5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PlayStation 5 discussion, RM2299 /RM1869, 11/12/2020 MY Launch

TSgreyshadow
post Apr 18 2019, 09:55 AM, updated 6y ago

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Updated 11/11/2020

Official PS5 FAQ
https://blog.playstation.com/2020/11/09/ps5...e-ultimate-faq/

Price = MYR 1,869 FOR PS5 DIGITAL EDITION, AND MYR 2,299 FOR PS5 WITH ULTRA HD BLU-RAY DISC DRIVE

M'sia launch date : 11 Dec 2020

CPU: x86-64-AMD Ryzen™ “Zen 2”, 8 Cores / 16 Threads, Variable frequency, up to 3.5 GHz

GPU: AMD Radeon™ RDNA 2-based graphics engine, Ray Tracing Acceleration, Variable frequency, up to 2.23 GHz (10.3 TFLOPS)

System Memory: GDDR6 16GB, 448GB/s Bandwidth

SSD: 825GB, 5.5GB/s Read Bandwidth (Raw)

Optical Drive: Ultra HD Blu-ray (66G/100G) ~10xCAVBD-ROM (25G/50G) ~8xCAVBD-R/RE (25G/50G) ~8xCAVDVD ~3.2xCLV

PS5 Game Disc: Ultra HD Blu-ray, up to 100GB/disc

Video Out: HDMI™ OUT port, Support of 4K 120Hz TVs, 8K TVs, VRR (specified by HDMI ver.2.1)

Audio: “Tempest” 3D AudioTech

Dimensions: PS5: Approx. 390mm x 104mm x 260mm (width x height x depth)(excludes largest projection, excludes Base)
PS5 Digital Edition: Approx. 390mm x 92mm x 260mm (width x height x depth)(excludes largest projection, excludes Base)

Weight: PS5: 4.5kg, PS5 Digital Edition: 3.9kg

Power: PS5: 350W, PS5 Digital Edition: 340W

Input/Output: USB Type-A port (Hi-Speed USB)USB Type-A port (Super-Speed USB 10Gbps) x2, USB Type-C® port (Super-Speed USB 10Gbps)

Networking: Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T)IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, Bluetooth® 5.1

Cili sos:
https://blog.playstation.com/2020/09/16/pla...ray-disc-drive/

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Nov 11 2020, 11:58 PM
TSgreyshadow
post Apr 18 2019, 10:15 AM

1,844 posts

well, very typical of Sony

we don't see any innovation in the next gen console

everything is just faster & prettier & bigger

But I applaud them on the usage of the high speed SSD, instead of just putting in a normal SSD. It seems the high speed SSD is a lot more faster than those currently available in PC market, Spiderman loading time decrease from 15s to less than 1s is a great feat. I hope no more long waiting/loading time in the new PS5 games to come.
But using SSD also gonna be a obstacle as well, it's still relatively expensive now(yes, it's getting cheaper) in dollar per gig, so I expect Sony won't be throwing in a 1Tb high speed SSD, probably a hybrid system, a smaller SSD for game loading, and a backup 1Tb or more normal HDD for game storage, similar to PC's practice.

On the prettier part, faster GPU with ray tracing, more realistic games, more eye candies, nothing much to look forward to as gamers beside prettier games, but for the dev it's a big deal, it seems ray tracing is easier to do and less GPU intensive compared to the traditional rasterization.

and 8K? 8K display is rare, and uncommon, not to mention finding a 8K content to go with it, the progression from 4k to 8k is extremely slow. I doubt it gonna kick off during PS5's time.

TSgreyshadow
post Apr 18 2019, 01:27 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Apr 18 2019, 11:30 AM)
There a few other things which I’m hoping for.
1. Backwards compatibility with PS4 accessories. Including the dual shock 4. I’ve several controllers/joysticks, for them to be obsolete is quite a waste of money.

2. Support for external HDD. I hope they won’t remove this feature as existing PS4 has it. This is important as I doubt there will be a cheap 2TB High speed ssd model.

3. Same PS+ subscription. It’ll be pretty shitty if PS5 requires a higher end subscription model.

4. noise level. My 2 ps4, OG and the pro is nearly as loud as my vacuum cleaner. I hope this can be as quiet as the Xbox one S/X.
1. Doubt so, all this while DS aren't backward compatible at all, except the wand, so I think it will be the same with DS5, don't forget it's Sony, they'll be capitalizing on the selling the new accessories like DS5 kau-kau laugh.gif
But I'm hoping for longer batt life, DS4 has the poorest batt life in all 3 current gen consoles
I hop they'll remove some of the "useless" feature of DS4, like the mini speaker and the touch pad (hardly any games utilized them anymore), but since they are going for backward compatible, guess they'll be staying

2. External HDD support should be still there, like you said, no way they gonna throw in a big capacity high speed SSD

3. Should still the same, 2 PS4 games & 2 PS5 games as monthly IGC perhaps?

4. New Pro is quieter, it's more of their own manufacturing issue, my Pro's CPU was found without full thermal paste (inferior paste also) coverage, I reapplied and it's not as loud as before.

