Edifier S2000 Fan Club, Edifier's flagship 2.0 hifi speaker

kapitan
post Jun 18 2007, 03:15 PM

2,205 posts

How many ppl actually owns one BTW?

AFAIK, only me n you owns one. How many unit you have sold up-to-today? 10sets?
kapitan
post Jun 19 2007, 12:13 AM

2,205 posts

I think its all depends on how you like your music.

For me, if I wanted bass so much, I wouldnt sell off my MX5021 and opt for S2000. The refinement it gaves simply compliment for the loss of sub which makes it attractive to those who enjoys it. If you feel Esi monitor sound superior, thats fine with me. Its just your taste differs from ours.

If you really want it to sing well, just play some music instead of playing white noise. IMO, burning-in with white noise is the most ridiculous thing even though Edifier themselves recommends it.

Even though S2000 is huge and pack awesome powers, actually it still not really that powerful enough to place more than 3m apart. Just place them 2-3m apart with slight angle centering to yourself. Doesnt need to point them at your ears, just slightly angled it towards yourself.

I felt that it sound awful if you turn up the treble setting. Just leave it at center. Bass does feel a bit lacking, but dont turn them up too much. Somewhere around 5-10 degree is more than enough. Becos S2000 lacks a sub to exaggerate the bass, I really do feel that it starts singing well if you turn your volume up to at least half (in my case, I lowered foobar volume to -6db). EQ'ing the song doesnt make it sounds good in any way.

The best thing about it of course would be its refinement like I said. Aego M sounds nice too, but lacks the refinement you get from S2000. I find it a bit harsh and annoying when you crank the volume up. Not to mention the underpowered sub. For me, its not even a problem to crank the volume on my S2000 decoder to the max when I had foobar at -6db. It still sing beautifully unlike most speaker system packed with a 2" or 3" sattelite. For me, its even on par with the CDT Audio 6.5" component speaker I used to have in my car years ago, just that the 5.5" wasnt able to match the midbass produced by the CDT.

Dont use digital connection cos the DAC is so-so only. The amp itself is a decent one, so dont worry about that. Why dont you get a better soundcard to test it? Comparing both 0404 and Prodigy, I felt the vocal is definately sharper/clearer when using 0404. If you think your S2000 sounds bad, just plug in any speaker whether its MX5021, S2.1, or whatever it is. Play a couple songs and then plug back your S2000. Feel the difference. Instead of blasting forward like most speaker will do, it creates something like a soundstage and its huge. It doesnt matter whether you sit in front of it or you sit 5M away, it sounds the same. Thats why I like to crank the volume up and enjoys it. My mum always scold me when I turned to the max. She said I wanna blew up the house.
kapitan
post Jun 19 2007, 04:51 PM

2,205 posts

The soundstage is there, regardless of the volume level. Its just that I find it sings well once you turn the volume knob past 50% (in my case, Im using ASIO and have -6db for foobar volume). I suggest u play it loud instead of playing white noise. Just start by playing those vocals songs first. Then slowly switch to those a bit bassy one. Honestly I din even burn it that much. Just play at 50% volume for few days and straight away I started blasting it at full volume.

lAh0s heard of my sytem b4 at full volume. It can get loud, really loud without feeling annoying which is fun.

Added on June 19, 2007, 5:00 pmBTW, how much you bought it anyway and where?

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 19 2007, 05:00 PM
kapitan
post Jun 19 2007, 05:05 PM

2,205 posts

BTW, Edifier S2000 isnt really hi-fi standard sweat.gif sweat.gif
It qualifies as a pretty decent 2.0 multimedia/bookshelf speaker but not hi-fi standard. HiFi sounds a lot better than it does.
kapitan
post Jun 20 2007, 12:23 AM

2,205 posts

IIRC, PcWorks says its sounds flat, so he prefers AegoM le.

Ooo... Edifier showroom promo price huh... must b RM999...
I too waited till PCFAIR where they promo it for RM999...

kapitan
post Jun 20 2007, 05:13 PM

2,205 posts

S2000 comes with external decoder which include an amp la.

I already did a comparison with my bro AegoM so count me out. Besides Im very busy, 6days work.

My impression of AegoM is a bit like Akabane. Its good but for me, its just as good as it gets. S2000 offers something different. Thats why I said taste matters. It offers refinement, details and smoothness over the AegoM. Though it might lack a sub, but honestly if you ask me, comparing to AegoM, I dont feel I miss the sub.

