22 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V5, Welcome to the big screens.

attw
post Jul 2 2019, 07:40 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 1 2019, 10:33 PM)
Looking at the leaks, Im not expecting much from them for this round.  laugh.gif
Ya, maybe we'll wait till next year smile.gif
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 11:05 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 2 2019, 08:35 AM)
Actually they just need to make a iphone with exact same iPad Pro design which is Squarish then it will be nice enough already..
Ya man, I'm so ready for a squarish iPhone biggrin.gif
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 11:26 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jul 2 2019, 11:07 AM)
I want 3 lens iphone 11 Max
If the leaks are true, you will get your wish smile.gif

Anyways, here is another take on Ive's departure..

https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...n-obsolescence/

This post has been edited by attw: Jul 2 2019, 11:27 AM
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 02:16 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 2 2019, 12:28 PM)
Damn. Twice a day? Now that's a power user. Why not use the XR instead? Better battery life no?
It's available! Thanks bro! I did a search but somehow nothing turned up. I guess shopee's search algo not so good huh.

EDIT: Seems like this one is also the Type A to lightning...Unless I saw wrongly?
That one is the usb A to lightning...which I already have. I remember you got share the type-c to lightning but it was on taobao. I searched on Ali but didn't get any hits unfortunately.
Sorry bro, my bad. This should be the correct link.

https://shopee.com.my/product/82666973/2098771811?smtt=0.0.9

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jul 2 2019, 01:56 PM)
Bought this but apparently it doesnt support fast charging. No MFI cert.
I think Apple doesn't recognize these auto disconnect cables so that's why they are all non MFI certified.

This post has been edited by attw: Jul 2 2019, 02:17 PM
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 07:17 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 2 2019, 02:55 PM)
Still have to buy buy buy bro.... Just like what attw would do. As a true blue Ifag, we will still buy.  flex.gif
I am renewing my maxis contract this year, so definitely will buy, haha...

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 2 2019, 03:12 PM)
yeah. i am a big fan of iphone 4/4s. tongue.gif
Right? That was the first ever time I went "wow" at a mobile phone smile.gif

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 2 2019, 04:21 PM)
xs max is already very overkill with the specs.. dont need one with tad better specs but uglier version.. so to me it sounds like a downgrade despite better specs  biggrin.gif
I'd settle for two words - bigger battery!
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 08:39 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 2 2019, 08:13 PM)
Cool, my contract is also due this year, will see the real thing first, but from all the leaks, most likely I’ll downgrade my plan..
Ya I'm downgrading too this round coz I've switched to maxis One Prime and now have unlimited data no matter what plan I choose smile.gif
attw
post Jul 2 2019, 09:18 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 2 2019, 08:54 PM)
Cool, what’s your monthly plan $$?
On maxis RM158 now bro, thinking of downgrading to RM98 or RM128.
attw
post Jul 3 2019, 08:02 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 2 2019, 10:45 PM)
Oh..iPhone minimum plan was 128 back then when the x launched.. Not sure about the next iPhone.i felt the 158 is a bit too overkill... Even 128 40gb is already overkill considering we have WiFi everywhere home office etc biggrin.gif
Yeah, the reason I went with 158 two years ago coz my ex-company provided HP claims of 150 per month so I maximized it, hahaha. Now working for a new company that provide their own phone and line, so I have to minimize my commitment for personal line already, hahaha...
attw
post Jul 5 2019, 07:21 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 4 2019, 09:36 PM)
Thanks! Although it's the same price as the shopee one provided by attw

My exprience with Aliexpress is the shipping can be quite slow sweat.gif
I thought the screen size wasn't that different. I'm pushing my wife to upgrade from her 6s Plus. Looking at the iOS support cycle, I think the phone can only last for another year before it gets discontinued. She's pretty comfortable with her current phone though. Considering how she upgraded from a Note 1 (yes, 1. Woman holds on to her phone till it's almost dead!)
Thanks bro! I wonder what I should do with the extra cable now laugh.gif

You used both the XR and XS Max right? Which would you personally pick? And why'd your wife pick the XS Max to the XR? (I think I got the right guy)
Ya, that would be me smile.gif

