Walnut Blasting, worth it?

wkc5657
post Mar 21 2019, 10:54 AM

591 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 21 2019, 10:13 AM)
is the use of abrasives in the completely wrong and dangerous way

For those that do the walnut blasting method correctly, the vacuum will be on at the same time to suck out the blasted shells, so it doesn't accumulate.
rcracer
post Mar 21 2019, 11:02 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Mar 21 2019, 10:54 AM)
For those that do the walnut blasting method correctly, the vacuum will be on at the same time to suck out the blasted shells, so it doesn't accumulate.
have you drilled your wall to hang something, set up vacuum and all that but still have to mop the floor afterwards ?

same la, no 100% , the vacuum takes the big chunk away but the small fine dust still settles everywhere

but that's secondary effect , the major danger of improperly closed valve is still there

like I said , combustion chamber is oily, anything that gets in will stick to the walls immediately and turn into grinding paste .
6UE5T
post Mar 21 2019, 11:05 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 21 2019, 10:13 AM)
traditional cleaning is absolutely fine aiyohhhh, solvent based cleaning even if valve open is nothing, everything is liquefied and carbon is nothing the engine hasn't seen already .

is the use of abrasives in the completely wrong and dangerous way

I know I not ang moh so I cannot be trusted , just go YouTube and see yourself, every single video will mention at least once , if you don't prevent the walnut from entering the engine , it will kill the motor , same message every video .
Even using traditional tools, we still need to alternately open/close the valves so that principle is the same. As long as done the right way (as any other service procedures), it will be fine. Like I said, it's not rocket science and I know exactly how it's done so I'm not too worried about it.
unitron
post Mar 21 2019, 11:08 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Ok, there's a lot of mention of carbon build-up on intake port and valves.... what about the exhaust valves ?

Personally my own engine, the intake side was fine (port injection), but was shocked at the carbon build-up on the exhaust valves... the carbon build-up from the hot exhaust gas actually look like grey rock that solidified on the metal
rcracer
post Mar 21 2019, 12:02 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 21 2019, 11:05 AM)
Even using traditional tools, we still need to alternately open/close the valves so that principle is the same. As long as done the right way (as any other service procedures), it will be fine. Like I said, it's not rocket science and I know exactly how it's done so I'm not too worried about it.
as long you trust the fella spraying abrasives all over the place is as good as you have convinced yourself that's all good

again it's free choice , you want to go ahead go

it's for the rest to read and understand the risks involved vs. the benefit if any at all

I don't care about the 1000 times he has done it before correctly , I only care the 1 time he messed up and I definitely will not want to be that 1 person to go and break something already working fine

This post has been edited by rcracer: Mar 21 2019, 12:06 PM
wkc5657
post Mar 21 2019, 12:07 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Mar 21 2019, 11:08 AM)
Ok, there's a lot of mention of carbon build-up on intake port and valves....  what about the exhaust valves ?

Personally my own engine, the intake side was fine (port injection), but was shocked at the carbon build-up on the exhaust valves... the carbon build-up from the hot exhaust gas actually look like grey rock that solidified on the metal
intake side easier to access, hence only mentioned intake cleaning.

same can be applied with the exhaust end, but the effort in removing the exhaust header is much more compared to the intake side.
axtray
post Mar 21 2019, 01:29 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 21 2019, 11:05 AM)
wow our racer guy is still at it. is he a an overhaul mechanic losing business because of walnut blasting service is now available or something? sweat.gif

He seems to believe that the granules are so fine that it will start sticking to the cylinder wall and becomes some sort of additional coating (if some managed to get in that is). From what i see, the little bits of granules/grains would just get mixed up with the petrol during the intake and compression and burnt off.

If the intake valves are so caked to the point that it cannot be fully closed, just proceed with the overhaul. At the end of the day, it just a cheaper preventive maintenance alternative (with some risk if handled by incompetent mechanic).

From what i read in the bimmer forums, alot of N54 engine owners complaining that the carbon buildup is already pretty bad at 40,000 miles (64,000 KM). Though this is 10+ years old engine. Not sure about the new crop of GDIs.

wkc5657
post Mar 21 2019, 01:38 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 21 2019, 01:29 PM)
Not sure about the new crop of GDIs.
Not that bad, but it will be a problem in the longer term.

You see, most important markets (china aside) car ownership is through leasing, so after around 3 years, renew with new car (that's the reason why facelift is always around 3 years). 1st 3 years, unless you race the car, you drive very harshly also won't give much issue. Carbon buildup won't be that bad till have check engine light or noticeably performance degradation.
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 02:37 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Mar 21 2019, 11:08 AM)
Ok, there's a lot of mention of carbon build-up on intake port and valves....  what about the exhaust valves ?

Modern engine recirculates exhaust and have lots of catalytic mesh that could block exhaust if never service for sometime.

