Does higher credit card limit good?, Ccris and credit score

TSphra09
post Mar 19 2019, 09:58 AM, updated 7y ago

165 posts

Citibank has increased twice for my credit limit
However, my spending is very minimum as usual

Just curious, if the credit limit keep increase but i never utilize, does it affect my ccris or anything negative to my credit score?

cassian948
post Mar 19 2019, 10:06 AM

931 posts

It's better for your debt ratio.
dman
post Mar 19 2019, 10:12 AM

540 posts

if u paid full and on time dun think will affect ur credit score.

Citibank also increased my limit too but still i use it as usual as long no overdue.

Hades76
post Mar 19 2019, 10:15 AM

680 posts

Higher limit better. Keep your limit up for emergency and such.

Spend as normal of course. Just because you have a higher limit, doesnt mean you must spend more.

Since its Citibank, ensure you ask for your free yearly subscription. If not mistaken you must use minimum 12 times a year.
PHI_1.618
post Mar 19 2019, 11:43 AM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

I got 4 credit cards:

HSBC - 75K limit
Citibank - 65K limit
Maybank - 35K limit
CIMB 16K limit

Total Credit Card owing today RM0.

I agree that as long as you do not overspend your credit card and know how to control. The Higher the better....
dudester
post Mar 19 2019, 11:47 AM

1,226 posts

I dont like high limit. Will ask them to temporary reduce when i travel, to about 30k. This to prevent the any fraud when overseas.

Also i use a low limit 20k cc for internet transactions only.
PHI_1.618
post Mar 19 2019, 11:49 AM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Mar 19 2019, 11:47 AM)
I dont like high limit. Will ask them to temporary reduce when i travel, to about 30k. This to prevent the any fraud when overseas.

Also i use a low limit 20k cc for internet transactions only.
Never thought of this. But this is a good advice. I will definitely ask the bank to temporary reduce my card limit next time when travel. and only bring 1 card. thumbsup.gif
dudester
post Mar 19 2019, 12:08 PM

1,226 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Mar 19 2019, 11:49 AM)
Never thought of this. But this is a good advice. I will definitely ask the bank to temporary reduce my card limit next time when travel. and only bring 1 card.  thumbsup.gif
No la. You need a back up card also. Just keep as back up. 1 card kantoi you become begpacker
PHI_1.618
post Mar 19 2019, 12:31 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Mar 19 2019, 12:08 PM)
No la. You need a back up card also. Just keep as back up. 1 card kantoi you become begpacker
hahahaha...true also. I think more like begger than begpacker
sakuraboo
post Mar 19 2019, 01:44 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

They increased my limit but I reduced it to 3k because I usually just clear it whenever I log in.

I reduced it ever since one of my card got used in online fraudulent transaction. Was very annoying to deal with the bank even though the card was never used in any online transaction before, but the bank argued that I did. It was until when I said everything is recorded and will take legal action that they suddenly turn tail and become a gentle chicken.

For travel I have to increase my credit limit instead of reducing it because it's so low.
TSphra09
post Mar 19 2019, 10:48 PM

165 posts

As long as they increase doesn't affect my credit score/ccris, then i wouldn't mind..

i won't use it anyway lol
persona93
post Mar 20 2019, 09:29 AM

1,180 posts

tumpang tanya

for me la, i never use CC and never will, do you think i need to apply one just for future wanna apply loan or something

truth be told, i just wanna use to buy new phone only atm
dennis008
post Mar 20 2019, 04:40 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Mar 20 2019, 09:29 AM)
tumpang tanya

for me la, i never use CC and never will, do you think i need to apply one just for future wanna apply loan or something

truth be told, i just wanna use to buy new phone only atm
tbh if you are eligible, you should at least apply one for emergency use
zstan
post Mar 20 2019, 04:43 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Mar 19 2019, 01:44 PM)
They increased my limit but I reduced it to 3k because I usually just clear it whenever I log in.

I reduced it ever since one of my card got used in online fraudulent transaction. Was very annoying to deal with the bank even though the card was never used in any online transaction before, but the bank argued that I did. It was until when I said everything is recorded and will take legal action that they suddenly turn tail and become a gentle chicken.

For travel I have to increase my credit limit instead of reducing it because it's so low.
that's the advantage of credit cards what. if got fraudulent transaction it's not your money anyway. if you can prove you did not do the transaction the bank won't penalise you.
sakuraboo
post Mar 20 2019, 04:53 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 20 2019, 04:43 PM)
that's the advantage of credit cards what. if got fraudulent transaction it's not your money anyway. if you can prove you did not do the transaction the bank won't penalise you.
The issue is they didn't want to consider it fraud initially. A few ppl have gotten themselves into this situation where their case was not considered fraud. Sendiri tanggung

It's easy to say unless you kena before then you'll know what's it's like to talk to a brick wall
zstan
post Mar 21 2019, 02:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Mar 20 2019, 04:53 PM)
The issue is they didn't want to consider it fraud initially. A few ppl have gotten themselves into this situation where their case was not considered fraud. Sendiri tanggung

It's easy to say unless you kena before then you'll know what's it's like to talk to a brick wall
i kena before. 3000 USD. Called to cancel my card immediately. They issued me a new card. I submit dispute form. They ask me don't need pay that amount until it is resolved. 2 months later they absorbed the cost. I only made one phone call and some emails.
Zot
post Mar 21 2019, 02:24 PM

7,938 posts

I cannot recall if any illegal charge to my cards.

Not bother about credit limit either because always pay full. Amex has no limit though other bank said it is just not stated. Other bank got limit.
sakuraboo
post Mar 21 2019, 02:36 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 21 2019, 02:17 PM)
i kena before. 3000 USD. Called to cancel my card immediately. They issued me a new card. I submit dispute form. They ask me don't need pay that amount until it is resolved. 2 months later they absorbed the cost. I only made one phone call and some emails.
Yeah

Did the same later but when called them they totally said it wasn't fraud, and gave illogical response to my predicament

And since there are some ppl I knew end up tanggung although it was relatively menial sum, I don't wanna deal large values hence I got my credit reduced

I had a banking friend, he said fraud in Malaysia is so common, they make it hard to claim. Unlike in us, you just follow the instruction as per visa for charge backs for many reasons, and credit card is a great protection for transactions. Here some ppl had to file that document along to the bank just to mention that they know the law behind it so they take the issue more seriously.

It's good you had a smooth experience with the bank though
SUSalteclp
post Mar 21 2019, 09:08 PM

27 posts

high credit limit is good

spend how much you like up to the ceiling but just make sure zero debt before DD
Reventon
post Mar 23 2019, 07:38 PM

2,921 posts

If you have self discipline on spending, higher credit limit does bring alot of convenience especially purchasing high priced items and definitely a necessity when travelling. Imagine booking for whole family hotel room plus air tickets.
Helping friends/corporate purchase big ticket items on Amex is good as well. Accumulate those free air miles foc.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:13 AM