31 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

zstan
post Aug 8 2021, 10:57 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Aug 8 2021, 12:09 AM)
Don't think anyone's complaining or not understanding. The fact is SA needs to outperform EPF by quite a bit more than 1% as a reflection of true long term investment, due to the fees. If it only performs at EPF +1% the nett return is the same as EPF, then no point there, especially since the downside risk is there and quite frankly you may lose money, unlike EPF.

Also, even in a 5-10 year horizon, not many funds can perform at a 7% y-o-y average (assuming EPF is 6% average). Yes, there is the question of liquidity, but these days we can withdraw EPF for many things, first and second home, medical, education, etc.

Just thinking out loud, not expecting to convince anyone otherwise. I gave SA 3 years just to try it out. Will see.
those people who withdraw from EPF to 'invest' should get their heads checked seriously.
zstan
post Aug 8 2021, 03:01 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 8 2021, 11:51 AM)
I actually think people with large amount in Account 1 should use i-invest to buy funds with foreign exposure.

EPF has significant MYR concentration risk, and 54% of KWSP are in bonds + money market. So young ppl should probably take more risk there - when I say take risk I dont mind stock picking, but just have more foreign stocks to get more returns.
how would you define 'large amount'? later if portfolio turn red gonna give sleepless nights
zstan
post Aug 8 2021, 03:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 8 2021, 03:43 PM)
Way above basic saving amount laid out by EPF. Or way above what one needs to retire.
that one is t20 or t1 level already. laugh.gif

QUOTE(pendekartauhu @ Aug 8 2021, 03:46 PM)
Not everyone invest peanuts like you and be bothered when portfolio turns red. Small amount already sleepless nights, how to make big money  doh.gif
confused.gif what's your problem?
zstan
post Aug 8 2021, 04:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 8 2021, 03:59 PM)
on the same logic of thought....at what level of red when the portfolio turned red, then will gonna give sleepless nights?  hmm.gif
(just -0.5% or - 1% or -05% or - 10% or - 20%,.etc etc)
innocent.gif  devil.gif
i'm referring to the scenario where one uses EPF money for investment ya. not using extra money to invest.
zstan
post Aug 9 2021, 09:05 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 8 2021, 04:12 PM)
hmm.gif mind elaborate the difference?
one with risk free rate of 5% while others don't have risk free rate?
yes, and also at the risk of burning all your retirement money. the mentality and mindset of investing money you can and can't afford to lose and its effects on your emotions is very different.

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Aug 8 2021, 05:47 PM)
This is offtopic but since people are talking about investing through epf, just remember nobody said you need to keep investing through epf i invest, you could start to invest during a crash and reinstate the money to epf after you achieved your target. 

Well at least i did that, last year and now i have reinstated it back to epf. I gained around 50k from around 120k of total investment using DCA, although most gain coming from my entry in march to june 2020 which was way lower than 120k.

I will not hesitate to invest in selected fund when i see a crash.
the only way to withdraw to such a huge sum without going through epf i invest probably means that you are above age 55 with a an established career (or just having a lot of faith in Stashaway biggrin.gif ) and can take this kind of calculated risk without losing much sleep when things didn't go as planned.
zstan
post Aug 9 2021, 09:27 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2021, 09:17 AM)
Money in epf a/c 1 that can be withdraw for investment is just how many % of the total inside epf?
Thus it is not possible to lose all the retirement money.
With equity investment, it can also hv the possibility to increase the retirement money too.
you may not lose all the money but it's an opportunity cost as well. if you withdraw 10k and lost 2k in a bad stock what would you do? continue to hold? cut loss? let's say it maintains 2k loss for 20 years vs that 2k now in epf being compounded 5% for 20 years. of course you may argue what if the 10k turns into 20k on a bitcoin gamble but what are the odds.

now if you are already 55 years old the compounding effect of the 2k may not be much.
zstan
post Aug 9 2021, 02:34 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2021, 10:28 AM)
Ok, thks,
So the currents drops of abt $70 in the last 2 trading days does not matter to you much then.
you haven't see crash $100-200 before ah
zstan
post Aug 9 2021, 04:16 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2021, 03:02 PM)
Have you?  biggrin.gif

In context, it corrected from $980 to $680 in 2008.

