**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

clivengu
post Oct 22 2007, 09:54 PM

1,850 posts

Get "alpha poison" from Ravem already.. Now hunting for Alpha A100... with 18-70mmkit lens & 18-300mm/ 50mm f1.6... Budget below 3k... is this possible?

Which is more useful.... 50mm f1.6 or 18-300mm lens? If do lots of indoor shot definately the 50mm right? since f1.6... it doesnt require flash either? am i right?

Please share wat r d market price of this Camera now... and where can I get them?

oh yeah.... is there any free classes provided....if I buy the camera?
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 07:33 PM

1,850 posts

Call in to Key Photo Midvalley.. Selling A-100 for Rm2599, Twin lens for Rm 3199. Including 8gb card, Tripod, Beg etc... Good bargain?

I think the Twin lens really good bargain..but not sure the 75-300mm will be useful for me or not for the meantime.. I think i prefer 18-70mm + 50mm f 1.4. More suitable since often taking interior subjects.

But the 50mm lens by sony r so expensive.. 1.6k! Any other option? Minolta 50 mm f1.7? Still selling out ther?
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 08:52 PM

1,850 posts

Thanks kelvinyam . checked photodata.. oso selling at 2599 & 3199... with sony beg n 8gb memory stick.. Din ask if Key colour memory stick n beg is sony or other brands...
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 09:31 PM

1,850 posts

KM 50mm F1.7 still selling meh? KM= konica minolta? Thought they no longer produce anything.. all these lens must be second hand is it?

Added on October 23, 2007, 9:35 pmhttp://youtube.com/watch?v=FDonxAQe6v0

Alpha Advertisement.. Why didnt sony advertise their alpha d way canon did... go cinema... 1-3 canon camera advertisements for sure. only see sony ericson adv

This post has been edited by clivengu: Oct 23 2007, 09:35 PM
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 09:50 PM

1,850 posts

Me from SIBU... but currently in KL.. y u go kuching? or r u in kuching.
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 09:57 PM

1,850 posts

hello foochow? Sibuan! Makan Kampua? kolok mee? lol
clivengu
post Oct 23 2007, 10:59 PM

1,850 posts

Just try to make d thread active..lol.. I donno kuching much...cant help...Even in KL I oso not sure where to find second hand lens..

Anyway..i'll just get the A100 first... poisoned... but now just trouble should i get the 300mm lens oso...
clivengu
post Oct 24 2007, 09:53 PM

1,850 posts

LOL...yeah.. Raven spreading Alpha Virus. sweat.gif research research now.. probably this weekend will go Midvalley to try out 1 myself.. Go One Utama yesterday.. all out of stock n not such a good deal. Sony outlet got display..but d ppl there like don wan do business...

Did try Canon 400D in fotokem 1u... Cant tell if I like it or not.. since i din know how to use dslr yet..HAHA.. only can act like pro pose..

I Probably will get d Twin lens set from Key Colour Midvalley... Afraid if I buy d 300mm later.. single lens price will not be as cheap as this. Including sony beg.. quite good.. Hope is the Alpha Big Beg. Yet to go n look for myself. Now looking for KM 50mm f1.7....Or anything similar to this that is good for taking potrait in darker environment..

whistling.gif Mayb can ask my sister sponsor this lens..since most of the time is taking her Potrait only... go Restaurant nice food etc.

But where else can I get KM lens? since shopping center's shop din sell second hand lens. Anyone selling cheap here? icon_idea.gif
clivengu
post Oct 24 2007, 10:13 PM

1,850 posts

What r d 18-200mm lens u r toking about? by other brand? is it better? donno much bout lens yet...

Can anyone tell me.. whats d approximately zoom did 200mm n 300 mm lens do? I can hardly imaging how much zoom it is.. If taking animal, Birds etc.. will 200mm be sufficient? or watching concert taking artist photos?

