i heard from a mechanic that an older 90's car is more maintenance free from trouble than a proton... and he says that proton cars visit the workshop most often
Is PROTON really troublesome?, Share ur experience
Jun 23 2007, 05:36 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
36 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Subang Jaya |
i heard from a mechanic that an older 90's car is more maintenance free from trouble than a proton... and he says that proton cars visit the workshop most often
Jun 23 2007, 05:45 PM
784 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Gombak | Taiping @ Looking Through |
not really....campro engine quite reliable. proton's quite good except for their customer service and QC.
Jun 23 2007, 05:48 PM
pls dont share the power window problem... lets talk about other problems... like rattling sounds... or the parts loose
Jun 23 2007, 05:55 PM
147 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
fren's saga aircond died when he got his car 1st day.
Maybe he is just unlucky but gave me a quite bad image. but shouldnt burn down whole forest just because of a tree newer and higher end model will be better i guess.. |
Jun 23 2007, 06:10 PM
245 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
My old 91' Saga is still running great. Over 500,000KM done already, and not much of a problem. Obviously there are parts that need replacement, but fr the engine, not much.
Guess what, my fuel and tempreture gauge and the whole meter still works fine, unlike the newer iswara/wira which kongs out not even with one year of usage. |
Jun 23 2007, 07:07 PM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kajang |
QUOTE(aizad02 @ Jun 23 2007, 05:45 PM) not really....campro engine quite reliable. proton's quite good except for their customer service and QC. yeap..even tho i'm a bit fcuk proton..but somehow i'm quite interested with campro engine..gen2(exterior design only)..neo. but apparently the qc and interior built quality a bit sad. |
Jun 23 2007, 07:24 PM
133 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
im driving a savvy for almost 2 years... no more oso... ^^
i guess it depends on the luck of the driver getting a good car... but that's not the way to go for Proton... ^^ |
Jun 23 2007, 07:32 PM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
old school cars that runs on carbureted engines without messy electronics stuff are easier to maintain....
Jun 23 2007, 07:54 PM
1,700 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i dunno ar.
my family owned this waja since 2 years ago. b4 tht i read forums and evrybody said is a bad car with wajachestra, power window problem, low power, easily spoilt and etc etc. but so far after 2 years(53000+km) on the road, there is no problem at all!! -my windows working fine -no wajachestra except a bit loud tyre noise -dun find it low power but acceptable -very stable on the road so far sooo good ! it until make me wonder those ppl tht said bad things about proton cars is really own a proton car b4 or other cars companies in msia pay ppl to 'fitnah' proton in forums after they know tht forums in this time of the age really powerful. |
Jun 23 2007, 08:05 PM
1,711 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
A collegue of mine has Waja and its less than 4 years old and his power window keeps malfunctioning after resending it to workshop afer workshop.
I went to service my car a few days back and he had 2 proton cars a Gen2 and Neo with ignition problems and also ECU problems. The guy who had NEO said the proton Service couldnt even solve the problem/. And these were units less than 2 years old. If you have a good working proton car, GOOD FOR YOU, and thank your lucky stars you didnt get some malfunctioning unit like A LOT of unlucky fools I encounter. So no bad-mouthing or fitnah, just by seeing and hear tragic stories related by the more unfortunate owners. Every car manufacturer would assemble at least one faulty or sub-par unit among the thousands assembled. Even my friend had a VIOS with boot problems which was quickly sorted out. But in comparison to Proton, they(PROTON) create too many sub-par units compared with good ones. Which means their factory assembly line QC is useless. GOOD JOB PROTON! This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Jun 23 2007, 08:10 PM |
Jun 23 2007, 08:10 PM
8,415 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Malaysia |
My 2002 wira, power window kong last year. other than that only rattling dashboard. so far, the car not make my head pusing.
Jun 23 2007, 08:15 PM
6,724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Petaling |
true.. most people bashing based on other comment
lets say mr. A having proton lemon car.. then he post on the net.. n all the reader spreading all the words as if they own the car.. |
Jun 23 2007, 08:20 PM
Stories from forums are not to be trusted, get them from your foreman or maybe family members. But I believe a bulk or majority of people get their opinions directly from people who own the car rather like family members or even themselves.
But there will always be soldiers of proton to the defence of this brand. Work hard proton soldiers! Hopefully next quarter, Proton will not be running at a loss profit like the last 3 |
Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM
1,636 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ulet @ Jun 23 2007, 07:54 PM) i dunno ar. Ever cross your mind the minority usually make the loudest noise?my family owned this waja since 2 years ago. b4 tht i read forums and evrybody said is a bad car with wajachestra, power window problem, low power, easily spoilt and etc etc. but so far after 2 years(53000+km) on the road, there is no problem at all!! -my windows working fine -no wajachestra except a bit loud tyre noise -dun find it low power but acceptable -very stable on the road so far sooo good ! it until make me wonder those ppl tht said bad things about proton cars is really own a proton car b4 or other cars companies in msia pay ppl to 'fitnah' proton in forums after they know tht forums in this time of the age really powerful. My savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now. I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems. The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past. Added on June 23, 2007, 8:24 pm QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jun 23 2007, 08:20 PM) Stories from forums are not to be trusted, get them from your foreman or maybe family members. But I believe a bulk or majority of people get their opinions directly from people who own the car rather like family members or even themselves. Thank you, your kind words are noted But there will always be soldiers of proton to the defence of this brand. Work hard proton soldiers! Hopefully next quarter, Proton will not be running at a loss profit like the last 3 This post has been edited by hypermount: Jun 23 2007, 08:24 PM |
Jun 23 2007, 08:25 PM
2,507 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
two of my family cars are proton.a saga and a wira.both are carbie.most of the parts replace are cause by wear and tear like bushing,absorber and etc.FOR PARTS that are not up to quality standards are like the meter panel and power windows.Other are OK.Only the NVH is higher compared to other modern cars today.
