8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

post Feb 13 2008, 02:11 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Feb 13 2008, 12:39 PM)
ok thanks crisswoo. i got it.. so thats mean i must use the spray can one la izzit?

is mr retarder is a must for acrylic paint? coz i've read acrylic paint can use water for thin..
no! But sometimes they apply some retarder mild for hand painting or creating some effect!
post Feb 13 2008, 02:43 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(maxim.Freaks @ Feb 13 2008, 02:20 PM)
retarder is not a must for acrylic...
unless you want to use it for hand painting..
retarder make the paint dry slowly.. so.. it give u enuf time to smoothen and let the paint level before it dries..
I once had experience adding too much Retarder into the paint then after i paint the inner frame part where got the ABS part on it, the ABS part broke!
post Feb 15 2008, 03:12 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Feb 15 2008, 03:03 PM)
i've quote this from anoter forum..
wat is the meaning of no. 4? i thounght inking is using gundam maker izit?
maybe they referring to squeeze the ink out from the gundam marker and paint it with the brush!
Becoz gundam marker does give u the best effect while painting, the paint does not look even and sometime u get to see that there is a few layer of color!
post Feb 15 2008, 05:20 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Feb 15 2008, 04:35 PM)
i know that guy.. but seems like out of stock..

edit: already watch that video.. so enamel paint is really cair izit?
http://afhobby.com/afhobby/bbs/viewthread....&extra=page%3D1
u mean this one is it!
AF got sell! I also brought mine from him!
post Feb 15 2008, 07:01 PM

1,447 posts

Ever since i got Enamel i just dun used those 0.02 pen anymore! Enamel is much faster......at least for me! Just dip and a line is finish.
post Feb 16 2008, 11:07 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 16 2008, 09:21 PM)
err guys i need help here. can anyone tell me where to locate the seller for the thing below? it shows RM45... so i'm sure it's available in malaysia.

i got mine from AF Hobby but dunno still got stock or not?
post Feb 21 2008, 02:24 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Feb 21 2008, 02:07 PM)
Hi i am noob gundam modeller. I just applied stickers to my gundam unicorn.

Need some advice:

1.) I really hate the dry decals because i always mess it up and find it hard to apply in hard to access areas cause only one part will stick and the rest will remain on the sticker sheet sometimes. What's the best way to apply them?

2.) I read that modellers apply Mr Mark Setter to their decal. What does this do? Protect the decal? Does it work for stickers and dry decals too? Where can I buy it?
Ok this is some of my personal advice, for those dry decal tat stick among 2 separate parts, u can first rub the decal on to the part then used the knife to cut them into 2 separate one.

Use Mark setter along with mark softener! to make the decal soft and also stick tighter (without air in between).
post Feb 21 2008, 05:11 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Feb 21 2008, 03:27 PM)
Oops there's a gundam modelling thread as well. I think i will ask there. Thanks for the answers!
sometimes dry transfer decal very annoying and i just ignore them or place them at other places! No one will notice anyway!
Those really small one you can try placing them other place than there.
post Feb 22 2008, 12:11 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Feb 22 2008, 12:01 PM)
removing the scratch then repainting's easy. However the toughest part is trying to get the color to be exactly the same.
lol one bigger issue is will our hobby paint stand the rough usage of handphone!
post Feb 23 2008, 07:37 AM

1,447 posts

Talking about paint scratching how many of you did bath ur kit? I mean wash them using detergent, after that do primer, wait till it dries and spray the paint!

