DHL is ridiculous !

TSMr.Weezy
post Mar 25 2019, 11:03 AM, updated 7y ago

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

I ordered something online from the EU

I know I have to pay for import duty as the item exceeded CIF of RM500.

Hence, I've allocated 10% for the purpose.

But this bugger DHL Express did custom clearance on behalf of me without telling me NOR showing on the tracking page

Not only they want me to pay the 10%, but also 4% on top of it because they said it's their disbursement fees and it is stated clearly in T&C

I am more than happy to pay the import duty of 10%, but DHL wants to impose 4% of charges just because they do custom clearance themselves?

What a joke is this?

For other parcels I've ordered from overseas, normally on the Track & Trace page will update "Item detained on custom, please call bla bla" , then when we call, the customer service will ask whether you want us to clear for you or you clear yourself

Only this bugger DHL straight away clear for me without updating on the tracking page

This is no different than perompak

#DHLMalaysia
hueyseng84
post Mar 25 2019, 11:13 AM

881 posts

been there.... complained to DHL and guess what, no line to direct complains to...only have a page with small little comment box to file in the complains...

even after, there's is no follow up to remedy the situation..

now i'll avoid DHL at all cost... i'd rather not buy if the shipper is DHL..
COOLPINK
post Mar 25 2019, 11:15 AM

3,666 posts

item must have exceeded the CIF by a lot for you to rage.
eclectice
post Mar 25 2019, 11:21 AM

2,734 posts

FedEx is doing the same thing on behalf without informing the customer but at least it gives the original receipt and the tax breakdown from the Customs before asking for the claim.
TSMr.Weezy
post Mar 25 2019, 11:26 AM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ Mar 25 2019, 11:13 AM)
been there.... complained to DHL and guess what, no line to direct complains to...only have a page with small little comment box to file in the complains...

At least now got direct line for me to follow up

So at the end , you paid for the charges?
andyng38
post Mar 25 2019, 01:36 PM

2,402 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Mar 25 2019, 11:03 AM)

But this bugger DHL Express did custom clearance on behalf of me without telling me NOR showing on the tracking page

Not only they want me to pay the 10%, but also 4% on top of it because they said it's their disbursement fees and it is stated clearly in T&C
I am more than happy to pay the import duty of 10%, but DHL wants to impose 4% of charges just because they do custom clearance themselves?

What a joke is this?
For other parcels I've ordered from overseas, normally on the Track & Trace page will update "Item detained on custom, please call bla bla" , then when we call, the customer service will ask whether you want us to clear for you or you clear yourself
Only this bugger DHL straight away clear for me without updating on the tracking page

#DHLMalaysia
From DHL website http://www.dhl.com.my/en/express/customs_s...s_services.html

Disbursements Per Shipment
Min. 50.00 RM OR 3% of Customs Duties and Taxes, whichever is higher. This fee is subject to Service Tax 6%.

In the past, DHL has phoned me first to inform of the amount payable and to ask if I accept the charges. Dunno if they've recently changed their protocol.
sanosizo
post Mar 25 2019, 04:03 PM

4,553 posts

last time DHL also contacted me first thru e-mail with details
ben_ang
post Mar 25 2019, 04:09 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

I also kena b4, forgot is DHL or Fedex, suddenly show up front door saying need pay, ask them y no inform he said smaller amount one they normally won't call. BS
melt
post Mar 25 2019, 04:51 PM

974 posts

if the tax amount is low(below 500) they will clear without need to inform buyer..
jimbet1337
post Mar 26 2019, 08:06 AM

meh
2,672 posts

So far DHL & Fedex would call me first to let me know the tax amount before they proceed with delivery. No issues.

>500... Sometimes lucky, sometimes not biggrin.gif
hockwei123456
post Mar 26 2019, 11:31 AM

194 posts

Thats their agent fees pos laju (need to apply at pos office) pos laju dont do this automatically cause they know some Malaysians are cheapskate or not willing to pay the agent fees.

Dhl FedEx etc will do this for you as it comes with their "service" smooth delivery comes with a price hahaha. And if you use dhl cant run away from tax as they clear customs thru electronic clearance dhl will send customs in Malaysia the item list.

It'll be a great option to collect and pay your own custom tax so you dont have to pay extra agent fees...But opportunity cost la.. need to go klia etc etc to some is really troublesome

If i bought stuff over 500 ill try to use a parcel forwarding company theyll declare the value of my items with my own numbers

This post has been edited by hockwei123456: Mar 26 2019, 11:36 AM
TSMr.Weezy
post Mar 26 2019, 12:28 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Mar 25 2019, 01:36 PM)
From DHL website http://www.dhl.com.my/en/express/customs_s...s_services.html

Disbursements Per Shipment
Min. 50.00 RM OR 3% of Customs Duties and Taxes, whichever is higher. This fee is subject to Service Tax 6%.

