New MacBookPro Screen: Glossy or Matte?, Has anyone seen the Glossy variant?

TSMacDaNife
post Jun 16 2007, 10:42 PM, updated 19y ago

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

The new MacBook Pros (2.2Ghz and 2.4Ghz) come with an interesting display option: Glossy or Matte? The default option (and on a quick survey of the KL Mac shops) is Matte. You'll need to do a customised order to get a Glossy screen. It however is not more expensive than the default Matte option.

I'm presuming the Glossy screen looks more like my Vaio SZ....

And most of the online discussions on the subject seem to favor the Glossy...

My question is: Has anyone actually SEEN a Glossy LCD backlit MacBook Pro screen?
chua
post Jun 16 2007, 11:08 PM

163 posts

Glossy means highly reflective but sharp LCD, like Dell XPS M1210.
kevler
post Jun 16 2007, 11:12 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

my MBP already applied the glossy screen ..

so far ..the screen are more sharp ..and i love it ...
lokgotz
post Jun 16 2007, 11:14 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

i guess the glossy screen is kinda like the screen of MBs....Macbook screens are glossy...

i may be wrong though.....maybe it's a different kinda glossy for the macbook pros...
civic98
post Jun 16 2007, 11:20 PM

1,255 posts

Main purpose of glossy screen is to allow more light through, making it clearer, and easier to view in bright conditions, but I think MacDaNife's question is more towards how does it look like on a new MBP LED screen.

Why would they have it in matte anyway?

This post has been edited by civic98: Jun 16 2007, 11:21 PM
tishaban
post Jun 16 2007, 11:36 PM

3,615 posts

From what I understand, the matte display works far better in a place with direct light eg. outside/sunlight or naked flourescent/incandescent bulbs. The glossy display will reflect these types of light far more than the matte screen, almost like a mirror when the background is black. If you can control the lighting environment around you, the glossy will look superb.

However, if you work doing color matching for a living, I understand that the glossy screen will drive some color calibration equipment nuts. I don't think many people in LYN do that though biggrin.gif

Try and compare yourself if you can.

civic98
post Jun 16 2007, 11:54 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 16 2007, 11:36 PM)
From what I understand, the matte display works far better in a place with direct light eg. outside/sunlight or naked flourescent/incandescent bulbs. The glossy display will reflect these types of light far more than the matte screen, almost like a mirror when the background is black. If you can control the lighting environment around you, the glossy will look superb.

However, if you work doing color matching for a living, I understand that the glossy screen will drive some color calibration equipment nuts. I don't think many people in LYN do that though biggrin.gif

Try and compare yourself if you can.
On the contrary, gloss screens works better in bright condition, true enough there will be reflection, but only at angle, the gloss screen allows more light coming out from the LCD to the user's eyes, which means clearer view.
TSMacDaNife
post Jun 17 2007, 11:34 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 16 2007, 11:20 PM)
Main purpose of glossy screen is to allow more light through, making it clearer, and easier to view in bright conditions, but I think MacDaNife's question is more towards how does it look like on a new MBP LED screen.

That's exactly what I'm trying to find out! Thanks for clarifying the question. The new LED display technology would make the screen quite different from the MacBook glossy displays.

Why would they have it in Matte? Why is Matte the default configuration? As far as I know, all the LED display MBP presently being offered for sale are the Matte variant. The guy at Machines in MVM would not even open the box to let me have a look at the Matte LED display. Well, it's his loss of commission. If I had liked it, I would have bought it....
lailaikatong
post Jun 17 2007, 12:02 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 16 2007, 11:20 PM)
QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jun 17 2007, 11:34 AM)
Why would they have it in Matte? Why is Matte the default configuration?
Matte screens are better when it comes to color accuracy, and given that the pro lineup is designed for professional use, it would be stupid for Apple if it does not offer it. It is default because Apple understands the target market for this particular line of notebooks - most MBP users want a dependable screen that can be used in various situations. Glossy screens can get pretty annoying at times, especially with the reflections.
TSMacDaNife
post Jun 19 2007, 07:49 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jun 17 2007, 12:02 PM)
Matte screens are better when it comes to color accuracy, and given that the pro lineup is designed for professional use, it would be stupid for Apple if it does not offer it. It is default because Apple understands the target market for this particular line of notebooks - most MBP users want a dependable screen that can be used in various situations. Glossy screens can get pretty annoying at times, especially with the reflections.
I'm amazed that you can come to this conclusion without actually having SEEN the two screens i.e. without the ability to make a comparative assessment.

You've got too much faith in Apple's ability to "understand the target market". Remember the Newton? Cube? PowerBook 5300? and some may argue, the AppleTV? Hardly the runaway success that they were supposed to be...
youngkies
post Jun 19 2007, 08:11 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jun 19 2007, 07:49 AM)
I'm amazed that you can come to this conclusion without actually having SEEN the two screens i.e. without the ability to make a comparative assessment.

