17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 02:12 PM

8,188 posts

hi, SA sifus or those who happened to have some idea....

if i wanted to invest based on the regions/sectors.....
like for example
Greater China 30%
Asia Pac region 20%
US 25%
Tech 10%
Gold 10%
etc. 5%

can i do that with SA?
SA risk index can interrelates to the regions by %? hmm.gif
like for example
a RI 36% will be invested in what regions by %?
a RI 30% will be invested in what regions by %?
a RI 26% will be invested in what regions by %?
a RI 22% will be invested in what regions by %?
etc etc??

any idea where can see or compute that?
notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 16 2021, 02:24 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 02:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JLJQ @ Mar 16 2021, 02:30 PM)
No you can't select & DIY like that based on your liking, different SA Risk index portfolios are already tuned by them accordingly, so u can only choose what risk level u want to undertake, n the region/sector weightage will be standard to that portfolio.

U can see the asset allocation in the app.
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 16 2021, 02:31 PM)
can just go to their website to check the ETFs they invest in. Mostly USA & China now for equities. Got one Asia ex-Japan.
yes, thanks for telling.
i understand that the ETF in each RI is preselected by SA...

can i see the by region basis based on the RI? (even if SA preselected them)

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 16 2021, 02:34 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 02:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 16 2021, 02:35 PM)
just key in the ETFs in Yahoo Finance then you can see the individual shares that the ETF holds then you can roughly see the region
notworthy.gif will have to compute by myself then. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(JLJQ @ Mar 16 2021, 02:37 PM)
No problem, yup u can c it in the app! There's a place to select the RI that u want to be on, n it will display all the region/sector weightage allocation
hmm.gif where can i see the composition of ETFs in a particular RI in this site?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115001181288-investments/

SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 02:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JLJQ @ Mar 16 2021, 02:48 PM)
I don't think they display that on the site (couldn't find at least), probably because it's not a permanent composition, cuz they do reoptimize the portfolios from time to time, so the ETF selection under a particular portfolio may change. Hence best to check it on the app, which will show it's current ETF composition depending of the RI selected.
have to register an account first before can see the data on the composition of each of the RI?
or just download the apps then can already?
SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 03:51 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(infernape772 @ Mar 16 2021, 03:36 PM)
You can create an account first, and view the weightage of each asset class before creating your first portfolio.

https://www.stashaway.my/how-we-invest
Thks for suggestion,... After creating the a/c,... Does it has an expiry date of when I need to put $$ inside before they closed my a/c?
SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 09:24 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 16 2021, 09:15 PM)
Biggest diff between robo and mutual funds:

In robo, you select risk to undertake, they pick whatever ETFs to fulfill that requirement. You do not need to do homework on what to buy.

In mutual funds, you have to choose which market and region to gain exposure to. You need to know WTF is going on in the markets, and switch funds before other ppl also learn of the economic changes.

That's why EPFIS and PRS are inadequate for normal Malaysians, but if they let stashaway enter their programme, the fund houses here will die off.
how long will the ROBO takes to reacts to make adjustment to their preselected portfolios if there are changes to the economic changes?...

SUSyklooi
post Mar 16 2021, 09:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Mar 16 2021, 08:38 PM)
Let's be honest, how many of you feel comfortable having 6 figure of your life savings in oversea brokers that are not protected by SC Malaysia?
yeah,...same as those that only go for PIDM protected FD..... thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 17 2021, 10:38 AM

8,188 posts

just a simulated scenario for comparing from
https://moneysmart.gov.au/managed-funds-and...-fee-calculator

0.7% annual mgmt fees with SA VS 0% annual mgmt fees with DIY

hmm.gif will DIY results be same as SA 10 yrs?
even a 1%pa less than SA will be noticeable too after 10 yrs

SUSyklooi
post Mar 17 2021, 10:47 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(CaptainGrindy @ Mar 17 2021, 10:43 AM)
if diy using SA allocation, should get investment earning between 11.20 and 12%?
simulated for comparing purposes...
fyi, 2020 SA returns
https://www.stashaway.my/r/our-returns-2020

disclaimer: blush.gif
Investment involves risk. The price of securities may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund. Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision. An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 17 2021, 10:50 AM

SUSyklooi
post Mar 17 2021, 11:04 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(CaptainGrindy @ Mar 17 2021, 10:43 AM)
if diy using SA allocation, should get investment earning between 11.20 and 12%?
QUOTE(CaptainGrindy @ Mar 17 2021, 10:53 AM)
sorry but does this answer my question?
depends on
what portfolio you are trying to follow and
at what rate are you following it (any delay)and
are you following it at real time and
how 'delayed" is their published info?
does volume has discount? are you buying same as SA volume?

thus i think sorry, i cannot answer your question

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 17 2021, 11:11 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 17 2021, 08:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Mar 17 2021, 08:51 PM)
Do Wahed and MyTHEO have similar ROI summary like StashAway?
no idea if those can be public obtained....
but i am sure their company should have them....if you are their customer...can try ask?
SUSyklooi
post Mar 18 2021, 09:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Mar 18 2021, 08:54 PM)
After 1 year, the fees to pay is like
48k*0.008/12= RM32 per month

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
hmm.gif as for me,...not sure of others...
i don't really mind paying RM32 per month if it can gives me RM400 per month

that is just 10% pa ROI of 48k....betting on 36% RI
SUSyklooi
post Mar 19 2021, 01:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yuatyi @ Mar 19 2021, 12:23 PM)
Oops, I should not say Robo. Should say FSM Managed Portfolio  tongue.gif   I wanted to be more passive so I could ignore all the noise in the market since I am going for long term. So I was thinking it might be better if I let FSM manage it for me instead of DIY.  hmm.gif
Both have different believes of growth areas that can generate more alpha and better risk reward to suit each of their portfolio....
(see image...FSM has a lot smaller beliefs in US than SA does)
thus to me as a non qualified advisor,...i would suggest going for all 3 portfolio from SA, FSM and DIY...
The % of value in this DIY port can be alot smaller in comparison to the other 2, the self DIY is just for self satisfaction needs...

