4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

> SG SMU Lecturer gave all his 169 students A grade, Where can we find such Lecture in Uni?

Newsray
post May 25 2019, 08:43 AM

1,022 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 12:00 AM)
His protest against the bell curve is valid

But to give them all the same score is stupid

He deserves to be misunderstood tongue.gif
Kesian bodoh tak faham maksud bell curve

Memanglah meritocracy, bengap, yang terbaik dapat A, yang terburuk dapat C

Ni lah hasil budaya tongkat ni, camne nak maju, otak kat lutut sebab tu kena pakai tongkat
A curve is stupid because every year the students can be different.

If Lee Chong Wei playing years at peak was to have 20 players of Lin Dan's capability. LCW work rank and performance might be affected.

For a particular good year - a good student might not get an A while
for a bad year - an average student might get an A.

So both were to compete for a job (at least for first filter before interview) - that good student might not get a chance for interview.
Of course both will still get the interview - but chances might be lesser.
In term of bragging right - that would be unfair, haha.
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 09:31 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ May 25 2019, 08:43 AM)
A curve is stupid because every year the students can be different.

If Lee Chong Wei playing years at peak was to have 20 players of Lin Dan's capability. LCW work rank and performance might be affected.

For a particular good year - a good student might not get an A while
for a bad year - an average student might get an A.

So both were to compete for a job (at least for first filter before interview) - that good student might not get a chance for interview.
Of course both will still get the interview - but chances might be lesser.
In term of bragging right - that would be unfair, haha.
Yup

Same applies to employee performance appraisal which is most commonly on a bell curve

But this is nothing new, and everybody accepts the pros and cons of the method

He want to protest, it is his right, and I sympathise with his protest, but his method of doing it is utterly irresponsible, and a disservice to all the students in his class

Padan muka kena public reprimand

P.S. and whatever some jerkoffs may say, it is still a meritocratic process, the grades are given based on ability, nobody is being elevated because of bright future or tongkat or correct skin colour whistling.gif
bonedragon
post May 25 2019, 10:00 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(rollingti19 @ May 24 2019, 11:59 PM)
U is from smu study ibd? If not you are just some old uncle who likes to talk cock only. Probably have a misarable life so come here to talk shit to others.
Why *is* u so triggered?
poooky
post May 25 2019, 10:01 AM

844 posts

This is standardised testing for u. Fact is that once u come out werk in non high lvl stem fields noone going to care ur greds
poooky
post May 25 2019, 10:23 AM

844 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 09:31 AM)
Yup

Same applies to employee performance appraisal which is most commonly on a bell curve

But this is nothing new, and everybody accepts the pros and cons of the method

He want to protest, it is his right, and I sympathise with his protest, but his method of doing it is utterly irresponsible, and a disservice to all the students in his class

Padan muka kena public reprimand

P.S. and whatever some jerkoffs may say, it is still a meritocratic process, the grades are given based on ability, nobody is being elevated because of bright future or tongkat or correct skin colour whistling.gif
He is fighting d good fightin increase awareness of one of d systems flaws. Even if student deserve A they r artificially held back to maintain uni reputation. This is most true these day when errbody can has paper degree. Uni act like cartel n restrict no. Of A given out to inflate d value.

Eduation is zillion dollar industry so ofc d uni quick to act to maintain "high STDs". Watajoke.

alexkos
post May 25 2019, 10:27 AM

2,275 posts

come i give you A. Virtual university.

How many A u want i also give, scare you no money only
Blofeld
post May 25 2019, 10:29 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 25 2019, 10:27 AM)
come i give you A. Virtual university.

How many A u want i also give, scare you no money only
I was told stories that lecturers at your place were instructed to regrade student marks based on bell curve. That happened many years ago.

alanyuppie
post May 25 2019, 10:33 AM

2,834 posts

A is for angmoh. He'll be hailed a hero in local unis here. By the time his action discovered after audit..probably 10 yrs hv pass.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: May 25 2019, 10:34 AM
reed90
post May 25 2019, 10:34 AM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

cukur ada tongkat

owai
alexkos
post May 25 2019, 10:35 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 25 2019, 10:29 AM)
I was told stories that lecturers at your place were instructed to regrade student marks based on bell curve. That happened many years ago.
itu scientific publish ISI thompson SCI index say one.....when large sample, confirm bell curve...or u no believe?
SUSjoe_star
post May 25 2019, 10:37 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Lulz seems like he trying to critique bell curve but epicly fail at the execution.
MAGAMan-X
post May 25 2019, 10:42 AM

764 posts

Fuwah Singapore also got quota man! Let's follow!
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 11:00 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ May 25 2019, 10:23 AM)
He is fighting d good fightin increase awareness of one of d systems flaws. Even if student deserve A they r artificially held back to maintain uni reputation. This is most true these day when errbody can has paper degree. Uni act like cartel n restrict no. Of A given out to inflate d value.

