LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

GuyM
post Jul 12 2021, 12:18 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jul 12 2021, 10:16 AM)
My A800 70 mai shuts itself off after awhile being used. I will have to disconnect power from cigarette lighter port then its ok. My car is cx5 and i have used it as front dash cam only hope to get some solutions as i have tried everything I know except changing the cable to another power cable (incoming power to dashcam)
Incl reset the cam?
GuyM
post Feb 24 2022, 12:49 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 24 2022, 10:25 AM)
Did you change the brightness for the front cam? What is the firmware version?

From my review with medium bitrate and WDR on.

Yes CPL is like that. Same as wearing polarized sunglasses.
Light angle mcm high skt and not evenly distributed 🤔
GuyM
post Apr 17 2022, 10:28 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(patricktiew @ Apr 17 2022, 09:31 AM)
Hi. I'm looking for a good front and rear camera. budget around RM 500. Would prefer those camera would still active all the time even after parking.

With that budget mcm mine, 70mai A500S or ddpai Z40 with hardwire kit and installation should fit nicely. Only thing is you'll need to decide if your vehicle is parked outdoor or indoor most of the time
GuyM
post Apr 19 2022, 01:34 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(patricktiew @ Apr 18 2022, 09:37 PM)
Hi. Mostly I park at indoor. but sometime need to park at outdoor too.
If one is good for outdoor, it will be good for outdoor too. isn't it?
In this case you may consider the A500S
GuyM
post Apr 25 2022, 07:55 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Apr 25 2022, 07:18 AM)
Hi guys, any shop to recommend to buy and install dashcam in PJ area?

My budget is around RM500 without installation. Any dashcam to recommend?
Read couple pages back
GuyM
post May 4 2022, 08:05 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 4 2022, 02:55 AM)
just bought and installed a 70mai a500s and the video quality is superb both in day and night time.. but one thing i notice there's like few dead pixels / hot pixels on my video recordings when i watch back.

at first i thought maybe my pc screen got problem so i go test on youtube for dead pixels but couldnt see it there.. so then i view back the dashcam videos and can conclude its coming from the dashcam itself.

want to ask is this normal or abnormal? if it is abnormal i would claim warranty for it.. when i try google it, people say it is normal though and nothing much can be done?  sweat.gif

at first i only notice 2 dead pixels few inches apart from each other but they are at the bottom of the video where the black dashboard is so that's why i noticed it because it become obvious after viewing multiple dashcam recordings and they all remain at the same spot..

then after i google about it, my ocd kicked in and i spotted two more random dead pixels elsewhere.. but the two really need to try hard and go pixel hunting only can tell la. after spotting these other 2 dead pixels i stopped myself from looking further already or else im gonna be very unahppy..

so yeah back to my question, is this normal and we just have to live with it? or its something abnormal that could be claimed through warranty..?
Nope go claim warranty
GuyM
post May 5 2022, 08:15 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ May 5 2022, 07:18 PM)
Do you guys think 4k recording is a must? I feel it’s a bit overkill. File size for a 4 hour drive must be huge.
Of you have the budget to blow why not but yeah think 2k is suffice

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ May 5 2022, 07:43 PM)
LOL I finally found the solution after tinkering with my Z40.

Had to reset the whole device and then reconnect via the app. Somehow there was a new firmware update detected (previously no prompt to upgrade firmware).

After updated firmware, tested the time/date is working fine now
Glad it's resolved
GuyM
post May 7 2022, 02:38 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Myk Hyn @ May 7 2022, 01:15 PM)
For z40 can we just connect to cigarette connector to power it? Must we connect to fuse box?
Either way which is convenient to you.
GuyM
post May 9 2022, 08:27 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 8 2022, 06:45 PM)
generally i find ddpai's UI (both dashcam and app) less intuitive compared to 70mai. 70mai app is very clean and minimalist look, straight to the point. Easy to navigate around because everything is just clear.
I've both, yes to 70mai UI
QUOTE(ghostcommand @ May 8 2022, 07:56 PM)
But 70mai all using battery, I scared it won't last under our hot weather.

