For those that bought a Rolex before...

TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 07:49 AM, updated 7y ago

245 posts

Was it ever worth the price?

Any luxury watches in fact , Maurice , Jaegar , IWC etc

I'm from a somewhat modest , middle income family hence I was never really exposed to luxury goods, and I'm never to keen on them.

When it comes to personal spending I've always been frugal. Buying 2nd hand stuff , eating food on a budget ( though I eat a lot since I do train upwards of 5x/week).
I don't drink nor have a nightlife... Since I never see them as a good investment of time and money

Lately my business is doing somewhat decent. And I'm able to save a decent amount of money a month. Last year I was able to get myself a 2nd hand car. Which I'm really proud of.

And lately I've been looking into luxury watches , partly cause I was exposed to my client's collection of watches which well ... isn't good

I'm thinking of getting a Rolex for my 25th Bday , which is next year.

I don't wear watches so my main idea of getting a Rolex is

1. Hopefully it appreciates or at least retains 80% of it's value over the course of 10+ years

2. Pass down to my children

3. Add a little swag ... I guess?

I'm thinking of a moderately priced 2nd hand Rolex say a Datejust from WingWah , apparently I can't get a brand new Rolex as the waiting list is 3 freaking years.

So what do you guys think.

Would a Rolex be a good ( or at least decent ) use of money?
bee88
post Feb 9 2019, 07:53 AM

303 posts

Once u bought a Rolex, be prepared to buy the second and third and fourth ones. It's addictive like drugs.

Been there done that.
:3mushy:3
post Feb 9 2019, 07:53 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

If you don't have passion, don't.
Maja Helmi
post Feb 9 2019, 07:54 AM

50 posts

Datejust is a great watch.

Though u should know.
Young people wear rolex, ppl are always gonna assume that's pasar malam rolex.

J1g54w
post Feb 9 2019, 07:57 AM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(Maja Helmi @ Feb 9 2019, 07:54 AM)

Though u should know.
Depends on how the guy carries himself. If dressed and look neat, the Rolex should match.
Revamperz
post Feb 9 2019, 07:58 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

more then status.. there is a tad bit of passion , appreciation and stuff

which i think youre lack off , heck, you dont even wear watch let alone these type

i think youre better off with some kinda investment with that extra moolah

or find something else u really into

BigMan123
post Feb 9 2019, 08:00 AM

2,470 posts

Submariner....not only holds value, appreciated 10k in past 5 years
11c
post Feb 9 2019, 08:00 AM

141 posts

Don't buy, not going to get you another extra second every day.

It's my testimony
DS51
post Feb 9 2019, 08:08 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 07:49 AM)

I'm thinking of a moderately priced 2nd hand Rolex say a Datejust from WingWah , apparently I can't get a brand new Rolex as the waiting list is 3 freaking years.

Waiting list is 3 years?.Lol. What model is that 3 years?. U had survey multiple AD or only 1.

Had buy 2nd hand b4. Not worth it. Once u send to rolex centre for servicing u know, it is not really worth it.

My first hand rolex never show any symptom need to service after 7 years bought. Lel.
alpha001
post Feb 9 2019, 08:10 AM

686 posts

You buy rolex, are you going to wear it? Or are you going to store it in the safe. Either way. Be prepare to service the watch every 5 years. No date submariner would be my first choice.
teongpeng
post Feb 9 2019, 08:10 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

Yes. But do some research on which models to get. Go ahead and splurge.

But be warned...this hobby is hard to stop
teongpeng
post Feb 9 2019, 08:12 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(BigMan123 @ Feb 9 2019, 08:00 AM)
I bought a 2nd hand sub for 19k 2 years back. Now got someone offer me 25k for it...wtf appreciate faster than property. im not selling though.
post Feb 9 2019, 08:15 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Buy tudor get rolex (Book)

#maluapabossku

ketupatlazat
post Feb 9 2019, 08:16 AM

555 posts

Wah orang2 atasan ini korang semua
Maja Helmi
post Feb 9 2019, 08:19 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Feb 9 2019, 08:16 AM)
Wah orang2 atasan ini korang semua
Kan ada 0% 3 years EzyPay.
Installment cheaper than ketam tebu.
everest
post Feb 9 2019, 08:21 AM

123 posts

v1n0d
post Feb 9 2019, 08:26 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

I'm curious, what kind of monthly income would one need to have to afford these watches? Seems like even /k's 20k standard isn't enough.
SkyCaptain
post Feb 9 2019, 08:28 AM

262 posts

Do you really like watches? Can you live without it? Don't go ahead and buy just because the bloody thing would appreciate. Have you touched and felt other brands apart from Rolex?

Can you wear and afford to scratch or dent it?
Ryurox2020
post Feb 9 2019, 08:31 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(everest @ Feb 9 2019, 08:21 AM)
#bossku😍
XxSupaNovaxX
post Feb 9 2019, 08:32 AM

107 posts

..will never buy again.
:facepalm:
drug5
post Feb 9 2019, 08:44 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Feb 9 2019, 08:26 AM)
I'm curious, what kind of monthly income would one need to have to afford these watches? Seems like even /k's 20k standard isn't enough.
Big fat bonus
Quantum Geist
post Feb 9 2019, 08:51 AM

109 posts

If you just want to be able to tell time, it's not worth it
takadanicklagi
post Feb 9 2019, 08:54 AM

124 posts

Passing on to you kid is a good idea. I want to do that too but I haven't have the stomach to splurge that much.

What's your budget? If me I would go for JLC or Alange/Sohne
Avex
post Feb 9 2019, 08:54 AM

570 posts

what business are you in?
Pugbunny
post Feb 9 2019, 08:56 AM

717 posts

My boss and my boss punya boss, all wear Rolex
tahfeikei
post Feb 9 2019, 08:59 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

TS, ayam also somewhat like you. although i earn standard /k salary, i have always preferred to be low key. on working days, i just wear my seiko diver, which is my one and only watch. i bought it bekos it resembled the rolex submariner in a way, and the sub has always been my dream to own.
but on my non working days, i don't wear my watch. i prefer to check the time with my phone and sometimes i tell the time by looking at other ppl's watch. even when i go out for dinners/weddings/meetings etc, i don't wear my watch.
in the end, my wish for a sub has disappeared and i prefer it this way.
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 09:01 AM

245 posts

Thanks for the replies !

As for passion ...

Well I do read a lot of articles on horology , as well as youtube vids , their heritage are definitely cool to listen to.

As for frequency of wearing them , I'd say maybe 4 -5 x a year since I work in the fitness industry hence I use my trusty Casio 90% of the time

budget wise .. I'm thinking <20k but if a 40k+ watch is a better investment then so be it
Aparaa
post Feb 9 2019, 09:02 AM

72 posts

I like this one

TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 09:02 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Feb 9 2019, 08:59 AM)
TS, ayam also somewhat like you. although i earn standard /k salary, i have always preferred to be low key. on working days, i just wear my seiko diver, which is my one and only watch. i bought it bekos it resembled the rolex submariner in a way, and the sub has always been my dream to own.
but on my non working days, i don't wear my watch. i prefer to check the time with my phone and sometimes i tell the time by looking at other ppl's watch. even when i go out for dinners/weddings/meetings etc, i don't wear my watch.
in the end, my wish for a sub has disappeared and i prefer it this way.
Fair enough , I wanted a Seiko Samurai so badly last year ...

but I thought I wouldn't ever wear it and the ability to pass down to the next generation isn't there hence I decided to get a Casio Pro Trek

hopefully it's the same for me haha
rauma
post Feb 9 2019, 09:03 AM

15 posts

Rolex watches are overrated. You can just scavenge a Seiko box in the dumpsters behind clock stores and post pictures in /k to project your wealth. Then create a few threads here and there about overseas travels and you won't need some real Rolex to tell people there's some money in your wallet.
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 09:06 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(rauma @ Feb 9 2019, 09:03 AM)
Rolex watches are overrated. You can just scavenge a Seiko box in the dumpsters behind clock stores and post pictures in /k to project your wealth. Then create a few threads here and there about overseas travels and you won't need some real Rolex to tell people there's some money in your wallet.
Chances are I won't be wearing it often

I'm planning to buy it in hopes it'll appreciate / pass down to the next gen

I might post on my insta once though cause well I'm human

I was interested in Seikos like really really into it , 5s , Samurais , Divers , Tuna etc etc

but I lost interest since they lack the heritage / poor resale.

I don't really care about how it looks tbh
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 09:08 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Feb 9 2019, 07:58 AM)
more then status.. there is a tad bit of passion , appreciation and stuff

which i think youre lack off , heck, you dont even wear watch let alone these type

i think youre better off with some kinda investment with that extra moolah

or find something else u really into
the only investment I know how to do is FDs haha

Wanted to try bursa but It's too confusing

property ... not enough capital
Mattrock
post Feb 9 2019, 09:12 AM

395 posts

Wah, you people poison my mind already....
rcracer
post Feb 9 2019, 09:15 AM

?????
3,772 posts

no become prisoner watch

everything also scared, leave house scared people break in, wear outside scared people snatch

then the fakes look even btter than real
Ardt
post Feb 9 2019, 09:16 AM

62 posts

I'm guessing TS is a rolex type of guy. Good choice.
But i'd prefer a GS now, more 'shimmering' in meetings, since my work is full of mtgs.
SUSdestiny6
post Feb 9 2019, 09:31 AM

817 posts

Rolex still ok, the value is still retain as there are nice diamonds where pawn shop also accept compare to luxury watches like Omega

Holocene
post Feb 9 2019, 09:56 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

magnesium
post Feb 9 2019, 10:02 AM

1,130 posts

Car = a transport from point A to B

Watch = any cheap and branded watch still give u correct time

Archemedia
post Feb 9 2019, 10:11 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Feb 9 2019, 10:02 AM)
Car = a transport from point A to B

Watch = any cheap and branded watch still give u correct time
Ya TS should just buy Baby G watches!
takadanicklagi
post Feb 9 2019, 10:23 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 9 2019, 09:56 AM)
Dont have in Malaysia.
bill11
post Feb 9 2019, 10:31 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 09:06 AM)
Chances are I won't be wearing it often

I'm planning to buy it in hopes it'll appreciate / pass down to the next gen

I might post on my insta once though cause well I'm human

I was interested in Seikos like really really into it , 5s , Samurais , Divers , Tuna etc etc

but I lost interest since they lack the heritage / poor resale.