Added on June 20, 2007, 5:14 pmBTW, test in Edifier showroom?
Lastime I audition the S2000 there. Seem like they are using either on-board or Audigy1 only le.

Added on June 20, 2007, 5:22 pmIMO, not many ppl will pay RM799 for a 2.1 speaker system, let alone RM1499 for a 2.0 system (or RM999 during the promo). The reason is simple. They would rather buy a cheapo 5.1 speaker set which has lots of bass and boom boom boom. I was like that too lastime, boasting ACS48 + ACS45.1 when I first introduced to 4.1 with SB Live.

ACS90>ACS45>ACS45.1>ACS48>BOSTON BA7500>S2000.

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 20 2007, 05:22 PM
kapitan
post Jun 20 2007, 08:17 PM

2,205 posts

Active or Passive, it still has to have an amp... and in this case, they are seperated as they wanted to include a BB DAC for digital input processing. But I kinda feel the digital connection is a bit of a letdown.
kapitan
post Jun 20 2007, 11:42 PM

2,205 posts

Dont get me wrong. Indeed digital connection is created to allows user to bypass the sound processing and allows consumer to use more superior external device to process the sound. This is when you have superior external decoder.

But the BB DAC inside the S2000 decoder is somewhat outdated and nothing spectacular. Just feel the quality of the sound is inferior when using the decoder processing compared to EMU0404.

Im gonna send my 0404 to Ijan for modification pretty soon. Just waiting for his signal to sent the card. One week later, I gonna test out whats improvement will I be presented with.
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 05:21 PM

2,205 posts

Hmm... I dunno cos I didnt test out S2000V. Dont know why I wasnt bother at all to test it when I audition S2000. Maybe they used better component for it, or maybe they used the surplus to include an external casing, digital input and remote control. Who knows unless you open it up for inspection.

Under powered? Dont know why you said so. I have to set Foobar at -6db to avoid clipping and left ASIO at 0db. That way allows me to crank the volume to full without clipping. Same method used by ICE tuner where they use osciloscope to adjust gain on amp while maxing the volume on the cd player. Its really loud minus the bass of course. Why dont you make a second trip to Edifier showroom to test it out yourself. Dont be shy.. just crank up the volume all the way till you feel enough ba. Its 40W RMS per channel so I think you either too shy to crank it up or you're deaf.

Added on June 21, 2007, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Jun 21 2007, 02:35 PM)
ic...understood, wow so much to learn sweat.gif
Now, this is poisonous tongue.gif  what do you expect from your 0404 to be after modification??  Can i modifiy my Prodigy 7.1LT too drool.gif
Hahahaha.. actually to be honest, I have no idea.
I too was poisoned by Ijan post back in Team EMU. He has finalise the mod and will take a week to complete it after he received the card. Just haf to wait n see.

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 21 2007, 05:23 PM
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 06:25 PM

2,205 posts

LOL...
Whats the point of buying the S2000 then?

If you really want to buy a good amp, it can cost thousands. Man, you really are crazy. If you want to spent 2-3k, better get a hifi set.

If S2000 is like 5-10% of your home bookshelf, it feel like you not having bookshelf. More like floor stander speaker liao.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 21 2007, 06:24 PM)
u remind me...
i think S2k cannot simply connect to amp
it might burn both thing
Depends. I think the speaker in S2000 might be 4ohm. Start off with low volume for starter. Then slowly increase. I dont see a reason why it shall blow up if you dont overfeed it.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:44 pmhttp://jimmyauw.com/2006/12/12/edifier-goes-to-another-level/

S2000 review in English. Basically he also feel the need to turn it pass 50%, so I guess its a must to crank it so loud.

Added on June 21, 2007, 7:04 pmhttp://www2.beareyes.com.cn/cgi-bin/joytlun.pl?id=a&job=post&numb_can=103851&ceng_can=0&p=20070612103851&his=14

If you click here, you would find that S2000 is indeed using a so-so DAC.. PCM1732 which feature HDCD but not spectacular at all...

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 21 2007, 07:04 PM
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 07:32 PM

2,205 posts

It seem like you dont get it.
If I ask you to get rid of your AegoM sub and replace it with something bigger and more powerful. Rip off the amp and fit in something more powerful. And then hook it all up. And then what you get? AegoM on steroid?

