Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

j0nn
post Mar 28 2019, 11:49 AM

83 posts

This post has been edited by j0nn: Apr 1 2019, 03:18 PM
j0nn
post Jul 12 2019, 11:04 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(snoozet @ Jul 12 2019, 10:32 AM)
It is not complaining, it is room for improvement.

Fx is double edge sword, those ppl who go in 4.19 and now alr 4.10, just sitting there do nothing alr 2.x% gone. It may goes 4.5 later and we will earn a lot from this appreciation, but i would rather concentrate on stock performance and not earning from the fx.

If Stashaway provides u alternative product(US ETF) which will not affected by fx, will you opt in? Or insist that USD is king?
When you mean concentrate on stock performance, you mean on KLSE only? How would one get exposure to oversea stocks, without fx risk?
j0nn
post Jul 12 2019, 11:41 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(snoozet @ Jul 12 2019, 11:08 AM)
It is not on paper, it reports on what the currency that u wish.

They will do hedging for you and of course there is hedging cost on it.

Read this for better understanding
https://www.franklintempleton.co.uk/downloa...are-Classes.pdf
I think all the arguments arises from some ppl think they will really hold for a long long period therefore does not care for it.
US dollar was strong against sterling (the shaded areas), the
hedged share class underperformed the unhedged share
class. Where the US dollar was weak against sterling, the
hedged share class outperformed the unhedged share class.

Chart 2 below gives an example of how this has worked with the
Templeton Global Total Return Bond Fund. While for any short
period of time one or the other will outperform, over the last five
years the total return of the two share classes has been fairly similar.

When you say there are costs for hedging, I assume you mean administrative costs? Given that in the long term the returns may be similar, what would be the reasons one would want hedging?
j0nn
post Jul 12 2019, 01:27 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(snoozet @ Jul 12 2019, 12:19 PM)
Yes, it said in the end, but when is the end? How many here will hold 10 20 yrs.

If they offer you trouble-free solution why dun take it and insist want to expose to fx?  I am puzzling.
1, because it's not cost free.
2, from the franklintempleton article, hedged class may also underperform (even to negative region in their sample) in the short term.

Would I be wrong to say that, hedging basically limits potential downside risk due to fx, but it also limits the upside potential?

I have a high risk portfolio on SA so I can into diversify into global markets. Since I'm aware that there's market risk and fx risk, I simply.... don't put all my eggs into that basket. I just treat SA as the high risk portion of my investments.

Happy to hear any opinions on this approach.

0.4036sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:18 PM