Raven when r u going to get ur A700? thinking to get in mid valley too? Im suprise most of d time best deal we can find on electronic items r in Sg wang/low yat.. but for this particular Sony.. Midvalley cheapest...

Heard bout pudu there ...not sure where is it.. oso got selling cheap camera.. ?
clivengu
post Oct 24 2007, 10:39 PM

1,850 posts

u gonna bought from sg wang which store? booing?how much u getting it? Jealous le.. ppl getting A700..n im just getting A 100... 700-100=600 % difference....lol

clivengu
post Oct 27 2007, 12:25 AM

1,850 posts

Everyone upgrade to A700..while I just start A100...lol..outdated...
By the time I need to change my A100.. mayb A900 Released oredi..hehehe

Harry.. how much r u selling ur KM 50mm lens? SUre no side effect? Im noob... don tipu me oh.
clivengu
post Oct 28 2007, 01:04 AM

1,850 posts

Raven.. u so fast get ur A700 oredi!! woa.. Actually thinking to go Midvalley to check the A100 this weekend.. too bad..i have to spend my whole weekend in the office.... tomolo oso have to work like hell... guess next week hopefully can go... but next week will hav to bring my car for 1st service.. gonna spend a lot.... adoi..~~~
clivengu
post Oct 28 2007, 08:42 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 28 2007, 03:00 AM)
Just to share my first few shots with the A700, just did this shoot tonight at a wedding

The Setup

The Moment

All taken straight from the camera, no post processing, just cropping

notworthy.gif I like the Kissing photo.. Really good one n natural.... Your wedding photos always have this kind of Warm contrasting feel... Got ur own style.. Next time sm1 post ur photo...i can tell its urs.. icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway...they r really beautiful.. Where d heck u get d chance to take so many wedding photos.. Ur friends bzing marry? haha icon_idea.gif
clivengu
post Oct 28 2007, 10:08 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 28 2007, 09:38 PM)
thanks a lot bro for your comments

nah don't think my friends are of age to get married yet, i'm still young. All these shots are my clients i do Part Time Wedding Photography and Event Planning for weddings, mainly hosting and coordinating them
IC...u r doing event planning for wedding too? and Broadcasting? you have plenty of jobs around~ laugh.gif So you organize the whole wedding ceremony? It looks grand and good... Very modern type of wedding instead of those old fashion chinese wed..nice dining set everything thumbup.gif Goodjob!
clivengu
post Oct 29 2007, 12:14 AM

1,850 posts

ME really interested!!! rclxms.gif Let me just get my ALPHA next week 1st.. No camera No Talk. whistling.gif

Raven 6-7-8 nov probably too Rush & new for me.. perhaps next time u got any more events.. Remember to let me know. thumbup.gif I wanna learn from u. Will go for the Alpha class on 15 nov first.

You r in broadcasting..thats why ur network of ppl r so BROAD~ muz know ppl like u to improve my network too... my job r obviously boring.. working like shit in a small office with 10 staffs, from 9 to 9 daily.... even weekend like today oso have to work. PIss... shakehead.gif this is not my life should be...
clivengu
post Oct 29 2007, 12:39 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 29 2007, 12:17 AM)
what did you major in? pm me your port folio
You did Check my online portfolio b4.... Im Interior Designer.. Doing some Freelance 3d Perspectives...

clive.carbonmade.com.

Those r outdated... very long din update oredi. You wan see my photography portfolio a bit tough... You can check my friendster http://profiles.friendster.com/7423403 but u cant see much from thr since im d subject, n I ask ppl take for me with certain angles that I wan to. laugh.gif

Added on October 29, 2007, 12:48 am
QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 29 2007, 12:17 AM)
congrats in advance in getting a brand new sony DSLR Alpha A100, what's happening on Nov 15th?
Don congrats me too early.. Who knows I might change mind suddenly again like last time... thought i 99% will get Eos 400D oredi....then get influence by YOU, n bcome ALPHA.. Mayb I'll get Influence by the DARK SIDE (NIKON- y nikon is darkside le?) n get D40...lol. hehehe