any 70mai users here already more than 1 year can share your experience?
I've 2 units above 1 yr still rocking
QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 9 2022, 01:34 AM)
would love to hear as well. if battery spoil can ownself replace battery, that one still ok. worried if the dashcam unit itself will spoil or get fried due to heat..

i have seen some people say they use 70mai for 3 years no problem, i have seen some people say they use 70mai less than 1 year spoil..  hmm.gif
but overall a lot of variables thrown in as well in both situations, some of those spoil <1 year after some digging find out they used their car usb or android player to power the dashcam all these while which could have contributed to its early demise (always restart/shutdown)..

i can give you my feedback 1 year's time from now  tongue.gif

anyway on that note, my 70mai a500s runs extremely hot when in use, even at night time and running for like 30 mins only... the hot is like i cant even touch the dashcam levels of hot.. is this normal for dashcams? and when i take the microsd card out, the microsd card is very hot as well..

now im thinking whether this is normal or it could fry the microsd card in the future.. can the microsd card withstand such heat? rclxub.gif  its a lexar 64gb microsd in case you needed more info

i heard even z40 also will be very hot when running. for those using z40 is this the case for you too where your dashcam gets very hot when its running to the point its uncomfortable to hold/touch it?
Perhaps the always on screen contribute to the heat? I've mine off after 1 min
GuyM
post Jun 2 2022, 07:54 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jun 2 2022, 01:10 AM)
My dashcam is viofo a129 plus duo. Not a good model from viofo due to flaw & no more buffered parking mode. Any suggestion new dashcam with good parking mode with feature that alert driver parking record events when starting the car engine? I dont mind viofo other model if have this car startup parking event alert.
70mai A500
GuyM
post Jun 2 2022, 08:37 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 2 2022, 06:13 PM)
70mai's parking mode is kena banged then only start recording parking mode
He was asking startup alert so A500 has alert
GuyM
post Jul 9 2022, 07:13 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(merrychr1stm4s @ Jul 8 2022, 07:02 PM)
Hello, I have a Z40 front dashcam. but I realised that it only starts to record when my phone app is connected to it. whenever I start my car it will say "start recording" and have blue light. Anyone facing same issue or got some fixes?
The 4th button on your right, press for more than 5 sec to reset and try again
GuyM
post Sep 17 2022, 09:43 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 17 2022, 04:04 PM)
Anyone have this issue with ddpai app on iOS?

I can view and download video from the app but can’t share it via the app.

In my phone gallery there’s video but can’t be played.
No problem with z40 dual with latest iOS 15.7
GuyM
post Sep 25 2022, 12:50 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(sume2t @ Sep 23 2022, 03:16 PM)
Is Z40 still a good buy, considering price reduced and now around RM3xx. I am looking for only front cam, non GPS. Thanks.
I'm using z40 front rear without GPS for the last 6 mths with power tapped from fuse box without issues
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 24 2022, 09:33 AM)
The only drawback is the app. I find it not very user friendly.
I can agree on this compared to 70mai

This post has been edited by GuyM: Sep 25 2022, 12:52 AM
GuyM
post Sep 28 2022, 10:56 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 27 2022, 04:28 PM)
How does the speed 📸 works here?
GuyM
post Oct 8 2022, 11:35 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Aaronnnnnn @ Oct 7 2022, 09:11 AM)
hi all, please recommend front and rear dash cam for budget of RM700 and below.

A800S if car parked indoor or Z40 if parked outdoor... I'm using both with rear camera
GuyM
post Oct 25 2022, 11:06 PM

1,787 posts

Just noticed my Z40 without GPS video seems to be stuttering. It has latest firmware. Any reason why?
GuyM
post Oct 31 2022, 12:32 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 26 2022, 09:35 AM)
Using phone or PC to watch?
iPhone 13 Pro
GuyM
post Jan 12 2023, 04:02 PM

1,787 posts

I’ve Z40 without gps and noticed that the downloaded recording jerks every 10 sec or so. It’s on the latest firmware and problem persist after reset. Could it be my memory card?
GuyM
post Jan 19 2023, 07:51 AM

1,787 posts

Based on what I have A500S and Z40 which both have small screen, if I needed to view the recorded video, I’ll use the app cos it’s clearer and easier rather than directly fro the dashcam. My guess is if you don’t need gps then mola best choice

0.1628sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:40 AM