But $100 to $200 in a $1800 gold may not be a bad thing.
few months back it went from 2100 to 1800 no?
zstan
post Aug 10 2021, 10:51 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Aug 10 2021, 10:14 AM)
i have a portfolio of risk index : 30% for many months and do DCA every week, the return is getting smaller recently and going into negative zone soon, i checked the asset class, there is this ETF : KraneShares CSI China Internet ETF that generated -38% return that pull down significantly the return and eat up all the positive returns from other ETF, this is understandable because recently china government are giving a lot of negative news to those internet firms in china such as Didi, Tecent and ALibaba.

should i switch my my risk index from 30% to below 20% to reduce the exposure to that KraneShares CSI China Internet ETF ? if yes, which risk % i should use here? 14% or 16% ?  If i don't act now, i think very soon i will make a loss in this 30% risk index.
what happens when one day you see your portfolio goes to -20%?
zstan
post Aug 10 2021, 11:30 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Aug 10 2021, 11:19 AM)
For me i just deposit into SA and forget.. Dont really bother to see the amount inside daily.. Come back to check twice a month will do. No investment will go north forever. If u fear to bear the risk better opt for mmf or fd.
erm many investments will go north forever. that's why highly risky if only invest in a single stock.
zstan
post Aug 12 2021, 01:26 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 11 2021, 04:36 PM)
just for discussion on this,...

"The argument is always the same, u tak suka u keluar. As if now selling in the dip will do me any good by exiting SA.

Sorry I'm not that dumb.

If your have such confidence in SA, then shall I ask, will kweb rebound to sp500 level after this crash?"

comparing the performance,...

how long will you intent to hold on till KWEB recovers?
will continue to hold on to the current losses in KWEB be subjected to the opportunity cost of the rising SP500?

if cannot accept to cut losses NOW for fear of being dumb,...will it become dumber if KWEB continue to falls while SP500 continue to rise?

Don't forget "things are going fantastic over there"  brows.gif  brows.gif

just thinking and open for discussion  hmm.gif
KWEB is only 20% of the portfolio.. If other assets go up and KWEB remain status quo I won't be complaining much either.

Australia ETF is already up 3% is these few weeks.
zstan
post Aug 15 2021, 06:58 PM

15,856 posts

It's weird that those that claim to have completely pulled out of StashAway continue to post here laugh.gif

For me I've already completely pulled out of Wahed hence I don't even visit that thread anymore and gloat about it.
zstan
post Aug 20 2021, 03:44 PM

15,856 posts

Mine (KWEB) is at -13.01 % now laugh.gif

but weightage has dropped to 16.5%. so any top ups i make will definitely go to KWEB.

The real estate ETFs are carrying KWEB now. Both also at 20% allocation. Just DCA and trust the uncle freddy.

This post has been edited by zstan: Aug 20 2021, 03:45 PM
zstan
post Aug 20 2021, 04:50 PM

15,856 posts

Those with -50% KWEB if you lump big sum now the returns will be syiok
zstan
post Aug 24 2021, 09:47 PM

15,856 posts

Fuh my buy order made it. Hopefully it was yesterday's price for KWEB biggrin.gif
zstan
post Aug 24 2021, 10:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Aug 24 2021, 09:56 PM)
KWEB (XXX units, Price: $45.66 USD)
Only regret i reduced my DCA amount. haha
87% of my fresh funds went into KWEB laugh.gif

JEEZ spike 9.61% as of now.

This post has been edited by zstan: Aug 24 2021, 10:59 PM
zstan
post Aug 24 2021, 11:15 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 24 2021, 11:01 PM)
Heng ah I always deposit on Monday and bought in yesterday.
FUH BREAK 10% LIAO. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

when KWEB spike thread so quiet pulak laugh.gif

JD alone +13%
Pinduoduo +17%

gogoggogo
zstan
post Aug 25 2021, 07:37 AM

15,856 posts

KWEB closed at +10.95% sweeeeeet. Waiting for 2pm to see at which price level I bought in. laugh.gif
zstan
post Aug 25 2021, 09:18 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Aug 25 2021, 09:05 AM)
10% only so happy ar? It needs to go up 100% to break even for those who bought at ATH.
Dump in more funds when it was -50% is a much easier way wink.gif
zstan
post Aug 26 2021, 09:09 AM

15,856 posts

Looking back on my buy orders where i mentioned 80% of my fresh funds went to KWEB, when i checked after the actual 2pm updates less than half were invested sad.gif

yesterday night only got a second buy order which used up my remaining funds.

31 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.3734sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:02 PM