salary for fresh grad

TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 06:17 PM, updated 7y ago

680 posts

Hi, all. I will finish my bachelor in civil engineering this year. Just curious, what is the range of salary for fresh civil engineer ? I prefer to work at office ? I heard that those who grad with 1st class honour will get better starting salary, am i right ? Can engineer tell your salary here?
magnesium
post Feb 24 2019, 06:28 PM

1,130 posts

Bachelor?

Rm2k to rm2.5k?

Civil engineering should be base on site.

This post has been edited by magnesium: Feb 24 2019, 06:30 PM
nexona88
post Feb 24 2019, 06:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,525 posts

Different company different range...
But basically its from 2k till 3.2k 🙏
TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:03 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Feb 24 2019, 06:28 PM)
Bachelor?

Rm2k to rm2.5k?

Civil engineering should be base on site.
only up to 2.5k , that is too low doh.gif I am expecting at least a rm2.5k
TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:04 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 24 2019, 06:56 PM)
Different company different range...
But basically its from 2k till 3.2k 🙏
site engineer ? or consultant engineer ?
trd088
post Feb 24 2019, 07:09 PM

169 posts

Heavy industries need engineer who has experience at site. Prefer to work in office? Don't over estimate for starting pay.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 24 2019, 07:15 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

strawberry generation don't know what work is.....

If you're based in office, you would be working consultant job, designing and rushing drawings until late night just to beat deadlines.

site engineers, you basically have the same shitty hours, but get to watch every go up in front of your eyes.

Either way, project delivery>>>>>>> "work-life balance"
TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:21 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 24 2019, 07:15 PM)
strawberry generation don't know what work is.....

If you're based in office, you would be working consultant job, designing and rushing drawings until late night just to beat deadlines.

site engineers, you basically have the same shitty hours, but get to watch every go up in front of your eyes.

Either way, project delivery>>>>>>> "work-life balance"
I know the site working condition , but i couldnt stand it. During the intern period, I was based at site. It's great to see that everything grow in front of eyes. But, the pay of consultant engineer really lower ah ?
everything is awesome
post Feb 24 2019, 07:22 PM

42 posts

Probably between rm2.5k to rm3k for fresh grad.
TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:25 PM

680 posts

Is there any site which i can check the salary range of fresh grad ?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 24 2019, 07:25 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 24 2019, 07:21 PM)
I know the site working condition , but i couldnt stand it. During the intern period, I was based at site. It's great to see that everything grow in front of eyes. But, the pay of consultant engineer really lower ah ?
pay is roughly the same.

working hours is going to be your problem.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 24 2019, 07:30 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 24 2019, 07:25 PM)
Is there any site which i can check the salary range of fresh grad ?
jobstreet....

I can safely tell you, most of my friends are earning the higher range of 2.5k-3k when working as engineer.

It's just whether you will like the type of work and hours involved.
TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:35 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 24 2019, 07:30 PM)
jobstreet....

I can safely tell you, most of my friends are earning the higher range of 2.5k-3k when working as engineer.

It's just whether you will like the type of work and hours involved.
When i worked at site last time, there was a lot of OT. Consultant also the same ?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 24 2019, 07:39 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 24 2019, 07:35 PM)
When i worked at site last time, there was a lot of OT. Consultant also the same ?
same, if got project.
If no project, you go home 9-5 sharp or dont even have to show up.
OT cannot claim, usually because you are "executive"
mdnOor
post Feb 24 2019, 07:50 PM

67 posts

Civil engineers works at site pays much hire than working in the office. My company pays for fresh graduate RM3k. If working everyday in site +RM300 allowance. No OT though.

TSpw8799
post Feb 24 2019, 07:59 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(mdnOor @ Feb 24 2019, 07:50 PM)

Civil engineers works at site pays much hire than working in the office. My company pays for fresh graduate RM3k. If working everyday in site +RM300 allowance. No OT though.
same with my previous company , no OT claim working at site
TSpw8799
post Feb 25 2019, 10:37 PM

680 posts

I plan to work in consultant firm , which type of company should I go to ? Those big company or shall i start with small firm first ? Since I have 0 experience, I wish to learn as much as I can in the short time
ipohmali70
post Feb 25 2019, 11:28 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 25 2019, 10:37 PM)
I plan to work in consultant firm , which type of company should I go to ? Those big company or shall i start with small firm first ? Since I have 0 experience, I wish to learn as much as I can in the short time
I wouldn't hire you if you say that.
TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 07:24 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 25 2019, 11:28 PM)
I wouldn't hire you if you say that.
why ? haha hmm.gif shakehead.gif Just asking opinion, which type of company should I join first ? rclxub.gif I just want to learn and gain some useful experience first
blitzbullet
post Feb 26 2019, 08:05 AM

293 posts

https://www.kellyservices.com.my/employment...nd-salary-guide

Might give some guide on salary scale. Anyway, dont be too choosy as the job market is hard these days. If you can land anything close to rm3k, take it. Learn for few years in whatever company, and you will gain more leverage for your next career. Just make sure you dont run away from engineering as it might be hard to come back to it in future.
ipohmali70
post Feb 26 2019, 08:06 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 07:24 AM)
why ? haha  hmm.gif  shakehead.gif Just asking opinion, which type of company should I join first ?  rclxub.gif I just want to learn and gain some useful experience first
Wrong thing to say.
popopi
post Feb 26 2019, 08:09 AM

1,197 posts

The correct way is to jump jump jump...
HAoCHa
post Feb 26 2019, 08:28 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 07:24 AM)
why ? haha  hmm.gif  shakehead.gif Just asking opinion, which type of company should I join first ?  rclxub.gif I just want to learn and gain some useful experience first
I guess because it sounds like you are going to leave after you had learn something.
ipohmali70
post Feb 26 2019, 08:42 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(HAoCHa @ Feb 26 2019, 08:28 AM)
I guess because it sounds like you are going to leave after you had learn something.
Spot on!!
tkyong1
post Feb 26 2019, 10:09 AM

640 posts

working at sites better la bro, can see lot of different things that you will not see in your life...better income too....i mean normally site ppl got different kind of side incomes.
Harry_Bobinski
post Feb 26 2019, 11:40 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

I have switched from being on site in O&G, construction field, design in O&G, manufacturing, and now in IT. My opinion to you is to test the water, irrelevant to what others say and as you progress, you will know what you want in your career. Just focus on getting your first job and progress from there. If you are lucky, you will get into a superb M&C paying RM3.5k a month, if you are joining Ah Seng Construction Sdn Bhd, you may end up with a RM2.5k a month. So it all depends.
Murasaki322
post Feb 26 2019, 12:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Feb 26 2019, 11:40 AM)
I have switched from being on site in O&G, construction field, design in O&G, manufacturing, and now in IT. My opinion to you is to test the water, irrelevant to what others say and as you progress, you will know what you want in your career. Just focus on getting your first job and progress from there. If you are lucky, you will get into a superb M&C paying RM3.5k a month, if you are joining Ah Seng Construction Sdn Bhd, you may end up with a RM2.5k a month. So it all depends.
Thanks for sharing. Are you also in engineering practice? My inexperienced self didn't know that we could switch to so very different fields. I am also a fresh currently working in O&M field... thinking of what line I could go to next.
Harry_Bobinski
post Feb 26 2019, 12:09 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

Yeah I used to be, and then I stopped being an engineer altogether and decided to go for big data field. Some soft skills are definitely transferable.
TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 01:26 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Feb 26 2019, 11:40 AM)
I plan to learn things and gain new experiences... Should I join small firm first so that I can learn better? My uncle advised me to join those big company as I have good cgpa now... But really not sure now...
TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 01:27 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Feb 26 2019, 10:09 AM)
working at sites better la bro, can see lot of different things that you will not see in your life...better income too....i mean normally site ppl got different kind of side incomes.
I have to say that I am not those outgoing type of people, I think consultant job suits me better
TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 01:29 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(HAoCHa @ Feb 26 2019, 08:28 AM)
Yea, sure for now. . I plan to jump after few years of experiences.... But I really what's goin to happen in the future....
Harry_Bobinski
post Feb 26 2019, 01:47 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 01:26 PM)
I plan to learn things and gain new experiences... Should I join small firm first so that I can learn better? My uncle advised me to join those big company as I have good cgpa now... But really not sure now...
Depends on your personality. If you are driven and you will not mind working 14 hours a day doing a 4 man job, then join a small firm first. If you are more towards work life balance and want benefits and not overwork, then join a big one. But do remember, big firms look better in resume.

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 01:27 PM)
I have to say that I am not those outgoing type of people, I think consultant job suits me better
Not outgoing? How are you going to be a consultant? How are you going to consult if you are not outgoing?

This post has been edited by Harry_Bobinski: Feb 26 2019, 01:47 PM
TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 02:10 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Feb 26 2019, 01:47 PM)
Depends on your personality. If you are driven and you will not mind working 14 hours a day doing a 4 man job, then join a small firm first. If you are more towards work life balance and want benefits and not overwork, then join a big one. But do remember, big firms look better in resume.
Not outgoing? How are you going to be a consultant? How are you going to consult if you are not outgoing?
Joining small firm will learn more? Is it true?
Harry_Bobinski
post Feb 26 2019, 03:00 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

Learn more only because you will be stressed to. 14 hours a day, sometimes work weekends. Some small firms will not acknowledge Deepavali as a holiday (if no Indian working there) and will give you only 11 days of stipulated public holiday.
jitshiong
post Feb 26 2019, 03:52 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

No short cut in engineering, starting pay is shit. Nobody wanna pay a fresh grad high salary when they have to teach the fresh grad the knowledge they need to climb the ladder.