I don't really care about how it looks tbh
Initially have the same thought as yours after bought first one, however once bought second, i wear it daily.

kangkayu
post Feb 9 2019, 10:32 AM

128 posts

Being automatic, even with a turbullion, it won't be as accurate as a plastic Casio ...

But if you are into its mechanics as a watch, go for it ... Happy GAS .... Gear Acquisition Syndrome .... No regrets having a few or ... many automatics ... Just imagine a few years and springs could keep almost accurate time ....
babychai
post Feb 9 2019, 10:36 AM

I go to work because my name is not in Forbes list
779 posts

buy first, think later
after bought u will know how you want to manage it
absorb-d
post Feb 9 2019, 10:37 AM

1,115 posts

People don't understand he wants to reward himself and that's perfectly fine with a luxury novelty.
My 2 cents datejust is kinda uncle but is probably more flexible for dressing up and down
Maybe explorer 1 also can which should be in price range
On the other hand can also look beyond Rolex, as ppl always say when deciding watches , buy the watch that you want not what reviews say or if it holds value.
monkaGIGA
post Feb 9 2019, 10:43 AM

I think Grand Seiko is severely underrated. Most models are cheaper than a Sub yet very high quality. Downside is they don't retain value as well as a Rolex.
derthvadar
post Feb 9 2019, 10:45 AM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,794 posts

Please, it's a trap!
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 10:45 AM

3,703 posts

I'm from a somewhat modest , middle income family hence I was never really exposed to luxury goods, and I'm never to keen on them.

When it comes to personal spending I've always been frugal. Buying 2nd hand stuff , eating food on a budget ( though I eat a lot since I do train upwards of 5x/week).
I don't drink nor have a nightlife... Since I never see them as a good investment of time and money
Lately my business is doing somewhat decent. And I'm able to save a decent amount of money a month. Last year I was able to get myself a 2nd hand car. Which I'm really proud of.
And lately I've been looking into luxury watches , partly cause I was exposed to my client's collection of watches which well ... isn't good

1. Hopefully it appreciates or at least retains 80% of it's value over the course of 10+ years

I got myself Explorer 2 White, Sub No Date, then Batman. In the end settled with a classic Explorer 1 39mm. Will keep and pass down.

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 10:47 AM

3,703 posts

Until you see the homages and it's much worth to have them....
vassilius
post Feb 9 2019, 10:49 AM

494 posts

Dont like Rolex watch design. Ain't gonna buy something just because of better RV...
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 10:51 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(monkaGIGA @ Feb 9 2019, 10:43 AM)
I think Grand Seiko is severely underrated. Most models are cheaper than a Sub yet very high quality. Downside is they don't retain value as well as a Rolex.
I've heard the Snowflakes are amazing ! But I've seen in person before and it ... looks pretty bland.

I asked my friends what they think of the price they thought it's RM>200

when I told them it's RM15k they thought I was BS-ing
SUScitacitata
post Feb 9 2019, 10:51 AM

482 posts

Don't bother to start with seiko. In the end it will never be a Rolex. End up selling your GS at loss.

I guess you could get a Grand Seiko after you've "finished playing Rolex".
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 10:54 AM

2,093 posts

Paid your income tax? Coz the moment you buy it, inland revenue is going to be all over your ass, you know that right?
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 10:55 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Feb 9 2019, 10:36 AM)
buy first, think later
after bought u will know how you want to manage it
Or live in regret.
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 10:57 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Archemedia @ Feb 9 2019, 10:11 AM)
Ya TS should just buy Baby G watches!
Hehe. Your smartphone also tell the time accurately and take selfie also.
beetch
post Feb 9 2019, 11:00 AM

429 posts

Its a good investment.

All rolexes increases in value cox rolex increase price every 2 years or so.

Sports model like black submariner is 28k 2 and half years ago. Now is reaching 40k mark if u can find them used.

Gmt batman was only 32k last year now is 50k mark. Ridiculous.

True storeyz
blackmarket
post Feb 9 2019, 11:02 AM

892 posts

Any owner can share the service cost of rolex?
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 11:08 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 10:54 AM)
Paid your income tax? Coz the moment you buy it, inland revenue is going to be all over your ass, you know that right?
I've not known that. Even cash buy ?
post Feb 9 2019, 11:08 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Feb 9 2019, 10:37 AM)
People don't understand he wants to reward himself and that's perfectly fine with a luxury novelty.
My 2 cents datejust is kinda uncle but is probably more flexible for dressing up and down
Maybe explorer 1 also can which should be in price range
On the other hand can also look beyond Rolex, as ppl always say when deciding watches , buy the watch that you want not what reviews say or if it holds value.
Datejust is fine with every occasion.
Datejust is still considered as sporty model.

Poor fag like ayam only able to afford tudor
TheReaderReads
post Feb 9 2019, 11:19 AM

701 posts

Rolex up due to its huge demand and it's supply shortage I guess
yed
post Feb 9 2019, 11:26 AM

375 posts

Panerai would be more suitable at ur age. Rolex is bit org tua imho
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 11:27 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 11:08 AM)
I've not known that. Even cash buy ?
What? That you have to pay income tax or what?
Young people so gatal these days, everything put on socmed you think inland revenue won't find out?
RicoT
post Feb 9 2019, 11:36 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(Maja Helmi @ Feb 9 2019, 07:54 AM)

Though u should know.
This I agree.

Either pasar malam or daddy kasi, not many will acknowledge a 25 y/o can wear a real Rolex. Sometimes you need to dress to match your age. Just like a 25 y/o drive Ferrari, the general public will perceive that person as rich 2nd gen daddykasi or a MLM scheme scammer, never thought it is bought using his own money. A Casio MT-G or something youthful is better than a Rolex for now. Rolex if you are 40 y/o mid life crisis uncle and want to show off you are successful already. Not too expensive if you will wear it as a daily workhorse watch.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Feb 9 2019, 11:37 AM
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 11:40 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 11:27 AM)
What? That you have to pay income tax or what?
Young people so gatal these days, everything put on socmed you think inland revenue won't find out?
I'll be filing for 2019. But I never knew cashbuy will arouse suspicion. Anyhow the idea is for 2020 hence. Good to know tho
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 11:43 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(RicoT @ Feb 9 2019, 11:36 AM)
This I agree.

Either pasar malam or daddy kasi, not many will acknowledge a 25 y/o can wear a real Rolex. Sometimes you need to dress to match your age. Just like a 25 y/o drive Ferrari, the general public will perceive that person as rich 2nd gen daddykasi or a MLM scheme scammer, never thought it is bought using his own money. A Casio MT-G or something youthful is better than a Rolex for now. Rolex if you are 40 y/o mid life crisis uncle and want to show off you are successful already. Not too expensive if you will wear it as a daily workhorse watch.
That's a fair point.

There are bigger priorities for me like property.

But property is such high risk that it scares me to the bones.

dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 11:53 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 11:40 AM)
I'll be filing for 2019. But I never knew cashbuy will arouse suspicion. Anyhow the idea is for 2020 hence. Good to know tho
Look. Not telling what to do. But why look for unnecessary trouble by attracting unwanted inland revenue attention and maybe a troublesome audit.
If you have to ask about buying a Rolex then it doesn't seem to fit in your current self image.
Rationally, if your business only just started making profit, might as well keep the money on standby for any unforeseen cash crunch because the outlook going forward is going to be poor unless you're involved in ahem businesses.
And why be so clichéd, make a bit of money and want to show off that you just made some money? Lol
Swiss watches some people think will hold value with time, yes if you have a very vintage piece that you managed to buy at a bargain price not these current mass produced pieces. Fine as they're, they're never going to be with as much a limited piece from the 50s or 60s. And these things are usually sold on consignment (iinm), meaning you get your money when the shop sells it not before.
yeezai
post Feb 9 2019, 11:54 AM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

Rolex price just increased AGAIN ....5yrs back a 2nd hand sub would cost u 13-16k ...now it cost u 25-30k ...better than fd if u ask me ....
Baconateer
post Feb 9 2019, 11:58 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

evryone also go Rolex...

buy Omega la..

Rolex is like Nike.. thy are very good in marketing..

but thr are other watches arguably btr thn Rolex..
EddieBrock
post Feb 9 2019, 01:01 PM

98 posts

If you have money, just buy. Rolex is one of the brand that you know when you buy it is gonna retain its value. I am no expert in watch movement. I dont know about other swiss watches. You ask me the difference between two rolex model, I dont know. What I have been doing is everytime I have extra money, I go out and buy one and keep. Only wear it out during wedding dinners.

Some passionate watch collectors have big ego. When you try and own one, they will tell you only limited edition stuff is worth owning or they will tell you why this or that is not good. Ignore them. Whats most important is having money in the pocket, go out and own one.
EddieBrock
post Feb 9 2019, 01:03 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 9 2019, 11:58 AM)
evryone also go Rolex...

buy Omega la..

Rolex is like Nike.. thy are very good in marketing..

but thr are other watches arguably btr thn Rolex..
Better in what sense? The clock is more accurate? You want an accurate watch go get a digital watch. Watch is about prestidge and brand name.
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 9 2019, 01:17 PM

91 posts

I get one more 1236334 41mm blue face no diamond fluted bezel syukur liao.....

But these days i think they purposely manipulate the stock level, kedai asyik Kosong. Jerr
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 01:40 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 11:53 AM)
Look. Not telling what to do. But why look for unnecessary trouble by attracting unwanted inland revenue attention and maybe a troublesome audit.
If you have to ask about buying a Rolex then it doesn't seem to fit in your current self image.
Rationally, if your business only just started making profit, might as well keep the money on standby for any unforeseen cash crunch because the outlook going forward is going to be poor unless you're involved in ahem  businesses.
And why be so clichéd, make a bit of money and want to show off that you just made some money? Lol
Swiss watches some people think will hold value with time, yes if you have a very vintage piece that you managed to buy at a bargain price not these current mass produced pieces. Fine as they're, they're never going to be with as much a limited piece from the 50s or 60s. And these things are usually sold on consignment (iinm), meaning you get your money when the shop sells it not before.
I do understand where you're coming from hence I decided to start filing tax ASAP

I can't be 100% certain my business will continue flourishing but for the past 2 years it's been rather stable, I plan to get the watch in 2020 hence I have 1 more year to have another barrier.