TSgreyshadow
post Apr 22 2019, 08:31 AM

1,844 posts

but I'll doubt there gonna be 100% backward compatibility

take XB1 example of X360 games backward compatibility, it's not all are compatible, MS still need to work on the older games to make it compatible

Big games from major studio or Sony's own pretty much will be guaranteed backward compatible, but smaller games from smaller studios? don't bet on it
TSgreyshadow
post Apr 22 2019, 04:25 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Apr 22 2019, 04:09 PM)
I will respect Sony if PS5 is backward compatible with PS3.
I will respect more if existing PS3 digital games is directly useable on PS5 just like what Microsoft did with Xbox one.
What MS did with XB1's backward compatibility is a very diff case compared to PS3

For PS5, that's very very unlikely due to architect difference between PS3 and PS4/PS5
Doubt Sony gonna invest in developing an PS3 emulator just to have backward compatibility for PS3 games

TSgreyshadow
post Apr 24 2019, 09:34 AM

1,844 posts

future gen gaming will be GaaS (Game as a Service) based in cloud, there's no escape from it as time goes by and the tech matured

MS released a dickless diskless XboxOne, Google is already going ahead with it's Stadia, while Sony already had it's PS Now years back

So I won't be surprised if PS Now will be available worldwide when PS5 is launched

Who knows? we might even get different tier of PS+ subscription, like PS+ Silver just for online gaming, PS+ Gold for online + IGC, and PS+ Platinum for online + IGC + PS Now?

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Apr 24 2019, 09:36 AM
TSgreyshadow
post Aug 29 2019, 01:34 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 29 2019, 01:29 PM)
Hopefully Sony don't come out with a PS5 Pro bullshit again this time
Judging from Sony past track records?
I'll bet you they sure will! laugh.gif
another sure thing is there gonna be PS5 Slim laugh.gif
TSgreyshadow
post Oct 9 2019, 10:37 AM

1,844 posts

since they will give you the choice of options for modular installation like multiplayer or campaign only, don't expect the SSD to be too big
I would expect the standard spec comes with maximum 500Gb SSD only
or even 256Gb if they decided to be cheapskate about it

and for the type of the SSD? I'll bet it gonna be a PCIE 3.0 x4 M.2 NVME SSD in order to bring the cost down
but who knows, it could be a faster & more expensive PCIE 4.0 x8 M.2 NVME SSD? hmm.gif

TSgreyshadow
post Jan 7 2020, 12:28 PM

1,844 posts

meh announcement, nothing that we don't know yet doh.gif

TSgreyshadow
post Jan 8 2020, 01:30 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jan 8 2020, 01:11 PM)
Hi gamers. Would like to know your opinion about TV or PC monitor for PS5.

Is HDMI 2.1 crucial for the tv/monitor for PS5?

If yes, might hold off tv purchase as 90% of tv doesn't support HDMI 2.1 and oled tv is expensive
unless you're aiming for top of the range, flagship TV models, don't bother to look for HDMI 2.1 in normal TV range
native refresh rate for most 4K TVs are 60Hz only, you won't get any benefits even it came with HDMI 2.1

and for monitor, 4K monitors are very expensive as well, a 4K/144Hz monitor still pretty rare nowadays in M'sia

IMO, any mid range branded 4K TV should be good enough for PS5, aim for Samsung, LG or Sony
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 15 2020, 09:01 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 14 2020, 07:08 PM)
The thing is Sony is skipping E3 again urgh..
E3 is dying anyway, a lot of major brands are skipping E3

also could be due to MS is very likely to showcase their new XSeX with a playable demo unit while Sony isn't ready to showcase PS5
joining E3 without a PS5 while Xbox has a playable demo is gonna be a disaster for Sony
no point joining MS in the pissing contest when they're not ready, also could be one of the marketing tactics, wait for MS to announce their plan first only then reveal their own plan to counter it

just wait for TGS in Sept, I think there should be a playable demo set by then, with an infinite long queue to it

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jan 15 2020, 09:06 AM
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 15 2020, 10:32 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 15 2020, 09:34 AM)
E3 is still a thing like it or not. People skipping yet they still have their own show during the time of E3, says that E3 is still relevant. If it isn't then they should stop having something to show during E3 haha. Sony just has nothing to show.