Your money only comes in later when you have acquired enough skills to be an engineer. REAL ENGINEER. Not the i'm an engineer cos i have a degree in engineering.
Murasaki322
post Feb 26 2019, 06:33 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 26 2019, 03:52 PM)
No short cut in engineering, starting pay is shit. Nobody wanna pay a fresh grad high salary when they have to teach the fresh grad the knowledge they need to climb the ladder.

Your money only comes in later when you have acquired enough skills to be an engineer. REAL ENGINEER. Not the i'm an engineer cos i have a degree in engineering.
Can you describe what defines a real engineer? I want to know what can I do to build myself up to it.

TSpw8799
post Feb 26 2019, 08:22 PM

680 posts

Normally , how long would i take for the HR for the candidate to respond for the job reply ? Actually i applied for many company during intern and I gt several offer.... I feel sorry to decline the offer last time. Do i need to make up my mind now whether joining big company or small company? Or i can apply for many jobs at the same time ? Maybe i gt several job offer and choose small firm to start my career , But i maybe joining those big company next time...I dont want the HR to ''blacklist'' me ...
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 08:02 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 08:22 PM)
Normally , how long would i take for the HR for the candidate to respond for the job reply ? Actually i applied for many company during intern and I gt several offer.... I feel sorry to decline the offer last time. Do i need to make up my mind now whether joining big company or small company? Or i can apply for many jobs at the same time ? Maybe i gt several job offer and choose small firm to start my career , But i maybe joining those big company next time...I dont want the HR to ''blacklist'' me ...
just join any company that has a project that interest you......you talk 5 weeks on forum won't help you in securing any job.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 08:03 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Feb 26 2019, 06:33 PM)
Can you describe what defines a real engineer? I want to know what can I do to build myself up to it.
This one very dangerous.....
Like who can be called a doctor or what is the strength of a piece of steel, they are very technical.

The title Engineer can only be hold by someone with a degree recognised by BEM whistling.gif
jitshiong
post Feb 27 2019, 11:28 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 08:03 AM)
This one very dangerous.....
Like who can be called a doctor or what is the strength of a piece of steel, they are very technical.

The title Engineer can only be hold by someone with a degree recognised by BEM  whistling.gif
No....the degree don't qualify you as an engineer. That gives you the entry level to be a graduate engineer...you still have to hone your skills and learn the trades. These things are not taught in University.
jitshiong
post Feb 27 2019, 11:30 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Feb 26 2019, 06:33 PM)
When you enter the job, look for some Professional Engineer from the same field as you do and ask him to be your mentor. Of course, get someone good, so that you can learn to be the best.
badguy93
post Feb 27 2019, 03:09 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 25 2019, 10:37 PM)
No company will hire you if you ever say this...

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 01:26 PM)
Big company is normally for people who seek for laid back environment, especially for fresh graduate. Because the projects or any being assigned is split as according the skill set. You would most probably end up become a support type engineer until you managed to be independent without the need or least of supervision. There is no shortcut.

Small company is preferred their candidate to be 'Can Do' type. Because they are well independent and able to manage multiple projects by themselves. A well manage time management can survive this, otherwise you will end up being a joker within the company.

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 01:27 PM)
Nope, you cannot be consultant if you are not those outgoing type of people. And, a consultant required experience up to 3-5 years or your learning experience that is consider on par with any seniors. Consultant required high knowledge of such technologies being used, understanding the flows that is used in the minimal provided time frame and provide support for your clients.

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 26 2019, 01:29 PM)
Yea, sure for now. . I plan to jump after few years of experiences.... But I really what's goin to happen in the future....
There is no shortcuts. Don't think of how you gonna be like in your future, it's not gonna happen if you don't improve at present. I not trying to be harsh but by experienced. Any certificates you have are all just for decoration despite Degree holder, Master holder etc, they are nothing, because a true employer will only judge as per your learning experience and not certificate or working experience.

As mentioned, assume the candidate A with 5 years of "Working experience" vs the candidate B with 2 years of "Learning experience". I bet you can't see what are the differences between them. You can laid back, slack or anything that counts as "Working experience", and the quality product that delivered is low is still count as "working experience". A learning experience that is to judge a candidate that has the value to deliver quality of products within the shortest time frame possible, by bring a good profit revenue to the employer despite the candidate with lower duration experience.

The example above is how you should be like in future. For now, i would advise you, regardless any amount your receive whether or not high or low. You will need to have a positive thinking mindset, a fresh graduate is like a blank paper, any learning is your experiences, so start from there. Once you have the skill set that you think that you are good to go, that is where you can seek what you actually want in future.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 03:16 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 27 2019, 11:28 AM)
No....the degree don't qualify you as an engineer. That gives you the entry level to be a graduate engineer...you still have to hone your skills and learn the trades. These things are not taught in University.
You got skills, but no education background also, BEM wont let you legally call yourself Engineer.

That's my point. I understand you're trying to make a point about people who flaunt a piece of paper without any other technical knowledge to back them up.
jitshiong
post Feb 27 2019, 03:53 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 03:16 PM)
You got skills, but no education background also, BEM wont let you legally call yourself Engineer.

That's my point. I understand you're trying to make a point about people who flaunt a piece of paper without any other technical knowledge to back them up.
Yes, the 1st step is the basic qualification to pass as graduate engineer. Degree from accredited university.
TSpw8799
post Feb 27 2019, 05:10 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Feb 27 2019, 03:09 PM)
No company will hire you if you ever say this...
Big company is normally for people who seek for laid back environment, especially for fresh graduate. Because the projects or any being assigned is split as according the skill set. You would most probably end up become a support type engineer until you managed to be independent without the need or least of supervision. There is no shortcut.

Small company is preferred their candidate to be 'Can Do' type. Because they are well independent and able to manage multiple projects by themselves. A well manage time management can survive this, otherwise you will end up being a joker within the company.
Nope, you cannot be consultant if you are not those outgoing type of people. And, a consultant required experience up to 3-5 years or your learning experience that is consider on par with any seniors. Consultant required high knowledge of such technologies being used, understanding the flows that is used in the minimal provided time frame and provide support for your clients.
There is no shortcuts. Don't think of how you gonna be like in your future, it's not gonna happen if you don't improve at present. I not trying to be harsh but by experienced. Any certificates you have are all just for decoration despite Degree holder, Master holder etc, they are nothing, because a true employer will only judge as per your learning experience and not certificate or working experience.

As mentioned, assume the candidate A with 5 years of "Working experience" vs the candidate B with 2 years of "Learning experience". I bet you can't see what are the differences between them. You can laid back, slack or anything that counts as "Working experience", and the quality product that delivered is low is still count as "working experience". A learning experience that is to judge a candidate that has the value to deliver quality of products within the shortest time frame possible, by bring a good profit revenue to the employer despite the candidate with lower duration experience.

The example above is how you should be like in future. For now, i would advise you, regardless any amount your receive whether or not high or low. You will need to have a positive thinking mindset, a fresh graduate is like a blank paper, any learning is your experiences, so start from there. Once you have the skill set that you think that you are good to go, that is where you can seek what you actually want in future.
Hi, thanks for ur advice thumbup.gif notworthy.gif ....Back to the point, which type of company can enable me to learn better ? It seems that if i work in a big company , i have limited things to learn since you said that i will be assigned to certain part of project only, am i right ?
ipohmali70
post Feb 27 2019, 05:26 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 08:03 AM)

The title Engineer can only be hold by someone with a degree recognised by BEM  whistling.gif
Legally you're right.

In real life, companies couldn't give a flying f**k as long as you can complete a project at agreed price.

jitshiong
post Feb 27 2019, 05:29 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 27 2019, 05:26 PM)
Legally you're right.

In real life, companies couldn't give a flying f**k as long as you can complete a project at agreed price.
Depends on what kind of company. If consultancy, that's necessary. If you cannot be recognized by BEM, you cannot endorse engineering drawings. No use
jitshiong
post Feb 27 2019, 05:30 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 27 2019, 05:10 PM)
Hi, thanks for ur advice thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  ....Back to the point, which type of company can enable me to learn better ? It seems that if i work in a big company , i have limited things to learn since you said that i will be assigned to certain part of project only, am i right ?
U will still learn, differently. And also depends on your willingness to spend more time to learn beyond your assigned task.
leon898
post Feb 27 2019, 05:56 PM

734 posts

Hi, thanks for ur advice thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  ....Back to the point, which type of company can enable me to learn better ? It seems that if i work in a big company , i have limited things to learn since you said that i will be assigned to certain part of project only, am i right ?
with current economic, best to go with the flow...beggar can't be chooser.
TSpw8799
post Feb 27 2019, 06:03 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(blitzbullet @ Feb 26 2019, 08:05 AM)
https://www.kellyservices.com.my/employment...nd-salary-guide

Might give some guide on salary scale. Anyway, dont be too choosy as the job market is hard these days. If you can land anything close to rm3k, take it. Learn for few years in whatever company, and you will gain more leverage for your next career. Just make sure you dont run away from engineering as it might be hard to come back to it in future.
it looks like after yew years of experience, the salary is actually quite promising as I think, but i couldnt find the salary for fresh grad btw.
MakNok
post Feb 27 2019, 06:03 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Feb 26 2019, 03:00 PM)
Learn more only because you will be stressed to. 14 hours a day, sometimes work weekends. Some small firms will not acknowledge Deepavali as a holiday (if no Indian working there) and will give you only 11 days of stipulated public holiday.
Deepavali holidsy not complusary lah..

Complusary is Agung..Labour...National and State Holiday...
The rest can pick .

ipohmali70
post Feb 27 2019, 07:21 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 27 2019, 05:29 PM)
Depends on what kind of company. If consultancy, that's necessary. If you cannot be recognized by BEM, you cannot endorse engineering drawings. No use
LOL That's where you're not so correct.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 08:27 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 27 2019, 07:21 PM)
LOL That's where you're not so correct.
No, that's where you are wrong.
If you cannot register with BEM, no consultancy will let you do any design work.
Without BEM recognition, you cannot get Ir. , thus your career will only be stuck at draughtsmen at most, not even engineer in consultancy.