And as I've said in the opening I'm not a person to splurge I got this inspiration after talking to my client. He advised me to buy a Rolex since it appreciates very well , at least for his case. He sold his 2 old Rolex ( 10 years + ) and made a RM5k+ profit while wearing them at the same time. Even if he were to lose - 20% of the watches value it's already done it's due.

Hence I thought it'll be a good investment. I don't mind concurring a loss here and there. As many parts of life are uncertain.

TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 01:41 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Feb 9 2019, 01:03 PM)
Better in what sense? The clock is more accurate? You want an accurate watch go get a digital watch. Watch is about prestidge and brand name.
Can't argue with this fact . We do live in a materialist society
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 01:42 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Feb 9 2019, 01:01 PM)
If you have money, just buy. Rolex is one of the brand that you know when you buy it is gonna retain its value. I am no expert in watch movement. I dont know about other swiss watches. You ask me the difference between two rolex model, I dont know. What I have been doing is everytime I have extra money, I go out and buy one and keep. Only wear it out during wedding dinners.

Some passionate watch collectors have big ego. When you try and own one, they will tell you only limited edition stuff is worth owning or they will tell you why this or that is not good. Ignore them. Whats most important is having money in the pocket, go out and own one.
Thanks mate ! That's pretty good advice smile.gif
Baconateer
post Feb 9 2019, 01:53 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Feb 9 2019, 01:03 PM)
deswai TS go for Rolex... only bcs of its brand name and prestige..
scorptim
post Feb 9 2019, 02:02 PM

700 posts

It really comes down to your lifestyle and what you choose to splurge on. Even with 10k a month you can buy a luxury watch, as long as you don’t have high commitments for other things.

Heck my uncle earns around 10k and has like 4 harleys, but he drives an old beat up 90s corolla and stays in a single storey old terrace house. For him, majority of his spending goes to his bikes. Plus he’s single so yeah, hardly any commitments.
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 02:12 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 01:40 PM)
I do understand where you're coming from hence I decided to start filing tax ASAP

I can't be 100% certain my business will continue flourishing but for the past 2 years it's been rather stable, I plan to get the watch in 2020 hence I have 1 more year to have another barrier.

And as I've said in the opening I'm not a person to splurge I got this inspiration after talking to my client. He advised me to buy a Rolex since it appreciates very well , at least for his case. He sold his 2 old Rolex ( 10 years + ) and made a RM5k+ profit while wearing them at the same time. Even if he were to lose - 20% of the watches value it's already done it's due.

Hence I thought it'll be a good investment. I don't mind concurring a loss here and there. As many parts of life are uncertain.
Ask your customer in detail, how much he paid for them, and how much he sold them for after 10 years. You do business, you work out the ROI. Did he get the money immediately like when you go Cash Converter or is it by consignment.
Life might be uncertain but due diligence must still be done.
Revamperz
post Feb 9 2019, 02:41 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 09:08 AM)
the only investment I know how to do is FDs haha

Wanted to try bursa but It's too confusing

property ... not enough capital
wait what ur budget again?
ridox_orimabu
post Feb 9 2019, 02:49 PM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

all the way Rolex bro. u wont regret it. infact, it might be your only watch.. usually, people buy Rolex as their end game watch or its the start of their SOTC.

so get on with it.

i wonder which model strike ur interesr best?
alwinnng
post Feb 9 2019, 02:49 PM

4,296 posts

Date just no need queue one ts

And the discount in ad for datejust is high enough, to not make a person buy a used one
Holocene
post Feb 9 2019, 02:53 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(takadanicklagi @ Feb 9 2019, 10:23 AM)
Dont have in Malaysia.
He got money want to buy rolie I'm sure he can easily fly to Singapore or Hong Kong to get this watch if he wants to 😁
alwinnng
post Feb 9 2019, 02:53 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 10:45 AM)
I got myself Explorer 2 White, Sub No Date, then Batman. In the end settled with a classic Explorer 1 39mm. Will keep and pass down.
Wahhh nak Jual Tak drool.gif
tdzheng
post Feb 9 2019, 02:58 PM

23 posts

I would recommend u get date just n keep it, some ppl buy Daytona n no money wanna sell fast end up selling below prices cuz not everyone can afford it
capsulr
post Feb 9 2019, 03:06 PM

472 posts

One time I saw a guy with nice watch, then I see his Facebook he's been wearing the same watch since small boy, 10+ years. Make my image of him become poor and lame already
kitzai
post Feb 9 2019, 03:10 PM

172 posts

I want to buy Rolex brother Tudor 58. But sadly too huge for my tiny wrists.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 03:12 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 9 2019, 02:53 PM)
Wahhh nak Jual Tak drool.gif
Uh.... Which one? The Sub, Exp 2 and Batman no more liao. Only the Exp 1 still around.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 03:13 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(kitzai @ Feb 9 2019, 03:10 PM)
I want to buy Rolex brother Tudor 58. But sadly too huge for my tiny wrists.
58 is great size wize and looks. The only thing stopping me to get it is the thickness....
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 03:14 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 9 2019, 02:49 PM)
Date just no need queue one ts

And the discount in ad for datejust is high enough, to not make a person buy a used one
That depends on which Datejust though. If the classic and 36, can find plenty. 41 though is not easy to find.

Of course you can still go for 2nd hand or grey markets.... maybe try reputable shops like Wing Wah or those in BTS....
laksamana
post Feb 9 2019, 03:19 PM

1,356 posts

Of all my prestige watches, the Rolex Datejust II still keeps the most accurate time. It's quite amazing how a mechanical watch can be so precise.

I'm not looking to buy anymore watches in the near future (can't wear them all!!), but if you ever decide to get only 1 Swiss prestige, then GET A ROLEX ...
Jonlam
post Feb 9 2019, 03:21 PM

119 posts

Got a Rolex Black Submariner Date when I have made it at 38 years old for about RM33k. Use it during festival and functions. Apparently the same model now is about RM40K+.
Excellent time piece.

This post has been edited by Jonlam: Feb 9 2019, 03:23 PM
alwinnng
post Feb 9 2019, 03:31 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 03:12 PM)
Uh.... Which one? The Sub, Exp 2 and Batman no more liao. Only the Exp 1 still around.

cry.gif SA contact still got ah?

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 03:14 PM)
That depends on which Datejust though. If the classic and 36, can find plenty. 41 though is not easy to find.

Of course you can still go for 2nd hand or grey markets.... maybe try reputable shops like Wing Wah or those in BTS....
41 mostly available in half gold or half rose gold.. can find though but not those enter one outlet terus have that type.. need to a few
FlamingFox
post Feb 9 2019, 03:36 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

I don't see a reason for buying luxury watches nowadays if the purpose is just to show time which any Smartphone/Smartwatch can do at a fraction of the price. But if you want it to be handed down for generations, then it's fine.
superbike
post Feb 9 2019, 03:37 PM

224 posts

Rolex is a great watch

When you start watch collecting, be mindful that it is very addicting, like a drug

You might start with a Rolex, Seiko or and brands, but slowly you might move to a higher end brands to compensate your watch addiction.

To serious watch collectors, a single Rolex is never enough.
superbike
post Feb 9 2019, 03:38 PM

224 posts

Rolex is a great watch

When you start watch collecting, be mindful that it is very addicting, like a drug

You might start with a Rolex, Seiko or and brands, but slowly you might move to a higher end brands to compensate your watch addiction.

To serious watch collectors, a single Rolex is never enough.
takadanicklagi
post Feb 9 2019, 03:39 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 9 2019, 02:53 PM)
He got money want to buy rolie I'm sure he can easily fly to Singapore or Hong Kong to get this watch if he wants to 😁
I thought of this brand also from pic looks really nice but unless it's on my wrist ...cant really tell..

I guess it's better than the generic tag or ball
lucifah
post Feb 9 2019, 03:53 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

i rike to kolek boxes

silverwave
post Feb 9 2019, 03:54 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Feb 9 2019, 08:08 AM)
Waiting list is 3 years?.Lol. What model is that 3 years?. U had survey multiple AD or only 1.

Had buy 2nd hand b4. Not worth it. Once u send to rolex centre for servicing u know, it is not really worth it.

My first hand rolex never show any symptom need to service after 7 years bought. Lel.
Where did you buy the 2nd hand one? Can't trust many places with original 2nd hand stuffs.

Servicing price right? More than Rm1.5k?
silverwave
post Feb 9 2019, 03:57 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Feb 9 2019, 08:12 AM)
I bought a 2nd hand sub for 19k 2 years back. Now got someone offer me 25k for it...wtf appreciate faster than property.  im not selling though.
I still wonder, what makes Rolex price appreciate so much compared to other brands? Limited quantities?

So if 2nd hand keeps appreciating, i guess new models should be more expensive now?
Baconateer
post Feb 9 2019, 03:58 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Feb 9 2019, 03:36 PM)
I don't see a reason for buying luxury watches nowadays if the purpose is just to show time which any Smartphone/Smartwatch can do at a fraction of the price. But if you want it to be handed down for generations, then it's fine.
a luxury watch is a statement that shows u made it.. u r successful in life...

it is also a fashion piece.. a work of art tht u can wear on ur hand...
ViktorJ
post Feb 9 2019, 04:14 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 10:51 AM)
I've heard the Snowflakes are amazing ! But I've seen in person before and it ... looks pretty bland.

I asked my friends what they think of the price they thought it's RM>200

when I told them it's RM15k they thought I was BS-ing
A snowflake is RM15k? You must have found a pretty good deal. I think it retails close to 6k USD.
pgsiemkia
post Feb 9 2019, 04:23 PM

473 posts

Now 40k, think will go up like new GMT explorer which retails for 70k?