In the past, DHL has phoned me first to inform of the amount payable and to ask if I accept the charges. Dunno if they've recently changed their protocol.
noted, will present this to dispute

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Mar 25 2019, 04:03 PM)
last time DHL also contacted me first thru e-mail with details
this should be the case

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 26 2019, 08:06 AM)
So far DHL & Fedex would call me first to let me know the tax amount before they proceed with delivery. No issues.

>500... Sometimes lucky, sometimes not biggrin.gif
yes they shoulda notify first before doing things like this

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Mar 26 2019, 11:31 AM)
Thats their agent fees pos laju (need to apply at pos office) pos laju dont do this automatically cause they know some Malaysians are cheapskate or not willing to pay the agent fees.
Dhl FedEx etc will do this for you as it comes with their "service" smooth delivery comes with a price hahaha. And if you use dhl cant run away from tax as they clear customs thru electronic clearance  dhl will send customs in Malaysia the item list.
It'll be a great option to collect and pay your own custom tax so you dont have to pay extra agent fees...But opportunity cost la..  need to go klia etc etc to some is really troublesome
If i bought stuff over 500 ill try to use a parcel forwarding company theyll declare the value of my items with my own numbers
not really troublesome for me as I do clearance myself every week so I already knew the process

i was hoping to settle myself this time manatau this DHL smart alec go clear for me :X
hockwei123456
post Mar 26 2019, 03:43 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Mar 26 2019, 12:28 PM)
this should be the case
not really troublesome for me as I do clearance myself every week so I already knew the process

i was hoping to settle myself this time manatau this DHL smart alec go clear for me :X
Maybe next time u call them 1st. Last time they Sms asking me to pay 1st then only they delivery i x puas hati but gotta pay klia far for me.

Just wonder what items you buy till 500 and you working in logistics company is it?
Khursheed Shah P
post May 11 2020, 04:12 PM

Probation

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ Mar 25 2019, 11:13 AM)

Besides the website, You can reach DHL Express Malaysia team on social media as well.

Twitter : https://twitter.com/DhlExpressMY

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/DHLExpressMalaysia/

LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/company/dhl-express-malaysia/

Please note, DHL Express and DHL eCommerce are two separate entity. DHL Express only support international delivery. Any domestic shipping belongs to DHL eCommerce.

https://www.facebook.com/DHLeCommerceSolutionsMY/

Stay Safe smile.gif
cablesguy
post May 14 2020, 11:51 PM

1,597 posts

If I order anything,I will try my best to avoid DHL, always tax is from them, if Royal Mail, EMS, USPS, UPS or whatever no probs, my personal experience.
rjb123
post May 15 2020, 12:18 AM

1,820 posts

4% for them to do the clearance / be your broker is reasonable - this is totally normal for any express courier.

Yes you pay a little bit extra but you get the items to your door within a few days ... not the same can be said for USPS, EMA etc which all go through POS.
Ewww!
post May 19 2020, 03:11 PM

2,033 posts

Really? I thought ABX Express was the worst. Lol!

This post has been edited by Ewww!: May 19 2020, 04:00 PM
pretty23
post May 19 2020, 03:37 PM

1,791 posts

DHL use private car to send parcel. lol.
jimbet1337
post May 19 2020, 03:52 PM

meh
2,672 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ May 19 2020, 03:37 PM)
DHL use private car to send parcel. lol.
workload is high at the moment, last weekend also experienced the same
pretty23
post May 19 2020, 03:56 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ May 19 2020, 03:52 PM)
workload is high at the moment, last weekend also experienced the same
I thought is ninja van, but when saw the consignment it is from DHL.
deejay_krish
post May 19 2020, 04:00 PM

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Khursheed Shah @ May 11 2020, 04:12 PM)
Besides the website, You can reach DHL Express Malaysia team on social media as well.

Twitter : https://twitter.com/DhlExpressMY

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/DHLExpressMalaysia/

LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/company/dhl-express-malaysia/

Please note, DHL Express and DHL eCommerce are two separate entity. DHL Express only support international delivery.  Any domestic shipping belongs to DHL eCommerce.

https://www.facebook.com/DHLeCommerceSolutionsMY/

Stay Safe smile.gif
Why did u bump such a old thread?
kpinn
post Jul 29 2020, 12:57 PM

86 posts

The problem is my item cost only $75 and shipping is $14.
Even if we assume the conversion rate is bad, it would cost a total of less than RM 400.
In the case, why am i liable to pay tax?