Site work, you can still do things, but again, you cannot get Ir. title, thus your pay grade is also limited in that sense.
Maybe you can get into management position, but the official title of manager may not get to you.
ipohmali70
post Feb 27 2019, 08:35 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 08:27 PM)
No, that's where you are wrong.
If you cannot register with BEM, no consultancy will let you do any design work.
Without BEM recognition, you cannot get Ir. , thus your career will only be stuck at draughtsmen at most, not even engineer in consultancy.

Site work, you can still do things, but again, you cannot get Ir. title, thus your pay grade is also limited in that sense.
Maybe you can get into management position, but the official title of manager may not get to you.
I'm way way way beyond that already.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 08:45 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 27 2019, 08:35 PM)
I'm way way way beyond that already.
are you Ir. or not?
If not, my point still holds.

Not saying a good foreman can't go far in a big steel company, but there will be legal limitations on what you can do, especially in the professional field if your education background is not up to a certain standard.
ipohmali70
post Feb 27 2019, 08:59 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 08:45 PM)
are you Ir. or not?
If not, my point still holds.

Not saying a good foreman can't go far in a big steel company, but there will be legal limitations on what you can do, especially in the professional field if your education background is not up to a certain standard.
I most certainly am not, will never be, and do not want to be.

But under me, I have completed hundreds of projects worth millions.

Furthermore I am in a position to make or break many a graduate's dream to be one.

Your point is still faulty.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Feb 27 2019, 09:02 PM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 27 2019, 09:09 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 27 2019, 08:59 PM)

my welders also worked and completed hundreds of millions worth of projects la.
my point is (some, heck most) companies will have requirements for their management to hold certain qualifications, some even funding them to get a MBA.

I've never said that you can't succeed with a mere welder's qualification, but having a degree or professional certification will give you an edge when it comes to climbing the corporate ladder.
Also, my original point, legally, you can't call yourself a lawyer, doctor, engineer without proper education, even if the doctor's job is to just poke at you with a stick.

I get your point is that an experienced uneducated staff is better than an inexperienced educated freshie, but what are you even arguing about that when TS already graduated with a degree in civil engineering?
ipohmali70
post Feb 27 2019, 09:15 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Feb 27 2019, 09:09 PM)
my welders also worked and completed hundreds of millions worth of projects la.
my point is (some, heck most) companies will have requirements for their management to hold certain qualifications, some even funding them to get a MBA.

I've never said that you can't succeed with a mere welder's qualification, but having a degree or professional certification will give you an edge when it comes to climbing the corporate ladder.
Also, my original point, legally, you can't call yourself a lawyer, doctor, engineer without proper education, even if the doctor's job is to just poke at you with a stick.

I get your point is that an experienced uneducated staff is better than an inexperienced educated freshie, but what are you even arguing about that when TS already graduated with a degree in civil engineering?
Point is, I am not an engineer and never claim to be one.

No argument there.

Peace to all and all the best to TS.

badguy93
post Feb 28 2019, 01:48 AM

161 posts

How you want to learn complex when you cannot understand ABC? You got no knowledge now, so you cannot choose. And doesn't mean the company wants you even if you want the company. brows.gif

You can try, no harm to try. Limited or not, they are still experience.
TSpw8799
post Feb 28 2019, 07:29 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Feb 28 2019, 01:48 AM)
How you want to learn complex when you cannot understand ABC? You got no knowledge now, so you cannot choose. And doesn't mean the company wants you even if you want the company.  brows.gif

You can try, no harm to try. Limited or not, they are still experience.
I can choose the type of company that i want to start my career first, right ? I just want to know that which type of company can enable me to learn more.... I actually gt several offer during my internship, and I feel sorry to turn down the offer one by one... Maybe i shall change my 'strategy' now, applying the type of company that i am interested. Not like last time applying many company at the same time .... nod.gif
123GoldCome
post Feb 28 2019, 11:10 AM

23 posts

rm3k gua
jitshiong
post Feb 28 2019, 12:10 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Feb 27 2019, 08:59 PM)

Furthermore I am in a position to make or break many a graduate's dream to be one.

You are coming from a different point of view. Yes, money can be earn from many ways.

TS is asking about the route as an engineer...
TSpw8799
post Feb 28 2019, 08:59 PM

680 posts

When should i start to apply for jobs ? I am about to finish my study in July this year. Is it too early to apply now ?
thesoothsayer
post Mar 1 2019, 08:22 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Feb 26 2019, 12:09 PM)
Yeah I used to be, and then I stopped being an engineer altogether and decided to go for big data field. Some soft skills are definitely transferable.
Did you have to take a pay cut to make the switch?
leon898
post Mar 1 2019, 08:58 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 28 2019, 08:59 PM)
When should i start to apply for jobs ? I am about to finish my study in July this year. Is it too early to apply now ?
I start searching after my unofficial result came out. if you are really bright student, the offer come even before u finish your final
l4nc3k
post Mar 1 2019, 09:12 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 28 2019, 08:59 PM)
Can start applying with your current grades/certs/qualifications. Just make sure to include expected graduation date in your CV.
Harry_Bobinski
post Mar 1 2019, 09:44 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Mar 1 2019, 08:22 AM)
Did you have to take a pay cut to make the switch?
Nope but I got only RM200 increment and additional one month of contractual bonus lol
badguy93
post Mar 1 2019, 10:08 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 28 2019, 07:29 AM)
I can choose the type of company that i want to start my career first, right ? I just want to know that which type of company can enable me to learn more.... I actually gt several offer during my internship, and I feel sorry to turn down the offer one by one... Maybe i shall change my 'strategy' now, applying the type of company that i am interested. Not like last time applying many company at the same time .... nod.gif
Hmm, You can choose them as you see fit. I will give you some tips

1. Big company - Name is known and easy to get offer after you think that is enough for you to improve where you are lacking. You can get what you want to learn from here, step by step. Even though you might become a support or assistant before you are fully becoming a independent, this is a good place for you to grow your career.

2. Small Company - Name is not known unless well known branches. This place is a fast pace working, and the boss of the company is expected you have a solid skill contribute to the company, meaning they expect you to independent with the most least supervision. You will need to act and make decision without someone willing to babysit you all the time.

Big company helps you in term of learning curve, you can take your sweet time in this company to learn something. Of course there are a time that you need to rush for deadline project.

Small company helps you to sharpen your skill by act independently. Train your time management and also stress level, so that you wouldn't be surprise once you hop to another company work while under pressure.

Aside, you can apply as many company at the same time, no harm or no need feel sorry for them. They know you nothing, they treat you nobody, and you are nobody for them too. Of course, you can apply more than 50 applications at the same time, and choose the most suitable out from them. One after another interview, you gain experience of what the company goals and objectives. You can decide from there.

If you apply only 1 or 2 while you are feeling sorry for them, you ain't gonna get a job very soon. Because the time you are waiting for their evaluate during your interview is wasting time. And you do not know what is the result in the end of the day.

Normally, I would take 1 week waiting, after that you can treat the result as failure if still no answer given from the particular employer. You can follow up to them to ask for updates too.

thesoothsayer
post Mar 1 2019, 11:03 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Mar 1 2019, 09:44 AM)
Nope but I got only RM200 increment and additional one month of contractual bonus lol
That's pretty decent changing to a new field.

geekofIT
post Mar 1 2019, 11:30 AM

100 posts

how about stop looking at the pay when choosing what to do, especially when u are just fresh grad, no experience and no commitments.

Do what is best for you, know what you want and go get it.

If the position like pays you rm2.5k per month, you will last much longer compared to being in the position that you don't like for RM4k per month.

TSpw8799
post Mar 1 2019, 01:49 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Mar 1 2019, 08:58 AM)
I start searching after my unofficial result came out. if you are really bright student, the offer come even before u finish your final
unofficial result of last sem? Is it too late ?
TSpw8799
post Mar 1 2019, 01:51 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Mar 1 2019, 10:08 AM)
Hmm, You can choose them as you see fit. I will give you some tips

1. Big company - Name is known and easy to get offer after you think that is enough for you to improve where you are lacking. You can get what you want to learn from here, step by step. Even though you might become a support or assistant before you are fully becoming a independent, this is a good place for you to grow your career.

2. Small Company - Name is not known unless well known branches. This place is a fast pace working, and the boss of the company is expected you have a solid skill contribute to the company, meaning they expect you to independent with the most least supervision. You will need to act and make decision without someone willing to babysit you all the time.

Big company helps you in term of learning curve, you can take your sweet time in this company to learn something. Of course there are a time that you need to rush for deadline project.

Small company helps you to sharpen your skill by act independently. Train your time management and also stress level, so that you wouldn't be surprise once you hop to another company work while under pressure.

Aside, you can apply as many company at the same time, no harm or no need feel sorry for them. They know you nothing, they treat you nobody, and you are nobody for them too. Of course, you can apply more than 50 applications at the same time, and choose the most suitable out from them. One after another interview, you gain experience of what the company goals and objectives. You can decide from there.

If you apply only 1 or 2 while you are feeling sorry for them, you ain't gonna get a job very soon. Because the time you are waiting for their evaluate during your interview is wasting time. And you do not know what is the result in the end of the day.