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 04:31 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 9 2019, 03:31 PM)
cry.gif SA contact still got ah?
41 mostly available in half gold or half rose gold.. can find though but not those enter one outlet terus have that type.. need to a few
What is SA?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 04:33 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Feb 9 2019, 04:14 PM)
A snowflake is RM15k? You must have found a pretty good deal. I think it retails close to 6k USD.
That is IF you are lucky to find one. Now around 19k.

I prefer the alternative.... mini Snowflake @ RM 5k only.
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 04:35 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 04:33 PM)

Unpopular opinion.
Wannabes buy Rolexes.
Real watch pipu wear Seikos.
ViktorJ
post Feb 9 2019, 04:41 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 04:33 PM)

Yups, very limited quantities. After discounts can get closer to 19-20k.

I do think the mini snowflake is a great deal too. A little disappointing on the movement front but eh, hard to complain tbh. The new gen are the slim ones right?

At the 5k area, I think another sweet spot are the enamel ones. I keep hesitating on pulling the trigger on those, no idea why.
ViktorJ
post Feb 9 2019, 04:41 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 9 2019, 04:31 PM)
What is SA?
sales advisor/assistant or something I guess?
teongpeng
post Feb 9 2019, 05:02 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:57 PM)
I still wonder, what makes Rolex price appreciate so much compared to other brands? Limited quantities?

So if 2nd hand keeps appreciating, i guess new models should be more expensive now?
I also dunno why.

And yes, new models proce increase every year.
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 05:06 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Feb 9 2019, 05:02 PM)
I also dunno why.

And yes, new models proce increase every year.
Every year have to pay Roger Federer and tennis hand slam winners so much money, of course price have to increase. Not to mention Swiss Franc has also been going up and up.
alwinnng
post Feb 9 2019, 05:14 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 9 2019, 03:53 PM)
i rike to kolek boxes

Huiyo luciiii!!!

Gimme one drool.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 05:18 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Feb 9 2019, 04:41 PM)
Yups, very limited quantities. After discounts can get closer to 19-20k.

I do think the mini snowflake is a great deal too. A little disappointing on the movement front but eh, hard to complain tbh. The new gen are the slim ones right?

At the 5k area, I think another sweet spot are the enamel ones. I keep hesitating on pulling the trigger on those, no idea why.
I am referring to SARX 055. The titanium version, without the Spring Drive. For a 6r15 movement, it's already a great price.

There is another version in SS, but is a LE and costs 8k.... Which I consider overpriced, unless I can get one around 6k.....
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 9 2019, 05:19 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Feb 9 2019, 04:41 PM)
sales advisor/assistant or something I guess?
Hmm... I don't have one, but I got someone who can help to find the desired watches.....
Quang1819
post Feb 9 2019, 05:25 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 9 2019, 09:56 AM)
Its really a good watch. In-house movement that is more worthy than quite a few Swizzy's, perfection is almost leaning with GS.

Sadly only enthusiasts appreciate them, this isn't for someone who seeks for status nor symbol. Nomos is for someone who craves for craftsmanship.
Chinoz
post Feb 9 2019, 05:25 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Below is with reference to Sub ND - YMMV.

Every year RRP goes up a few %, so the entry point constantly increases.

Think in terms of replacement value - if a new Sub today is 30k, a used Sub may be 20k.
When the price of new Sub goes up by a few%, used Sub will follow.

This applies to same generation Sub.

---

Now in terms of different generation Sub, differences may be evolutionary (5513 to 14060) or revolutionary (14060 to 114060).

As previous generations become discontinued, some people prefer the older gen ones, and this is when it goes beyond replacement value and irrationality starts to set in.

I wouldn't say Rolex price appreciates so much, but it's just because they're such liquid commodities and very transparent price on the secondary market, plus relatively affordable entry point.

Subs are a great alternative to holding cash because of their liquidity globally.
Quang1819
post Feb 9 2019, 05:26 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 9 2019, 03:53 PM)
i rike to kolek boxes

Any one of those is from black submariner date? drool.gif
dickybird
post Feb 9 2019, 05:30 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 9 2019, 05:25 PM)
Below is with reference to Sub ND - YMMV.

Every year RRP goes up a few %, so the entry point constantly increases.

Think in terms of replacement value - if a new Sub today is 30k, a used Sub may be 20k.
When the price of new Sub goes up by a few%, used Sub will follow.

This applies to same generation Sub.

---

Now in terms of different generation Sub, differences may be evolutionary (5513 to 14060) or revolutionary (14060 to 114060).

As previous generations become discontinued, some people prefer the older gen ones, and this is when it goes beyond replacement value and irrationality starts to set in.

I wouldn't say Rolex price appreciates so much, but it's just because they're such liquid commodities and very transparent price on the secondary market, plus relatively affordable entry point.

Subs are a great alternative to holding cash because of their liquidity globally.
Just curious to know.
How liquid is liquid? Can you walk into amcorp mall second hand watch shop there and get cash immediately?

This post has been edited by dickybird: Feb 9 2019, 05:31 PM
Chinoz
post Feb 9 2019, 05:35 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 05:30 PM)
Just curious to know.
How liquid is liquid? Can you walk into amcorp mall second hand watch shop there and get cash immediately?
I'm sure you can at the right price (which for a watch shop means below market price as they need to make their cut).

I know watch shops in JP and AU are happy to do that (with box and papers) because they know they'll have no issues moving it.
SUSNachiino Etamay
post Feb 9 2019, 05:36 PM

93 posts

haha. some people are so backwards.

playing golf when all the executives are now on bicycle
buying rolex when all the top guys are now on health straps
eating expensive restaurants when all the top guys are on health fag foods and fruit squeezes

some people are just behind lel.
Holocene
post Feb 9 2019, 05:37 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 9 2019, 05:25 PM)
Its really a good watch. In-house movement that is more worthy than quite a few Swizzy's, perfection is almost leaning with GS.

Sadly only enthusiasts appreciate them, this isn't for someone who seeks for status nor symbol. Nomos is for someone who craves for craftsmanship.
Couldn't say it better myself.

Anyways, as long as TS happy with his choice he should just buy whatever his heart wants.

Good luck!
Baconateer
post Feb 9 2019, 05:38 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Nachiino Etamay @ Feb 9 2019, 05:36 PM)
haha. some people are so backwards.

playing golf when all the executives are now on bicycle
buying rolex when all the top guys are now on health straps
eating expensive restaurants when all the top guys are on health fag foods and fruit squeezes

some people are just behind lel.
and some ppl are just plain sohai just trying to be in-trend..
SUSfreeman1
post Feb 9 2019, 06:02 PM

525 posts

If the rolex only costs u 10% of ur monthly income... go ahead... dont wait
e_X
post Feb 9 2019, 06:10 PM

584 posts

Can't commend much because can't afford Rolex, pakai pon Orient Diver je. Maybe can afford TAG or Tissot look alike Rolex Submariner some day.
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 9 2019, 06:53 PM

597 posts

basically Apple is copying Rolex strategy by increasing their products' prices every year
Rolex also control number of watches released to authorised shops
so in a way, a Rolex's price is artificially appreciate every year
and when people cannot get a Rolex from authorised shop due to controlled supply, they will go for used Rolex... and due to strong demand, a used Rolex also increase in price, artificially, thanks to Rolex's manipulation of supply

This post has been edited by kiasunkiasi: Feb 9 2019, 06:54 PM
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 07:05 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Feb 9 2019, 02:41 PM)
wait what ur budget again?
no set budget tbh I initially wanted < RM15k but from oipinions from different forums it seems that

pepsi , hulk , batman ish designs are the one that appreciates to most ... like + RM3k + in a year
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 07:10 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:54 PM)
Where did you buy the 2nd hand one? Can't trust many places with original 2nd hand stuffs.

I surveyed the one at starhill

The guy literally ignored me when I asked for the model ( can't remembered what model I asked for since i think it was last year July and yes I have been thinking for that long )

he said a safe estimate is 3 years

viole
post Feb 9 2019, 07:10 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Im tempted to buy omega before.

But to me luxury watch is like the end game of rich guy. If i just drive old car, wearing luxury watch, something seems off. So maybe i will wait for nice house, nice car and then buy a luxury watch myself.
SUSAngelic Layer
post Feb 9 2019, 07:14 PM

91 posts

At my parent's age, rolex is common.
People don't think it is affordable or not, seemed like a lot of people can afford it, just like what we called "luxury" cars today, but people back then can afford a house easily either.

We have fallen below our forefathers and not much more disposable income anymore.
DS51
post Feb 9 2019, 07:22 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:54 PM)

I buy at senai airport. Got shoplot there selling rolex. Can find at mudah.my, the shop still exist until today.

But I think, armcorp mall also got one. Model there quite a lot. Better u go armcorp mall.

Servicing is indeed pricy. More than rm1.5 liao. Standard answer when u buy 2nd hand rolex, seller will said, our watch already service, no need to service anymore. Topkek. When u buy it, only few years later feel the urgency need to service. Lol.

But indeed satisfied send to rolex centre. They polish ur bezel, glass, bracelet and make it looks like new. All small small stratch is gone for good. Lel.

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 07:05 PM)
no set budget tbh I initially wanted < RM15k but from oipinions from different forums it seems that

pepsi , hulk , batman ish designs are the one that appreciates to most ... like + RM3k + in a year
Pepsi blue and red is my favourite. But cannot find good one. Even average condition one is expensive.

Newer pepsi blue and red farking expensive plak since no come with steel 🤣🤣.
SUSAud power
post Feb 9 2019, 07:37 PM

117 posts

fly to one of the other SEA countries and walk in shop buy rolex, its not even rare
Revamperz
post Feb 9 2019, 08:06 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Feb 9 2019, 07:22 PM)
I buy at senai airport. Got shoplot there selling rolex. Can find at mudah.my, the shop still exist until today.

But I think, armcorp mall also got one. Model there quite a lot. Better u go armcorp mall.

