Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

X_hunter
post Apr 24 2021, 02:48 AM

135 posts

Hi guys,

I am a newbie in investing. Have only invested in FD and ASNB. Btw, I have read till page 128 of this thread, and am eager to try StashAway. I plan to start with RM1k and DCA RM100 weekly, say every Thursday. Planning to choose risk profile 18-20% and my plan it to just invest and keep it long term.

Is it advisable to NOT change the risk profile and just maintain the same risk profile long term for better returns, no matter how the market it performing?
X_hunter
post Apr 25 2021, 10:17 AM

135 posts

Hi guys,

I have just registered SA account on Saturday, and already transferred money and waiting for it to appear in SA. Btw, I just received whatsapp asking for IC front and back. Is this the SOP?
X_hunter
post Apr 25 2021, 10:26 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 25 2021, 10:20 AM)
from their FAQs...
How does StashAway verify my identity?
Your security is incredibly important to us. As required by the Security Commission of Malaysia (SC) to verify your identity, we require you to upload a copy of your NRIC/FIN or Passport, as well as a Proof of Residence.

If you are transferring from a non-Malaysia bank account, there will be an additional verification required as per SC regulations. Our Client Experience Team will reach out to you accordingly for this.
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/360009203234-h...fy-my-identity/
Thank you!! I have just read the general questions but didn’t go thru the getting started. Ooopps.

Btw. Regarding what happened if the account holder passes away, who is the executor/administrator they mean?

In the event of death of the account holder, your executor or administrator is the only person recognized by us. Your executor/ administrator will have to produce a grant of probate or letters of administration before the account can be liquidated to a designated account as instructed by him/ her.
X_hunter
post Apr 25 2021, 11:10 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 25 2021, 10:31 AM)
according to this site,...

Who will be In Charge of Our Estate Administration?
It depends on whether someone passed away leaving a will or without a will.

In the case of someone passed away leaving a will, the executor named in the will be the person to execute the will.

This means the executor will locate the will, bring it together with the death certificate and the deceased’s list of assets and liabilities to start administering the testator’s estate. In other words, the executor assumes the official role of proving a will by applying for a grant of probate.

‘Testator’ is a legal term for the person who wrote a will.

Whereas in the case of someone died without writing a will, any persons interested in the estate of the deceased may apply as the administrator.

An administrator is a person whom a letter of administration is granted authorizing the administrator to administer the deceased’s estate in accordance with law, i.e. the Distribution Act 1958. It must be noted that the appointment of administrator lies within the discretion of the Court as stated in Section 30 of Probate and Administration Act 1959.

https://chialee.com.my/probate-and-estate-a...on-in-malaysia/
Just a thought, how come stock/investment account cannot have nominee? Like EPF and ASNB got nominee, but all these investment accounts don’t have. Just curious.
X_hunter
post Apr 25 2021, 12:30 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 25 2021, 12:08 PM)
doh.gif  alamak, i thought he asked about why no nominee a/c for CDS...
Lol..yea I meant the nominee after death.
So I assume people who invest a lot money in all these (shares, stocks, ETF or crypto) usually have set up will right? Else, if anything happens unexpectedly, it will be complicated for the family. Correct? Like family don’t even know he has SA account for example.
X_hunter
post Apr 27 2021, 05:40 PM

135 posts

I just started joining SA, and my money finally just appeared in my SA account. I transferred 1k, and now it’s showing Rm998.94. Means the Rm1.06 is for?
X_hunter
post Apr 27 2021, 06:04 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 27 2021, 05:56 PM)
There's forex exchange fee when SA convert to USD, and forex fluctuations, and units themselves fluctuates in price.

SA isn't guaranteed nett positive gains unless you wait at least 3 to 4 years. Even then if market kaput you might dip below your nett deposit amount anyway, as it happened during 2018 trade war crash and March 2020 pandemic crash.
I don’t mind putting in long term, like 3-5 years. Just curious only, I initially thought the Rm1.06 is some kind of service charge. Lol.

Yea it’s meant to be dump and forget. Hehe
X_hunter
post Apr 29 2021, 05:24 PM

135 posts

I saw someone mentioned DCA weekly is better coz the fluctuation not that big. Like top up on every Thursday and by Monday they will buy in already.

Actually is the difference significant between DCA weekly or monthly?

0.4521sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:19 PM