I personally preferred the XR due to the better battery life. I was also fine with the screen not being an OLED as Apple makes one of the best LCDs in the market. The size was more pocket friendly too. But when my wife switched to try the XR, she told me she instantly noticed that the display isn't as nice as that of the XS Max (women have far sharper eyes for detail!) She also preferred the larger screen and didn't mind the battery life as she wasn't a heavy user. So we kept the XS Max and sold off the XR in the end. I would have preferred to keep the XR as it was a 128GB vs the 64GB XS Max but there's a possibility we both might upgrade as our phone contracts are due for renewal this year.
attw
post Jul 7 2019, 08:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 7 2019, 07:46 PM)
How much better battery is it on the XR compared to the XS max? In ratio? Considering one for my wife, of course the new one in October biggrin.gif
My best record was 4 hours SOT on my iPhone XR over a 24 hour period with still 50% battery remaining. My XS Max would give me about 2.5 to 3 hours or so over the same 24 hour period.
attw
post Jul 8 2019, 09:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 8 2019, 11:47 AM)
It can't come soon enough... My OnePlus 7 Pro is excellent, but I'm getting the itch to move back to iPhone already after a month laugh.gif
attw
post Jul 8 2019, 09:51 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 8 2019, 09:48 PM)
Once an Ifag, forever an Ifag.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Benefon @ Jul 8 2019, 09:50 PM)
Lol. After ifag user forever is ifag.
The rest such as toy phone 🤭🤭
Hahaha, not gonna admit to that! tongue.gif
attw
post Jul 9 2019, 08:13 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Jul 8 2019, 08:40 AM)
So deciding factor was the screen then huh? Battery life is basically about 15%-25% better compared to the max. Maybe will wait for the new XR and see how that fares. Wife is currently still on the 6s Plus. I think the screen wouldn't be an issue for her. She's constantly needing a power bank, I think the XR would serve her better. Thanks man!

Yes, as my job requires a fair bit of moving about I need a phone that will last me through the day without having to charge it half way through. I hate carrying power banks too! If I manage my usage I'll easily get a day out of the XS Max too, but the XR is more than capable enough especially at that price difference!

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Jul 9 2019, 04:36 AM)
me oso thinking of downgrading back to my xr since the battery very good lolol whistling.gif
Hahaha, I have a little bit of a seller's remorse now having already sold off my XR sad.gif

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jul 9 2019, 05:55 AM)
Haha... I strongly agreed on that.

Been used Samsung for a while but now moved back to iOS already
Like TOMEI-R would say, we need to have the best of both worlds!
attw
post Jul 9 2019, 02:51 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 9 2019, 12:01 PM)
Haha you almost had the remorse after selling your iPad Pro too tongue.gif

I got the Huawei Mate 20x recently for heavy media use, it’s a good phone for media but that’s about it, good battery at 5000mah, 7.2” amoled and all, but it’s still lacking in many areas compared to the Xs max...still feel the lag when browsing, scrolling and gaming..especially games that require real time graphics..even swiping up to close app feels lag..once and ifag...sigh laugh.gif
Nice! I was eyeing the Mate 20X at one point too - then Donald Trump happened! laugh.gif You should try the OP7 Pro - it's very, very close to iOS in terms of smoothness!
attw
post Jul 9 2019, 08:25 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 9 2019, 03:50 PM)
I needed the 7.2” display and 5000mah actually...coz it’s meant solely for media use...it’s actually not bad at all for a flagship, but can see the difference when being compared with the Xs max...hence the double price tag I guess biggrin.gif
I use my iPad for media smile.gif
attw
post Jul 10 2019, 06:44 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Jul 10 2019, 06:33 PM)
finally upgraded my iphone 6 plus to xs max. was thinking to get p30 pro until i try my brother's mate 20. the smoothness and fluid animation on iphone is unbeatable.

what is the 1st accessories that i should get for my max? was eyeing on Aukey PD charger. any others recommended PD charger that can support 30W charging?
A good and sturdy casing. You don't want the glass to crack if you drop it.
attw
post Jul 11 2019, 07:51 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 10 2019, 09:41 PM)
Im also using ipad mini 5 and ipad Pro 12.9.....but I can't use them outdoor... Anything that doesn't fit pocket size will only be for home use..sad truth.... How I wish my pocket can fit the ipad mini then I can skip this 2nd mobile laugh.gif
Well rumors are we will get a foldable iPad soon laugh.gif
attw
post Jul 13 2019, 10:41 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Jul 11 2019, 04:31 PM)
Yep. As mention by attw, get a sturdy casing.
Rhinoshield Mod NX or Solidsuit and Hoda TG. Thats it.

The rest accessory is just optional. Your call.
Oh yeah, I forgot. Tempered glass screen protector is a must too smile.gif
attw
post Jul 14 2019, 07:14 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(nonequal @ Jul 14 2019, 02:45 PM)
hi guys.. new xs user here finally upgraded from iPhone 7+

where can I get full screen tempered glass but without the black boarder?
glass only edge to edge.

the boarder cuts off a lil bit of the screen.
Wow, congrats! Did you get a good deal on the XS?
attw
post Jul 15 2019, 07:18 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(nonequal @ Jul 14 2019, 07:49 PM)
not really got any good deal though... just walk in switch and bought one  thumbup.gif
Ohh, did your 7 Plus died or something? Otherwise should have waited for the new iPhones to launch first and get some discount smile.gif

22 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:03 AM