I'm interested in engineering courses at U.C.S.I

TSWseng123
post May 13 2019, 11:19 AM, updated 7y ago

136 posts

Recently im finding university and im interested in engineering courses. Ucsi seems OK to me. I would like to ask what do people think about this uni. Is it good?
joe_toye
post May 13 2019, 01:20 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Wseng123 @ May 13 2019, 11:19 AM)
Recently im finding university and im interested in engineering courses. Ucsi seems OK to me. I would like to ask what do people think about this uni. Is it good?
One word. NO. Not anymore.
TSWseng123
post May 13 2019, 03:17 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ May 13 2019, 01:20 PM)
One word. NO. Not anymore.
Hmmm... Why said so? Pls tell me more about it
joe_toye
post May 13 2019, 04:22 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Wseng123 @ May 13 2019, 03:17 PM)
Hmmm... Why said so? Pls tell me more about it
I heard that a lot of their staff have left, are leaving or is quite demotivated now due to management change and issues. Other than that, they were an OK university.

This post has been edited by joe_toye: May 13 2019, 04:22 PM
Cyberbully P
post May 13 2019, 09:19 PM

Probation

i am doing engineering in ucsi. The course offered actually are pretty good for engineering program. For lecturers, some good and some bad.
Ckmwpy0370
post May 13 2019, 09:23 PM

3,821 posts

'my niece is studying Pharmacy in UCSI, She did mentioned lecturer in and out but still need to complete it.
joe_toye
post May 14 2019, 10:05 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 13 2019, 09:19 PM)
i am doing engineering in ucsi. The course offered actually are pretty good for engineering program. For lecturers, some good and some bad.
How do you know that the course offered actually are pretty good for engineering program? You have a comparison to others?

Cyberbully P
post May 14 2019, 08:16 PM

Probation

-Choose an accredited high learning institution by MQA
-You need 4years duration of study in order to be recognize by BEM. UK degree is 3years. So, you need to complete one year of master in order to be in BEM. If you are not planning to work in Malaysia, then BEM is not a problem for you. Like my case, i dont plan to work at oversea, so I choose university like UCSI that offer 4 years degree program instead of UK degree program.
-Compare the courses offered which are normally available at the official website, education fair or go and visit the university.
-When you visit the university, go to the engineering department office. Consult with the lecturers or HOD for your particular program.
- If you need more details, Talk with them about the CLO and PLO.
-Last but not least, dont always listen advice from strangers. Try to seek the answers by yourself. Everyone, have their grandma stories if you ask at forum.
joe_toye
post May 15 2019, 10:38 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 14 2019, 08:16 PM)
-You need 4years duration of study in order to be recognize by BEM. UK degree is 3years. So, you need to complete one year of master in order to be in BEM. If you are not planning to work in Malaysia, then BEM is not a problem for you. Like my case, i dont plan to work at oversea, so I choose university like UCSI that offer 4 years degree program instead of UK degree program.
-Compare the courses offered which are normally available at the official website, education fair or go and visit the university.
-When you visit the university, go to the engineering department office. Consult with the lecturers or HOD for your particular program.
-Last but not least, dont always listen advice from strangers. Try to seek the answers by yourself. Everyone, have their grandma stories if you ask at forum.
And another advice - don't listen to people who has one or two posting and encouraging you to join a certain place. It is most likely a marketing staff from that institution.

Please lah - what nonsense - Talk with them about the CLO and PLO. CLO and PLO doesn't make a difference in the quality of a programme. Are you trying to seem legit here - do you even know what the learning outcomes are supposed to do and what the matrix is to map with the PLO?

Go play somewhere else and get your marketing numbers through hard work instead of pretending.
Cyberbully P
post May 15 2019, 03:25 PM

Probation

TS triggered? When kena diao like a kid who cant even survey by ownself then said marketing pulak. Kid nowadays ishh ishh ishh. You yourself that have no idea what you are talking about, kid. If simply cant accept any advices then dont open thread. You butthutt sangat.
Cyberbully P
post May 15 2019, 03:28 PM

Probation

misreferred* my previous reply was referring to white knight joe_toye "who heard a lot of staff leave from a FRIEND". Haha kawan kata taik sedap also go belip la. Simply condem and judge one institution is bad based on wht heard from "FRIEND". really sohai lo
joe_toye
post May 15 2019, 06:25 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 15 2019, 03:25 PM)
TS triggered? When kena diao like a kid who cant even survey by ownself then said marketing pulak. Kid nowadays ishh ishh ishh. You yourself that have no idea what you are talking about, kid. If simply cant accept any advices then dont open thread. You butthutt sangat.
Tsk. Resorting to name calling now? Haha. Wow. So I am a 40+ year old kid? My dear - perhaps you are the one who should grow up. And at the same time - learn how to argue and present facts. I mean - you are supposed to be an engineering student right? Act like one.
joe_toye
post May 15 2019, 06:31 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 15 2019, 03:28 PM)
misreferred* my previous reply was referring to white knight joe_toye "who heard a lot of staff leave from a FRIEND". Haha kawan kata taik sedap also go belip la. Simply condem and judge one institution is bad based on wht heard from "FRIEND". really sohai lo
Tsk tsk. Maybe you should do a little check and see reputation and knowledge wise, who seems to know more.

