14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

z3r0717
post Apr 8 2008, 08:25 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

i did posted the link but i didn't say it was fichten foo's hehe...
if u read d then u shud kno... i found tat pre-assemble is quite important after u kno how to do it.. really helps a lot..
z3r0717
post Apr 9 2008, 01:13 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

it's like tat one.. when u kno how to model properly, u keep wanna improve alr.. kenot stop.. once oob, u dunwan to go back to just snap fit alr.. laugh.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2008, 12:19 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

it's from dengeki hobby, 4get which version d.. i have the mag la.. biggrin.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2008, 01:16 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(k33vin @ Apr 10 2008, 01:13 AM)
oh.. icic smile.gif
i didnt know got differences for paint.

So which type of paint you guys normally use?... for painting the gold colour on virture cannon, and the metalic green on exia body and arms?
i never try before, but i did spray Tamiya car 10 years ago  tongue.gif
there's Handpainting, Spray cans, gundam markers and AB.....
Handpainting and AB uses the same types like lacquer(oil-base) and acrylic(water-base) types.
Spray cans are mostly for large areas then u use handpainting...
for u situation, since u're new.. i would recommend u go for gundam markers 1st..
there are gold and metalic green markers available but u'll need to find them
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2008, 01:32 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(k33vin @ Apr 10 2008, 01:23 AM)
ermm...

gold and metalic green markers?!?.. hmm.gif
This sound really good!!!.. but metalic green will be hard to find for marker type.  sweat.gif

Added on April 10, 2008, 1:27 am
bro.. me no expert lar.. spray silver then clear green?
i never heard b4 clear green.. only clear spray got lar.
will go hardware shop to ask about clean green  drool.gif
Thanks for your advice.

btw.. anyone knows where got sell metalic green handpainting?
and what is AB anyway?  tongue.gif
gold marker is easy to find, for green one i have but i bought 1 set only got the green. wink.gif

Dun listen to Myky44 1st, no offense dude..
wat he is telling u is AB. AB stands for Air Brush which i assume u dun have one..
tat's y all the colors he mentioned are for AB which is not suitable for u.
For markers, i kno Cineleisure 1 of them shops do sell 1 by 1 separately and other places usually sell in 1 set..
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2008, 01:40 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Apr 10 2008, 01:33 AM)
>>zero: non taken, cos didn't realise initially he's still new.

>>k33vin: i'll let Zero guide u, he's more pro then me smile.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif me not pro also la.. still learning also..

it is important to kno wat they really wan to ask so tat we could answer them properly as it would lead to confusion which last time i made mistakes.. haha..

z3r0717
post Apr 11 2008, 06:21 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

if u wanna invest AB.. better to invest a good one than cheap.. a good one will last u arnd 10 years...
z3r0717
post Apr 13 2008, 06:10 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

hmmm... i got those from TM la.. small paint plates which is quite useful.. not expensive.. maybe raise price or wat i duno la...
if u're using for paint, can get those ceramic types from shops... but duno where to get them.. laugh.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 14 2008, 11:06 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

hmmm... if it's for aircraft and tanks... i kno a shop very suitable since it's basically base more on those.. it's called Hobby HQ which is located at ampang.. near klcc there.. smile.gif
they sell a lot of those materials..
z3r0717
post Apr 14 2008, 10:39 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Apr 14 2008, 09:58 PM)
Hi, I'd like to ask if anyone knows where can I buy Black Lacquer Spray Paint in KL because I've been to 3 hardware stores and they've all the colors except black.

I have something else to ask which is, I'm not happy with how the gold paint on my MG Strike Freedom (I've already sprayed it with Mat Gold before) and I'd like to spray it with metallic gold instead so is it wise to remove the paint and repaint it? If so, can someone recommend me some good ways to do that? Worse come to worse, I'd have to sell off the model kit and buy a new one......
hmm.. u said from hardware stores so tat means u're using industrial spray cans... y not try Nippon Pylox paint? they have black, flat black, etc...

z3r0717
post Apr 14 2008, 11:27 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Apr 14 2008, 11:18 PM)
Go get one of those Chicken Essense empty bottle. They are good enough for that purpose AND they dont cost you anything. tongue.gif
very true! i used them too but now i dun.. coz they are too deep and i cant mix or get the paint nicely.. laugh.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 15 2008, 12:11 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Apr 15 2008, 12:06 AM)
I was looking for those too but none of the stores I went to has black which is a little odd.... x.x
Do you know of any other stores that carries those too?
if u mean nippon pylox.. i only know 2 places arnd my area.. which is Home-Fix@1U and a hardware shop at centrepoint(opposite KBU college).
EDIT: centrepoint usually has all the colors.. go there better.. i went 1u twice looking for black, no stock doh.gif

This post has been edited by z3r0717: Apr 15 2008, 12:14 AM
z3r0717
post Apr 15 2008, 12:19 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Apr 15 2008, 12:16 AM)
I see, I'll take a look there when I have the time, thanks. BTW, do you know of a good method I can use to draw red panel lines on a black surface? I'm working on a custom colored gunpla and since most of the parts will be black, I'm using red as the color for panel lines in black areas and I want it to be clear and not be camouflaged by the black background.
hmm.. maybe u could try enamel lining which is suitable for ur situation i think
z3r0717
post Apr 15 2008, 12:32 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

nope... only lacquer and acrylic cant mix together.. enamel is after lacquer or acrylic so tat's y is very suitable for panel lining. smile.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 16 2008, 04:47 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

yes, detergent... to clean the kit properly from dust then only prime the kit
z3r0717
post Apr 18 2008, 08:17 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

alwiz build then paint... panel lining is almost the last step
z3r0717
post Apr 18 2008, 09:01 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

u mean transparent part rite?
for me, i just use design knife and cut as clean as possible..
becoz it's not visible to see the nips if u cut it cleanly therefore no nid to sand
z3r0717
post Apr 19 2008, 12:27 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Apr 19 2008, 11:50 AM)
I was wondering if any of you know how to achieve the effect below? The model is actually done by 99FoxDemon(taken from the work in progress and mecha modelling gallery section)

I would like to know how to make the black parts(in this case, the shoulders and the head) shine like that?
normal shine would be just a layer of gloss topcoat but this case, it's different...
if u wan to achieve shine until got reflection, those are usually the same step as the car builders...
topcoat gloss, then u need to put compound, something like tat.. i'm not very clear bout the steps but i can tell u it requires lots of process in order to achieve the glossiness
z3r0717
post Apr 19 2008, 12:28 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Apr 19 2008, 12:27 PM)
Head part tat dude insert a LED inside so it shines! The shoulder u referring to wat? The spike, the armor color, or the inner frame?
He meant the armor parts sweat.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 19 2008, 12:39 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

i kno that compound is used to make ur kits glossy...
1st time heard tat transparent part also can.. not bad not bad

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:49 PM