Normally, I would take 1 week waiting, after that you can treat the result as failure if still no answer given from the particular employer. You can follow up to them to ask for updates too.
Big company ? I am afraid there is less chance of getting promoted ? Some ppl told that i should work and learn in small company first, then only jump to big company with few years of experiences, is it true ? rclxub.gif
Mr.Beanster
post Mar 1 2019, 02:00 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 1 2019, 01:49 PM)
I would say 1-2 month before you complete your study/getting official result. It will take about 2 weeks in average to get an interview if your cv makes the cut and you pass the initial screening (phone interview, online assessment,etc). The selection process differs from one company to another so i advise you to spend some time research about the job scope and company that you want to apply for. Program like the management trainee/associate or any sort of graduate program from large company usually involves rigorous process with multiple stages so it could take up to more than a month to two.

Do take note of the job posting as well because some company will state if the job would require you to commence at certain month. You don't want to waste your time or theirs in interview if they're urgent in filling up a particular vacancy but you haven't made yourself available to work due to study.
TSpw8799
post Mar 1 2019, 02:04 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Mar 1 2019, 02:00 PM)
I would say 1-2 month before you complete your study/getting official result. It will take about 2 weeks in average to get an interview if your cv makes the cut and you pass the initial screening (phone interview, online assessment,etc). The selection process differs from one company to another so i advise you to spend some time research about the job scope and company that you want to apply for. Program like the management trainee/associate or any sort of graduate program from large company usually involves rigorous process with multiple stages so it could take up to more than a month to two.

Do take note of the job posting as well because some company will state if the job would require you to commence at certain month. You don't want to waste your time or theirs in interview if they're urgent in filling up a particular vacancy but you haven't made yourself available to work due to study.
ok, then. I shall wait for another 2 months before start sending out my job application
leon898
post Mar 1 2019, 02:28 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 1 2019, 01:49 PM)
if your results is excellent, you can try.
I prefer to have proven documents with me prior iv.
TSpw8799
post Mar 1 2019, 04:06 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Mar 1 2019, 02:28 PM)
if your results is excellent, you can try.
I prefer to have proven documents with me prior iv.
I wish to apply before the final exam, then, when should i start applying ? is 3 / 4 months before completion of study considered too early ?
skylee18
post Mar 1 2019, 04:16 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 24 2019, 06:17 PM)
Hi, all. I will finish my bachelor in civil engineering this year. Just curious, what is the range of salary for fresh civil engineer ? I prefer to work at office ? I heard that those who grad with 1st class honour will get better starting salary, am i right ? Can engineer tell your salary here?
most of the friend i know under civil engineering ended up becoming IT programmer or other IT related job
reason?
environment issue
pollution issue
allergic issue
work life issue
time management issue
stress issue
money issue

if you have the passion and knowing your direction and what you wanna achieve....then go ahead and endures it
if you just go out there holding a paper and hope for the best...good luck, you might end up crying everyday looking for help to cope stress
TSpw8799
post Mar 1 2019, 04:18 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(skylee18 @ Mar 1 2019, 04:16 PM)
most of the friend i know under civil engineering ended up becoming IT programmer or other IT related job
reason?
environment issue
pollution issue
allergic issue
work life issue
time management issue
stress issue
money issue

if you have the passion and knowing your direction and what you wanna achieve....then go ahead and endures it
if you just go out there holding a paper and hope for the best...good luck, you might end up crying everyday looking for help to cope stress
Haha. May I know how to jump from civil engineering to IT without any experience in programming whatsover ?
skylee18
post Mar 1 2019, 04:37 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 1 2019, 04:18 PM)
Haha. May I know how to jump from civil engineering to IT without any experience in programming whatsover ?
i x know man, they just went it there and adapt those shit
when i heard about that switches, i am also wondering like you on how the heck they did it or even get those job at the first place
but believe me...they are still doing it up til today and its fully office based...hahaha
jitshiong
post Mar 1 2019, 05:36 PM

1,868 posts

Wanna stay office, i think go consultancy. Higher percentage of office works
ipohmali70
post Mar 2 2019, 08:55 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Feb 24 2019, 06:17 PM)
If you like to work in the office then engineering is not the line for you.

TSpw8799
post Mar 2 2019, 09:42 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Mar 2 2019, 08:55 AM)
If you like to work in the office then engineering is not the line for you.
i prefer design more than staying at site at the whole day hmm.gif Go to site once in awhile should be ok for me

This post has been edited by pw8799: Mar 2 2019, 09:43 AM
ipohmali70
post Mar 2 2019, 03:28 PM

1,133 posts

Not for you to decide willy nilly.

Circumstances and pressure will dictate.

TSpw8799
post Mar 3 2019, 10:58 AM

680 posts

Forgt to ask. Is it necessary to include expected salary in the resume for fresh grad ?
eddydo
post Mar 3 2019, 11:46 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 3 2019, 10:58 AM)
Forgt to ask. Is it necessary to include expected salary in the resume for fresh grad ?
No, you don't have power to command.

in any case they will have a box to fill in the application form.
TSpw8799
post Mar 3 2019, 12:10 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Mar 3 2019, 11:46 AM)
No, you don't have power to command.

in any case they will have a box to fill in the application form.
If the salary I placed is too high , will the interviewer keep me out of their consideration straight away ?
l4nc3k
post Mar 3 2019, 07:11 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 3 2019, 12:10 PM)
If the salary I placed is too high , will the interviewer keep me out of their consideration straight away ?
Depends on company.. but personal experience says yes.

I have a colleague who applied for a job online, put 10k expected salary, the company never call. Update his profile there put 9k expected salary straight away got a call within a week.
TSpw8799
post Mar 3 2019, 07:57 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Mar 3 2019, 07:11 PM)
Depends on company.. but personal experience says yes.

I have a colleague who applied for a job online, put 10k expected salary, the company never call. Update his profile there put 9k expected salary straight away got a call within a week.
I thought the interviewer will screen the candidates according to the qualifications and capabilities and call them for interview rather than just expected salary ? hmm.gif
kentmeng
post Mar 3 2019, 08:10 PM

339 posts

Be ready to get scold. Ppl very rough in this field.
TSpw8799
post Mar 3 2019, 09:43 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Mar 3 2019, 08:10 PM)
Be ready to get scold. Ppl very rough in this field.
I'm ready rclxm9.gif
PrincZe
post Mar 4 2019, 09:17 AM

3,050 posts

no, because they already have a number for fresh grad. they will just offer u. take it or leave it
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 10:08 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 4 2019, 09:17 AM)
no, because they already have a number for fresh grad. they will just offer u. take it or leave it
If i purposely put low expected salary to get the chance of interview, but once I gt the offer, can I still nego with them ?

This post has been edited by pw8799: Mar 4 2019, 10:08 AM
PrincZe
post Mar 4 2019, 10:33 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:08 AM)
If i purposely put low expected salary to get the chance of interview, but once I gt the offer, can I still nego with them ?
as per my experience with banking, even if you put 1000 as your expected, they will still offer what they have set for you.

but why put low salary just to score an interview?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 4 2019, 12:58 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:08 AM)
If anything, I'd say low celery means you have low self confidence, hence a pushover at work, thus cannot deal with outsiders.

OR even worse, low celery = low skilled, meaning I have just fired another quota filling idiot.

Just put the "market norm" la.
Honestly, I've never landed a job where I lowball my celery. laugh.gif
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 02:10 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 4 2019, 12:58 PM)
If anything, I'd say low celery means you have low self confidence, hence a pushover at work, thus cannot deal with outsiders.

OR even worse, low celery = low skilled, meaning I have just fired another quota filling idiot.

Just put the "market norm" la.
Honestly, I've never landed a job where I lowball my celery.  laugh.gif
2500 to 3000 should be ok?
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 02:12 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 4 2019, 10:33 AM)
as per my experience with banking, even if you put 1000 as your expected, they will still offer what they have set for you.

but why put low salary just to score an interview?
So they wouldn't care the salary you put? I am wondering if all fresh grad in the same company will get same salary? All different? I also heard that those who scored first class honor tend to get higher salary?
badguy93
post Mar 4 2019, 02:18 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 1 2019, 01:51 PM)
Big company ? I am afraid there is less chance of getting promoted ? Some ppl told that i should work and learn in small company first, then only jump to big company with few years of experiences, is it true ?  rclxub.gif
Anywhere is the same, chances of getting promote is very slim at anywhere other than start up company. Climbing in corporate world is very competitive, because there are too many other staffs who are the same level with you. You will need to be something so unique than other, let your boss recognize and acknowledge your skill so that it will be easy for you to climb. I am one of them, 1 year+ in corporate, now trainee to be manager. If you believe you can do, you can do it.

I understand the world trend and technologies are. Teenager tend to use the remaining time so called "Work life balance" to enjoy their entertainment and so on, same goes for families. Once you set your goals and objectives, there is no excuses. This is depends on the person's individual whether they are passionate, initiative and hardworking on an objective.

Nobody can help you any further, at most I can give you advise. Otherwise, you can have your own policy, every 2 years hop one company to gain additional knowledge that your company cannot provide this opportunity to you. Although there are companies who willing to provide these opportunity, however these would be more or less dealing what the company's aim, but not your individual objective. Don't be afraid, you not try yet you never know.

Let me ask you, what will you see yourself in 5 years time?
badguy93
post Mar 4 2019, 02:24 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:10 PM)
2500 to 3000 should be ok?
QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:12 PM)
So they wouldn't care the salary you put? I am wondering if all fresh grad in the same company will get same salary? All different? I also heard that those who scored first class honor tend to get higher salary?
Just put whatever salary you think is suitable, you may tell them that is a negotiable if they think that is too high for you. You can negotiate with them, but you need a condition to do this following, they are expecting you to have a skill that they are satisfy, otherwise don't do lol, its risky.