Eduation is zillion dollar industry so ofc d uni quick to act to maintain "high STDs". Watajoke.
Well he, you and others are correct to point out that the system is flawed. But that's the nature of things. There are pros and cons to everything. At this point, despite the cons, bell curve is the best possible method known to mankind, all said and done. Which is why it is also the most used method in employee performance appraisal.

But the way he protest in the end only brings disappointment to his class. He is just making a public protest which has no hope of success, and in the process his students' grades are delayed and they have to go through re-marking, there is emotional disappointment, etc.

Meanwhile he isn’t affected because he is leaving anyway and doesn’t care any more. And obviously he knows his future prospects are not affected by this stunt, that’s why he dares to do it. Plus he gets famous as the Great Rebel, the one who dares to speak up, and he gets the praise for it… at the expense of everyone else of course. Which is super selfish of him because he is the only winner in this story and everyone else is the loser.

Including his students he supposedly "cares" for.

In reality they are sacrificed so that he can get a cheap shot at glory.

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: May 25 2019, 11:00 AM
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 11:02 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ May 25 2019, 10:34 AM)
cukur ada tongkat

owai
QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ May 25 2019, 10:42 AM)
Fuwah Singapore also got quota man! Let's follow!
Lol

Orang meritocratic tak nak ikut, orang tongkat mau ikut

This is nothing to do with tongkat or quota, jangan ingat dunia ni bodoh, malas dan tamak macam Malaysians
MAGAMan-X
post May 25 2019, 11:15 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 11:02 AM)
Lol

Orang meritocratic tak nak ikut, orang tongkat mau ikut

This is nothing to do with tongkat or quota, jangan ingat dunia ni bodoh, malas dan tamak macam Malaysians
Meritocracy is racist!! Capitalism is racist!!!

Let's go with socialism, Communism or feudalism! Those are the best systems there is, look at how awesome Russia and China has become because of Communism!
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 11:25 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ May 25 2019, 11:15 AM)
Meritocracy is racist!! Capitalism is racist!!!

Let's go with socialism, Communism or feudalism! Those are the best systems there is, look at how awesome Russia and China has become because of Communism!
^ lol bodoh Resmi Dutt whatever. Sounds like those fat feminists who anti "shaming" because they weigh 200kg

Ironically we are basically a socialist country

We have all the hallmarks of a Communist system but Malaysia style, that is justified with religion

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: May 25 2019, 11:27 AM
MAGAMan-X
post May 25 2019, 11:28 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 11:25 AM)
Ironically we are basically a socialist country

We have all the hallmarks of a Communist system but Malaysia style, that is justified with religion
We're a capitalist country la, govt has to spend money to acquire companies that eventually becomes GLC, not GCs. that's why we're so racist.
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 11:45 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ May 25 2019, 11:28 AM)
We're a capitalist country la, govt has to spend money to acquire companies that eventually becomes GLC, not GCs. that's why we're so racist.
In a Communist country, the Govt runs the economy via it's GLCs. Economy is mainly decided by Govt decisions which industry to invest in, and the leaders of the industry are usually GLCs. There are few major 100% private players in the market.

Sound very familiar?

Unlike a capitalist country where a Govt has a more hands off approach, of course it does have policies which nudge the country one way or another, but it would not have such a major direct hand in investment etc.
MAGAMan-X
post May 25 2019, 11:48 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 11:45 AM)
In a Communist country, the Govt runs the economy via it's GLCs. Economy is mainly decided by Govt decisions which industry to invest in, and the leaders of the industry are usually GLCs. There are few major 100% private players in the market.

Sound very familiar?

Unlike a capitalist country where a Govt has a more hands off approach, of course it does have policies which nudge the country one way or another, but it would not have such a major direct hand in investment etc.
In commie country, govt OWNS the company, not link with company. The only way for govt not to own the company is if you jilat some commie leaders didi, give him a shitload of under table money, and maybe even allow them to tiap your wife then you get to own your own company.

maestrox_69
post May 25 2019, 11:51 AM

101 posts

agree with prof as student shud all deserve A. same goes when grading subordinate yearly kpi. which translate into increment and bonuses.

and there are quotas to met with company financial situations.

these grading is really difficult bcoz basically some families survival depends on few hands which are not theirs.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >

0.0204sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:48 AM