23 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 08:50 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(owum @ May 31 2021, 11:05 PM)
sorry my bad  sweat.gif sweat.gif I'm referring to 13-16% is 'annualized' return as projected in SA's website which I can compare in a year later.  You're right, I would prefer consistent 8% return year after year.  Any big market clash could wipe off those double digit return. My post here serves as my journey log in SA.
16% annualised over 45 days is 2%. Now think about markets going up n down 0.2 to 0.6% per day sometimes and 2% per day once or twice in a year.

My 2nd part of my advice, don't analyse the market over short term helps me sleep at night.

Over the long term, yes everyone who invested long enough know the returns, annualized and compounded. It will be as stashaway advertised.
lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 09:46 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 1 2021, 08:59 AM)
i would be very disappointed if SA cannot beat gold itself which is in my experience have been giving me 11 to 12% CAGR since 2002.

If you are looking at 8%, i would say that is rather low considering the SA risk in equities. 8% is not much difference from EPF.
There are some medium risk investments which yield around 7 to 8% pa.
7 to 8% with lower risk than stashaway? Do tell.

Gold while it does recently give a reasonable return does not have a great risk vs return, right? Sharpe ratio of 0.65 over 3 yrs.

In any case I'm well aware of the returns from stashaway. I've invested since 2019. But again to expect something above 10% over 20 years....thats something....
lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 12:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 1 2021, 12:08 PM)
15 years time frame good enough?  biggrin.gif
i am just pointing out gold as a stabiliser in SA as pointed out by their CEO/CIO.
Now if SA cannot beat gold as a standalone, what does it tell you? i am just opening it up to the forum here as i have experience with gold.

i cannot use your last point as i have already substantial gold stabiliser due to my early investment in the asset.

So its a discussion point.

If SA cannot beat gold over 15 years, is it worth the risk?  OR should you guys just invest in gold as a standalone?
Good discussion.

beating is one thing, many things beat gold too. Many things also beat stashaway, or S&P500.

Example Tesla, Amazon, bitcoin, rubber gloves. The metric one should remember is risk, or standard deviation. Tesla has a standard deviation that is 5 times of S&P 500. If you put so much value at risk, it means getting your high returns are barely justified.

Just by having it in the portfolio probably will NOT beat it....

lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 01:38 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 1 2021, 12:43 PM)
When i first invested in gold in 2002, my goal was simple. Beat the FD rates of 5 to 6%. Which i believe it would.
AND it did.

So what is one's goal in investing via SA?  8% as many have indicated?  So i brought in the issue of gold, which is a major part of SA's portfolio.

So i am sharing my experience of gold's return over 19 years. With that in mind, do we still wish for 8% from SA?

Discuss.  biggrin.gif
Wish - always match or exceed s&p 500.
Expectation : s&p500 is around 36% value at risk. Same as my 36% portfolio. With 99% confidence interval. Ie std deviation around 0.9% to 1% daily.
It has been tracked over many decades that it gives 8%, and 10 to 12 % recent decade.

lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 02:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 1 2021, 02:04 PM)
At times.....

time of entry, holding period and the expectation of returns and time frame of measurement do play a part.....
Thanks for putting this up.
Yes, GLD has been providing annualized returns of perhaps 8-9% for the last 15 yrs.
SPY - 10% over last 15 yrs.

Backtest

I think, my hopes are anything above 2 digit growth, my expectation is 8%
lee82gx
post Jun 1 2021, 05:15 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Jun 1 2021, 04:58 PM)
How accurate ur spread sheet?
It is correct. You may use my backtest link. Try until you happy.
lee82gx
post Jun 7 2021, 09:51 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

For those of you who think lump sum entry right now is not advisable or that current market levels are “too high”.

I present to you another way of thinking this complex lump sum thingy from my perspective.

Suppose like many of us, you built your portfolio over 2 years of DCA, 1k per month. Now you have to 100k.

If suddenly thru no fault of your own, StashAway accidentally liquidates your entire holdings today, say RM50k to 100k, and they promise you no fee / no charge buyback in any way you want, will you buy back everything as is in lump sum (and get back what you had)?