I purchased a metallic watch strap from Hong Kong and my taxable amount is only RM 25 but DHL charges me RM 53 for it.
Despite knowing that RM 53 is the minimum charge, yet everything sounds so ridiculous here.

yui
post Aug 24 2020, 01:25 PM

23 posts

Same here. DHL is ridiculous. Baby clothes (second hand), hand made shipped from grandmother. Tax is RM 49. DHL wants RM 53 disbursement fee.

Anyone know wbat happens if I dont want to pay the DHL disbursement fee? Is it i can go KLIA settle myself?
mini orchard
post Aug 24 2020, 01:37 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(yui @ Aug 24 2020, 01:25 PM)
Same here. DHL is ridiculous. Baby clothes (second hand), hand made shipped from grandmother. Tax is RM 49. DHL wants RM 53 disbursement fee.

Anyone know wbat happens if I dont want to pay the DHL disbursement fee? Is it i can go KLIA settle myself?
There is a minimum cost for work done.

DIY ? .... cost you more than RM53.... petrol, toll, parking, half day leave.
I'm V-Kool
post Aug 24 2020, 02:15 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(yui @ Aug 24 2020, 02:25 PM)

If go yourself easily over RM53
miyakochan89
post Aug 24 2020, 04:37 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Mar 25 2019, 11:03 AM)

What a joke is this?

#DHLMalaysia
wah shit. I had a similar experience before. But mine was with the DHL France. I sent a parcel from here to France, as a gift. and I indicated in BOLD - GIFT. And gift is not supposed to get taxes/custom charges.

And DHL France somehow claimed that they paid the duties and admin fees on my behalf and charged an outrageous amount, that cost more than my parcel. lol. Needless to say, I spammed their DHL France CS, MY CS and after one week plus of arguing on the phone. They decided to clear my parcel without any charges. Of course, DHL France never said that it's their fault or what but we all know what happened; they are just putting random charges here and there and expect people to pay without asking too much about it. Im telling you, they are conmen! That's my last experience with them, tqvm.

Ziet Inv
post Aug 24 2020, 09:20 PM

650 posts

my macbook DHL from china ok je, summore on saturday morning (this was back in June)
cofin
post Dec 15 2021, 01:04 PM

Finally
1,727 posts

QUOTE(yui @ Aug 24 2020, 01:25 PM)

lol, I also Kena this today ...

I don't know how they value items ... so they impose an RM49 tax I think is the minimum by customs ?

But DHL charges an RM53 disbursement fee...

total RM102 for no value items shipped from overseas....recently customs very hardworking my bak kwa from KL to East Malaysia also kena dilupuskan or if i want the bak kwa to need to pay rm10k fined
andrekua2
post Dec 15 2021, 01:20 PM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Aug 24 2020, 04:37 PM)
wah shit. I had a similar experience before. But mine was with the DHL France. I sent a parcel from here to France, as a gift. and I indicated in BOLD - GIFT. And gift is not supposed to get taxes/custom charges.

And DHL France somehow claimed that they paid the duties and admin fees on my behalf and charged an outrageous amount, that cost more than my parcel. lol. Needless to say, I spammed their DHL France CS, MY CS and after one week plus of arguing on the phone. They decided to clear my parcel without any charges. Of course, DHL France never said that it's their fault or what but we all know what happened; they are just putting random charges here and there and expect people to pay without asking too much about it. Im telling you, they are conmen! That's my last experience with them, tqvm.
Nah... best not to indicate as gift... Customs wont bother because how many parcels are declared as gift in your opinion?

I went to Kastam a few times to help my dad reclaimed the tea leaves that were sent by our far far far relatives in China. On one occasion, I saw a chinese lady with her sons, probably between 7-10 years old. She got a box of shipment from her sister from HK and inside were all minions by McD. There were like 5-6 pieces of minions of same type, totalling around 30 or so. Guess what... Kastam officer said she's planning to sell them. Slap a RM10 pricetag on each. She also got a jade like bracelet in the package. Again, she cant gave a value on the bracelet and Kastam simply slap a pricetag around 200. When everything added up, she needed to pay taxes on items worth around RM800 as claimed by the Kastam officer.

Best is attached a small value for each item and also include shipping charges (yes, if no shipping charges indicated then they will get an estimate from shipper and that is usually an inflated amount).
miyakochan89
post Dec 15 2021, 01:29 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 15 2021, 01:20 PM)
Nah... best not to indicate as gift... Customs wont bother because how many parcels are declared as gift in your opinion?

