Hey guys, how long does it usually take for JomPay funds to reach our SA account? First time using JomPay since they have suspended direct debit feature for now.
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Jul 29 2020, 02:22 PM
80 posts Joined: Jul 2018 |
Hey guys, how long does it usually take for JomPay funds to reach our SA account? First time using JomPay since they have suspended direct debit feature for now.
Jul 29 2020, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(yeeck @ Jul 29 2020, 02:31 PM) QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Jul 29 2020, 02:33 PM) QUOTE(Yzarc @ Jul 29 2020, 02:38 PM) For my case (Check on transactions tab): Thanks for sharing!10th June Deposit fund 11th June Received on SA 17th June Conversion + buy order |
Sep 15 2020, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 15 2020, 11:42 AM) Low risk portfolios have the risk of losing purchasing power due to ongoing QE. Purchasing power drop doesn't show up in the numbers. In this scenario, wouldn't the purchasing power be reflected with USD to MYR conversion? In time to come, that would affect our returns as well since we withdraw back in MYR. |
Sep 21 2020, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(chichabom @ Sep 21 2020, 07:57 PM) Even without the transparent AUM figures given by SA, lets just say in the event SA goes bust, our money is still safe right since its held and safeguarded separately by trustee? Yah my thoughts as well, technically safe lah, not sure if any complications if really happens.So still kinda safe to invest up to 6 figures? Ofcourse i am not there yet but hopefully to reach there in the long term. Also I think the reason why the robo-advisor model struggles in some developed market (US for example), is cuz the robo-advisor scene there is very mature with too many players, resulting in a price war to gain competitive advantage over the other. That's y their fees can go as low to 0.25% etc, which is killing their margins, hence even with a large AUM, they may not be making profit. Here locally on the other hand, the robo-advisor space is still relatively new, not many players n their pricing is (for now) charged according to whatever is necessary to run the platform. So hopefully SA can continue on lah. Still, agreed it would be great if they can disclose their AUM & growth... |
Sep 23 2020, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Sep 23 2020, 10:17 AM) Just did abit of a browsing ... This is investment, not FD, returns r not guaranteed. So answer is, depends...it can go way higher & also way lowerIs the return much much better than current MY FD? How do we transfer funds over? I don’t see any such column... TiramisuCoffee liked this post
Oct 26 2020, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(encikbuta @ Oct 26 2020, 10:05 AM) Hey man, i actually looked into this extensively and below are my main issues with using eToro to replace StashAway: Nice analysis & thought process!i) There is a USD500 (RM2,000+) minimum transaction to purchase ETF on eToro. This is an issue for me who only DCA small amounts every month. A workaround would be to just put in StashAway first then once accumulate to RM2000+, dump into eToro. Also, I heard this can be fixed by changing your eToro account affiliation to CySEC. Originally ours under Australia. By switching to CySEC, the minimum to purchase ETF goes down to just USD50 per transaction. ii) With the USD500 minimum transaction for ETF, you might have issues trying to mimic the StashAway ETF holdings. Depending on the size of your fund, you may have to just pick one ETF and just go all in like the VOO. It's not a bad idea since VOO is already very diversified. Just saying it's not too feasible to 100% copy StashAway. iii) eToro (like Trading212, IBKR, TD Ameritrade, or any international brokers) is not recognized by Securities Commission M'sia. I (personally) won't be able to sleep soundly at night if I had RM50k - 100k sitting in unrecognized brokers (by Malaysia). I read in other forums that some of their in/out transfers from/to Malaysia to these brokers experience kickbacks from the banks. For eToro, they bypass this by creating local "dummy" accounts to allow you to transfer money locally. Not very comfortable with that. That said, I am still actively looking for StashAway replacements. Once my investment reaches a respectable value, the fees are really going to hurt. For now, I am looking at locally recognized brokers like Hong Leong e-Broking. The fees are definitely higher than eToro but if ever comes a day when my investments goes up to 6 digit, the fees are actually very insignificant and a lot less than StashAway. Local brokers charge you when you purchase funds and receive dividends but StashAway continuously charges you every month/year based on how much you hold. Most importantly, I think I will be able to sleep soundly knowing my funds are in an SC-recognized broker. Anyone else feel free to chip in. I may have missed something in my findings. But this answer is really based on personal preference. A lot of people actually don't mind holding their funds in International Brokers. In fact some might argue it is safer to hold them there than in a Malaysian broker. But to each their own. I too have explored/thought of the DIY route briefly, to cut out the fees, but came to the conclusion the fees are well worth it atm for the convenience, peace of mind & ability to run it on auto-pilot. SA does everything for you, is covered by SC, and significantly cuts down the barrier to investing in global ETFs. In theory, it may seem easy to DIY on eToro, but that may not be true, as you'd have to manage weekly/monthly deposits, buying each individual ETF (with that USD500 min per ETF, it makes it extremely hard for us), and also do review & rebalancing to make sure you are not over exposed to certain sector, and might have to periodically change your ETFs when SA does reoptimizations. All of which is extra work. N as ur fund size gets bigger, it technically gets cheaper also, going up their pricing tier, it's not too bad lah i feel. The fees dollar amount may be big, but what matters is net of fees what is the % gain mah. They help u manage & earn 10k, let them take loh the 1k fees, they help us do all the nitty gritty work anyway, completely passive for us so we can focus on other things/increasing income. Nonetheless, if we can find other options, it's still a good thing, just that atm given all the conditions, I think SA still provides good value lah IMO. encikbuta liked this post
