LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

isr25
post Oct 6 2021, 08:18 AM

1,263 posts

Hi blurjoey, good to see you still providing great advice as the resident LYN Dashcam expert. I'm considering to change cars at the end of this year / early next year, and upgrading my current Viofo A129. Do you have a suggestion on the best replacement for this? I'm ok with 2/3ch. I'm currently considering both the A129 Pro Duo (for 4K) and A139 (for internal camera).

Are there any other dashcam that you also recommend in considering? Thanks!
isr25
post Oct 6 2021, 11:02 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 6 2021, 09:11 AM)
Can consider the new Viofo T130 3CH as newer specs than the A139. A129 Pro is a good choice for 2CH.
TQ boss! will check them out

QUOTE(Chrix @ Oct 6 2021, 10:41 AM)
please let me know if your letting it go for a very generous (like the man you are) price
Will do when I do get my new car smile.gif
isr25
post Jan 24 2022, 08:17 AM

1,263 posts

Hi blurjoey - is your recommendation for dashcam is the same?

2 Cam - A129 Pro Duo
3 Cam - T130

Still undecided which to go for this time, but definitely either 2 cam or 3 cam.

Also for the 4K sensor of the A129 Pro Duo - is it better to record at 4K 30fps or 2K 60fps?

Thanks!
isr25
post Jan 24 2022, 09:26 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 24 2022, 08:35 AM)
Actually, the A129 Pro is a native 4K sensor, so better to record in 4K. You can look at the newer A129 Plus which is 2K.

3CH I see is harder to sell in Malaysia.
Thanks! https://www.vortexradar.com/2020/10/viofo-a...parison-review/ just seeing this review after your comment. Seems like the 4K 30fps is better than the smooth 2k 60fps.
isr25
post Feb 24 2022, 08:01 AM

1,263 posts

Hi sifu blurjoey. Installed the Viofo A129 Pro Duo around 2 weeks ago. Just wanted to ask if the quality of the video for A129 is normal for dark / night recording. Using H265, Maximum Bitrate, WDR off, no CPL. Quite a bit of noise visible in the video.

Tried installing CPL to improve glare, but there seems to be a visible rainbow halo on the top left corner of each video - I installed window tint, and I read that this may be the case why it's happening. Removed the CPL and the rainbow halo effect is gone.
isr25
post Apr 27 2022, 07:51 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Apr 27 2022, 06:29 AM)
Hi all, if I'm installing dashcam in a car but windscreen pecah, is it easy to get replacement electrostatic sticker and 3M tape (the latter I guess hardware store can buy, the former?)
For Viofo

For 70mai

Looks like quite big for generic use
isr25
post Jun 15 2022, 09:06 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Jun 14 2022, 10:26 PM)
Any way to reduce reflection/ glare? My rear camera have terrible reflection… hard to watch the footage.
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 15 2022, 12:02 AM)
CPL filter if got.

Use a matte black mat at the rear to reduce reflections.
But if you are using window tint, the CPL will generate rainbow effect in the footage - even worse than the reflections. Some window tint is worse than the other, so your mileage may vary. I took off my CPL filter and just learn to live with the reflections biggrin.gif

Best way is as per sifu blurjoey recommended - matte black mat - but this one may case fire if not using the right material due to the extreme interior car temps in Malaysia
isr25
post Jul 25 2022, 02:46 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cashewboy @ Jul 25 2022, 12:37 PM)
Shifu, any particular brands or models? I'm noob in all these SD cards  doh.gif
Sandisk High Endurance 256GB - RM172 in Shopee now
isr25
post Aug 1 2022, 04:14 PM

1,263 posts

Sifu blurjoey, I am enjoying the resolution on the 4K A129 Pro Duo, but the rear 1080p is really lacking nowadays - it's apparent when trying to playback the rearview footage, rather than it just being a Picture-in-Picture.

I saw the new Viofo A229, so was wondering if you are recommending that when comparing with the A129 Pro? The night time recording performance of the A129 Pro is also lacking comparing to my previous A129 Duo.
isr25
post Aug 23 2022, 10:16 AM

1,263 posts

blurjoey any thoughts on the Thinkware 5 channel multiplexer? Biggest downside is it's 480p recording for the 4 (side, rear, internal). Even rear 1080p is hard to read number plates...
isr25
post Sep 5 2022, 04:22 PM

1,263 posts

Boss blurjoey if range RM500-600 is 70mai A800S a good choice? No parking mode coz just power thru ciggy port, just want good video capture when driving with F+R cam. Thanks!
isr25
post Sep 5 2022, 09:53 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 5 2022, 06:24 PM)
Getting another car? 🤤🤤
Mother-in-law getting got another car to complement her Cross… It’s complicated sweat.gif

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 5 2022, 07:24 PM)
Actually most dashcam is a good buy if just using for driving only.

But have to take note on the lithium ion battery 70mai is using. If you're parked indoors most of the time then you don't have to worry about the heat much.