Servicing is indeed pricy. More than rm1.5 liao. Standard answer when u buy 2nd hand rolex, seller will said, our watch already service, no need to service anymore. Topkek. When u buy it, only few years later feel the urgency need to service. Lol.

But indeed satisfied send to rolex centre. They polish ur bezel, glass, bracelet and make it looks like new. All small small stratch is gone for good. Lel.
Pepsi blue and red is my favourite. But cannot find good one. Even average condition one is expensive.

Newer pepsi blue and red farking expensive plak since no come with steel 🤣🤣.
u jb base? there new one at pelangi mall 2nd floor.
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 09:34 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 9 2019, 05:14 PM)
Huiyo luciiii!!!

Gimme one drool.gif
pls buy your own box, hokay

i buy less than rm4k each the box, unlike one of of our fellow here only can show off 1 box, i show opp 7 EMPTY boxes!
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 09:35 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 9 2019, 05:26 PM)
Any one of those is from black submariner date?  drool.gif
none of them has watches inside. i buy from shoppee the empty boxes

example:

https://shopee.com.my/Ready-stcok-Original-...9372.1441143514

https://shopee.com.my/Box-Original-Rolex-Be...5399.1299094545

https://shopee.com.my/Rolex-box-paperbag-i....8076.1098034606

This post has been edited by lucifah: Feb 10 2019, 09:36 AM
Quang1819
post Feb 10 2019, 10:09 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 09:35 AM)
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 10:34 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 10 2019, 10:09 AM)
i mana pernah claim got loleks watch? LOL

u assume from looking at those empty boxes saja

even alwinnng knows i only got boxes
alwinnng
post Feb 10 2019, 03:29 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 10:34 AM)
i mana pernah claim got loleks watch? LOL

u assume from looking at those empty boxes saja

even alwinnng knows i only got boxes
brows.gif padahal daily wear also loleks brows.gif
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 11:07 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 10 2019, 03:29 PM)
brows.gif padahal daily wear also loleks brows.gif
Wear one and owning one is tottally different...

Wear means borrow friend punya also can... oh wai
alwinnng
post Feb 10 2019, 11:09 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 11:07 PM)
Wear one and owning one is tottally different...

Wear means borrow friend punya also can... oh wai
brows.gif wear fren punya loleks.. safe kawkaw berterabuh alangsone brows.gif
hcmalaya
post Feb 10 2019, 11:15 PM

61 posts

Ayam poorfag only can afford Garmin
JerryTeh
post Feb 11 2019, 12:02 AM

227 posts

fyi i am with 100k++ per month but i still haven start to enjoy my income.

company is expanding so focus on that.

You have to understand that wealth is accumulation.

100k income for few years doesnt make you richer than those who make 20k for the past 30 years.
pisces88
post Feb 11 2019, 12:06 AM

3,970 posts

decent use of money - YES, if you can afford it. sounds like you can, which is very good achievement for 25yr old

2nd hand is fine, as you cannot get the sports models from retail anyway

it will retain value, because rolex increases prices every year. if 10 years later maybe the SRP increased 50%, so ur watch now +50% value

Leong Kok Leong
post Feb 11 2019, 12:18 AM

111 posts

BUy ORIS

trust me
Reventon
post Feb 11 2019, 03:50 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 05:30 PM)
Just curious to know.
Model like 16610 , 14060 ,116610 or 116710 be it LN,LV or BLNR , i can say its better than cash, you walk in to amcorp , times square grey dealer will just hand you the cash at the right price immediately. Same if you walk into mbk , they will give you cash immediately as well. Very liquid.
MonsterJ9
post Feb 11 2019, 04:36 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 11 2019, 03:50 AM)
Model like 16610 , 14060 ,116610 or 116710 be it LN,LV or BLNR , i can say its better than cash, you walk in to amcorp , times square grey dealer will just hand you the cash at the right price immediately. Same if you walk into mbk , they will give you cash immediately as well. Very liquid.
I have Rolex 14060 with original receipt and original box.

Where can I sell for good price?
alternativehype
post Feb 11 2019, 04:44 AM

1,300 posts

You're only 25. Don't get sucked in to playing the luxury and materialistic game. Accumulate more assets first e.g. cash, property. The Rolex market is now way too overpriced.
alternativehype
post Feb 11 2019, 04:50 AM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 07:05 PM)

15k won't get you anything (even pre-owned) nowadays. The 5 digit references Explorer II and Datejust also going for more than 15k. The 6 digit ref 36mm Datejust is more than 20k.

pepsi , hulk , batman can forget about it... smelly, smelly more than 40k for pre-owned
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 04:51 AM

808 posts

Dont buy a watch for investment, in fact most likely it will reduce in value. A Rolex is great if you ever need to sell an item for fast cash cause everyone aims to buy a Rolex once in their life.

You should also consider maintenance of the watch, you'll probably need to bring it in for maintenance every 5 years if you expect the watch to last a long time. You should find out the cost and see if you okay with spending that amount every 5 years.

Many people think that watch is to tell time but there's more to it. For men, watch is probably the only jewelry they can wear that adds to their overall image.

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Feb 11 2019, 05:56 AM
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 04:57 AM

808 posts

You should also consider if you like automatic or mechanical watches. (Eg: are you okay with adjusting the time every few dates?)

Some people don't and prefer quartz or eco-drive watches that rely on battery.
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 05:01 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Leong Kok Leong @ Feb 11 2019, 12:18 AM)
BUy ORIS

trust me
I agree, if Rolex is your first big ticket item, you might want to try something lower. Oris has a lot of great models, especially their "Big Crown" series looks really good.
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 05:19 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 9 2019, 05:25 PM)

That's because Seiko isn't viewed as a luxury brand. You and I and most people know Seiko from the Seiko 5 watches they sell that retails starting from rm200 onwards.

Whereas with Rolex, everyone knows the wearer either spent rm20k or rm50k for it. It sends a signal that this guy has money.

Nonetheless, I'd rather get a Seiko with spring drive and let's see if Seiko is able to rebrand themselves in the luxury market with Grand Seiko.

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Feb 11 2019, 05:19 AM
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 05:53 AM

808 posts

Rosmah's watch is way big for her. Looks more like a men's watch that a lady's watch.
kuci_mayong
post Feb 11 2019, 05:55 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 9 2019, 07:53 AM)
Once u bought a Rolex, be prepared to buy the second and third and fourth ones. It's addictive like drugs.

Been there done that.
Can you explain more? Did you stop or it's still on going hobby for you? I'm asking cause I've liked watches the past 3 years. In other words it's sort of a recent hobby for me and curios if it's just a passing trend or fad.
bee88
post Feb 11 2019, 07:19 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Feb 11 2019, 05:55 AM)
Can you explain more? Did you stop or it's still on going hobby for you? I'm asking cause I've liked watches the past 3 years. In other words it's sort of a recent hobby for me and curios if it's just a passing trend or fad.
So far own 3 Rolex already. If got chance sure add another one or two or three. There are a few more models that I love. Submariner is not one of them though.

Rolex watches are generally better looking in real life than in picture. So whenever u visit the store, sure got one more piece will make u want to add to ur collection.

But to make money, I don’t think Rolex is good choice. Gold bar easier if u want to retain 80% of the value.
dickybird
post Feb 11 2019, 07:25 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 11 2019, 03:50 AM)
Wow. Thanks. Good to know.
dickybird
post Feb 11 2019, 07:33 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Feb 11 2019, 05:19 AM)
That's because Seiko isn't viewed as a luxury brand. You and I and most people know Seiko from the Seiko 5 watches they sell that retails starting from rm200 onwards.

Whereas with Rolex, everyone knows the wearer either spent rm20k or rm50k for it. It sends a signal that this guy has money.

Nonetheless, I'd rather get a Seiko with spring drive and let's see if Seiko is able to rebrand themselves in the luxury market with Grand Seiko.
Haha, this thread made me wind up and start wearing my seiko 5 again with my Mi band.
IMHO, seiko is for watch geeks. Rolexes are for wannabes. Cash is king.
the18th
post Feb 11 2019, 08:14 AM

42 posts

How about Daytona? Is it good? Really like the 3 dial setup.
Mel2
post Feb 11 2019, 08:47 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Feb 11 2019, 05:53 AM)
Rosmah's watch is way big for her. Looks more like a men's watch that a lady's watch.
Ladies watch has shorter strap..

Cannot fit her fat wrist... 😂 😂
SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Feb 11 2019, 08:53 AM

58 posts

Gshock only, strong and long last, price dozens time cheaper.

If you have extra to spend why not?

This post has been edited by Perfect.Stranger: Feb 11 2019, 08:53 AM
SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Feb 11 2019, 08:58 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 11 2019, 04:50 AM)
Those grey dealer looks like someone try to legitimately their cash flow into financial institutions
doublecool
post Feb 11 2019, 05:01 PM

67 posts

If you can afford, just buy la

Dont mind those shit talks about a phone/quartz tells time more accurate than your expensive mechanical watch

they forget human only need water,food and shelter to survive
pisces88
post Feb 11 2019, 05:04 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(the18th @ Feb 11 2019, 08:14 AM)
How about Daytona? Is it good? Really like the 3 dial setup.
What do u mean good?

Long lasting? Of course

Looks? Of course

If u can afford, certainly get one
Clueless07
post Feb 11 2019, 06:58 PM

1,372 posts

For me, seems a rush to push for Rolex if budget below 20k. U can’t really get a nice/new model.
U might get a short “wow Rolex” but then that is it.

I might advice to go for a Tudor first..., wait for a few year then get a proper Rolex.( of course, some will say the price will be inflated somemore).

