39 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

Mov_freak
post Jun 15 2023, 02:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Flash (2023)

The movie started with a bang.

It actually looked like a continuation of Zack Synder's Justice League.

The new Flash suit is great!

What stumbled me at the beginning was... Ron Livingston now plays Henry Allen (in Justice League, Billy Crudup played that role).

Just a small stumble mind you... moving on.

What was the main stumbling block for me was

How did Barry learn about the speed force etc?

It was never explained.

I blame the choppiness on the reshoots and I understand there were many...

Overall I do believe it was worth watching.

It is entertaining.

Watch this at the biggest screen you can find.

When the movie works, it works! There are flaws....

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 15 2023, 02:51 PM
skylinelover
post Jun 15 2023, 03:18 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 15 2023, 02:37 PM)
The Flash (2023)

The movie started with a bang.

It actually looked like a continuation of Zack Synder's Justice League.

The new Flash suit is great!

What stumbled me at the beginning was... Ron Livingston now plays Henry Allen (in Justice League, Billy Crudup played that role).

Just a small stumble mind you... moving on.

What was the main stumbling block for me was

How did Barry learn about the speed force etc?

It was never explained.

I blame the choppiness on the reshoots and I understand there were many...

Overall I do believe it was worth watching.

It is entertaining.

Watch this at the biggest screen you can find.

When the movie works, it works! There are flaws....

My Two Sen
Me watch on Wednesday hahaha
Mov_freak
post Jun 15 2023, 07:26 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 15 2023, 03:18 PM)
Me watch on Wednesday hahaha
So did I. Just posted today... sweat.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 16 2023, 10:30 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 15 2023, 07:26 PM)
So did I. Just posted today... sweat.gif
cheh thought i was the 1st in the hype train😂🤣
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2023, 11:49 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 16 2023, 10:30 AM)
cheh thought i was the 1st in the hype train😂🤣
rx330
post Jun 17 2023, 11:44 AM

11,808 posts

dunno I demam or apa, no feel go watch flash....
but Abang say it is entertaining....

watch extraction 2 semalam.... hmm... quite fatigue

skylinelover
post Jun 24 2023, 08:52 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 17 2023, 11:44 AM)
dunno I demam or apa, no feel go watch flash....
but Abang say it is entertaining....

watch extraction 2 semalam.... hmm... quite fatigue
Haha dude laugh.gif I thought both is fine actually laugh.gif

Just wait indy 5 then laugh.gif It should shake up the blockbuster further hahahaha Elemental is shit actually and the numbers say so laugh.gif i guess Disney Pixar fatigue is more serious than Marvel fatigue hohohoho
rx330
post Jun 24 2023, 10:44 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 24 2023, 08:52 AM)
Haha dude laugh.gif I thought both is fine actually laugh.gif

Just wait indy 5 then laugh.gif It should shake up the blockbuster further hahahaha Elemental is shit actually and the numbers say so laugh.gif i guess Disney Pixar fatigue is more serious than Marvel fatigue hohohoho
elemental got those lbgt elements ar?

wait on Disney + then
skylinelover
post Jun 29 2023, 03:53 PM

11,244 posts

Who is up for dial of destiny laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Today opens but i only able 2 watch on Sunday sweat.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 24 2023, 10:44 AM)
elemental got those lbgt elements ar?

wait on Disney + then
Subtle yes Obvious no laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 29 2023, 03:54 PM
Mickey C
post Jun 29 2023, 04:49 PM

616 posts

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (2023) - Hey, I really enjoyed this one.. rclxms.gif
The Flash (2023) - Fun and entertaining rclxms.gif
Cold Pursuit (2019) - not good enough
Traffik (2018) - inspired by true event.. !!!!! hmmm looking forward to watch "Sound of Freedom"
Hyena Road (2015) - Canadian war drama, great story. Based on true story..........
Den of Thieves (2018) - wow, shooting scene is awesome. thumbup.gif
The Dark Tower (2017) - good movie, I like.. icon_rolleyes.gif
It Stains the Sands Red (2016) - not my kind of movie.... bye.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Jul 30 2023, 03:15 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 29 2023, 08:32 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

The first arch is 100% Indiana Jones.

It was entertaining!!!

When the second arch started, we are pulled back to reality... Indiana Jones is in his 80s... and it shows...

Harrison Ford had made a success of playing loveable scoundrels, namely in Star Wars and Indiana Jones.

Also in the second arch, we are introduced to Phoebe Waller-Bridge as Helena Shaw.

The whole movie from this point is trying very hard to make the audience love her as a loveable scoundrels....

It is a hard sell....

The last and sad thing is, the MacGuffin in this is also a hard sell.

Long story short, this is slightly better then Kingdom of the Crystal Skull and have to add, it is not nearly as good and the first three...