Nov 11 2020, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(CassMei @ Nov 11 2020, 10:07 AM) Got these from their website on stashaway simple FAQ; In layman terms, risk is extremely low; AUM = Asset Under Management (which is just a fancy way of saying the amount of funds you put in); as for yield it's basically 2.4% (they just tried to disclose more info how that number was derived)."This is an investment, so there is a level of risk, but it’s incredibly low. The StashAway Risk Index for StashAway Simple™ is 1.8%. That means you have a 99% chance of not losing more than 1.8% of your AUM in a given year" "StashAway Simple™ projected returns are the sum of the amortised yield from the underlying fund, minus fees charged by the underlying fund managers, plus any rebates." I get the gist of how it works but when I read all these, my brain scrambled dy. What's AUM, amortised yield and does it matter, or at least how would it affect me? If this all still confuses u, to put it simply, they r investing your funds into a very low risk asset that will give u "projected" 2.4% per year. Try to read up/Google more on Money Market Fund if u want to know more. If not just put in FD for peace of mind, until u can figure out what is it u r investing in, anyway in terms of returns its almost the same. |
Jan 5 2021, 08:43 AM
Mar 16 2021, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(blackchides @ Mar 16 2021, 07:44 AM) https://the-ken.com/sea/story/stashaways-qu...o-advisor-code/ Thanks for the summary!Good detailed article on state of robo-advisor industry and Stashaway's plans. Need an account to read but it's free to register. This has been discussed before already in this thread but basically roboadvisers need a very high AUM to be profitable, upwards and around $10b AUM, (Stashaway only just crossed $1b AUM). Upside is that apparently customer acquisition costs are lower and people tend to have more cash holdings in our region vs the West, so Stashaway is more confident they can make it here. Also, part of the reason I've withdrawn from MyTheo and consolidated into Stashaway. I don't see MyTheo making it if combined with Japan, they only have less than $1b in AUM. I think Stashaway is moving in the right direction, growing into other regions like MENA, think they have a higher chance of succeeding. P/S: In the article, it's mentioned SA's margin is 0.4%, so $4mln in revenue for $1b AUM - that's really not a lot and definitely why they still need investor cash to continue to grow/operate. Big backers like Fidelity and some strong funding rounds to-date though, so should be all good. I think the $10b AUM benchmark is used more for roboadvisors in US right? Since SA's current primary markets are SG & MY and expanding in this region, operational cost are generally much lower over here, and the space is less competitive & crowded compared to the US, so given the context, $1b AUM (about RM4b) sounds ok as long as they keep on expanding. I've also transferred my Wahed funds over to SA as I prefer them overall. |
Mar 16 2021, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(blackchides @ Mar 16 2021, 11:04 AM) Yeah, think you're right, it could be more for US roboadvisors who also have a lower fee structure overall. In this and other article, they did say generally that they have strong unit economics and healthy cash holdings, so yeah, I think SA should do alright. Yeah it's a dog eat dog's world in US roboadvisor/investing scene, their pricing structure is different & can barely charge anything more than 0.25% management fee otherwise everyone will say goodbye to them, they got too many options...Plus all the free trading apps like Robinhood & all fighting for your money, fees are a thing of the past..we don't get all these here so SA still can comfortably charge 0.8% fee yet it'll still be superior than UT or any other comparable options out there.In Singapore, traditional banks have started offering roboadvisor-type products too though. Interested to see if Malaysian banks will follow suit - but they may not wanna cannibalize their own business. Different landscape altogether, so I think USD $1b AUM is definitely a good start for them. Personally I have about 40% allocation to SA, as long as can sleep soundly at night |
Mar 16 2021, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2021, 02:12 PM) hi, SA sifus or those who happened to have some idea.... No you can't select & DIY like that based on your liking, different SA Risk index portfolios are already tuned by them accordingly, so u can only choose what risk level u want to undertake, n the region/sector weightage will be standard to that portfolio.if i wanted to invest based on the regions/sectors..... like for example Greater China 30% Asia Pac region 20% US 25% Tech 10% Gold 10% etc. 5% can i do that with SA? SA risk index can interrelates to the regions by %? any idea where can see or compute that? U can see the asset allocation in the app. |
Mar 16 2021, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2021, 02:33 PM) yes, thanks for telling. No problem, yup u can c it in the app! There's a place to select the RI that u want to be on, n it will display all the region/sector weightage allocationi understand that the ETF in each RI is preselected by SA... can i see the by region basis based on the RI? (even if SA preselected them) |
Mar 16 2021, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2021, 02:40 PM) https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115001181288-investments/ |
Dec 4 2021, 03:36 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Dec 4 2021, 09:08 AM) I hate Freddy. He even invited kraneshares CIO on his fucking show to talk how good china is bla bla bla bullshit. Lol, did Freddy put a gun to ur head to invest or sth? Since everything they did was such a stupid move, y not just sell out completely n do ur own smarter investing?From now on, I will just keep, not going to cut loss. If I were Freddy, I would remain allocation to kraneshares and invest more in US. Freddy and team looking so fucking stupid right now. Surely if u had the wisdom to call out their stupidity from the very beginning, you'd still have some leftover to steer yourself clear of it? C'mon, have some accountability lah, ur own money, u choose to continue investing, nobody else dude. Don't lose money cuz of ur own decision dy then blame others. SA just provide the platform, u r free to dislike/disagree/critique it, not happy then just leave lah, simple as that. No point u keep saying the results suck, u chose to stay in lol. In any case, didn't u sign up to be invested for 3-5 year horizon? Bet if KWEB went the other way up then suddenly it'd be to ur full credit n genius crystal ball foresight right? SMH... This post has been edited by JLJQ: Dec 4 2021, 05:39 PM aberrant80 and Medufsaid liked this post
| Change to: | 0.6666sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:46 PM |