Take it a step at a time.
haneev
post Feb 11 2019, 07:05 PM

20 posts

buy only.. if mampu and sudah suka beli je.. YOLO man.. money can earn .. experience and the feeling of owning something u like is priceless..
kkkw80
post Feb 11 2019, 07:16 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Wow can’t imagine spending >10k on a watch though I’m earning more than 25k per month. I’ve 2 properties, rather get another one instead. I’m only wearing a Tag Aquaracer, Iwatch, 2 gshock and a Seiko
EddieBrock
post Feb 11 2019, 07:21 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Feb 11 2019, 07:16 PM)
Wow can’t imagine spending >10k on a watch though I’m earning more than 25k per month. I’ve 2 properties, rather get another one instead. I’m only wearing a Tag Aquaracer, Iwatch, 2 gshock and a Seiko
You have no taste bro. Having five figures income does not mean you have class. Of course, I am not advocating spending beyond one’s mean
Baconateer
post Feb 11 2019, 07:25 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Li Ka Shing wear citizen only
EddieBrock
post Feb 11 2019, 07:26 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Feb 11 2019, 06:58 PM)
For me, seems a rush to push for Rolex if budget below 20k. U can’t really get a nice/new model.
U might get a short “wow Rolex” but then that is it.

I might advice to go for a Tudor first..., wait for a few year then get a proper Rolex.( of course, some will say the price will be inflated somemore).

Take it a step at a time.
I would say bite the bullet and buy rolex with money you can afford to leave aside. If you had to borrow loan or pay through credit card installment, please forget about it because it is simply not affordable for you now. I remember last time when I bought rolex from swiss watch gallery in lot10, I used a stack of cold hard cash to pay for the purchase.
EddieBrock
post Feb 11 2019, 07:28 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(haneev @ Feb 11 2019, 07:05 PM)
buy only.. if mampu and sudah suka beli je.. YOLO man.. money can earn .. experience and the feeling of owning something u like is priceless..
The feeling is novel at first. It is best to buy more than one. Wear the cheaper on daily. The better ones keep in deposit box.
khelben
post Feb 11 2019, 07:30 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I would say no it's not when a RM30 watch does the job better but seeing how Lolek's price increase every year then yeah I guess if you can find a sucker to buy your watch in the next 5 to 10 years.

kkkw80
post Feb 11 2019, 07:32 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Feb 11 2019, 07:21 PM)
You have no taste bro. Having five figures income does not mean you have class. Of course, I am not advocating spending beyond one’s mean
Maybe I just don’t put such a high priority on watches, clothes and etc. Prefer properties and cars 😎

I always wear shorts and cheap T-shirt whenever I go shopping for properties and cars..haha

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Feb 11 2019, 07:33 PM
tradingGo
post Feb 11 2019, 07:33 PM

122 posts

which rolex model has the best resale value?
alwinnng
post Feb 11 2019, 07:52 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Feb 11 2019, 07:33 PM)
which rolex model has the best resale value?
126710 blro
tradingGo
post Feb 11 2019, 07:56 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 11 2019, 07:52 PM)
126710 blro
wah ... GMT Master-II... looks amazing!

Does it matter if it's Oystersteel, everrose gold or white gold? The resale value is still the same?
alwinnng
post Feb 11 2019, 08:00 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Feb 11 2019, 07:56 PM)
wah ... GMT Master-II... looks amazing!

Does it matter if it's Oystersteel, everrose gold or white gold? The resale value is still the same?
This exact model
but this exact model is on a jubilee

This post has been edited by alwinnng: Feb 11 2019, 08:08 PM
kuci_mayong
post Feb 12 2019, 02:23 AM

808 posts

That's probably because you are thinking a watch is a watch, but watches like Rolex shouldn't be viewed as "just a watch" but more like jewelry or gold that can retain value over a long time.

So you're not really spending >10K but just converting your cash into other type of assets (Rolex) like how some people buy US dollar, Bitcoin, or property (Though these can turn into investments, a Rolex is more a "store of value").

That's why you see TS researching which has the best resale value if he ever decide to sell it back.

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Feb 12 2019, 02:24 AM
Chinoz
post Feb 12 2019, 02:56 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Most investment philosophies will guide you towards diversification.
Rolex is just another asset class, like holding fiat money or gold.

Where your iwatch and gshocks will one day depreciate to nothing, the right Rolex will still count for something.

You do not see this yet because you view watches as just another tool (like shorts and slippers), and your assortment of watches reflects that view.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking that view, just like how people see a 250 GTO as just another car, and compare that against the Camry in their garage.

Fortunately, there are enough asset classes in the world to suit every risk appetite.
kkkw80
post Feb 12 2019, 08:18 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 12 2019, 02:56 AM)
Most investment philosophies will guide you towards diversification.
Rolex is just another asset class, like holding fiat money or gold.

Where your iwatch and gshocks will one day depreciate to nothing, the right Rolex will still count for something.

You do not see this yet because you view watches as just another tool (like shorts and slippers), and your assortment of watches reflects that view.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking that view, just like how people see a 250 GTO as just another car, and compare that against the Camry in their garage.

Fortunately, there are enough asset classes in the world to suit every risk appetite.

make sense, I guess it does depend on individual asset appetite

ieatchickens
post Feb 12 2019, 08:55 AM

111 posts

"Since 1967, the official definition of a second is 9,192,631,770 cycles of the radiation that gets an atom of the element called cesium to vibrate between two energy states. Inside a cesium atomic clock, cesium atoms are funneled down a tube where they pass through radio waves."

Y'all do know there are at least 25 satellites orbiting earth that would gladly upload perfect timekeeping calibration to anyone with a gps easy, right ?

The only valid reason is because "Equanimity" is too challenging to strap on a wrist through airports/prying eyes.
RichardN
post Feb 12 2019, 09:53 AM

26 posts

ROLEX is too mainstream my fren..

Buy THIS

SOS KIcap

tangtang22
post Feb 12 2019, 10:59 AM

213 posts

Why stop at Rolex? I really dont get it even though some models are nice.

What about Jaeger-LeCoultre n thats before we go into the details of the history of the watchmakers???

doublecool
post Feb 12 2019, 12:07 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 11 2019, 07:25 PM)
Li Ka Shing wear citizen only
but u forget he sits in chauffeured rolls royce everyday
Baconateer
post Feb 12 2019, 12:20 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(doublecool @ Feb 12 2019, 12:07 PM)
but u forget he sits in chauffeured rolls royce everyday
janji wear cheap watch...
yhtan
post Feb 12 2019, 12:50 PM

8,653 posts

i remember my friend bought batman around 30-40k few years ago, and now he said it is worth about 60k now sweat.gif
SUSLiamness
post Feb 12 2019, 12:54 PM

445 posts

some say his luxury watches were the cause of all his problems. i.e. 1mdb scandal, c4 scandal, etc.

The previous agong also has a luxury watch addiction. If he didn't go watch shopping, he wouldn't have met his current bride and maybe he wont have to step down..

moral of the story, stay away from luxury watches.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 12:57 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 12 2019, 12:50 PM)
i remember my friend bought batman around 30-40k few years ago, and now he said it is worth about 60k now sweat.gif
Yeah, because it's now in high demand.

But when I got the watch.... nah, not worth the amount I paid. So I dumped it and get and Exp 1 instead.
darkmusses
post Feb 12 2019, 01:12 PM

595 posts

Wearing one that look like Seiko 5 on a daily basis in office and who cares ...
SUScitacitata
post Feb 12 2019, 01:14 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 12 2019, 12:50 PM)
Just sold one 2016 for 48k.

Those who put at 60k nobody buy one la. I think la.
thurtin
post Feb 12 2019, 01:20 PM

277 posts

Got a "priceless" black/gold 16613 Submariner as my wedding gift from my mom. It was my late dad's. He bought it for RM14k back in 1998. Will never sell it and will pass it on to my kids in the future as well. Wonder how much is it worth now?

This post has been edited by thurtin: Feb 12 2019, 01:32 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 01:27 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 12:57 PM)

But when I got the watch.... nah, not worth the amount I paid. So I dumped it and get and Exp 1 instead.
Gip me test drive Exp1.
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 01:37 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

Book a flight to switzerland or japan and you should be able to get some off at retail brows.gif but choices will definitely be quite limited . Rolex will appreciate in value over time, provided if you wear it once a year better yet never, and keep everything that comes with the box laugh.gif (that's what most luxury watch collectors do)
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 01:40 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Feb 12 2019, 01:20 PM)
Got a "priceless" black/gold 16613 Submariner as my wedding gift from my mom. It was my late dad's. He bought it for RM14k back in 1998. Will never sell it and will pass it on to my kids in the future as well. Wonder how much is it worth now?
DONT. EVER. SELL. IT. EVER.

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 01:41 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 01:37 PM)
Book a flight to switzerland or japan and you should be able to get some off at retail brows.gif but choices will definitely be quite limited . Rolex will appreciate in value over time, provided if you wear it once a year better yet never, and keep everything that comes with the box laugh.gif  (that's what most luxury watch collectors do)
I say go for it.
meteoraniac
post Feb 12 2019, 01:45 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Feb 12 2019, 01:20 PM)
easily 40-50k

but dont sell
Mel2
post Feb 12 2019, 01:49 PM

861 posts

Aiya... Same thing la..

Go Switzerland or Japan, the choices are very limited... At both retail and airport... Mostly not so popular models are being displayed..

Prometric
post Feb 12 2019, 01:52 PM

434 posts

Once you start you will only keep aiming higher and more expensive pieces. Soon you will be eyeing on RM watches tongue.gif
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 01:55 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 01:41 PM)
I say go for it.
saw a few black GMT master at about RM35K~ , submariner date at about RM46K~ and a deep sea dweller at RM48K~ at a departmental shop in shinjuku. Ready stocks brows.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 01:55 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 01:37 PM)
Book a flight to switzerland or japan and you should be able to get some off at retail brows.gif but choices will definitely be quite limited . Rolex will appreciate in value over time, provided if you wear it once a year better yet never, and keep everything that comes with the box laugh.gif  (that's what most luxury watch collectors do)
Not all Rolex appreciate in value. Most don't and some hold their value well.

If you buy like Air King or some of the fugly DJ's / OPs, good luck trying to sell at a profit la.

And you go Swiss or Jap also no stock, the shortage is a worldwide issue, not a Malaysian issue.

If you see any Subs, straight hoot no need think.
keyibukeyi
post Feb 12 2019, 02:09 PM

150 posts

nothing but gold rolex :like:
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 02:10 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 01:55 PM)
Not all Rolex appreciate in value. Most don't and some hold their value well.