Actually i applied for THis week Alpha Workshop class in KLCC.. but I din manage to get my Alpha n I have to work suddenly.. So i sms d person in charge of d class, John, to cancel my registration for d class this week. So he said i can register for Next class which is on the 15th Nov lo.. Actually I wanna go try up the Alpha this week...since he can loan one for me in class. My boss spoil my plan for asking us to work weekend vmad.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Oct 29 2007, 12:48 AM
clivengu
post Oct 30 2007, 12:42 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 29 2007, 01:01 AM)
GET THE ALPHA! lol, well once you get your DSLR let me know, i've added you on friendster, my real name's Jin smile.gif
Thanks for adding me jin! laugh.gif

WOW You are really talent guy! Not only can shoot good photos but oso Sing!!! YOu r a member of Verspertine?! Though i nvr heard b4 but u guys seems to be quite popular notworthy.gif u r d vocalist? listen to d song in ur friendter n youtube brows.gif Really good! thumbup.gif

Really will b interesting to know a guy lik u better notworthy.gif

clivengu
post Nov 1 2007, 02:58 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Oct 31 2007, 11:30 PM)
Hi Ahmike,

first thing's first, i got an Alpha A100 to begin with. Rather affordable and i got it at a good price (really good price) with a 50 f1.4 and 2 other lenses including the kit.

Also the Super Steady Shot features really help when you are taking pictures in a moderately dim light. Picture Quality wise, i adjust my saturation/contrast/sharpness on my camera so i get what i want. and normally i do get what i want. All those years of wondering how ppl take such nicely saturated pictures and contrasting pictures, i have it in the palm of my hand.

Why the SONY? it looks good, wouldn't you agree? and it works good too.

the thing i like about the Alpha A100 is how it ergonomically fits to the palms of my hand, i have big hands by the way. Another thing i like about the Camera was it has a built in CCD Censor cleaner, or something like that which helps clean the censor when needed.

No doubt Nikon and Canon are the best buys in the market when it comes to photography, but buying the best camera wont necessarily get you the best pictures at all.

Overall the A100 is promising, and a great camera to begin with especially when you are new into the DSLR world.

Now coming to the A700, ever since i got the A100 i've been covering events. Weddings/concerts etc etc. So i knew, i needed a fast camera. If i had known that the A700 was coming out i wouldn't have gotten the A100 and just wait for a few more months, but then again i got a good deal on the camera.

The A700 marks a tremendous improvement to the Alpha series in terms of Noise levels at high ISO. If you read the reviews done by international sites, this baby is contending against some of the top models in the market. and already beating them in some aspects (not all)

One words explains this camera, SPEED. Its super fast and built tough. well it should be since its a semi pro DSLR. 12.2 megapixels woot!

So summing up why i got the A700
Speed
improved SSS
Design
Ergonomically accommodating
Low noise levels at high ISO Sensitivity
3.5 inch screen
User Friendly
Picture Quality (of course, depending on the lenses you use)

so get yours today! rclxms.gif
Sony should pay you for advertising for them.. Hahaha.. they lack of advertising thats why is not well-known like canon..They need more advertisement, Promotion, roadshow etc.. and Alpha Guy like to promote their products..

Anyway.. just to come in to drop a word... Need to sleep now.. is 3am and i just back from office... Really hoping i can be released during weekend to go get my Alpha rclxub.gif
clivengu
post Nov 4 2007, 12:29 AM

1,850 posts

raven, u bought ur a700 with its kit lense? Carl zeiss lens ~ damn good.. 5k with kit lense?
clivengu
post Nov 4 2007, 09:44 PM

1,850 posts

thats great... raven! im waiting for such occasion.. Thanks for organizing!

anyway...

OFFICIAL ALPHA USER (junior) REPORTING IN!!!! YEAHAAHA

0.4345sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:56 PM