Or will you think that you will DCA again, split over some arbitrary comfortable time period?

See, whichever way you do you need to be comfortable (with self assurance that this is more profitable than the other way).

If you do think the “DCA” way is surely better, May I suggest you liquidate now and do it! The only reason not is you are confident it will actually go up more than down over time isn’t it?

I learned this over some investment newsletter r and books. As of today, I’m happy to rebuy anything I have, but this is a personal thing.
lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 01:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 12:49 PM)
i did something or this order last  Feb and March when covid was first announced.
i had invested in a logistics company in Wuhan! 
As a rule, i never sell all my holdings in any event. That's because i am not holding very speculative stocks.

So i sold 80% of my SREITs holdings in FEb/March 2020 in one go for each stock. For example this particular stock went from 80 to 42 at the low.
For my re-entry, i did DCA over the next 10 weeks after the perceived low of each stock with the same money received from the sales.
So now, i am holding 50% more stock quantity than in March 2020 with the same holding cost.

Since the stocks have made a recovery, i am well up on my portfolio circa Feb 2020 presently.

Just sharing.
Interesting. But the question is do you have the same amount of holding (in shares or in $ value) if compared to before COVID was announced....either way what’s happen in the past is in the past...

And generally speaking, as of today will you liquidate and rebuy the same things immediately or will you DCA?

lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 01:56 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 01:44 PM)
i had essentially the same value as at Feb/March 2020 but more shares. So as the share prices recovered, my portfolio value went up faster with the increased number of shares.

As for today, if another pandemic situation comes, i will liquidate just the same to around 20 to 25% of my number of shares presently.
I am an age where i need to ensure my capital is properly preserved.
As i showed, i will DCA since i do not know where the low of the stocks are.
It’s very important you are comfortable. And that’s all that matters. Not more money or less money.
lee82gx
post Jun 8 2021, 02:36 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 8 2021, 02:03 PM)
Yeah... at 60, one needs peace much more than money.  biggrin.gif
At any age for that matter....
Pursue self sufficiency rather than a number

And thanks for teaching us young punks a thing or two about investing, dear sir/mdm
lee82gx
post Jun 9 2021, 11:17 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Jun 9 2021, 11:04 PM)
that's the thing , I am not sure/know what to change / tweak in that scenario ?
Stashaway is designed for folks like you, but the advise from MUM is extremely relevant.

You must know what you are buying which is a split basket of ETFs comprising of index funds, and usually some Gold.

Now once you know you are indexing, in a way you need to accept that it goes up and down according to the market of the fund you are buying. And if you know that then you also know that once in a while something bad happens and it can even drop 10-20% in a year, or even slightly more. THat means that in the absence of something catastrophic anything else can cause drops of 1-9% without too much "reason".

You also need to know that generally markets tend to go up over time.
lee82gx
post Jun 10 2021, 12:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2021, 09:36 AM)
My spouse knows of the passwords to my banks n investment a/c..
Accessing them and transferring it online would be faster than waiting for the processing of will route
after considering various options, this is the best. Especially for international holdings.
lee82gx
post Jun 15 2021, 01:09 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(jj_jz @ Jun 14 2021, 05:06 PM)
Hi bro, generally yes but I checked my portfolio i do not have that  bruce.gif
In YTD performance, most of the ETF bought by stashaway are in +%, the only -% in my portfolio is China-Tech (downtrend since Feb'21 if im not mistaken) and also gold ETF.

Encikbuta, not a buy sell call, but you may have a look on stashaway, like Lee shared with me back in Jan'21, hope you can get your right direction before FSM Malaysia launch foreign ETF.
Take a longer view, recently Stashaway is underperforming SP500 due to KWEB. You can do backtest of a few years or you can see graph like this:

You can argue until the cows come home but to me, I take it as it will match SP500 eventually. Otherwise I will dump it.
lee82gx
post Jun 16 2021, 12:04 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 15 2021, 08:52 PM)
what's the tool that you used to perform the backtesting as shown in your post?
Yahoo finance, if you enter you holdings in a portfolio, over time you will see a benchmark graph appear. But it takes time.
lee82gx
post Jun 16 2021, 09:36 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 16 2021, 07:57 AM)
meaning to say you regularly take a "snapshot" of portfolio allocations and manually entered it into Yahoo Finance?
Yes.

