Panasonic and Samsung.
htkaki
Jun 26 2007, 10:32 PM
Yes, cheapest would be LG to date. Sony and Sharp are rather 'premium' priced. In the middle, you have Samsung and Toshiba.
All LCD TV is HD ready. It is only whether it could only accept 720p and 1080i signals or Full HD (1080p). However, having said that, 1920x1080 native rez panel is still expensive.
Criptonox89
Jun 27 2007, 01:01 AM
Astro's picture quality seems to be acceptable....It's depends on which types of cables you're using....diffrent cable performs diffrent picture quality and preety significant improvement...
Kidicarus
Jun 27 2007, 03:20 PM
My criteria for a good lcd tv for astro would be one that lets you fiddle around with aspect ratios since everything is being broadcast in 4:3 anyway (There are some exceptions though). So something that lets you stretch to 16:9(10?), crop or show the picture in it's original aspect ratio would be great.
The image quality is going to be low res anyway so it's not going to be the prettiest picture anyway. It'll only shine once you get to DVD picture quality level.
Ngto
Jun 27 2007, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jun 27 2007, 03:20 PM) My criteria for a good lcd tv for astro would be one that lets you fiddle around with aspect ratios since everything is being broadcast in 4:3 anyway (There are some exceptions though). So something that lets you stretch to 16:9(10?), crop or show the picture in it's original aspect ratio would be great. The image quality is going to be low res anyway so it's not going to be the prettiest picture anyway. It'll only shine once you get to DVD picture quality level. I have the LG 37LC2R and it has many different Aspect Ratios for TV dispaly to play with. It can even automatically detect the black borders of widescreen programmes shown on TV and enlarge them to fit the whole screen.
HughieRmX
Jun 27 2007, 09:24 PM
Hmmm ... there are some LCD TV's that comes with the AEM @ Astro Enhancement Mode .. such as Sony.. but when I take a look with my own eyes at Best Denki and Senq .. it seems like nothing much difference compare to other LCD TV's from other manufacturers .. IMHO ..
psp _BOY
Jun 27 2007, 10:12 PM
Astro does not go very well with LCD TVs. Plasma TVs make Astro acceptable, sometimes, some channels look really good I have to say.
Quenox
Jun 27 2007, 10:22 PM

Indeed. Astro on LCD is not so good; in fact, bad. It happens even with very good S-Video cable, there are slightly better in contrast, color and brightness but not really help in sharpness.
This post has been edited by Quenox: Jun 27 2007, 10:23 PM
kaichia
Jun 27 2007, 10:27 PM

Concusion : Plasma TV looks better with astro.  HD ready are crap, better go for full HD like psp boy.
Ngto
Jun 27 2007, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(kaichia @ Jun 27 2007, 10:27 PM) Concusion : Plasma TV looks better with astro.  HD ready are crap, better go for full HD like psp boy.  One of the reasons why Astro look bad on LCD is because the LCD panel is HD but Astro is low resolution. The scaling of the low res pic to fit the HD screen is what makes the pic look bad.
HughieRmX
Jun 28 2007, 07:26 AM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jun 27 2007, 10:42 PM) One of the reasons why Astro look bad on LCD is because the LCD panel is HD but Astro is low resolution. The scaling of the low res pic to fit the HD screen is what makes the pic look bad. What to do ... ? Coz there is still CRT TV users around .. therefore they have to concern about them as well I guess ...  When we are viewing it in a larger resolution .. the picture quality goes worse .. not to mention wide screen option as well ...
piscesguy
Jun 28 2007, 07:46 AM
QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jun 26 2007, 01:54 PM) Hi all sifus, I'm a newbie in LCD and am looking to get one soon. I spend 90% time watching Astro so I would like to know the best LCD TV for Astro in town. I've gone through a bit of the previous topics and I know that Astro doesn't look good on LCD but can I know which is the best? I've also spent some time shopping around but the more i shop (with different salesmen suggestions), the more I get confused.... I NEED HELP!!! Thanks to all sifus... If u spend 90% on astro...might as well get a Plasma TV.
htkaki
Jun 28 2007, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 27 2007, 09:24 PM) Hmmm ... there are some LCD TV's that comes with the AEM @ Astro Enhancement Mode .. such as Sony.. but when I take a look with my own eyes at Best Denki and Senq .. it seems like nothing much difference compare to other LCD TV's from other manufacturers .. IMHO ..  Some sort of mktg gimmick, I wld say. If source is bad, no matter what you do with ur LCD TV (unless u r talking hi-end external video scaler) PQ wont improve much.
yuheng
Jun 28 2007, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2007, 09:20 AM) Some sort of mktg gimmick, I wld say. If source is bad, no matter what you do with ur LCD TV (unless u r talking hi-end external video scaler) PQ wont improve much. yeah. every LCD come with same astro quality, even the enhancer wont do the job well, i would jz dl it 24hours and play on LCD, this is the best choices rather than astro.
TSkittlsk
Jun 28 2007, 02:52 PM

all sifus,
which one will you pick considering the three models below? i can only find these 3 models so far which are under my budget (not over RM6k) and with 40" - 42" screen.
1. Sony 40V200 2. LG 42LC2R 3. Phillips 42TA2800
Appreciate any comments and feedback or any better suggestion.
Thanks a lot!!!