Walnut Blasting, worth it?

SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 02:37 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Mar 21 2019, 11:08 AM)
Ok, there's a lot of mention of carbon build-up on intake port and valves....  what about the exhaust valves ?

Personally my own engine, the intake side was fine (port injection), but was shocked at the carbon build-up on the exhaust valves... the carbon build-up from the hot exhaust gas actually look like grey rock that solidified on the metal
Modern engine recirculates exhaust and have lots of catalytic mesh that could block exhaust if never service for sometime.

If u were sprinting, I block one of your nostrils could u run fast ? No couldn't.

I've personally tried seafoam and it works. can try that as an option before asking mechanics to clean it cuz it's usually not just a single part that got clogged.

Intake, egr valves and diesel engine exhaust usually get clogged up.
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:12 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 21 2019, 03:07 PM)
Seafoam bought from lazada? or is there physical shop? this is the one where you spray into the intake manifold for 5 minutes (or until the can is empty) while lightly revvving the engine right?
see here

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2120&hl=seafoam
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:26 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 21 2019, 03:25 PM)
from the thread you mentioned that Ace Hardware has it? i just went there last weekend (the curve), they don't carry seafoam products. Unless i'm blind. Ill check it again.
go other outlets like citta mall / starling should have
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 21 2019, 03:32 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Mar 21 2019, 03:28 PM)
Conlanfirm seafoam or whatever similar products cannot clean the build up i saw.
Need to remove the valve and grind it off.

My car with the build up don't have EGR system
then just overhaul the top plus clean whatever exchaust manifolds
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 23 2019, 02:19 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 20 2019, 11:19 AM)
Now even VW make this one of their official optional maintenance item :
https://www.carlist.my/news/volkswagen-adds...fferings/56924/
recently i've sent my car install oil catch can, so opened the intake and it was very dirty.
so ask my mech whack 3 bottles of intake valve cleaner.
i dint take the after picture, but managed to clean the valve to a thin carbon coat (because it's just chemical spray to dissolve the oil residue)

this picture is how it looks like after i whack whole can of seafoam into it 2,000km ago.

after cleaning with 3 cans of valve cleaner, the whole car when step oil will sound better (better, faster response), definitely pulls easier.
of course walnut blast is the best method, but i just went for normal chemical cleaning

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Aug 23 2019, 02:21 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 24 2019, 08:59 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Aug 24 2019, 07:03 PM)
What about this method ?
Is it just another gimmick or some truth ?

https://youtu.be/Jx1VjJPef-k
this is chemical washing only.
for valves, walnut blasting is 100% cleanest method of all.

again, everything works to some extent, but most importantly is add one oil catch can to remove excess oil residue......
so that intake valve takes longer to build up carbon again

walnut blast = 600
seafoam = 58
intake valve cleaner 40
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 24 2019, 09:02 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(hukaka @ Aug 24 2019, 11:08 AM)
Can DIY too,buy a air can,and walnut powder.
Search YouTube for step by step.just make sure each cylinder you need to blast mush ensure the intake and exhaust valve close probably.
Remove the intake and usually battery,some hose need to be removed.each cylinder blasting for about few different angle,and visual check see got walnut stuck inside.you can feel the results immediately.
Tools require, vacuum cleaner the suction kit ,a scope.
That's all pretty simple.

not so simple, have to crawl underneath and turn the crank in order to rotate the valves to close, then only can start blasting with walnut

for my chemical cleaning, nearly fucked up because chemical went into my combustion chamber, then when start up, cause the starter to overload and burn the fuse. then had to dismantle the starter to check. after some checking discovered that starter running fine, fuse blown sweat.gif sweat.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Aug 26 2019, 12:56 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 26 2019, 11:02 AM)
Shit man....almost like hydrolock liao....

May have signs of bent rod or damaged pistons...
not really ah, fuse tripped on the first round.
then removed the spark plug to pump out all the balance

0.0187sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:26 AM