If u were sprinting, I block one of your nostrils could u run fast ? No couldn't.

I've personally tried seafoam and it works. can try that as an option before asking mechanics to clean it cuz it's usually not just a single part that got clogged.

Intake, egr valves and diesel engine exhaust usually get clogged up.
axtray
post Mar 21 2019, 03:07 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 21 2019, 02:37 PM)
Modern engine recirculates exhaust and have lots of catalytic mesh that could block exhaust if never service for sometime.

If u were sprinting, I block one of your nostrils could u run fast ? No couldn't.

I've personally tried seafoam and it works. can try that as an option before asking mechanics to clean it cuz it's usually not just a single part that got clogged.

Seafoam bought from lazada? or is there physical shop? this is the one where you spray into the intake manifold for 5 minutes (or until the can is empty) while lightly revvving the engine right?
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:12 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 21 2019, 03:07 PM)
Seafoam bought from lazada? or is there physical shop? this is the one where you spray into the intake manifold for 5 minutes (or until the can is empty) while lightly revvving the engine right?
see here

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2120&hl=seafoam
axtray
post Mar 21 2019, 03:25 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 21 2019, 03:12 PM)
from the thread you mentioned that Ace Hardware has it? i just went there last weekend (the curve), they don't carry seafoam products. Unless i'm blind. Ill check it again.
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:26 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 21 2019, 03:25 PM)
from the thread you mentioned that Ace Hardware has it? i just went there last weekend (the curve), they don't carry seafoam products. Unless i'm blind. Ill check it again.
go other outlets like citta mall / starling should have
unitron
post Mar 21 2019, 03:28 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 21 2019, 02:37 PM)

Conlanfirm seafoam or whatever similar products cannot clean the build up i saw.
Need to remove the valve and grind it off.

My car with the build up don't have EGR system
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:32 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Mar 21 2019, 03:28 PM)
Conlanfirm seafoam or whatever similar products cannot clean the build up i saw.
Need to remove the valve and grind it off.

My car with the build up don't have EGR system
then just overhaul the top plus clean whatever exchaust manifolds
unitron
post Mar 21 2019, 03:44 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 21 2019, 03:32 PM)
then just overhaul the top plus clean whatever exchaust manifolds
it was a full engine rebuild
wkc5657
post Aug 20 2019, 11:19 AM

591 posts

Now even VW make this one of their official optional maintenance item :
https://www.carlist.my/news/volkswagen-adds...fferings/56924/
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 23 2019, 02:19 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 20 2019, 11:19 AM)
Now even VW make this one of their official optional maintenance item :
https://www.carlist.my/news/volkswagen-adds...fferings/56924/
recently i've sent my car install oil catch can, so opened the intake and it was very dirty.
so ask my mech whack 3 bottles of intake valve cleaner.
i dint take the after picture, but managed to clean the valve to a thin carbon coat (because it's just chemical spray to dissolve the oil residue)

this picture is how it looks like after i whack whole can of seafoam into it 2,000km ago.

after cleaning with 3 cans of valve cleaner, the whole car when step oil will sound better (better, faster response), definitely pulls easier.
of course walnut blast is the best method, but i just went for normal chemical cleaning

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Aug 23 2019, 02:21 PM
speedy3210
post Aug 23 2019, 08:44 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 23 2019, 02:19 PM)
recently i've sent my car install oil catch can, so opened the intake and it was very dirty.
so ask my mech whack 3 bottles of intake valve cleaner.
i dint take the after picture, but managed to clean the valve to a thin carbon coat (because it's just chemical spray to dissolve the oil residue)
this picture is how it looks like after i whack whole can of seafoam into it 2,000km ago.

after cleaning with 3 cans of valve cleaner, the whole car when step oil will sound better (better, faster response), definitely pulls easier.
of course walnut blast is the best method, but i just went for normal chemical cleaning
Bro..... fothis kind of cleaning, highly recommended to use ThreeBond engine conditioner. Super effective in removing carbon gunks like in photo.

Maybe can use it in your next maintenance schedule as you are quite a preventive maintenance guy. Saw it on sale now at Shopee Merdeka Sale. Normal price is more than RM35.

ThreeBond Engine Conditioner @Shopee
hukaka
post Aug 24 2019, 11:08 AM

119 posts

Can DIY too,buy a air can,and walnut powder.
Search YouTube for step by step.just make sure each cylinder you need to blast mush ensure the intake and exhaust valve close probably.
Remove the intake and usually battery,some hose need to be removed.each cylinder blasting for about few different angle,and visual check see got walnut stuck inside.you can feel the results immediately.
Tools require, vacuum cleaner the suction kit ,a scope.
That's all pretty simple.

This post has been edited by hukaka: Aug 24 2019, 11:11 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0206sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:55 PM