Personally I think Sony is way behind this time. They aren't ready to show shit and I have a feeling it might just gonna be delayed as well. Personally best to wait after a year or so, see how thing goes. I just feel Xbox is way ready this time after Xbone doing so bad, but exclusive wise especially JP games, they aren't on par, so for me no point also getting on Xbox, get a PC and could still enjoy the exclusives haha.

It's just bad skipping E3. But yes TGS sounds better, especially for Sony.
they already committed to this year end holiday launch for PS5, they can't afford a delay, else they'll face a major shit storms from both fans & investors :lol:
if they missed the year end holiday sales rush, the next possible launch date gonna be somewhere in march 2021

if they still have nothing to show, or at least a physical console look after E3, we can be pretty sure Sony is having some problem there
or maybe they just wanna avoid another "boomerang controller" fiasco like last time laugh.gif
TSgreyshadow
post Mar 18 2020, 11:45 AM

1,844 posts

Xbox Series X spec is a beast
lets see how Sony can counter it
TSgreyshadow
post Mar 19 2020, 05:17 PM

1,844 posts

Consoles in RPG role

Nintendo Switch : Wizard
Microsoft Xbox One Series X : Warrior
Sony PlayStation 5 : Rouge
TSgreyshadow
post Mar 20 2020, 10:42 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 19 2020, 11:49 PM)
Wonder why they don officially introduce in malaysia.. make no sense at all
bcos microsoft already abandon the Asia console market
if they can't do well in Japan & HK, which is main market in Asia, no point they launch is elsewhere too

TSgreyshadow
post Apr 8 2020, 10:33 AM

1,844 posts

https://blog.us.playstation.com/2020/04/07/...-playstation-5/

So it won't be a DS5, but DualSense

With all those battery eating stuffs they've thrown in there, don't think it gonna have a better battery life than DS4

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Apr 8 2020, 10:34 AM
TSgreyshadow
post Apr 8 2020, 10:38 AM

1,844 posts

with no front facing light, so basically all PS Camera games that utilize the light tracking of DS4 is not backward compatible on PS5
there could be a possibility that PS Camera or even PSVR is not compatible with PS5, maybe we'll see a new PSVR2 in future also? hmm.gif

the touchpad & the speaker on the DS4 is waaaaaay under utilized anyway, I can't think of any recent games that actually used those two features, IMO Sony should have scrapped those two features in DualSense

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Apr 8 2020, 10:41 AM
TSgreyshadow
post May 23 2020, 10:47 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ May 23 2020, 05:46 AM)
Rumor mill: PS5 will have Konami's Silent Hill reboot (industry insiders talk) and Gran Turismo 7 (leaked logo from virtual cockpit maker's Instagram).

Also, pre-order starts June, PS4 Spider-Man will be ported with haptic feedbacks, DS5 controller will come in all black. One more thing is a new PS5 headset to take advantage of PS5 audio.
LOL, the GT7 logo already proven to be a boo boo done by the cockpit maker's marketing team
don't get your hope high up so fast
TSgreyshadow
post May 30 2020, 12:13 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ May 29 2020, 11:44 PM)

1 hour of game showcase for the PS5 base on the PS blog post https://blog.playstation.com/2020/05/29/you...-playstation-5/

Please put a low bar on a console design reveal, even more on pricing and release date.
won't have any expectation at all

doubt they gonna reveal the console design & pricing now

probably they'll play that game demo from unreal engine 5, spider man again, or Last of Us II
or some of the newer game that's in development like AC: Valhalla
TSgreyshadow
post Jun 6 2020, 01:11 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Edward_Ng @ Jun 6 2020, 06:53 AM)

not sure if i am mistaken or what not. been follow closely with PS5 news i thought PS4 compatibility will be there and clarify by Sony in their Blog.

Sony SSD is something huh..even PC master race channel .........

Linus from LTT sometimes can be an ass if you've watched his channel long enough
but he did come clean by apologizing and admitting his own mistake, unlike some...

anyway, PS5 SSD undoubtedly is fast, fastest in its class is correct,
but fastest in the world is not, I wonder who actually quoted that?

PC have to manage so many stuffs at a time, especially on MS Windows PC, and please don't start on the mac vs windows again, that's another war altogether cool2.gif

unlike PC, consoles parts are fixed, there aren't as many components and drivers to managed, like in the video, they can just build a special customized chip just to make the SSD as efficient as possible by utilizing their console game engine/api or whatsoever, PC have to be "generic" to be able to run all of the applications/games

I'm a gamer, gamer doesn't discriminate console or PC, I played them all icon_rolleyes.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0737sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:15 AM