when you see/hear noises or there is a sudden drops in a particular mkts....both the "professional managed ports" may not want to react....
you can react in this DIY port....
just to challenge oneself on the outcome of that mkt happenings... biggrin.gif

IF only have SA & FSM without the DIY, one life may become boring as there is no challenge or actions to do or follow up on one instincts (may it be right or wrong)
they have all the actions while you just sits on the sidelines.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 19 2021, 01:54 PM

SUSyklooi
post Mar 20 2021, 12:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 20 2021, 12:33 PM)
It’s irrelevant to the question asked coz they dont show sequence risk
Pls gives some simple examples that show having sequence risk..
Or how to make the examples as in Mum's previous posting to have sequence risk so that the mwr n twr can be relevant?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 20 2021, 01:02 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 09:13 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 09:03 AM)
It is based on compounded with average annual returns

Assuming 100k start with Yr 1 grow to 120k Yr 2 grow to 150k and yr 3 to 200k

Your yearly returns is 33.3% on average with yr 1 returns of 20% yr 2 of 20% and yr 3 of 33.3%

It is the same calculation that most unit trust used in terms the market to calculate 3,5 or 10 years return

MWR uses whereby money is weighted to returns and TWR weighted by time to returns with sequence risk it is more for year on year returns
so can these MWR or TWR be used in the examples as posted by MUM earlier to determine which one of the investor have their money worked better/harder ?

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 19 2021, 10:22 PM)
A
invested in Jan 2010, RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM2000....if simple returns is RM1000

B
invested in Jan 2015, RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM2000...if simple returns is RM1000

C
invested in Jan 2010, RM1000, in Jan 2019 he add in RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM3000....if simple returns is RM1000

all 3 of them has same simple return of RM1000, but which one actually has his money worked more efficient for him?
This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 21 2021, 09:21 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 09:45 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 09:34 AM)
A
invested in Jan 2010, RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM2000....if simple returns is RM1000

10% per annum on average

B
invested in Jan 2015, RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM2000...if simple returns is RM1000

20% per annum on average

C
invested in Jan 2010, RM1000, in Jan 2019 he add in RM1000, in Jan 2020 his ROI is RM3000....if simple returns is RM1000

6.67 per annum on average

all 3 of them has same simple return of RM1000, but which one actually has his money worked more efficient for him?

The answer is simple which B
so will/did the "xx% per annum on average" displayed in the SA or SA only display MWR or TWR?

SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 09:51 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 09:49 AM)
SA will never calculate per annum only TWR/MWR since your 1st deposit on your portfolio because their calculate on your portfolio which it easier for them manage as the flexibility for user to create multiple portfolios
i will be joining SA as either A,B or C
can i use the MWR or TWR in SA to determine how my fund performed or how efficient my money in SA worked in comparison to other investment?
or i cannot as there is no sequence of return risk?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 21 2021, 09:56 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 10:05 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 09:59 AM)
Sequence of risk is there just that SA doesn’t wanna calculate their performance that way

SA is philosophy is buying into sectors and measuring performance by it’s asset class in order for them to show a balanced return

When you invest in multi asset class sequence of risk would be difficult compared to index, single equities  or single ETF which is able to churn out the data directly

Don’t worry too much in getting the performance unless you are doing week to week investing

You can do your calculation on spreadsheet to track SA performance week to week if you wanna to track but be prepared to spend at least 8 hours a week

1stly you go track MYR to USD conversion, then track your buy order and directly daily opening and closing ETF prices daily
so there is no point in knowing the MWR or TWR value as it cannot helps in comparing which platform is better (or if A, B or C investment was better for that period in time)?

btw, i don't intent to track the MYR to USD conversion....i just buy as when i feel like it. or DCA like others where they set a predetermined date time for entry.
isn't SA is supposed to be easy investing and no need to do the tracking of MYR to USD conversion, then track your buy order and directly daily opening and closing ETF prices daily?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 21 2021, 10:12 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 10:15 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 10:12 AM)
To me MWR and TWR it is pretty useless only for those who like to see unrealised profit or losses which good for those who like DCA

SA is good for those lazy ppl who just want passive forced saving investment who has spare money to invest

For me it is good solid income if you’re willing to put in the hard just like any other platform

Hard work only gains will come
"MWR and TWR it is pretty useless only for those who like to see unrealised profit or losses which good for those who like DCA"??
isn't lump sum or DCA is also only seeing unrealized profits/losses unless they wanted to sell?...

isn't it be better for you to do it with direct ETF yourself than through SA as there is the unknown risk in lag time with SA.??

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 21 2021, 10:38 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 21 2021, 10:41 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 10:34 AM)
MWR or TWR it is performance as it is good for those who doesn’t withdrawal at all and go for long term holdings

Buying direct it is not as cheap as what you think as brokerages will need to earn with some sort of underlying fees

SA risk is not the lag time but the buy order or entry price they submitted based on their own calculation which you factor in whether you wanna buy or not
"MWR or TWR it is performance as it is good for those who doesn’t withdrawal at all and go for long term holdings"...but this has no sequence of return risk as pointed out earlier and pointed out too to be "Cannot" be used to know which one is better.

with these risks, you still do the buying thru SA after do the ("extra/hard" to some people) forecasting work?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 21 2021, 10:44 AM

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:17 PM