When you put too low salary just for the sake of them calling you, you better give up. They see you have no confidence in yourself. Normally i will do "Hantam saja, scare what" ? Anyhow, you need to have a unique skill set that they will satisfy at the end of the interview, otherwise try at your own risk. You can also do observation and learn from mistake for every of the company you interview.
PrincZe
post Mar 4 2019, 03:48 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 02:12 PM)
usually all same. unless your role is very super niche. other than that, all fresh grad across dept will have same salary, standardized.

those who scored first class / master / phd may demand a little more than fresh grad
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 07:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 4 2019, 03:48 PM)
usually all same. unless your role is very super niche. other than that, all fresh grad across dept will have same salary, standardized.

those who scored first class / master / phd may demand a little more than fresh grad
usually how much more ? haha nod.gif
PrincZe
post Mar 4 2019, 08:58 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 07:19 PM)
usually how much more ? haha  nod.gif
not much to begin with. like rm200-rm500
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 09:10 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 4 2019, 08:58 PM)
not much to begin with. like rm200-rm500
I'm wondering the extra few hundred ringgit for first class hons holder is applicable for all types of company? or big company only ?
victorian
post Mar 4 2019, 09:16 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,627 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 09:10 PM)
I'm wondering the extra few hundred ringgit for first class hons holder is applicable for all types of company? or big company only ?
Don’t ask too many questions. Once you get into the real world you will know.
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 09:18 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 4 2019, 09:16 PM)
I'm worried that its too late to know sweat.gif
victorian
post Mar 4 2019, 09:23 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,627 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 09:18 PM)
I'm worried that its too late to know  sweat.gif
Sometimes we fresh graduates really cannot demand too much. We don’t have so many bullets to nego better just take what is on the table. Wait until 1-2 years when you have more experience on table and then you can demand.
TSpw8799
post Mar 4 2019, 09:27 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 4 2019, 09:23 PM)
Sometimes we fresh graduates really cannot demand too much. We don’t have so many bullets to nego better just take what is on the table. Wait until 1-2 years when you have more experience on table and then you can demand.
one very important question , if I am still waiting for reply from other company, but I ady gt offer from the another company, then how long I can drag to reply the company?
victorian
post Mar 4 2019, 09:35 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,627 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 09:27 PM)
one very important question , if I am still waiting for reply from other company, but I ady gt offer from the another company, then how long I can drag to reply the company?
No one can answer you this, sometimes there’s no absolute answer. Just go with the flow and stop asking so many questions. It will just show that you want to be spoon fed and its not good for your future employment.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 4 2019, 10:50 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

I know one C&S consultancy that has a MYR200 extra policy for first class students, but that's about it.

You won't believe the amount of first class/masters/phd students that can't do shit in the work place. whistling.gif

sometimes, some intern show more enthusiasm than them
Murasaki322
post Mar 4 2019, 10:52 PM

452 posts

Exactly like me, you sound like a desperate fresh graduate who wants to make the most out of your freshly acquired piece of paper awarded by the university because you passed all of their exams. You're are looking for somewhere to maximise learning experience, maximise earnings and maximise personal development.

The real world is like this, there is no absolute best choice that will give the most value. Soon you will realise there is no perfect fit. There will always be trade offs.

Many of the questions you asked have many different answers because different people go through different experiences. You can only learn what mistake not to make from there, what to avoid, what are the consequences of some options, but there is no absolute correct choice for you. For that you will have to find out about it by experiencing it yourself. It's called life.
TSpw8799
post Mar 5 2019, 07:56 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Mar 4 2019, 10:52 PM)
Exactly like me, you sound like a desperate fresh graduate who wants to make the most out of your freshly acquired piece of paper awarded by the university because you passed all of their exams. You're are looking for somewhere to maximise learning experience, maximise earnings and maximise personal development.

The real world is like this, there is no absolute best choice that will give the most value. Soon you will realise there is no perfect fit. There will always be trade offs.

Many of the questions you asked have many different answers because different people go through different experiences. You can only learn what mistake not to make from there, what to avoid, what are the consequences of some options, but there is no absolute correct choice for you. For that you will have to find out about it by experiencing it yourself. It's called life.
Bro, when did you start to apply for job last time ? I plan to apply now, but I'm afraid that's too early. I'm about to finish my studies in July rclxub.gif I'm worried that the interviewer will just put aside the resume first without looking at it since there're still about 4 months to go.
IAmLejen
post Mar 5 2019, 09:16 AM

367 posts

Im working at a consultancy firm now, fresh grad like you TS. Salary can range from 3k-3.5k if you know where to find. Look for firms that have lotsa projects so you can have a steeper learning curve. Joining MnC like ARUP and AECOM wouldnt go wrong too as they have steadier learning curve. All da best!
badguy93
post Mar 5 2019, 09:52 AM

161 posts

Every people can improve, regardless of grades. Some people has certain limit of improvement and some will keep growing until impossible level. A few hundred Ringgit doesn't do much when you don't have any value in the relevant field.

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 4 2019, 09:16 PM)
You sounds like, must be some evil HR out there. brows.gif

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 4 2019, 09:18 PM)
I'm worried that its too late to know  sweat.gif
QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 5 2019, 07:56 AM)
Bro, when did you start to apply for job last time ? I plan to apply now, but I'm afraid that's too early. I'm about to finish my studies in July  rclxub.gif I'm worried that the interviewer will just put aside the resume first without looking at it since there're still about 4 months to go.
From what i understand your situation, you are very desperate for a job, you are scared to face the real world. You are afraid there is no job for you after your graduation. There is a lot of opportunity, so don't be picky. For now, just take anything as your learning knowledge, if you are so concern with your salary while you are a 'FRESH-GRADUATED', then good luck in your findings. Like i mentioned, there is no such thing of high salary as well as maximize your learning in a company, what skill would you contribute to the company in order to have them get back what they have invested into you?

Remember, They don't pay you to their industry to learn. They pay you to expect something in return. If your mindset stays like that for months, you will expect your end from that company very soon. bruce.gif

Even for me, I wouldn't hire my candidate with learning purpose and low confidence. So yeah, put aside of your worry and concentrate what you suppose to do. All these nonsense thought will just get in your way. Best of luck.
PrincZe
post Mar 5 2019, 10:04 AM

3,050 posts

Bro, when did you start to apply for job last time ? I plan to apply now, but I'm afraid that's too early. I'm about to finish my studies in July  rclxub.gif I'm worried that the interviewer will just put aside the resume first without looking at it since there're still about 4 months to go.
u can apply 3 months earlier. when they hire new staff, they know they need serve notice period. u can tell them upfront as well only july u can start. they will probably ask if u can join earlier, see if u can do intern or drop by sometime
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 5 2019, 11:28 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(IAmLejen @ Mar 5 2019, 09:16 AM)
Im working at a consultancy firm now, fresh grad like you TS. Salary can range from 3k-3.5k if you know where to find. Look for firms that have lotsa projects so you can have a steeper learning curve. Joining MnC like ARUP and AECOM wouldnt go wrong too as they have steadier learning curve. All da best!
These kompeni hiring ka? with so many mega projects axed or put on hold.... biggrin.gif

If you got cable, let me know...... I quit a major rail project last year because you know what happened and I've got a friend involved with a C&S company that likes to play LIN thaat's involved with the HSR.....

TSpw8799
post Mar 5 2019, 07:57 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 5 2019, 10:04 AM)
u can apply 3 months earlier. when they hire new staff, they know they need serve notice period. u can tell them upfront as well only july u can start. they will probably ask if u can join earlier, see if u can do intern or drop by sometime
Should I apply thru jobstreet? Or call their company to get the email from HR instead ?
PrincZe
post Mar 6 2019, 12:46 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 5 2019, 07:57 PM)
Should I apply thru jobstreet? Or call their company to get the email from HR instead ?
Job street will do
Murasaki322
post Mar 6 2019, 07:39 AM

452 posts

Start setting up your jobstreet, LinkedIn etc. profiles now. I started getting calls and attended interviews 1 whole semester before graduation. Make sure you specify your expected graduation date.
TSpw8799
post Mar 6 2019, 09:08 AM

680 posts

Is it possible to reject the offer once I agreed to join them? Let's say i already received an job offer from a company and i accepted it. But, after that, i gt better job offer from another company ... Then how ? Is it ok to reject the first company that offer me the job ?
badguy93
post Mar 6 2019, 09:43 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 6 2019, 09:08 AM)
Is it possible to reject the offer once I agreed to join them? Let's say i already received an job offer from a company and i accepted it. But, after that, i gt better job offer from another company ... Then how ? Is it ok to reject the first company that offer me the job ?
If your offer letter did not mentioned that you cannot revert back upon signed and submit then should be no problem.
Murasaki322
post Mar 6 2019, 05:41 PM

452 posts

As long as you did not land any signature on any piece of paper stating your acceptance to the offered conditions, you are free to go. Black and white matters the most. Verbal acceptance and change of mind is about how well you negotiate your way out.
TSpw8799
post Mar 6 2019, 06:34 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Mar 6 2019, 05:41 PM)
As long as you did not land any signature on any piece of paper stating your acceptance to the offered conditions, you are free to go. Black and white matters the most. Verbal acceptance and change of mind is about how well you negotiate your way out.
How about revert after signing the contract? i will face lawsuit ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pw8799: Mar 6 2019, 06:34 PM
contestchris
post Mar 6 2019, 07:00 PM

5,562 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 6 2019, 06:34 PM)
How about revert after signing the contract? i will face lawsuit ?  hmm.gif
No lawsuit but you will definitely be internally blacklisted at least
eddydo
post Mar 6 2019, 08:09 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

normally in the contract they will state that if you don't report in the first day of work then the contract will terminate automatically.

either you didn't read the T&C or you haven't even obtain your first offer and already thinking of rejecting
TSpw8799
post Mar 8 2019, 02:01 PM

680 posts

Besides jobstreet, any other job application platform for job seeker in Malaysia?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 8 2019, 02:55 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 8 2019, 02:01 PM)
Besides jobstreet, any other job application platform for job seeker in Malaysia?
linkedin, graduan, (more) professional fesbuk page/groups (Eg. IEM group), cable
badguy93
post Mar 8 2019, 02:59 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 8 2019, 02:01 PM)
Monster, linkdn
TSpw8799
post Mar 13 2019, 09:46 PM

