4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

> SG SMU Lecturer gave all his 169 students A grade, Where can we find such Lecture in Uni?

bonedragon
post May 24 2019, 11:44 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(rollingti19 @ May 24 2019, 11:24 PM)
My family business is earn more than 20k per month. Based on your post u must be never went to a uni before kek. Probably a fat loser in real life based on your username lel.
Kesian whole family business make less than fresh grad ibd analyst from smu
janszmatt
post May 24 2019, 11:49 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(rollingti19 @ May 24 2019, 11:24 PM)
My family business is earn more than 20k per month. Based on your post u must be never went to a uni before kek. Probably a fat loser in real life based on your username lel.
Lol someone’s tercabar have to call in daddy’s credit card to help
azarimy
post May 24 2019, 11:50 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

I've been in a programme with a bell curve. Sure, it would mean out of 14 people in my class, only one qualifies as outstanding.

It also meant one of us WILL flunk each semester.
keyibukeyi
post May 24 2019, 11:58 PM

150 posts

Ka si chan la macha
SUSrollingti19
post May 24 2019, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(bonedragon @ May 24 2019, 11:44 PM)
Kesian whole family business make less than fresh grad ibd analyst from smu
U is from smu study ibd? If not you are just some old uncle who likes to talk cock only. Probably have a misarable life so come here to talk shit to others.
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 12:00 AM

227 posts

His protest against the bell curve is valid

But to give them all the same score is stupid

He deserves to be misunderstood tongue.gif

QUOTE(azhan82 @ May 24 2019, 11:10 PM)
Prof Harney said the guidelines "are really rules - that no matter how many students do well, the number of As is strictly limited to a third of the class". And "artificially restricting their grades on a bell curve" was not his style of teaching, he added.

LEL .. ada kuota A rupanya biggrin.gif
Lai lai lai.. come yell meritocracy .. come come tongue.gif
Kesian bodoh tak faham maksud bell curve

Memanglah meritocracy, bengap, yang terbaik dapat A, yang terburuk dapat C

Ni lah hasil budaya tongkat ni, camne nak maju, otak kat lutut sebab tu kena pakai tongkat
herrkolisch
post May 25 2019, 12:02 AM

216 posts

So if all bodo, the best bodo will be guaranteed an A?
alexkos
post May 25 2019, 12:05 AM

2,275 posts

Get A gooding ma, in the end also work for C student.
hotjake
post May 25 2019, 12:08 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 25 2019, 12:00 AM)
Kesian bodoh tak faham maksud bell curve

Memanglah meritocracy, bengap, yang terbaik dapat A, yang terburuk dapat C

Ni lah hasil budaya tongkat ni, camne nak maju, otak kat lutut sebab tu kena pakai tongkat
I'm very sure azhan82 understands bell curve. He was merely quoting one part and then giving his 2 singkie cents worth of sarcasm I think. Maybe I'm wrong, who knows

This post has been edited by hotjake: May 25 2019, 12:10 AM
TSiSean
post May 25 2019, 12:12 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 24 2019, 11:50 PM)
I've been in a programme with a bell curve. Sure, it would mean out of 14 people in my class, only one qualifies as outstanding.

It also meant one of us WILL flunk each semester.
hmm.gif But then Architecture course, I thought normal to flunk papers?
Or my IPTS Department like failing students.

Heard they need to resit a couple of papers each year. And students literally sleep in Studio.
zacky chan
post May 25 2019, 12:19 AM

its a canadian thing lor....
alwinnng
post May 25 2019, 12:22 AM

4,296 posts

He wants to let people know that there's no point competing

Work hard together better
azarimy
post May 25 2019, 12:24 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ May 25 2019, 12:12 AM)
hmm.gif  But then Architecture course, I thought normal to flunk papers?
Or my IPTS Department like failing students.

Heard they need to resit a couple of papers each year. And students literally sleep in Studio.
My masters was in Virtual Env. Basically computer science with a dose of design.

But yes, it's very normal to flunk architecture. We hold the record of the worst performing programme when it comes to graduating on time laugh.gif
koja6049
post May 25 2019, 12:34 AM

615 posts

Bell curve is the worst thing to happen because I need to give my bad students an 'A' grade sad.gif
KLthinker91
post May 25 2019, 12:42 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ May 25 2019, 12:08 AM)
I'm very sure azhan82 understands bell curve. He was merely quoting one part and then giving his 2 singkie cents worth of sarcasm I think. Maybe I'm wrong, who knows
He's just a racist fucking idiot that's all
CEO 10K a day
post May 25 2019, 01:06 AM

42 posts

lol business school
pikacu
post May 25 2019, 01:25 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

TIL uni grading also bell curved

what the fuck
gogocan
post May 25 2019, 01:30 AM

486 posts

Bell curve practice is damn stupid
TSiSean
post May 25 2019, 07:09 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 25 2019, 01:25 AM)
TIL uni grading also bell curved

what the fuck
Must give Singaporeans and International Students that there is Quotas in Life that people that need to work hard to achieve an A.
This is not a tongkat quota laugh.gif
limeuu
post May 25 2019, 08:03 AM

12,295 posts

The principles of the Gaussian distribution (bell shape curve) is valid only if n reaches a suitable size, and actually represent the general population....

In a cohort of a few students, it is never representative of the general population, and while ploting marks may get a similar curve, it will be a skewed curve.... therefore using it to assign grades becomes arbitrary....

So if this lecturer's cohort actually lies, say on the upper 2SD if a population curve, and he thinks they deserve an A grade, that's not wrong.....

In other words, if his students are all A students, what's wrong with giving them all the A grade accordingly?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >

0.0167sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:29 AM