But if always park outdoors then consider a supercapacitor dashcam instead.
Any recommendations if super capacitor at the price range? The car would be parked outdoors, but under a car cover/blanket 99% of the time.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 5 2022, 07:39 PM)
If got time i share lol (unless you rajin dig my channel/previous post)
Got time - planning to go install next week, so still surveying.
isr25
post Sep 12 2022, 08:08 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 11 2022, 04:28 PM)
Sandisk endurance 64gb

It works after i format the card but stop recording when it's full again
Just checking, is your dashcam date storing/working properly? If it's not, it may not be deleting the old files properly since the "new files" it's trying to write is the same / older than the current files on the card.
isr25
post Sep 15 2022, 10:23 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(kb9288 @ Sep 15 2022, 09:56 AM)
Guys,

Z40 GPS front and back user here.
Facing issues here.

1. Not tapping fuse box. Lexar 128GB mem card.
2. Video timestamp inaccurate if not connected to phone app, timestamp shows 1970-01-01.
3. Certain video footage are not found recorded even device broadcast "Start recording".

Attached current firmware version.

Looks like same issue with hihihehe
isr25
post Sep 25 2022, 08:37 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Sep 25 2022, 08:02 AM)
planned to get z40 without SD card, may i know what sd card you use? is 64gb enough?
Rough guide on how long will you record in minutes - of course, bitrate variable will differ in recording time.

Viofo estimated recording time:

This post has been edited by isr25: Sep 25 2022, 08:40 AM
isr25
post Sep 25 2022, 09:42 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Sep 25 2022, 09:13 AM)
thanks, actually i also wanted to know the speed, i saw msot of the card sellng have read at 100mb/s but write only 40mb/s, not sure if it enough
Just get Sandisk High Endurance, Sandisk Max Endurance or Samsung PRO Endurance cards. It's not just about read write speeds, but since they are also writing/overwriting the card, endurance cards are better suited then normal cards. Also, buy from reputable dealers - don't get conned by fake SD cards which are usually cheap.
isr25
post Oct 4 2022, 08:34 AM

1,263 posts

4K capture for Viofo A129 Pro Duo - exported using Dashcam Viewer software. Weather was raining heavily during this time and I was lucky to notice early enough to avoid it entirely.
isr25
post Oct 5 2022, 07:39 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cakoilembutgebu @ Oct 5 2022, 07:10 AM)
Wow, that was a close call. That's why I am against the dark tint rule for the rear windscreen. Other cars cant see shit on what's going on in front especially at night or when it's raining.
Agreed - I couldn't see ahead clearly, especially with the weather conditions. The extremely dark tint of the Accord severely hampered my visibility of the traffic ahead. Luckily I had already noticed the empty left lane and was already thinking of overtaking on the left but decided to stay on lane until the somewhat harsh braking of the Honda Accord. Thank god for ABS + Traction Control + Vehicle Stability Assist + me leaving some space with the car ahead.

Also of course, thanks to the dashcam, I can share with everyone my close call tongue.gif
isr25
post Oct 5 2022, 08:43 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Oct 5 2022, 08:25 AM)
tint is one of the problem.
another problem is most of the driver like to keep their foot always on accelerator, when in front car decelerate(yes, not brake), they instantly pressing brake without thinking.

incase you dont know about the case,
last week or two got video of one car tailgating(yea, neitizen say so, but i dont) a pickup and pickup last miniute avoid accident car, causing the dashcam car that 'tailgating' straight hit into.
netizen straight throw out:-
- defensive driving
- 3 second rule
- bla bla bla.

by paper surely the set-ed rule work, but how malaysian drive we know that is too optimistic to start with.
with that case, 3 second rule on high speed, 100kmh would like 50+meter away.... i bet people will overtake you dangerously.

*disclaimer
i am not support tailgating, just some netizen blindly pulling out 'law' to blame
like they never drive like that before
Defensive driving, 3 second rule is not a law, but a best practise guide. You can do all of this, and be the most safe driver on the road, but the person behind/around you might not be following this. Case in point, my dashcam video - I'm not 100% sure, but looking at the video (need to view full screen + full 4K resolution) the car behind me just barely avoided an accident with the Honda Accord. but the car behind it might just have crashed into them.
isr25
post Jan 10 2023, 08:06 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Jan 9 2023, 09:54 PM)
Any Viofo users here who bought their cameras direct from Viofo?
Anyone had to do any warranty claims?
Yes, I had experience before (Maybe 4 years back). Contacted them via email to claim, they asked me to do a few things - some on video, then they approved my warranty with no issues. Items and warranty items were shipped from China. Only claimed warranty once via Viofo. They didn't ask me to ship the item back - was allowed to keep the faulty device.

My other experience was with Sicurez - contacted them via Whatsapp and similarly with Viofo direct, they asked me to do a few things. After proven, they asked me to ship the faulty item back to them at my own cost. They shipped the replacement device 2 days after my warranty claim was approved, basically they received the faulty item before the replacement was sent back.

Both experiences was good, no complaints.

0.1432sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:57 PM