If you buy like Air King or some of the fugly DJ's / OPs, good luck trying to sell at a profit la.

And you go Swiss or Jap also no stock, the shortage is a worldwide issue, not a Malaysian issue.

If you see any Subs, straight hoot no need think.
haha well, airking and datejust those are their entry level afterall.

must go shop to shop and ask... once got stock then hoot if the price is right. but ive seen many laying around in japan especially at big re-sellers.

...but i only wear a casio F-91W laugh.gif rolex out of my league. Spending more than 2 months worth salary on a watch is not justifiable for me. sweat.gif
yhtan
post Feb 12 2019, 02:10 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 12:57 PM)

Mind to elaborate the level of rolex watch?

QUOTE(citacitata @ Feb 12 2019, 01:14 PM)

Why sold it?
SUScitacitata
post Feb 12 2019, 02:12 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 12 2019, 02:10 PM)
Why sold it?
Didn't like the black dial. Too boring.
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 02:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 02:10 PM)
haha well, airking and datejust those are their entry level afterall.

must go shop to shop and ask... once got stock then hoot if the price is right. but ive seen many laying around in japan especially at big re-sellers.

...but i only wear a casio F-91W laugh.gif rolex out of my league. Spending more than 2 months worth salary on a watch is not justifiable for me. sweat.gif
They are laying around there because it's way more expensive.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 02:21 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 01:55 PM)
saw a few black GMT master at about RM35K~ , submariner date at about RM46K~ and a deep sea dweller at RM48K~ at a departmental shop in shinjuku. Ready stocks brows.gif
Sub date 46k? You can get a 2nd hand Batsy at same price.
pisces88
post Feb 12 2019, 02:22 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(citacitata @ Feb 12 2019, 01:14 PM)

You sold ur batman 48k? Niceee
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 02:26 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 12 2019, 02:10 PM)
Why sold it?
The level? You mean quality of the Batsy? Well, it's definitely top notch.... but to pay 45k+ for a watch is to me insane. You have a constant fear or accidentally damaging the watch, or even stolen by others... this IS a very recognizable watch, so to speak.

I rather buy a Rolex model which appears less "attractive" to people, which is very low ke,y and only the very eagle eyed or trained people know what I am wearing. Hence the Exp 1.
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 02:27 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 02:12 PM)
Much cheaper than resellers in malaysia, stinkapork and bangkok, especially after tax deductions brows.gif (dont include flight ticket)
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 02:30 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 02:27 PM)
Much cheaper than resellers in malaysia, stinkapork and bangkok, especially after tax deductions brows.gif (dont include flight ticket)
The price you quoted, Malaysia still cheaper bang tongue.gif

Reseller can put whatever price they want, transacted price is often different.
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 02:31 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 02:21 PM)
Sub date 46k? You can get a 2nd hand Batsy at same price.
cuz it's not the normal 116610, it's the 116613LN brows.gif

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 02:30 PM)
The price you quoted, Malaysia still cheaper bang  tongue.gif

Reseller can put whatever price they want, transacted price is often different.
altho forgot to mention it's not the basic models .. haha and also they're brand spanking new. price stated are before tax deductions too brows.gif

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Feb 12 2019, 02:35 PM
yhtan
post Feb 12 2019, 02:35 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 02:26 PM)
The level? You mean quality of the Batsy? Well, it's definitely top notch.... but to pay 45k+ for a watch is to me insane. You have a constant fear or accidentally damaging the watch, or even stolen by others... this IS a very recognizable watch, so to speak.

I rather buy a Rolex model which appears less "attractive" to people, which is very low ke,y and only the very eagle eyed or trained people know what I am wearing. Hence the Exp 1.
For peasant like me i don't know how to judge on watch, for my friend who has collection, they able to differentiate the value of watch.

For banker they judge people not by car, normally by watch, if u person wearing richard mille and they immediately know it is potential customer.
pundekman
post Feb 12 2019, 02:36 PM

101 posts

just buy la. no need think so much. money can earn again. and dont buy stupid watches like panerai
feekle
post Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

I'm just wondering with such staggering price, do rolex can stand hard knocks, drop & high pressure?
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM

91 posts

Is it worth to get this 41mm DJ Jubilee Blue Face?

RM35k right now, but hard to find in Malaysia...

EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 02:41 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM)
I'm just wondering with such staggering price, do rolex can stand hard knocks, drop & high pressure?
No for hard knocks & drop, only high pressure at best.. For that 3 combos, you get a G shock.. I threw a G shock from a 4th floor before, it survived.. G Shock Tough Solar first model

This post has been edited by EatFriesEggs: Feb 12 2019, 02:43 PM
thurtin
post Feb 12 2019, 02:43 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Feb 12 2019, 01:45 PM)
easily 40-50k

but dont sell
Thanks. I will never sell it even if I'm dead broke. Just curious to know the market value as I'm not really that big into watches or rollies.
alternativehype

1,300 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM)
Rolex bukan G-Shock, boss
feekle

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 02:41 PM)
No.. For that, you get a G shock
Oh....So the top end G-shock (MTG & MRG) definitely worth more for the money no?
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 02:46 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 12 2019, 02:43 PM)
Oh....So the top end G-shock (MTG & MRG) definitely worth more for the money no?
I edited my previous reply slightly...

Anyway, you got to touch the finesse of both Casio & Rolex, see what your heart says

This post has been edited by EatFriesEggs: Feb 12 2019, 02:46 PM
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 02:46 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 12 2019, 02:43 PM)
nothing beats F-91W for its money's worth brows.gif
feekle
post Feb 12 2019, 02:47 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 02:46 PM)
I edited my previous reply slightly...

Anyway, you got to touch the finesse of both Casio & Rolex, see what your heart says
G-shock..due to the indistructible nature.
Of course the high end ones.
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 02:52 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 12 2019, 02:47 PM)
G-shock..due to the indistructible nature.
Of course the high end ones.
If that's the case, GShock high end ones is more worth it, as it even incorporates chrono stuffs... you need a rolex daytona to even match that

But rolex movement, so called in house made. brows.gif brows.gif ..
the bracelet polishing, no sharp edges unlike TH watches which has its quality deteriorated in recent years
rolex cyclop date magnifier hnnngggh too

This post has been edited by EatFriesEggs: Feb 12 2019, 02:53 PM
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 02:53 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM)

Can somebody advise me on this biggrin.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:02 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 02:31 PM)
cuz it's not the normal 116610, it's the 116613LN brows.gif

Oh.... I see what you mean now... blush.gif

Still, not a fan of 2 tones.... prefer black all around.
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:04 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 02:53 PM)
Can somebody advise me on this  biggrin.gif
Define worth?

If you like it, get it. DJ's are dime a dozen, I like their classiness but ain't a fan of a 41mm for a dressy piece. The 38mm seems a better fit.

Movement wise, you get a rolex movement.

Value wise, most people will knw u wear lolex.

I'd rather spend it on a Exp1 tho.
submergedx
post Feb 12 2019, 03:06 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(pundekman @ Feb 12 2019, 02:36 PM)
just buy la. no need think so much. money can earn again. and dont buy stupid watches like panerai
Bro, can extend the stupid watches story? why?
Overrated and no function?
dickybird
post Feb 12 2019, 03:07 PM

2,093 posts

G shocks ftw. Lol
pgsiemkia
post Feb 12 2019, 03:07 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 02:12 PM)
No wor, my agent in japan saying locals buying subs/deepsea since its return on investment is higher than FD returns. Even the new GMT Pepsi is selling like hotcakes now.

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:09 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 12 2019, 02:35 PM)
For peasant like me i don't know how to judge on watch, for my friend who has collection, they able to differentiate the value of watch.

For banker they judge people not by car, normally by watch, if u person wearing richard mille and they immediately know it is potential customer.
What I learn is that no matter whether you wear a Casio G-Shock or a Patek Phillip, the ordinary people will see it as a "watch". Only those watch enthusiasts will know what is on your wrists, and treats them like "jewelry".

So, a Rolex Sub would be nice, but so is a Steinhart Ocean One 39.
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:10 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Feb 12 2019, 03:07 PM)
No wor, my agent in japan saying locals buying subs/deepsea since its return on investment is higher than FD returns. Even the new GMT Pepsi is selling like hotcakes now.
GMT memang hotcakes la.. 3 yr waiting list lol ... Those laying around are usual subsales or resellers and what not.

Issue is trying to get retail piece at retail price.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:11 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:04 PM)
Define worth?

If you like it, get it. DJ's are dime a dozen, I like their classiness but ain't a fan of a 41mm for a dressy piece. The 38mm seems a better fit.

Here you go.....

EXPLORER 1 icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
EatFriesEggs
post Feb 12 2019, 03:12 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:04 PM)
Define worth?

Exp1 now how much ah? used to be an entry watch for rolex, hopefully it didn't get fry up too much

I already got a BLNR at the moment....

Thinking of getting this DJ 41mm as a semi-dress watch... 38mm small for me, looks more like teenager watch on my hands...

After getting this DJ, i actually syukur with my watch collection liao.. unless got sudden urge again cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif like getting Airking / Expoerer 1

This post has been edited by EatFriesEggs: Feb 12 2019, 03:13 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 03:11 PM)
Here you go.....

EXPLORER 1  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
mcb, 27k ... its retailing 24 bro vmad.gif

You let me test first.. It's either Exp1 or the polar exp2.
alwinnng
post Feb 12 2019, 03:15 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 02:40 PM)

This one damn stims

And it was around 30.8k only last December

I may have one contact with that piece hmm.gif at retail price of course
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 03:12 PM)
Exp1 now how much ah? used to be an entry watch for rolex, hopefully it didn't get fry up too much

I already got a BLNR at the moment....

Thinking of getting this DJ 41mm as a semi-dress watch... 38mm small for me, looks more like teenager watch on my hands...

After getting this DJ, i actually syukur with my watch collection liao.. unless got sudden urge again  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  like getting Airking / Expoerer 1
Exp1 is around 24k now.

