LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

ghostcommand
post May 1 2022, 08:53 PM

671 posts

I bought Z40 front + rear cam but no GPS.

how come the time keep resetting unless I connect via the app using my smartphone?

Is there a way to set the time/date and it won't reset again?
ghostcommand
post May 4 2022, 10:38 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ May 2 2022, 02:32 PM)
I believe several pages back, there was someone else who had same problem. IIRC send back to seller for warranty claim.
No, you can sync the time from phone via app.
I went to search, and yea that guy also having the same problem with me. The Z40 will always reset the date/time and won't follow real-time unless you connect the phone via DDPAI app. I guess only the GPS version can keep track of real-time.

No point to use the timestamp feature and need to turn it off. If I knew this, I would have bought something else

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: May 4 2022, 10:39 PM
ghostcommand
post May 5 2022, 11:07 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ May 5 2022, 08:45 AM)
As I've stated in me previous post, no it does not require the GPS module for date/time. It sync with the app.

I have the non GPS version.

For problematic products, just contact reseller/seller/manufacturer and attempt an RMA.
Yes it syncs with the app.

But then next day when start the car the time/date is reset again, it basically forgot the time/date that was synced previously. Need to connect with the app again to sync / set the time & date.

Somehow it doesn't remember the time/date I don't know why. I suspect is because no GPS. So now I just turned off the timestamp.

I contacted DDPAI and they just give me generic reply like 'check your firmware' and try reset the z40. The firmware is the latest one as far as I know
ghostcommand
post May 5 2022, 11:21 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 5 2022, 03:31 AM)
no way to set the time on the dashcam itself without using app?

or can do that but it still resets?
Yes, no way to set the time on the dashcam itself. Must connect to the app and the time/date is synced automatically.

Problem is, on the next engine start, the time/date is reset
ghostcommand
post May 5 2022, 12:39 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(jycy98 @ May 5 2022, 12:28 PM)
Sent back for warranty claim once and they didnt solve the issue, now lazy to send back, just connect app every time to sync time
GPS doesnt sync date time, dont know why they didnt add this feature
I don't think I will send back for warranty claim, already spend time to install it nicely in the car with proper cable management and the video is all good. To take it out and send for warranty over the date/time is too mafan.

Just disable the timestamp and let it run, the main purpose is to record video in case of any accident

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: May 5 2022, 12:40 PM
ghostcommand
post May 5 2022, 02:12 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 5 2022, 02:04 PM)
Wait..Z40 is supercapacitor? I thought it's battery?
Yeah it is using supercapacitor. That's the main reason I bought it because my car is usually parked outside in the hot sun.

I think it's also more reliable than those with lithium battery.

Just unfortunate this issue happened, but it's not a major issue and I can live with it
ghostcommand
post May 5 2022, 07:43 PM

671 posts

LOL I finally found the solution after tinkering with my Z40.

Had to reset the whole device and then reconnect via the app. Somehow there was a new firmware update detected (previously no prompt to upgrade firmware).

After updated firmware, tested the time/date is working fine now
ghostcommand
post May 6 2022, 11:11 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(jycy98 @ May 6 2022, 10:02 AM)
Whats the latest firmware version? mine is on v7.1.1.10
Same, previously was 7.1.1.09

But this morning start car noticed the time lari again. LOL I will keep testing see how
ghostcommand
post May 6 2022, 11:51 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(jycy98 @ May 6 2022, 11:20 AM)
I think time will lari only when turn off more than 1 or 2 hours
It shouldn't be like that, even if turn off overnight or few days.

If have to connect app each time when running the car just to sync the date/time, that's real dumb. Timestamp becomes useless
ghostcommand
post May 8 2022, 07:56 PM

671 posts

But 70mai all using battery, I scared it won't last under our hot weather.

any 70mai users here already more than 1 year can share your experience?

0.1369sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:44 AM