680 posts

I started to apply for jobs now, but the HR replied me that it's too early...
kenkentjh
post Mar 14 2019, 09:51 AM

142 posts

I suggest you look at the company and the prospect instead of focusing on money. Yes money is important, but if you're saying like rm100-300 difference, think of which company will groom and develop your skills better. The money will come in when you have the skills.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 14 2019, 02:59 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 13 2019, 09:46 PM)
I started to apply for jobs now, but the HR replied me that it's too early...
wait until after your final exam la....
start applying while waiting for your results.
TSpw8799
post Mar 14 2019, 03:15 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 14 2019, 02:59 PM)
wait until after your final exam la....
start applying while waiting for your results.
is it too late ? rclxub.gif But some companies actually invited me for interview now btw. hmm.gif
badguy93
post Mar 14 2019, 03:49 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 14 2019, 03:15 PM)
is it too late ?  rclxub.gif But some companies actually invited me for interview now btw.  hmm.gif
you will end up get the same result from the hr ... 'its too soon'
TSpw8799
post Mar 14 2019, 03:52 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Mar 14 2019, 03:49 PM)
you will end up get the same result from the hr ... 'its too soon'
haha, then why they asked me for interview ? hmm.gif
badguy93
post Mar 14 2019, 04:03 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 14 2019, 03:52 PM)
haha, then why they asked me for interview ?  hmm.gif
Company urgently need people, they will need you to start once your exam is over ... alternatively, they will KIV you..
Mr.Beanster
post Mar 14 2019, 11:17 PM

1,267 posts

You should be finishing study sumwhere june or july? Im wondering whats the hurry with your application. Even if you got an offer on hand you cant leave your study without finishing it anyway.

All the recruitment at present time is to find a suitable candidate ASAP to fill in the spot. I doubt they will wait for a non graduate that are still months away from graduating. Just make sure the recruiter is informed of your study duration. If they still insists you to go for the interviewer then probably you will be kept under KIV and they might still need people later. Do communicate it upfront and ask them when they are looking to fill in the post. Dont sign the offer then only to let them know you have not graduated yet and still far from it.

TSpw8799
post Mar 15 2019, 09:49 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Mar 14 2019, 11:17 PM)
You should be finishing study sumwhere june or july? Im wondering whats the hurry with your application. Even if you got an offer on hand you cant leave your study without finishing it anyway.

All the recruitment at present time is to find a suitable candidate ASAP to fill in the spot. I doubt they will wait for a non graduate that are still months away from graduating. Just make sure the recruiter is informed of your study duration. If they still insists you to go for the interviewer then probably you will be kept under KIV and they might still need people later. Do communicate it upfront and ask them when they are looking to fill in the post. Dont sign the offer then only to let them know you have not graduated yet and still far from it.
I just hope that I'm able to secure a job when i finished my studying. Applying earlier can avoid compete with more people, am i right ? If my thinking is wrong, kindly correct it haha. rclxm9.gif
TSpw8799
post Mar 15 2019, 09:51 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Mar 14 2019, 11:17 PM)

Btw, if i am offered with the job , why dont sign it if the remuneration and job prospect are good ? How long can drag before i accept the job offer ? hmm.gif
SUSDachshund
post Mar 16 2019, 02:09 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Mar 15 2019, 09:51 PM)
Btw, if i am offered with the job , why dont sign it if the remuneration and job prospect are good ? How long can drag before i accept the job offer ?  hmm.gif
Hi I know as a fresh graduate, can be daunting to step out of the uni life and straight into employment and not fk up..

Whatever questions you have, compile it and reply me..ill help you..

Dont reply me with 1 question per reply, compile all concerns and reply me. E.g:

1)...
2)...
3)...

This post has been edited by Dachshund: Mar 16 2019, 02:10 AM
TSpw8799
post Apr 15 2019, 07:00 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Dachshund @ Mar 16 2019, 02:09 AM)
Hi I know as a fresh graduate, can be daunting to step out of the uni life and straight into employment and not fk up..

Whatever questions you have, compile it and reply me..ill help you..

Dont reply me with 1 question per reply, compile all concerns and reply me. E.g:

1)...
2)...
3)...
I managed to secure 2 jobs at SG and 2 in Malaysia now. I am in dilemma now, which one should i go ? I was told that working in SG is very stressful. Since I dont have any experience yet , i wish to learn more and gain more experience. I am kinda worried that if i work in SG straight away after graduate, I would be scolded by boss in SG. I was told that working in SG will have minimum guidance from boss or colleague. At the same time, the exchange rate in SG is quite attractive. If i choose to work in Malaysia now, will it be difficult for me to work in SG next time ? As i grow older, i might have more concern to leave Malaysia. Which place should I work ? Please advise

This post has been edited by pw8799: Apr 15 2019, 07:01 PM
garlicpesto
post Apr 16 2019, 12:45 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Apr 15 2019, 03:00 AM)
I managed to secure 2 jobs at SG and 2 in Malaysia now. I am in dilemma now, which one should i go ? I was told that working in SG is very stressful. Since I dont have any experience yet , i wish to learn more and gain more experience. I am kinda worried that if i work in SG straight away after graduate, I would be scolded by boss in SG. I was told that working in SG will have minimum guidance from boss or colleague. At the same time, the exchange rate in SG is quite attractive. If i choose to work in Malaysia now, will it be difficult for me to work in SG next time ? As i grow older, i might have more concern to leave Malaysia. Which place should I work ? Please advise
Stay in your shell forever if you're so afraid.

If your end goal is to leave Malaysia and you already have the option to do so now, why not?

But for us to help you analyse your position to better advice you.. Why not share which companies have offered you so far?
TSpw8799
post Apr 16 2019, 07:34 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Apr 16 2019, 12:45 AM)

If your end goal is to leave Malaysia and you already have the option to do so now, why not?

But for us to help you analyse your position to better advice you.. Why not share which companies have offered you so far?
Well, for the company in Malaysia, it's a big mnc company,for the job in Sg, it's a small firm basically doing everything.... I like the working environment and culture in the company in Malaysia after the HR told me about it. If I choose to work in Malaysia after few years then move to sg, would it be too late?
TSpw8799
post Apr 16 2019, 07:38 AM

680 posts

If I reject the company in Malaysia, will I be blacklisted from the company?
garlicpesto
post Apr 16 2019, 11:46 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Apr 15 2019, 03:38 PM)
If I reject the company in Malaysia, will I be blacklisted from the company?
What industry are you in?

of course you could work locally and make the move in the future, but just know that opportunities to work abroad does not come around often.

If you havent sign any papers yet then you are free to choose which company you like.
TSpw8799
post Apr 16 2019, 04:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Apr 16 2019, 11:46 AM)
What industry are you in?

of course you could work locally and make the move in the future, but just know that opportunities to work abroad does not come around often.

If you havent sign any papers yet then you are free to choose which company you like.
No offer letter has been issued to me so far, I just received email and agreed verbally by the boss. If I reject the offer without signining any letter, will I be blacklisted from the company?
Melon
post Apr 16 2019, 04:22 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Apr 16 2019, 04:19 PM)
No offer letter has been issued to me so far, I just received email and agreed verbally by the boss. If I reject the offer without signining any letter, will I be blacklisted from the company?
no la, dude. No offer letter = no ACTUAL offer doh.gif

TSpw8799
post Apr 16 2019, 07:33 PM

680 posts

Well, let's talk about the salary. What is the range of salary that a graduate could get in SG? is sgd 2500 too low for a graduate In SG? can any enginner shares the living cost and expenses in SG? I wish to know more.
garlicpesto
post Apr 16 2019, 07:36 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Apr 16 2019, 12:22 AM)
no la, dude. No offer letter = no ACTUAL offer  doh.gif
hahaha

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Apr 16 2019, 03:33 AM)
Well, let's talk about the salary. What is the range of salary that a graduate could get in SG? is sgd 2500 too low for a graduate In SG? can any enginner shares the living cost and expenses in SG? I wish to know more.
Whats the salary they offered locally and in SG? 2.5k is slightly on the lower end but you can still save up and live normally within your means.
TSpw8799
post Apr 16 2019, 07:41 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Apr 16 2019, 07:36 PM)
hahaha
Whats the salary they offered locally and in SG? 2.5k is slightly on the lower end but you can still save up and live normally within your means.
Then what is the average salary for fresh grad in Sg? Btw I am offered near to rm3k in one of the company in Malaysia. For the company in Sg, the HR have hey to tell me the salary.
xxQue_Sera_Seraxx
post Apr 16 2019, 09:36 PM

134 posts

Just some insights i would share with u regarding SG employment, whether would you get S-pass? E-pass? or Permits it depends on the company you are applying subject whether the 'quota' of those passes approval by Ministry of manpower

Living cost at there a big chunk will goes to renting and transportation.

Being a fresh graduate, just proceed after you doing enough research. No harm mate
Kyotoarm
post Apr 17 2019, 05:11 PM

171 posts

Better choose big company lor. much of benefits they provided.

Like me, after graduated im working with main contractor (small company) only 6 months.

Then, i got offer from public listed property developer company, my life changing so much. They provide good basic salary, OT, shares, good bonus, staff purchase discount, outpatient medical for family, medical card, long annual leave, etc.

Currently im sticking with this company around 6years and i still can learn & grow like main contractor does.

With the benefits they provided, im also achieve one step higher in salary & benefits than my other college mates.
TSpw8799
post Apr 17 2019, 06:04 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Kyotoarm @ Apr 17 2019, 05:11 PM)
Better choose big company lor. much of benefits they provided.