I usually skip the washing part!
post Feb 23 2008, 03:55 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Feb 23 2008, 01:59 PM)
oic thx for the info. ya i know hobbiescorner got.

bout multifilia... how to go? the map provided in the web like not working de... and i dun even know how to go balakong  sweat.gif
Easy lah just go to the Tmn Tamming where u see a Petronas station go straight in until the factory area! It is behind the first 2 role of factory and has a giant board with its name on it!
post Mar 13 2008, 02:15 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Mar 13 2008, 02:06 PM)
i've already painted my gundam with aqueos hobby color set but the brush stroke is too horibble for me  tongue.gif. n wat i've read it must be mix with Mr. Retarder Mild,

just use my cheap gundam for lab rat..
from xl-shop

the question is
1) so which one thinner should i use? n what the different of this 2 thinners? if u try understand the world that i've bold there, there are sumthing wrong izzit?
2) any method to color the eyes area of my strike (1/144 too small for paint)  tongue.gif
bro u need to do some masking before u paint ur kit! It looks....... sweat.gif

ok for ur question the thinner with yellow label are thinner tat already mixed with retarded mild while the blue color one does not.
The eye part tried using some toothpick or needle or other stuff to color it
post Mar 13 2008, 05:20 PM

1,447 posts

lol i forgot to tell him tat part!
post Mar 22 2008, 11:55 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(k33vin @ Mar 22 2008, 11:46 AM)
bro..

should i build the gundam first, then only do the lining? or draw the line first, then only build it?

cheers~
U should snap fit the thing first then examine each part where panel lining is required! Those tat are blocked one u would be required to dissemble tat part to panel line it!
post Mar 22 2008, 08:44 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Mar 22 2008, 08:27 PM)
I guess this is the thread to ask kua:
One of the part in my wing of WZC went missing. I was told maybe can do recast. How to do so? If recast u still need the original part rite. I have only the other side now, and is of opposite shape.

Please help... Wat's WZC without its wing??
wah this is a very advance question (or very ma fan one).......too long to describe but u may seek info in the ZeroG Forum tutorial part!
post Mar 22 2008, 09:43 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Mar 22 2008, 09:38 PM)
whether the recast is possible depends a lot on the part itself as well. what's the part number for the bit that u're missing?
yah this is also a point! If it is just some flat armor part then easy loh! U may even make one out using pla plate if is those joint one! It is near impossible to recast one! Since the material u used would not serve the purpose of ABS joint (either too rough or too weak to hold the darn thing)
post Mar 25 2008, 10:00 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 25 2008, 09:27 AM)
guys..
if using retarder, normally how long the paint can dry?
i'm using thinner, and the paint dry too fast.. about less than a minute..
so need to rush when painting..

any other solution?
just some delay does not mean it will dried up very long! If u did not add any retarded the paint will dry on the instance u applied it (more or less than 5 sec) with retarded it last longer (around 30sec - 1 minute to dried up)!

My personal experience with this stuff aint really good! (It broke my ABS joint after adding too much Retarded Mild) So usually i dun add a lot this stuff (it also make ur paint look lighter like u added a lot of thinner).
post Mar 27 2008, 07:20 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(KoNz3n @ Mar 27 2008, 02:59 AM)
any1 has a link to a guide on painting with gundam markers? I see many people do it perfectly ( no strokes , just like AB ) . And anyone living in KL mind letting me use their air bush? I don't mind paying a fee smile.gif
AB in KL go find AF Hobby! Then is a thread pinned out there showing this info! However u will need to join his member to used the AB!
post Mar 28 2008, 08:35 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(dawghause @ Mar 28 2008, 06:29 PM)
im a newbie here and to model making.
what would happen if u attach an airbrush to something they use on cars?
dun get wat u r asking

post Mar 30 2008, 01:26 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(KyoLee @ Mar 30 2008, 12:06 AM)
there got some type..but as i noe..the highest the number(1000-2000) the fine the sandpaper..i buy the 1000..in set..which quite ok..wan2 buy another set which 2000 (set) bcoz 1000 is rough surface for me...sweat.gif but if u use paint or brush..can close the sanded surface...xD
arent those stuff really expensive! I onli buy hardware shop sand paper! And i can get up to grade 5000! I used 1000 and 2000 onli price is RM1-2 with an A4 size sand paper!

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:37 AM