On last thing I also learn in this movie that to never offend Steven Spielberg, you won't believe what happened to Mutt Williams... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif

My Two Sen
rx330
post Jun 30 2023, 09:07 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 29 2023, 08:32 PM)
Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

The first arch is 100% Indiana Jones.

It was entertaining!!!

When the second arch started, we are pulled back to reality... Indiana Jones is in  his 80s... and it shows...

Harrison Ford had made a success of playing loveable scoundrels, namely in Star Wars and Indiana Jones.

Also in the second arch, we are introduced to Phoebe Waller-Bridge as Helena Shaw.

The whole movie from this point is trying very hard to make the audience love her as a loveable scoundrels....

It is a hard sell....

The last and sad thing is, the MacGuffin in this is also a hard sell.

Long story short, this is slightly better then Kingdom of the Crystal Skull and have to add, it is not nearly as good and the first three...

On last thing I also learn in this movie that to never offend Steven Spielberg, you won't believe what happened to Mutt Williams... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif

My Two Sen
@skyline yipeee, I see this Sunday my dad free boh, bring him go watch

yea.. I read about Hutt Williams.... hahahahah tabik
skylinelover
post Jul 2 2023, 11:05 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 30 2023, 09:07 AM)
@skyline yipeee, I see this Sunday my dad free boh, bring him go watch
Haha nice

I heading tomorrow with my 70+ age parents laugh.gif rclxms.gif
rx330
post Jul 3 2023, 01:05 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 2 2023, 11:05 AM)
Haha nice

I heading tomorrow with my 70+ age parents laugh.gif rclxms.gif
same here

anyway I watched liao, the deaging , especially the eyes, got those polar express feel hahahahaha
especially the close ups on indy

female lead not very alluring....
Mov_freak
post Jul 6 2023, 07:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Insidious: The Red Door (2023)

Director: Patrick Wilson

Patrick Wilson (who plays Josh Lambert) is directing this? Really? Can he direct?

We are getting ahead of ourselves.

Although this is the fifth movie in this movie series, it is actually a direct sequel to Insidious 1 & 2.

It does take place 10 years after Insidious 2.

All the kids are bigger sweat.gif

The first part of the movie really shows off Patrick Wilson as a director.

It is obvious that the movie had been storyboard (pre-viz) I cannot fault (personally I would have added an additional setup scene, but I ain't no director) the first act!

My, how Ty Simpkins had grown.

It is a shame we may not get to see him as the next Iron Man in MCU because it is now M-SHE-U... sweat.gif

The frst two acts were great.

I would have added a little to the third act

There are complains online about it being boring. I admit same parts of the second and third acts could have been trimmed and overall I thought the movie was a tad short!

If you like the first and second Insidious, chances are you will like this!!

I know I did!

That my friends is, My Two Sen

Ps: There is a pretty kickass cover of Shakespeare Sisters ~ Stay by Ghost (ft. Patrick Wilson) at the end of the movie.

Enjoy smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 7 2023, 06:40 PM
Mov_freak
post Jul 12 2023, 12:47 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One (2023)

Now, this looks like a 300 million dollars production.

Kudos to Tom Cruise, for showing the industry how to spend close to 300 millions and having it show on screen!!

Tom Cruise seems to have conquer every movie genre, Action, Drama, RomCom.

The only genre he had fail to make an impact on it... Horror!!! sweat.gif

This movie is action pack.

Action pack to the gills.

Will four huge movies bombing at the Box Office (Little Mermaid, Elementals, The Flash and Indiana Jones 6) summer blockbusting looks, to borrow a term from the current generation seems.... meh!

Well based on what I had just watch, this movie may make 1 billion, worldwide. A true blue summer blockbuster!!!

It is NOT flawless.

The positives far exceeds the negatives.

I do not read up on movies I look forward to watch, so this movie had several surprises in stored for me.

There are two things that I may nitpick on, namely,

Tom Hollands recently lamented that why did the industry tout Tom Cruise's Top Gun 2 reviving cinema going, when his Uncharted brought in 400+ millionin the same year.

Kid, watch this movie. You still got ways to go...sweat.gif

That's it, that's My Two Sen.
skylinelover
post Jul 13 2023, 01:10 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 12 2023, 12:47 AM)
Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One (2023)

Now, this looks like a 300 million dollars production.

Kudos to Tom Cruise, for showing the industry how to spend close to 300 millions and having it show on screen!!

Tom Cruise seems to have  conquer every movie genre, Action, Drama, RomCom.

The only genre he had fail to make an impact on it... Horror!!! sweat.gif

This movie is action pack.

Action pack to the gills.

Will four huge movies bombing at the Box Office (Little Mermaid, Elementals, The Flash and Indiana Jones 6) summer blockbusting looks, to borrow a term from the current generation seems.... meh!

Well based on what I had just watch, this movie may make 1 billion, worldwide. A true blue summer blockbuster!!!