Like me, after graduated im working with main contractor (small company) only 6 months.

Then, i got offer from public listed property developer company, my life changing so much. They provide good basic salary, OT, shares, good bonus, staff purchase discount, outpatient medical for family, medical card, long annual leave, etc.

Currently im sticking with this company around 6years and i still can learn & grow like main contractor does.

With the benefits they provided, im also achieve one step higher in salary & benefits than my other college mates.
Well, I previously joined contractor also. I worked with developer. I don't really like the site work... So I am looking for office based work now. But working in small company will learn more? Or all about the same regardless of working in big or small company. I am wondering how do you learn like contractor does when u are joining developer? *just asking, no offense *

This post has been edited by pw8799: Apr 17 2019, 06:17 PM
TSpw8799
post Jun 15 2019, 12:16 PM

680 posts

Guys, what's the range of salary for entry level civil design engineer for small, medium and large consulting firm ? Can any senior help ? Thanks in advance ?
beng10w
post Jun 15 2019, 12:48 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Apr 15 2019, 07:00 PM)
I managed to secure 2 jobs at SG and 2 in Malaysia now. I am in dilemma now, which one should i go ? I was told that working in SG is very stressful. Since I dont have any experience yet , i wish to learn more and gain more experience.
malaysia job is also stressful especially working with chinese boss. some employer even dont recognize job experience in malaysia. you might also start from zero. then you will regret not getting the sg job.

This post has been edited by beng10w: Jun 15 2019, 12:56 PM
TSpw8799
post Jun 15 2019, 01:18 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(beng10w @ Jun 15 2019, 12:48 PM)
malaysia job is also stressful especially working with chinese boss. some employer even dont recognize job experience in malaysia. you might also start from zero. then you will regret not getting the sg job.
Which one should i go ? haha your advice is highly appreciated.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 15 2019, 02:44 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 15 2019, 12:16 PM)
Guys, what's the range of salary for entry level civil design engineer for small, medium and large consulting firm ? Can any senior help ? Thanks in advance ?
2.8k small
3.5k mid
4.5k big and femes
TSpw8799
post Jun 15 2019, 05:22 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 15 2019, 02:44 PM)
2.8k small
3.5k mid
4.5k big and femes
3.5k for mid and 4.5k for big ? gt such high salary for fresh engineer ? ohmy.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 15 2019, 11:05 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 15 2019, 05:22 PM)
3.5k for mid and 4.5k for big ? gt such high salary for fresh engineer ?  ohmy.gif
depends on what company you go to.

Big MNC O&G market will pay RM5k for fresh grad.
I also know of top class Civil consultancies in Malaysia paying 4.5k+ , but workload like shit.
I also know cheapo chinaman consultancies paying 2.8k
yellowflashdude
post Jun 16 2019, 12:56 AM

105 posts

Btw will joining a small company for your first job make it harder to join an mnc in the future?
I plan to join a small company to be able to learn more for my first job at least thats what my seniors recommend. Then if I feel like want to try my luck at an mnc, I can do so as an experienced hire.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 09:17 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Jun 16 2019, 12:56 AM)
Btw will joining a small company for your first job make it harder to join an mnc in the future?
I plan to join a small company to be able to learn more for my first job at least thats what my seniors recommend. Then if I feel like want to try my luck at an mnc, I can do so as an experienced hire.
The only reason why you'll "learn more" in small companies, especially chinaman companies is that they dump everything onto you. It's not a good way to learn more. For small companies, sometimes their scope of work is so small that you're not doing more different things, just a lot more of the same thing.

If you get into MNC or larger firms, you can learn the same so long as you don't strictly do you work. If you go bother bother other people, mingle with them etc. Besides, it also really depends on your position.

If you are in charge of project management, then your scope of work would basically be anything and everything to deliver the project, thus you would see everything regardless of company size.
ipohmali70
post Jun 16 2019, 10:28 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 15 2019, 11:05 PM)

I also know of top class Civil consultancies in Malaysia paying 4.5k+ , but workload like shit.
As a cheapo Chinaman consultancy, I once offered 6.5k to a candidate (who wasn't even a grad) but I still failed to reel him in.
tipsfedora
post Jun 16 2019, 10:50 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 16 2019, 09:17 AM)
The only reason why you'll "learn more" in small companies, especially chinaman companies is that they dump everything onto you. It's not a good way to learn more. For small companies, sometimes their scope of work is so small that you're not doing more different things, just a lot more of the same thing.

If you get into MNC or larger firms, you can learn the same so long as you don't strictly do you work. If you go bother bother other people, mingle with them etc. Besides, it also really depends on your position.

If you are in charge of project management, then your scope of work would basically be anything and everything to deliver the project, thus you would see everything regardless of company size.
Hi, I'm also another soon to be fresh grad. The thing is I'm my gpa is also quite average (3.0) so I don't really have much leverage to be picky in the first place. So I was wondering if working for small company for a few years, work hard etc would I still be able try to my luck at an MNC?

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Jun 16 2019, 10:28 AM)
As a cheapo Chinaman consultancy, I once offered 6.5k to a candidate (who wasn't even a grad) but I still failed to reel him in.
Wow, mind sharing what him so good a candidate that you were willing to offer that much? or is he an experienced hire?

This post has been edited by tipsfedora: Jun 16 2019, 10:50 AM
ipohmali70
post Jun 16 2019, 11:22 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(tipsfedora @ Jun 16 2019, 10:50 AM)
Hi, I'm also another soon to be fresh grad. The thing is I'm my gpa is also quite average (3.0) so I don't really have much leverage to be picky in the first place. So I was wondering if working for small company for a few years, work hard etc would I still be able try to my luck at an MNC?
Wow, mind sharing what him so good a candidate that you were willing to offer that much? or is he an experienced hire?
SPM Grade 2.

No dip/degree.

28 yrs old.

10 years experience in engineering in telco.

CAD super duper expert.

Hundreds of engineering projects completed by himself.

In hindsight I made an offer too low for him.

He was finally snapped by another company for 7.5k.

And mind you, that was in 2011.

TSpw8799
post Jun 16 2019, 01:02 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 15 2019, 11:05 PM)

is my expectation too low ? i was expecting 3k for big mnc company and 2.7k for small consultancy company... doh.gif
tipsfedora
post Jun 16 2019, 01:33 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Jun 16 2019, 11:22 AM)
SPM Grade 2. 

No dip/degree.

28 yrs old. 

10 years experience in engineering in telco. 

CAD super duper expert. 

Hundreds of engineering projects completed by himself.

In hindsight I made an offer too low for him.

He was finally snapped by another company for 7.5k.

And mind you, that was in 2011.
Oh ok, so he's an experienced hire cause if he was fresh grad offered that much, that would have been crazy.

I heard that degrees and grades matter much less as you gain experience.
ipohmali70
post Jun 16 2019, 03:14 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(tipsfedora @ Jun 16 2019, 01:33 PM)
Oh ok, so he's an experienced hire cause if he was fresh grad offered that much, that would have been crazy.

I heard that degrees and grades matter much less as you gain experience.
Yes that's right.

Even for entry level, degrees count for nothing.

Sadly, its significance is even less than toilet paper these days.

Good luck to you in securing your first job.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 05:23 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 16 2019, 01:02 PM)
is my expectation too low ? i was expecting 3k for big mnc company and 2.7k for small consultancy company...  doh.gif
3k is rule of thumb for MNC and GLCs
i.e. no MNC will pay you less than that figure and GLCs will at least pay in that ball park.

2.2-2.7k is range for small consultancies.

no harm in applying for any job and asking for 3.5k.
afaik, many companies are heading there in terms of pay already, at least for bigger ones.

If hiring manager ask why, then you just counter back to say "it's my expected celery, if not can nego".
you don't ask for too high, nor do you lowball. Show confidence, but not ignorance.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 05:25 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(tipsfedora @ Jun 16 2019, 10:50 AM)

Just apply to any company that interest you.
No huge difference between big company and small company learning opportunities if you're willing to explore it.
small companies, there ma be less bureaucracy and office politics to go through.
However, both cases are highly subjective to the company you're in.

but I would take larger company since their benefits, e.g. medical+allowances+claims are better.
TSpw8799
post Jun 16 2019, 05:27 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 16 2019, 05:23 PM)
3k is rule of thumb for MNC and GLCs
i.e. no MNC will pay you less than that figure and GLCs will at least pay in that ball park.

2.2-2.7k is range for small consultancies.

no harm in applying for any job and asking for 3.5k.
afaik, many companies are heading there in terms of pay already, at least for bigger ones.

If hiring manager ask why, then you just counter back to say "it's my expected celery, if not can nego".
you don't ask for too high, nor do you lowball. Show confidence, but not ignorance.
Well, i think i still need to gain more experiences first albeit i do have good cgpa , can i ask 3k for small company ?is it too high ? haha
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 05:28 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Jun 16 2019, 10:28 AM)
kau dah cakap mah.....10 years experience and expert CAD.
if 10 years experience engineer, can ask for 16.5k liao....or maybe /k standard of 20k....

TS now asking about fresh grad with bachelor's degree, we stick to that la.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 05:33 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 16 2019, 05:27 PM)
Well, i think i still need to gain more experiences first albeit i do have good cgpa , can i ask 3k for small company ?is it too high ? haha
Yes, you can ask for 3k.
When I was a fresh grad, a hiring manager of a small 10+ employee engineering company once told me 3k was too high too, but mentioned it could be considered the figure passed probation. They didn't take me in the end, probably got an experience hire.

No harm in asking. They should understand that costs of living these days are not cheap, thus you would need that kind of figure anyway.

If they ask why you're asking for that kind of figure, just justify the figure with facts, not bullshit.
E.g. dont say you need to buy ipong or bubble tea or pay toyota Godcar loan.