Actually doesn’t even have to be so regular. I just put in there to track the relative movement.
lee82gx
post Jun 18 2021, 11:20 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 18 2021, 10:44 AM)
my initial deposit was 1k, then I DCA every few days. Currently standing around 3k.
hope eventually the SA will out run S&P 500 return.
the back test data does not support your hopes.
lee82gx
post Jun 18 2021, 01:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Tbh how many really bear markets can you find these days?

A proper bear market is a mini recession followed by a true recession. You need to monitor bond market and bond prices to be really sure of that. I’ve encountered 2 in my 15 years of investing. What do you really want to do at those times can make or break if you do the wrong thing whereas in both cases just doing nothing also not that bad eventually.
lee82gx
post Jun 18 2021, 03:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 18 2021, 01:20 PM)
can sifus share what is your investment goals when you started with Stashaway?

I started with SA (36% highest risk) was hope to beat EPF return (as I am using my i-Sinar money to invest) at minimum, and expect it to beat S&P500 (which I painfully learn today it is impossible  bye.gif )
is Sifus treat SA as defensive portfolio in times of volatility like this?
According to SA, their own prescribed risk index (Value at risk) of 36% IS indeed matching and equaling the the S&P 500 Risk index (this is a well known figure you can just google it).

The logic is with equal risk (standard deviation) the return should be equal.

Now, the job of SA is to make sure the standard deviation remains the same at 36% Var, and if that is the case year in year out, then if your portfolio does NOT match S&P500, then there is really no point to give SA your 0.8% fee.

Back when KWEB shot up early this year, we handily beat S&P 500 for a few months. It means nothing now that KWEB is no longer erectile, and it also means nothing if not compounded over many years....so, as many investment cases, beating S&P 500 is over long period is indeed no simple matter. It is not impossible, just improbable. I believe we will match S&P 500 and outperform it in the long run by maybe 1-2% if we are lucky.

It does beat EPF, but there is no guarantee. The thing is, if you withdraw from EPF, you are subjecting your money to RISK. Now you are the only one able to gauge the worth of taking such a risk. TBH, I will never withdraw from EPF, as I always aim to squeeze my own income for savings and investments. That is a personal thing.

lee82gx
post Jun 18 2021, 10:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Jun 18 2021, 05:08 PM)
does that means bond prices are usually up during the bear market ?
You need to understand more on bonds.
Central banks judge the pace of growth, and economic expansion.
If they think equity, growth and especially inflation is getting out of hand, then they will start to raise interest rates.

When this occurs, companies who need money to invest, will need to RAISE interest on their bond coupons, beyond interest rates to attract investment. The nett effect becomes the investor then will decide that a bond coupon is actually a safer and higher yielding investment than a piece of share of the same company that issues the bonds, and also higher yielding than just saving it in banks.

This means he will either not price the share so high, or he will sell the share and buy the bond instead. This is the trigger of a bear market. This is what it means to be in the bear market.

All this is actually very natural in a capitalist accounting world. An Equity is a shareholder liability, and a bondholder is a debt liability. They both exist in the balance sheet on the same side. After the debtor, next the bondholder has the second right to collect the debt to the amount owed (Principal+interested and bonus), but has no right to a share of the profits or the assets which the shareholder has. When a company is bankrupt, the shareholder has a certificate of a proportion of the remainder of the assets which in theory you liquidate and distribute.

lee82gx
post Jun 20 2021, 12:07 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 20 2021, 01:08 AM)
Yeah man, lets hope for USDMYR 6.942
i think you are just joking, there is no real benefit for malaysians in the long run for a continuously weakening currency....as long as you and your children plan to live in Malaysia....

23 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.4560sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:19 AM