I went to Kastam a few times to help my dad reclaimed the tea leaves that were sent by our far far far relatives in China. On one occasion, I saw a chinese lady with her sons, probably between 7-10 years old. She got a box of shipment from her sister from HK and inside were all minions by McD. There were like 5-6 pieces of minions of same type, totalling around 30 or so. Guess what... Kastam officer said she's planning to sell them. Slap a RM10 pricetag on each. She also got a jade like bracelet in the package. Again, she cant gave a value on the bracelet and Kastam simply slap a pricetag around 200. When everything added up, she needed to pay taxes on items worth around RM800 as claimed by the Kastam officer.

Best is attached a small value for each item and also include shipping charges (yes, if no shipping charges indicated then they will get an estimate from shipper and that is usually an inflated amount).
That's Malaysia.

But other countries clearly indicate to put GIFT to mitigate taxes. And i think other countries will not so be racist and stupid like our customs. SOOO... *shrug*

Anyway, my case was resolved after much push and pull with DHL. In the end they didn't charge me nor the receivers the custom fees. Maybe they sorted it out with French Custom.
ziling60
post Dec 15 2021, 02:01 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Dec 15 2021, 01:29 PM)
That's Malaysia.

But other countries clearly indicate to put GIFT to mitigate taxes. And i think other countries will not so be racist and stupid like our customs. SOOO... *shrug*

Anyway, my case was resolved after much push and pull with DHL. In the end they didn't charge me nor the receivers the custom fees. Maybe they sorted it out with French Custom.
They're hungry to earn extra money from you. I'm sure there are authority channels for you to go to for this issue.
tzuen
post Dec 15 2021, 02:06 PM

430 posts

Similar situation that i've ordered Bellroy products from Australia, it's a freaking wallet that less than RM400, I got those ridiculous tax and service charges, come on!

And i still remember the agent holding my package with the form and stand in front my office, I have to pay in order to release. KNN
miyakochan89
post Dec 15 2021, 02:28 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ziling60 @ Dec 15 2021, 02:01 PM)
They're hungry to earn extra money from you. I'm sure there are authority channels for you to go to for this issue.
QUOTE(tzuen @ Dec 15 2021, 02:06 PM)
Similar situation that i've ordered Bellroy products from Australia, it's a freaking wallet that less than RM400, I got those ridiculous tax and service charges, come on!

And i still remember the agent holding my package with the form and stand in front my office, I have to pay in order to release. KNN
who? I didn't deal with MY custom. it's just DHL. And gift is not taxable. unless they have cause for suspicions.

MY Custom is probably... well.. i don't knowww.....I suspect a lot of things under the............
pretty23
post Dec 15 2021, 02:33 PM

1,791 posts

LOL.

Abuse gift to avoid tax is a mistake. MY so hungry when your parcel declare as gift.
Solar Calendar
post Dec 15 2021, 03:10 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Mar 26 2019, 12:28 PM)
this should be the case

That's just you. The majority don't do it themselves. Nothing wrong with DHL
Solar Calendar
post Dec 15 2021, 03:10 PM

687 posts

I support DHL and don't condone this anti DHL thread
ApocalypseSoon
post Dec 15 2021, 03:28 PM

214 posts

Not sure about MY. But in Sweden in order to sent it as GIFT, you will need to fulfill the condition or else taxes applied.

If the gift requirements are fulfilled, you can receive your parcel from a country outside the EU free of charge. It is vital that the parcel clearly states:
1. that it is a gift,
2. what it contains,
3. what the parcel is worth.

Whether or not your gift will be free of charge depends on: the total value of the gift parcel; the value of any individual gift in the parcel, and; the types of goods in the parcel.

Sos:
https://www.tullverket.se/en/private/sendin...9d6ea0da91.html
jimbet1337
post Dec 15 2021, 04:09 PM

meh
2,672 posts

My experience so far, DHL & Fedex, they settle it upfront & ask me to pay.

Poslaju, they call first & gave me choice, but I still ask them to settle.

Got no time for all the hassle, so I just them them do biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jimbet1337: Dec 15 2021, 04:37 PM
chiwawa10
post Dec 15 2021, 04:14 PM

393 posts

I thought this is common practice for DHL and other big players? It's a 'service' or convenience that they do it for you so you do not have to go through the hassle. If you do not want to clear, likely the item will be sent back to the sender as it does not pass custom.
dawnreaver
post Dec 15 2021, 04:34 PM

661 posts

Once I bought some socks from US, shipped via DHL. Socks cost me RM60, "tax and other fees" RM60. I asked DHL for explanation, no reply. laugh.gif

0.0254sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:08 AM