Also, market price is around there anyway. If they're not willing to pay that figure, they would have a hard time trying to hire.
TSpw8799
post Jun 16 2019, 06:01 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 16 2019, 05:33 PM)
Yes, you can ask for 3k.
When I was a fresh grad, a hiring manager of a small 10+ employee engineering company once told me 3k was too high too, but mentioned it could be considered the figure passed probation. They didn't take me in the end, probably got an experience hire.

No harm in asking. They should understand that costs of living these days are not cheap, thus you would need that kind of figure anyway.

If they ask why you're asking for that kind of figure, just justify the figure with facts, not bullshit.
E.g. dont say you need to buy ipong or bubble tea or pay toyota Godcar loan.

Also, market price is around there anyway. If they're not willing to pay that figure, they would have a hard time trying to hire.
thanks for ur useful advice. thumbsup.gif i will try. So the salary during the probation period will be slightly lower ya ?

This post has been edited by pw8799: Jun 16 2019, 06:02 PM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2019, 06:26 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 16 2019, 06:01 PM)
thanks for ur useful advice.  thumbsup.gif i will try. So the salary during the probation period will be slightly lower ya ?
Depends on company.
Usual practice is increment after probation, but this practice is simply to give face. There is no black and white that mandates it.

I've been in company where the management said "it is not company policy to five increment during probation" doh.gif

ipohmali70
post Jun 16 2019, 06:54 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 16 2019, 05:28 PM)
kau dah cakap mah.....10 years experience and expert CAD.
if 10 years experience engineer, can ask for 16.5k liao....or maybe /k standard of 20k....
TS now asking about fresh grad with bachelor's degree, we stick to that la.
I don't think so.

I have applicants who still list between 7k - 9k as their salary despite serving up to 13 years.

Manager somemore.

tipsfedora
post Jun 16 2019, 11:37 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Jun 16 2019, 03:14 PM)
Yes that's right.

Even for entry level, degrees count for nothing.

Sadly, its significance is even less than toilet paper these days.

Good luck to you in securing your first job.
In a way that is good to hear that companies don't just simply look at your grades and degree which allows your experience to do the "talking". Thanks for the encouragement.

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 16 2019, 05:25 PM)
Just apply to any company that interest you.
No huge difference between big company and small company learning opportunities if you're willing to explore it.
small companies, there ma be less bureaucracy and office politics to go through.
However, both cases are highly subjective to the company you're in.

but I would take larger company since their benefits, e.g. medical+allowances+claims are better.
I will try my luck with a lot of companies regardless of their stature. Its just that my cgpa and resume is kinda average so might have to make do with smaller companies first. My question was simply if I started with smaller companies, it won't hinder me from joining bigger companies in the future?

This post has been edited by tipsfedora: Jun 16 2019, 11:39 PM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 17 2019, 08:14 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(tipsfedora @ Jun 16 2019, 11:37 PM)
In a way that is good to hear that companies don't just simply look at your grades and degree which allows your experience to do the "talking". Thanks for the encouragement.
I will try my luck with a lot of companies regardless of their stature. Its just that my cgpa and resume is kinda average so might have to make do with smaller companies first. My question was simply if I started with smaller companies, it won't hinder me from joining bigger companies in the future?
No,
The only thing stopping you would be sentiments.
Nothing black and white preventing you from working in MNC after serving in SME.
FutureBuilder
post Jun 17 2019, 08:43 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 16 2019, 06:01 PM)
thanks for ur useful advice.  thumbsup.gif i will try. So the salary during the probation period will be slightly lower ya ?
Put your expected salary, when nego that time can asked to increase to expected salary after probation. Some company have such practice except prohibited by HR policies. nod.gif
TSpw8799
post Jun 18 2019, 10:51 AM

680 posts

Guys, to become a professional engineer, I need to be trained and supervised buy qualified PE ? or ? So i need to be supervised by PE all the time ? So, i only gt the chance to become a PE if i work in a small firm which is supervised by PE most of the time ?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 18 2019, 01:48 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 18 2019, 10:51 AM)
Guys, to become a professional engineer, I need to be trained and supervised buy qualified PE ? or ? So i need to be supervised by PE all the time ? So, i only gt the chance to become a PE if i work in a small firm which is supervised by PE most of the time ?
PE only good for signing off drawings in Malaysia....or to put it in other words.....shake leg, sign paper, make monies biggrin.gif

Used to be that there's only one PE, now Malaysia has 2 stage PE, which is Ir. and Ir. with Practicing Certificate.
You need Ir. to get Ir. with PC. You need Ir. with PC to sign stuff off.

For Ir. application, you need 3+ years working experience and preferably supervised by an Ir.
If there are no Ir. in your office, you may seek help from the Institution of Engineers Malaysia, which are the people supervising the Ir. exams in the first place.

There's a logbook system if there's no one to directly look over you. You'd need to ask the people at IEM to be clear on the procedure. I am a member, though not active enough to remember these things.

Make sure you are registered with BEM as well before you even consider a job to pursue Ir.
BEM will only cost you RM50 one time fee + Rm15 postage should you want them to post the cert to you.

IEM will cost RM100 per year, though it is optional for Ir. certification. It's just so happen that most Ir. are IEM members, although not requirement
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 18 2019, 01:53 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 18 2019, 10:51 AM)
whether you'd need a PE is highly dependent on the career path you're planning to take.

For those in manufacturing, e.g. aircon factory, a PE is the most useless thing to get after a white mammoth
For those in MRO, e.g. aircraft servicing, a PE is the most useless thing to get after a green elefant.
For those in O&G, can pakai la, but not common, since most of them go for NACE, welding, and other certifications instead.

For those in Consultancies and construction industry, there's where the money is, although you may not need it to climb corporate ladders.
TSpw8799
post Jun 18 2019, 04:55 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 18 2019, 01:48 PM)
PE only good for signing off drawings in Malaysia....or to put it in other words.....shake leg, sign paper, make monies biggrin.gif

Used to be that there's only one PE, now Malaysia has 2 stage PE, which is Ir. and Ir. with Practicing Certificate.
You need Ir. to get Ir. with PC. You need Ir. with PC to sign stuff off.

For Ir. application, you need 3+ years working experience and preferably supervised by an Ir.
If there are no Ir. in your office, you may seek help from the Institution of Engineers Malaysia, which are the people supervising the Ir. exams in the first place.

There's a logbook system if there's no one to directly look over you. You'd need to ask the people at IEM to be clear on the procedure. I am a member, though not active enough to remember these things.

Make sure you are registered with BEM as well before you even consider a job to pursue Ir.
BEM will only cost you RM50 one time fee + Rm15 postage should you want them to post the cert to you.

IEM will cost RM100 per year, though it is optional for Ir. certification. It's just so happen that most Ir. are IEM members, although not requirement
If I work in Sg, can i still apply for IEM and BEM membership?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 18 2019, 04:59 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 18 2019, 04:55 PM)
If I work in Sg, can i still apply for IEM and BEM membership?
can.......just whether IES or IEM is more useful to you.
As for BEM, since it's a one time fee, just apply. No harm.
TSpw8799
post Jun 18 2019, 05:35 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 18 2019, 04:59 PM)
can.......just whether IES or IEM is more useful to you.
As for BEM, since it's a one time fee, just apply. No harm.
When can I start to apply for IEM and BEM ? Btw i am a member for IEMSS (Student Section) now.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 18 2019, 08:03 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jun 18 2019, 05:35 PM)
When can I start to apply for IEM and BEM ? Btw i am a member for IEMSS (Student Section)  now.
BEM after you graduate.
Note, graduation, not completion of studies since they'd want your cert.
Also BEM documents require that you get an IR. to sign and verify.
start finding one now.

If you are legitimately IEM student member, you'd get a discount when you transfer your membership from student to graduate.
You also wont have to rush IEM registration as graduate as they usually carry forward by a few months.
IEM registration dont need fancy people signature, since they want your money more than BEM and it's annual subscription laugh.gif
Fzeo
post Jun 18 2019, 08:05 PM

455 posts

depend what field.

from 1.8 - 5.0 k

TSpw8799
post Jul 9 2019, 08:08 PM

680 posts

Normally for c&s consultant job, no OT claim will be provided or depends on company?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jul 9 2019, 11:31 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(pw8799 @ Jul 9 2019, 08:08 PM)
Normally for c&s consultant job, no OT claim will be provided or depends on company?
usually, once over certain pay grade, no OT claim regardless.
for engineers, usually no, especially consultancies.

Brandonwoo17
post Aug 6 2019, 12:23 AM

68 posts

Hi sifus! I have a question. So I went to an interview at this company 2 weeks back, they didn’t reply me nor inform me anything, thus I assumed i failed that interview. But out of nowhere, the HR of that company sent me an email a few days back, asking me whether have I taken up any job offer, does this mean I have a chance of getting the job? Hahaha😂

This post has been edited by Brandonwoo17: Aug 6 2019, 12:23 AM
TSpw8799
post Aug 6 2019, 12:51 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Brandonwoo17 @ Aug 6 2019, 12:23 AM)
Hi sifus! I have a question. So I went to an interview at this company 2 weeks back, they didn’t reply me nor inform me anything, thus I assumed i failed that interview. But out of nowhere, the HR of that company sent me an email a few days back, asking me whether have I taken up any job offer, does this mean I have a chance of getting the job? Hahaha😂
I think yes.... I have received call after 2 weeks that offer me the jobs, the HR gave me up to 3 weeks to consider it... But, in the end, I didn't accept the job offer.
kirakun
post Aug 7 2019, 03:28 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Brandonwoo17 @ Aug 6 2019, 12:23 AM)
This is called long shot strategy biggrin.gif

Usually Hr will use these on not so critical positions and high probability to low ball potential shortlisted candidates.

0.0547sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:04 PM