Airking I cannot stomach.
ImUrDaddY
post Feb 12 2019, 03:17 PM

461 posts

my fren present me a 8k tag.. also mentioned that next time will be rolex.. not sure will it come true or not lol
ZeroSOFInfinity

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:12 PM)
mcb, 27k ... its retailing 24 bro  vmad.gif

You let me test first.. It's either Exp1 or the polar exp2.
I have the Exp 1.... same as the link I sent to you. But mine is cheaper.... icon_idea.gif
EatFriesEggs

91 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 12 2019, 03:15 PM)
This one damn stims

no la...30.8k never happen before at AD... unless that one doesn't have platinum fluted bezel
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:19 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:15 PM)
Exp1 is around 24k now.

Airking I cannot stomach.
If AK is like Exp 1 (39mm), but in blue colour, I will buy it immediately. But sadly, Rolex decide to clutter the dial with so much numbers, it makes the AK look like a speedometer....
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:22 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 03:17 PM)
I have the Exp 1.... same as the link I sent to you. But mine is cheaper....  icon_idea.gif
Thats why ask u let me test brows.gif

If I find a 36mm exp1, I'd probably cop.

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 03:19 PM)
If AK is like Exp 1 (39mm), but in blue colour, I will buy it immediately. But sadly, Rolex decide to clutter the dial with so much numbers, it makes the AK look like a speedometer....
Acquired taste tongue.gif
Jas2davir
post Feb 12 2019, 03:24 PM

461 posts

OP precious metal rolex prices do not usually carry well as there is only a small after market demand for it, second hand prices for rolex are getting crazy these days, a person can walk out of the shop with their daytona and get 2-3x the price of it due to the waitlist. lastly precious metal rolex are generally quite heavy if you don't like a heavy watch on your wrist then you might want to opt for stainless steel.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:24 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:22 PM)
Thats why ask u let me test  brows.gif

If I find a 36mm exp1, I'd probably cop.
Acquired taste  tongue.gif
Mine is 39mm. Too big for your wrists.... perhaps?
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 03:28 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 03:24 PM)
Mine is 39mm. Too big for your wrists.... perhaps?
No la, my daily driver is a speedy.

But 36mm i can share with my waifu. tongue.gif
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 03:30 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Feb 12 2019, 03:09 PM)
What I learn is that no matter whether you wear a Casio G-Shock or a Patek Phillip, the ordinary people will see it as a "watch". Only those watch enthusiasts will know what is on your wrists, and treats them like "jewelry".

So, a Rolex Sub would be nice, but so is a Steinhart Ocean One 39.
but DW will turn amoi on laugh.gif
Clueless07
post Feb 12 2019, 03:33 PM

1,372 posts

Lol... DW? Pls keep this forum clean.
Anyway.... What is the story on Tag? Popular brand 10 years ago.... now only “meh....”
lil_flank
post Feb 12 2019, 03:33 PM

472 posts

Kena rob, all RV gone, lol..
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:34 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:28 PM)
No la, my daily driver is a speedy.

But 36mm i can share with my waifu.  tongue.gif
Think WingWah has one in 36mm too....
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Feb 12 2019, 03:34 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 03:30 PM)
console.gif
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 03:35 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Feb 12 2019, 03:33 PM)
Lol... DW? Pls keep this forum clean.
Anyway.... What is the story on Tag? Popular brand 10 years ago.... now only “meh....”
10 years ago tag is often featured in james bong mar. same goes with omega. now also pretty quiet.
Bonchi
post Feb 12 2019, 03:40 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ Feb 12 2019, 03:33 PM)
Kena rob, all RV gone, lol..
buy a real rolex to keep at home, go guangzhou to buy a super high grade imitation of the same watch with eta movement to wear out. (but now got crackdown and very hard to find already)
alwinnng
post Feb 12 2019, 03:43 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Feb 12 2019, 03:17 PM)
no la...30.8k never happen before at AD... unless that one doesn't have platinum fluted bezel

Ummmm

Cannot confirm la.. cause I asked in nu sentral the guy say one
Doomsday
post Feb 12 2019, 05:33 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

alwinnng

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Feb 12 2019, 05:34 PM
Doomsday
post Feb 12 2019, 05:37 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 12 2019, 03:15 PM)
This one damn stims

yuno buy? brows.gif
alwinnng
post Feb 12 2019, 07:22 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Feb 12 2019, 05:37 PM)
yuno buy?  brows.gif
hmm.gif u buy I buy!
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 12 2019, 07:38 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 12 2019, 03:43 PM)
Ummmm

Cannot confirm la.. cause I asked in nu sentral the guy say one
I tot it was 34 before discount 7%?

Since when 30.8k? ohmy.gif
Doomsday
post Feb 12 2019, 07:50 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 12 2019, 07:22 PM)
hmm.gif u buy I buy!
exp 1? brows.gif Or Murph watch? brows.gif
alwinnng
post Feb 12 2019, 08:29 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 07:38 PM)
I tot it was 34 before discount 7%?

Since when 30.8k?  ohmy.gif
7%? I can get more brows.gif

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Feb 12 2019, 07:50 PM)
exp 1?  brows.gif  Or Murph watch?  brows.gif
brows.gif Rolex laaaaa
pgsiemkia
post Feb 12 2019, 10:20 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 12 2019, 03:10 PM)
GMT memang hotcakes la.. 3 yr waiting list lol  ... Those laying around are usual subsales or resellers and what not.

Issue is trying to get retail piece at retail price.
Retail is 70k at Swisstime, Pavi. Hourglass maybe 68k if both places hv stock. Need to go at source maybe Nasel can get in local currency. Saw at Wing Wah ard 70k still gt stock but can get best price for lower if pay cash.

Clueless07
post Feb 12 2019, 10:48 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 03:35 PM)
10 years ago tag is often featured in james bong mar.  same goes with omega. now also pretty quiet.
James Bond still with Omega right?
Probably JB not so popular these days.

I got a Planet Ocean... it is indeed a quality watch, just don’t hold value as well
Doomsday
post Feb 13 2019, 12:07 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Feb 12 2019, 10:48 PM)
James Bond still with Omega right?
Probably JB not so popular these days.

I got a Planet Ocean... it is indeed a quality watch, just don’t hold value as well
planet ocean is nice.. don't buy watch because u just wanna get higher resell value..

wear in good health smile.gif

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Feb 13 2019, 12:10 AM
kucingrimau
post Feb 13 2019, 03:49 AM

197 posts

I don't own one. But, if I'm TS I would go ahead and buy one. If want resale value better buy gold bullion. Economy drop like Venezuela also still can use. But, gold bullion collection cannot show off. A Rolex on the wrist can help a lot in terms of people's perception of the wearer (not accusing TS of chasing that aspect). People seem to treat you better in certain settings. You wear and check the time also feel good. Knowing you've reached this far and has potential to do more. As for the value appreciation of the watch itself, I would treat it like a bonus if it does but wouldn't worry about it.
ze2
post Feb 13 2019, 03:59 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Feb 13 2019, 03:49 AM)
I don't own one. But, if I'm TS I would go ahead and buy one. If want resale value better buy gold bullion. Economy drop like Venezuela also still can use. But, gold bullion collection cannot show off. A Rolex on the wrist can help a lot in terms of people's perception of the wearer (not accusing TS of chasing that aspect). People seem to treat you better in certain settings. You wear and check the time also feel good. Knowing you've reached this far and has potential to do more. As for the value appreciation of the watch itself, I would treat it like a bonus if it does but wouldn't worry about it.
Bought my sub, then a pam, then a jlc ultrathin...... After a while like shoik sendiri.... Now all in the safe, wearing a seiko and still able to read time.

ze2
post Feb 13 2019, 04:04 AM

319 posts

In addition, when you have the real deal you will research and am aware of the differences for each release plus you are good at spoting real and fakes. That's what I learned la.
SUSredisthcan
post Feb 13 2019, 06:37 AM

403 posts

I earn 27K ringgit per month (net).

Managed to buy myself an Explorer 2 early last year.

pundekman
post Feb 13 2019, 03:39 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Feb 12 2019, 03:06 PM)
Bro, can extend the stupid watches story? why?
Overrated and no function?
totally my opinion....
vinkon
post Oct 26 2020, 01:54 AM

139 posts

How often should you service a rolex watch?
garlicpesto
post Oct 26 2020, 03:24 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 8 2019, 03:53 PM)

Been there done that.
you just have a weak consumerism mind.

buy ONE classic piece and let it stand the test of time. But if you have fuck you money to burn.. enjoy your new hobby then.
swanlover
post Oct 26 2020, 01:14 PM

739 posts

Rollies are renowned for reliability, I think a well maintain Rolex can wear 2-3 gen..
friedricetheman
post Oct 26 2020, 01:22 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(vinkon @ Oct 26 2020, 01:54 AM)
How often should you service a rolex watch?
If it’s your one and only watch and you wear the modern Rolex daily, you will need to service it once every 3-4 years.

If it’s part of your rotation, it can go 10 years without servicing but I won’t recommend it as the oil may dry up and damage the movement inside.
drowning
post Oct 26 2020, 01:30 PM

86 posts

Just meh... you will enjoy other watches better. If you are on budget, get the Tudor Black Bay or IWC if you die die wants a swiss watch. GS is a great and arguably better, alternative choice from Japan.
swanlover
post Oct 26 2020, 01:33 PM

739 posts

Bb58 or Pelagos guarantee value retention...very popular now...
spacelion
post Oct 26 2020, 01:35 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 12 2019, 03:30 PM)
RM5 watch can do that ? mohon share
Bonchi
post Oct 26 2020, 10:09 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Oct 26 2020, 01:35 PM)
RM5 watch can do that ? mohon share
That was early 2019. Now you need a gucci minimum liao.
spacelion
post Oct 27 2020, 12:19 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 26 2020, 10:09 PM)
That was early 2019. Now you need a gucci minimum liao.
gucci also use RM5 movement right
SUSMondello
post Oct 27 2020, 12:22 AM

74 posts

Just get a daytona la
Bonchi
post Oct 27 2020, 03:11 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Oct 27 2020, 12:19 AM)
gucci also use RM5 movement right
movement doesnt matter you think amoi cares? janji the brand and high msrp yo.

0.0793sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:11 AM