Right. My knowledge is based in being in this industry for more than a decade and being part of assessment panels who accreditate universities. That and having a network of academics from various institutions including UCSI. I know who has left and their reasons. I don't post those reasons up.

Now please learn your manners and once you finish your studies - then we can debate. Unless you really are a third rate marketing person who doesn't know how to react to facts and start name calling. Grow a pair boy.

You are the one who starting throwing and spewing CLO and PLO without knowing the facts. Tell me - what are the 8 domains that governs the CLOs and tell me what are the nine areas that should determine if a course is approve? Don't know?

Delete your account and go play somewhere else. You are Dismissed, boy.
joe_toye
post May 15 2019, 06:35 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 15 2019, 03:25 PM)
And learn to read first. When did i kena as you so eloquently put it 'diao' by you? Silly boy. Go finish your degree and then you can come and play with the big boys ok?
Startrek
post May 15 2019, 09:38 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 14 2019, 08:16 PM)
Dear Wseng123,

MQA does not accredit Institutions, it only accredit programmes of study.
All programmes that falls under the Engineering discipline needs to comply with Board of Engineers Malaysia's requirement before MQA gives its accreditation (so that you can later register as a Professional Engineer, put a title to your name and potentially charge a lot for your services biggrin.gif ).

BEM has reciprocal recognition agreement with other countries; their engineers can work here and our engineers can work there.

Most engineering programmes has the same core content, there's nothing much to compare about.

If you actually go to a university and talk to the Head of Department or lecturers, what are you gonna ask? I doubt you can ask much about technical stuff as you don't know much and/or can't understand much if they start explaining all the technical stuff to you.

As a student, you should not be concern about the Programme Learning Objectives or the Course Learning Objectives; these are paperwork for the Institution to handle for auditing by MQA or Jabatan Pendidikan Tinggi.
(BTW, Cyberbully, MQA is implementing the new MQF 2.0)

All accredited Engineering programmes has met the required standards; they are all 'good'. The Institutions on the other hand are not always 'good'. Lecturers come and go (the good and the bad).

@Wseng123, which ever Institution that you choose, start with a positive attitude and strive to do the best that you can. If you are a good student all the way, the job will look for you.

If you ask advise in these forums, I hope you know how to filter the replies.

To be successful as a student, the 'secret' is always the same; discipline and hard work will always trump wishful thinking.
(I've handled thousands of students since joining the education line some 20+ years ago and seen my fair share of characters)

iSean
post May 17 2019, 01:41 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Wseng123 @ May 13 2019, 11:19 AM)
If you study Chemical Engineering okay lah.
If like E&E/Mecha/Mechanical/Civil/... please look else where.

You should be surprised how fucked up the Labs are in campus shakehead.gif
Somemore the campus layout is so not suitable for class.

Really Engineering go back study in government university, DEFINITELY NOT MID RANGE IPTA offerings RM 70k / 4 years
Rather let you go to UKM for RM 75k and suffer better than UCSI in general laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
iSean
post May 17 2019, 01:42 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ May 13 2019, 04:22 PM)
I heard that a lot of their staff have left, are leaving or is quite demotivated now due to management change and issues. Other than that, they were an OK university.
You're ex-teaching staff there ah? laugh.gif
iSean
post May 17 2019, 01:54 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ May 14 2019, 10:05 AM)
How do you know that the course offered actually are pretty good for engineering program? You have a comparison to others?
Personally, it is a mixture of good and bad in their engineering lah. It is very luck dependent.
So far, I saw one of my toxic lecturers gotten fired already last year, I felt quite happy (despite I still A for that subject through self study and won't be teaching me anymore)... laugh.gif
Then left 2-3 more questionable ones in my faculty. rclxub.gif

The courses offered here can be said "easily" scored 4.00, when students put in some efforts in their studies lah.
Some of the lecturers are forced to teach subjects, that they aren't skilled to teach is a major problem here.
But sometimes it is a toxic culture for lecturers just die die stick to textbook step by step solutions, without clearly explaining the steps to students... sweat.gif
Exam also .... you know I know lah laugh.gif

But then my NTU/NUS friend from the same field said, in the industry, most of thing you learnt in university is mostly a waste of time.
Atmost you learn is report writing skills and lab operation skills.
iSean
post May 17 2019, 07:41 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbully @ May 13 2019, 09:19 PM)
🤔🤔🤔 You under UCSI Scholarship influence ah?
What Engineering major are you even in here...
se800i
post May 17 2019, 09:47 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(Wseng123 @ May 13 2019, 12:19 PM)
good.... if you are able to pay the school fees.....

0.3308sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:14 PM