Besides how much would you spent on the amp anyway? Rm500 amp? What was that!!?? A decent one would cost around 2k at least. My mom got a Denon amp downstair. But I wasnt interested hooking it up to my S2000. I hook it up b4 with my CDT 6.5 component and its 80W proved more than enough to prick the whole speaker upside down.
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 08:10 PM

2,205 posts

I know what you mean. But that is so Malaysian way. Rip off the engine from Mirage and we call it Satria. Why spent few k on an amp on something that supposely fit in your bedroom or on your computer table. If you bought a 2k+ amp and found that it rivals 5k sound system. Does that really make you happy? You could have bought something better that also can rivals a 5k setup, given the total amount you spent on it. Honestly if its really that good anyway, I guess the news already pop out long ago.

For me, if you really keen to mod the speaker, rip it off the internal and change the IC, components etc. Everything has its limits. The components choosen for S2000 is the limitation that given its price tag. Its not that it cant get better, its just an economical factors whether the increase in quality justify the money spent on the purpose to achieve it.
kapitan
post Jun 22 2007, 09:36 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Jun 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
wan to know different test a s2k  with a bookshelf also lo....u wan to listen a good bookshelf may try monitoring speaker haha,,,, sure u will poison.....it true is happen to me then haha..my bookshelf monitoring up to 70RMS per speaker side lo...total RMS IS 140....will blow ler. sound is balance and clear ....
It came with built-in amp or must buy an amp?
Actually 40W RMS is too much for a small room, let alone 70W RMS.
You are using Esi monitor isnt it? Does it come with 6.5" or 5.5" mid?

Added on June 22, 2007, 9:45 am
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 21 2007, 09:59 PM)
OMG
u still dun get it
nvm
i dun think u really know wat the use of Passive bookshelves
as i tot S2k is 1 of them tat y will suggest
nvm dy
nothing, go on with ur so call everything original, n i dun think i even mention bout MOD or anything, i just suggest put a nicer AMP on, n i even din talk bout cable some more
n u give me tat lot of BS tat tot i duno wat u meaning
pass it on, i out of this discussion

Added on June 21, 2007, 10:01 pmn oh ya
y bother to MOD ur EMU at the 1st place?  shakehead.gif
Just cool it man. Not really wanna offend you. I get what you mean like I said. You want to test it with a dedicated amp to see if there's any improvement. Just that I feel wasting money if really wanna buy a decent amp cos it would increase the cost by 2-3 fold (IMO only, budget constraint). According to the reviews that I gone through, it seem that the LM3886 was able to produce much higher gain but Edifier specifically limits it to 40W to keep the THD at 5/10000.

Arssoo would be interested to lend you his set I think.

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 22 2007, 09:45 AM
kapitan
post Jun 22 2007, 04:12 PM

2,205 posts

arrsoo,

you can forget about the 0db for ASIO, cos im using emu0404 which has this in their control panel.
kapitan
post Jun 22 2007, 11:32 PM

2,205 posts

arrsoo,

since you have it for 2 weeks liao, whats your take on it?
have it met your expectation? compared to other speaker you heard of.
kapitan
post Jun 23 2007, 03:02 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Jun 23 2007, 01:55 PM)
Anyone bring?
Mr Edifier, how bout we play a gamble game...
If AegoM wins over S2000 than Edifier give away a S2000...
If AegoM lose...aaaa hmm.gif Edifier take away his/her AegoM?
hahaha.....or belanja starbuck? tongue.gif
drool.gif
How do you define win or lose?
Its so subjective.
kapitan
post Jun 23 2007, 04:19 PM

2,205 posts

It wont be so easy...
The bass will play a part in the decider...
kapitan
post Jun 23 2007, 07:51 PM

2,205 posts

It all boils down to what you really want to hear.
AegoM has a sub that would at least make it suitable for songs that required some kind of bass, which would sound like WTH when played on S2000. If the type of music you like to hear always got <80Hz frequency, you aint gonna get it with S2000.
kapitan
post Jun 24 2007, 12:00 AM

2,205 posts

Well, you cant compare just like that. You gotta know, you do get what you pay for. Piano face materials, external amp with good crossover, dac and etc.
kapitan
post Jun 24 2007, 10:29 AM

2,205 posts

xover is a piece of circuitary used to filter the frequency range. Most multimedia speaker like Altec, Logitech, Creative only has a simple one to split the lower frequency to the sub and the rest to the sattelite. And then manufacturer use a simple way to cut cost and just use a piece of cap to filter the lower frequency from the tweeter.

S2000 has a xover which filter the sound at certain frequency making it smoother. If you had component speaker like Alpine, CDT, etc you should notice that it come with a xover for each side. It allows them to tune the sound by altering the frequency range.

0.0276sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:27 AM