Jun 23 2007, 08:28 PM
Jun 23 2007, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM) Ever cross your mind the minority usually make the loudest noise? A family member owns a 1.6xli wira which gear box died in opration in its 5 year, windows have been dying before that. ANother owns a tiara whichs paint started eroding after a few years only. Quality is still the weakness. Only the newer cars show improvement. they have been around since 1985!!! why wait until now to buck up? My savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now. I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems. The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past. Added on June 23, 2007, 8:24 pm Thank you, your kind words are noted |
Jun 23 2007, 08:49 PM
3,160 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KLANG! |
2001 waja...3 power window kondamn
but 1 thing abt power window, when it's close tight, plz ooo plz dun keep pushing that button to make sure it's tight, it wont get any tighter!! for waja, the whole machanism is plastic, so it cant last long, design problem i guest? there is no sensor to stop the power to the motor when the window is close, it still keep pushing if u dun let go the button. so u guys know y waja window always spoilt now? anyway, wear n tear best change with orig parts, if u did change itlah that is. |
Jun 23 2007, 09:17 PM
6,639 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: "New Castle" |
QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM) Ever cross your mind the minority usually make the loudest noise? As much as I want to be prosided, I am turthful as I owned these cars and will tell the probsMy savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now. I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems. The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past. Added on June 23, 2007, 8:24 pm Thank you, your kind words are noted I give you 2 cases, you count how many cases: 1. Bought new Perdana (M) when first launched in 1995. Ordered in March, received car in July. That time colour one kind purple. No black. Only 3 colours I think. july 1995 - dec 2000 - from the showroom, the AC keeps coming out to the feet. No matter what setting you use the AC keeps coming out of the feet. Sent back to SC, SC cannot repair cause no manual from P1 to SC at that time. So this is the case like TVR, sell first worry about defects later. -After 2 years, the metal joining of the front bumper directly below the front light will twist between joints. If it does not twist there will be a gaping hole. Don't believe me look at perdana's 3yrs or older. Sure have that thing. Bumper too heavy? - 5 years on, in east coast have monsoon season. Rain everyday. One day before work, notice back seat like damp. When sitting on the back seat the seat becomes wet. Open the back seat, full of water, open the boot at the spare tyre also full of water. Perdana transformed into portable aquarium. Brought to SC they were shocked. They say the water sap into the metal joint at the rear bumper, below the lights there is this one verticle line. Water goes in there. - Final straw. Open AC the AC sound like elephant. On the fan also the car sounds like an elephant. Can only open AC after 30 mins then no sound. That time perdana like quite executive car, so why making elephant sound until car next to you can hear. So embarassed. Brought to SC, SC say small chip at AC fan, no need to change but where to put your face aa. -Unfortunate events: One day late to work, wear shoes in car, found frog, frog evaded to the driver part then vanished from the foot pedals. Open AC, smells like dead carcass. Went to SC, SC say frog lekat at AC belt. So big the gap is it until from pedals>AC belt. 2 weeks charcoal in car. Conclusion: sold bought Honda Accord 2.0l, which gave 1 prob after 5 years, AC switch not working, brought to Denso, they fixed it. 2. Savvy (M) July 05 - July 07 Great handling car, stupid noise damper. I drive fast but dont want concrete road sound to go into my cabin. Don't believe me go to savoc search what users do to insulate car. Use swimming paddle board at tyre mudguard area. Car handles good but what is the point if 90KM> wind resistance sound comes into the car, engine sound comes after that, then road noise. These noises actually makes me tired to drive the car. Problems all within 10K KM and under warranty - Leaking power steering fluid from connection to pipe. The clip is the same clip used for your pipe hose. SC changed clip, changed hose and top up fluid. -Broken right rear tyre spring/suspension or whatever it is that black rod attached to the tyre. New car broken, fluid coming out. Sc had to order it as they say AMT and M version have different suspension and cannot use the springs. Waited 2 weeks for that. - Defective petrol cover. The petrol cover is round, so in theory when you open it, it will bounce out nicely. On my car, there is a problem with the hinge or something, after few months, the petrol cover will not spring out but will spring halfway and scrape the bodywork of the car. Brought to SC,SC repaired the hinge and painted the car again. Had to wait 1 week for paint to arrive from supplier. - Front wiper washer fluid on one side loose, always want to turn to one direction, but that I corrected myself and so far no problem. Aside from the weird problems I faced with savvy, there are no more probs. If you work inside p1, ask them to put more noise insulation especially the engine bay and the tyre arch area. Conclusion: car sold, don't need it anymore. But on a good note, I have been inside neo, and why neo came out late. I would have gone for that over savvy. That has better build quality than savvy. So, I think its safe to buy new P1 cars, provided its a new model, and waja. I can name defects of the saga, but I only name defects of things I have. Lets see how this thread turns out to be. |
Jun 23 2007, 09:29 PM
534 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
All I can say is depends on your luck... If you are lucky..then you can get a better quality control proton....hehe
Beside, compro engine is kinda reliable... that I dare to say.. |
| Change to: | 0.0162sec
5 queries
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:52 PM |