You've got too much faith in Apple's ability to "understand the target market". Remember the Newton? Cube? PowerBook 5300? and some may argue, the AppleTV? Hardly the runaway success that they were supposed to be...
I believe that is just his opinion.
TSMacDaNife
post Jun 19 2007, 08:59 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 19 2007, 08:11 AM)
I believe that is just his opinion.
Yes, I'm aware of that. And the reply is my opinion too.

(in an internet forum people are expected to express opinions)
wei
post Jun 19 2007, 09:07 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I personally will go for the matte.
Can't stand the oilly finger prints + a glossy screen.
Hence my laoptop will travel with me, so meaning I will get a differeny lighting condition the reflection is just annoying.
lailaikatong
post Jun 19 2007, 10:49 AM

601 posts

Yes, actually I have seen the matte and glossy screens in the flesh.. Both the old CCFLs (checked em out in Singapore last year), and the new LED screens (here in Melbourne).. Essentially the problem with glossy screens is the same - reflections. My screen is a matte and previously i used a screen protector to turn it glossy, but I've peeled that one off and changed to a normal screen protector. I can't, and I didn't, comment much on CCFL/LED glossy comparisons coz i haven't compared them side by side.

Read my statement again... I said "for this particular line of notebooks" i.e. the Macbook Pro. In marketing there's product line breadth (# of different product lines i.e. mini,imac,mb,mbp,ipod,tv etc), length (how long particular product line is i.e. mbp 15", mbp 17"), and depth (# of variations of each i.e. 15" glossy, 15" matte, 2.2/2.4 ghz etc). I was commenting on the depth of the product line. Manufacturers often offer the most demanded form as a stock option to capture the widest market possible, and then offer customization options to capture the remaining group of potential customers. We actually did a surface analysis of several companies' product lines in my marketing course, and one of the companies included Apple.

Of course, I do agree with you. Some attempts for Apple to penetrate new market segments by introducing new product lines have not been very successful. Their current offerings aren't perfect either, as a lot of people are waiting for an ultra-portable, but Apple seems to be a bit late in responding to this. I guess they have their own strategic plan - this year might be the iPhone and Leopard year, and they might wanna focus on these two offerings first.

Now, going back to the topic. I believe Malaysian consumers are at a disadvantage because we can't actually compare LED glossy/matte screens side by side, because the resellers don't have them on display. Can't simply buy a glossy, and exchange it for a matte if you don't like it either coz' built to order options aren't eligible for returns. You're doing the best that you can do now, which is to ask for other people's opinions. Whether you accept them or not, it's entirely up to you. All the best in making the decision. Cheers smile.gif
FoX^
post Jun 19 2007, 01:40 PM

197 posts

glossy = untreated, matte = added an anti reflective coating.

Consider matte an upgrade to have anti reflective, but at the expense of "Clarity?? (maybe?)"

Personally i dont think there would be much noticeable difference in color/clarity unless you work with glossy and matte screen side by side. Matter would probably be a better choice unless you work exclusively in a place where there is no light source behind ur laptop to reflect on ur LCD.
TSMacDaNife
post Jun 19 2007, 05:34 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Gave up on finding a Matte display and bought a Matte 2.4 Ghz MacBookPro from MacStudio at LYP today. Am in the process of transferring stuff across from the MacPro...

So far this a sweet machine....
yetieater
post Jun 19 2007, 05:59 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

Congratulations on the new purchase. I'm waiting until late-July to place an order on a similar MBP. What are your impressions of the matte screen so far?
civic98
post Jun 19 2007, 06:47 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jun 19 2007, 05:34 PM)
Gave up on finding a Matte display and bought a Matte 2.4 Ghz MacBookPro from MacStudio at LYP today. Am in the process of transferring stuff across from the MacPro...

So far this a sweet machine....
Congratulations! Wish I could have one!! drool.gif

You got the matte or gloss? Confused cause u said u gave up on finding a matte screen, and bought a matte screen MBP.

This post has been edited by civic98: Jun 19 2007, 06:49 PM
TSMacDaNife
post Jun 19 2007, 08:58 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Sorry for the ambigous post....

Rather keen to start installing stuff into the new 'book. Got a Matte display. Wanted to get the 2.2Ghz but ended up getting the 2.4Ghz cos the 2.2 is out of stock at all the retailers I called. The 2.4 however....

The Matte display is brighter than my ACD.... Blacks are black, colors are gorgeous. Is the Glossy better? I dunno... But I like this one....
INFeRNO
post Jun 22 2007, 03:36 AM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

I've not seen the glossy screen with the LED back light, but I was able to make a comparison between the glossy and matte screen, and I went with the matte one. It all depends on whether you wanna put up with the glare and reflections. To me, I plan to take my baby everywhere, so matte made more sense to me.

Although personally if your computer is just gonna sit on a desk for the next 2 years, I'd go with the glossy screen.

0.0186sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:06 AM