It is NOT flawless.

The positives far exceeds the negatives.

I do not read up on movies I look forward to watch, so this movie had several surprises in stored for me.

There are two things that I may nitpick on, namely,

Tom Hollands recently lamented that why did the industry tout Tom Cruise's Top Gun 2 reviving cinema going, when his Uncharted brought in 400+ millionin the same year.

Kid, watch this movie. You still got ways to go...sweat.gif

That's it, that's My Two Sen.
Haha June 2023 is the worst summer ever in the history of mankind laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 21 2023, 11:26 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Oppenheimer (2023)

I cannot talk about Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer, without talking about Roy Orbison: Black and White Night (1988). This intimate concert of his had Tom Waits, Jennifer Warnes, J.D. Souther, Jackson Browne, k.d. lang, Elvis Costello, Roy Orbison, T-Bone Burnett, Bonnie Raitt, Steven Soles, Bruce Springsteen, playing instruments and singing backup!!!

Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer has Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Robert Downey Jr. & Matt Damon as "leads" and have to add followed by Alden Ehrenreich, Jason Clarke, Josh Hartnett, Alex Wolff, Josh Zuckerman, Florence Pugh, Dane DeHaan, Josh Peck, Jack Quaid, Rami Malek and Casey Affleck (some in blick and you'll miss them) in small roles.

I don't think anyone else in Hollywood now would have the clout to attract such an assemble of talents to be in his/her movie!!!

Could Christopher Nolan has single handedly put Hollywood back to work? laugh.gif

I am getting ahead of myself.

First and foremost, get you head in the right frame of mind before heading into this movies.

This is a dialogue-ee and drama driven movie.

You have to have a rudimentary understanding of World War II, the aftermath of the nuclear bombing of Japan and the Red Scare in the States during the 50s. Otherwise, you will be

A) Bored
B) Lost
C) Both the above.

I honesty know more about Einstein and Stephen Hawkins compared with Oppenheimer.

Nolan seem to be geniunely want to unfold this persons story to the world as "honestly" as he possible can.

Every single actor brought their A game.

Robert Downey Jr. is flexing his acting muscle like nobody's business showing he can be more then a assholey-wiz billionaire.

Pushing practical effect to display a nuclear explosion (some fans speculated his actually detonated a really nuclear bomb for the shot sweat.gif) is no easy feat!

I whole heartedly applaud him for this work.

My concern is, are there alot more people who would do the same?...

My Two Sen.
skylinelover
post Jul 23 2023, 04:24 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 21 2023, 11:26 AM)
Oppenheimer (2023)

I cannot talk about Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer, without talking about Roy Orbison: Black and White Night (1988). This intimate concert of his had Tom Waits, Jennifer Warnes, J.D. Souther, Jackson Browne, k.d. lang, Elvis Costello, Roy Orbison, T-Bone Burnett, Bonnie Raitt, Steven Soles, Bruce Springsteen, playing instruments and singing backup!!!

Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer has Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Robert Downey Jr. & Matt Damon as "leads" and have to add followed by Alden Ehrenreich, Jason Clarke, Josh Hartnett, Alex Wolff, Josh Zuckerman, Florence Pugh, Dane DeHaan, Josh Peck, Jack Quaid, Rami Malek and Casey Affleck (some in blick and you'll miss them) in small roles.

I don't think anyone else in Hollywood now would have the clout to attract such an assemble of talents to be in his/her movie!!!

Could Christopher Nolan has single handedly put Hollywood back to work? laugh.gif

I am getting ahead of myself.

First and foremost, get you head in the right frame of mind before heading into this movies.

This is a dialogue-ee and drama driven movie.

You have to have a rudimentary understanding of World War II, the aftermath of the nuclear bombing of Japan and the Red Scare in the States during the 50s. Otherwise, you will be

A) Bored
B) Lost
C) Both the above.

I honesty know more about Einstein and Stephen Hawkins compared with Oppenheimer.

Nolan seem to be geniunely want to unfold this persons story to the world as "honestly" as he possible can.

Every single actor brought their A game.

Robert Downey Jr. is flexing his acting muscle like nobody's business showing he can be more then a assholey-wiz billionaire.

Pushing practical effect to display a nuclear explosion (some fans speculated his actually detonated a really nuclear bomb for the shot sweat.gif) is no easy feat!

I whole heartedly applaud him for this work.

My concern is, are there alot more people who would do the same?...

My Two Sen.
This exactly like 1994 summer with big arthouse titles like Forrest Gump Pulp Fiction ya know laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 24 2023, 11:12 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 23 2023, 04:24 PM)
This exactly like 1994 summer with big arthouse titles like Forrest Gump Pulp Fiction ya know laugh.gif rclxms.gif
I wouldn't exactly call Barbie... Art House... Though the buzz it is getting is a phenomena... sweat.gif

39 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.26    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:48 PM