**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

clivengu
post Nov 5 2007, 12:50 AM

1,850 posts

Hehe Thanks thanks

Bought from photodata midvalley... go key colour..out of stock.

Rm 2599 for A100 body + 18-70mm kit lens + tripod + screen protector + beg(pirated sony)

but i need an extra battery for backup.. So i bought another package (that must bought together with the camera) which is rm 199 for the Alpha beg + the sony camera battery..

so total rm 2800 like tat..

Try out the 300mm lens... tempting.. but i let go.. hehe sweat.gif
clivengu
post Nov 6 2007, 01:37 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Nov 5 2007, 12:17 PM)
no need 300mm, get a prime, you'll rarely use the zoom unless you take a lot of sport, i event hardly use my beer can, might consider letting go of it
QUOTE(pac1 @ Nov 5 2007, 01:14 PM)
I 2nd that!Got myself a 70-300mm lens, but it seems that I din use anything more than 100mm. So turn out putting it on sales now! sweat.gif
QUOTE(kenzio @ Nov 5 2007, 02:01 PM)
And this has proven, when you are choosing your set of lens, you have to know whether what sort of photos you are diving into....don't just like ppl buy, you follow blindly......make your purpose clear..... biggrin.gif
I let go of 300mm cause i think minolta 50mm f1.8 wil be more useful. so thinking to get that instead. the 300mm might be useful for situation like going for concert, taking animals photo or spying girls.. Haha.. i guess i'll just play with kit lens first for d mean time.. laugh.gif

Everything still in d box.. work work work till 1AM... no chance to open it... wait for deepavali then i can really explore my A100 rclxm9.gif
clivengu
post Nov 7 2007, 12:01 AM

1,850 posts

hehehe.. i stil cant remember d lens name... anyway... thats d lens im toking about tongue.gif f1.7
clivengu
post Nov 9 2007, 12:04 AM

1,850 posts

finally got a little (1 hours) to take out my Alpha from d box... lookslike im gonna ask lots of question on d coming days...hehe tongue.gif

i havent explore fully.. now just try out with auto ....few questions to ask hehe:

1. the "numbering n symbols" inside the viewfinder... looks unfocus .... certain time focus... certain time blur.. try adjust the "wheel" thing beside viewfinder...turn to max.. clearer ..but still not clear enough.. mayb i have rambun mata oredi.

2. when I zoom in...to max.. or close to max.. 70mm... when it auto focus.. the whole image inside view finder will jerk a bit... This normal?

icon_rolleyes.gif lots of question on d way..
clivengu
post Nov 9 2007, 12:45 AM

1,850 posts

jerk like.. as if d d lens.. move a little bit (when look from viewfinder).. then stop. will keep trying to see if this occur all d time.
clivengu
post Nov 9 2007, 11:21 PM

1,850 posts

I WAN TO GO!!! my friends r there ..in sg wang right? But i just get off from office... too late too late...
clivengu
post Nov 12 2007, 09:10 PM

1,850 posts

but noise level at 800 -1600 in A100 is extremely bad..
cant accept that.. tongue.gif juz test out in my dim room all these while.

Added on November 12, 2007, 11:46 pmAt last.. today can come back from work a bit earlier (9pm EARLIEST!!) and test my Alpha on Tripod n play with shuttle speed... share some photos with u guys icon_rolleyes.gif still very noob..plz comments...

This post has been edited by clivengu: Nov 12 2007, 11:49 PM
clivengu
post Nov 13 2007, 12:12 AM

1,850 posts

is weird.. in this particular topic.. i cant upload any photos.. there is no such option anywhr in d reply windows... weird...know why?
clivengu
post Nov 14 2007, 12:47 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 13 2007, 02:22 AM)
clivengu: This is because the A100 will choose underexpose in a high-contrast situation. Note that the Canon 400D is also prone to this.

For example, if you're shooting your room and the lights are off, but the computer screen is on, the A100 will choose to darken the image so you can see what's on the screen, instead of brightening the rest of the room and making the screen white.

When the camera underexposes, more of the picture is in shadow... and noise appears in shadows!

You will notice that if you shoot ISO1600 in daylight, it is hardly noisy. Thus, it is because it is underexposed that it looks noisy.

Therefore, you should set your AEL button to "Spot AEL Toggle" and press it while pointing at a dark area. The shutter speed will become a lot slower but the shadows will be exposed so you can see them.

So why does the A100 underexpose?

1) You get a faster shutter speed instead of a slower one. Why not? Less shake!
2) If you overexpose whites, it will be all whites and you cannot darken it to get detail. If it's underexposed you can brighten it still.

On the A700 they have fixed the noise levels and metering. Now, I dare use up to ISO3200! ISO6400 is for the extreme situations.
Thanks albnok for d tips.. i understand these situation where noise are inevitable especially when shooting in low light... especially when on hand. so i think the max iso i will use is up to 400 only... 800 are quite noisy oredi.. but IS STILL MUCH BETTER THAN my digicam canon A80 at ISO 100 above. hahaha..

i'll like to share some photos i test out.. but i cant find a way to upload photos here.. rclxub.gif

another question.. yesterday i play with shuttle speed.. i put on tripod.. let the shuttle open for bout 10-15 second to capture the view outdoors from my condo room. my question is ..will d camera spoil easier if we keep using the camera for long shuttle like this. (thers a soft "Yiiiii" sound when it was capturing and takes hell long to process d image. I found that my old A80 r having all kind of weird problems after I try to play with long shuttle speed.

Another question!!!! patient patient sweat.gif if under low light condition..(yesterday was playing with low light) the autofocus cant work.. it cant focus... what is the best way to focus our image other than using manual focus?
clivengu
post Nov 14 2007, 01:15 AM

1,850 posts

Raven! saw ur leehom photos in ur photobuckets... great photos! How do u take that long photo where leehom in center with all d fans below.. do u crop that or wat?

my friend sure will envy u so much to be able to take photo with leehom... tongue.gif u sure hving fun with ur job. hehe

clivengu
post Nov 22 2007, 12:38 AM

1,850 posts

i heard u guys toking bout beercan.. but din look at one myself..what kind of lens is it? i know it look like beercan.. sm1 mind to explain tongue.gif
clivengu
post Nov 24 2007, 02:25 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 22 2007, 12:54 AM)
Minolta 70-210 F/4, one of the sharp lens that Minolta ever produced. Sharp even at wide open!!

woa ...so this is how beercan looks like... a minolta lens hmm.gif Why is it so long though only until 210 mm... looks ugly la.. but good? better than kit lens 70-300mm?
clivengu
post Nov 26 2007, 01:04 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 25 2007, 12:04 AM)
If you want the Sony HVL-F36AM, I know somebody is selling one for around RM6xx. I was about to buy it from him, but got another offer of the same flash but Minolta version which is a bit cheaper.

My 3600HS flash and 70-210mm f/3.5-4.5 lens arrived this afternoon. Both items look sick, like brand new. Didn't regret buying from the seller...lol.

the 70-210mm is indeed SHARP even at 210mm f/4.5 (althout it's not the beercan), it's ridiculous! just that CA appears in high contrast pic.
ur 70-210mm lens r sony? minolta? wan get sony flash oso.. got wireless... which is really good. who r selling it for rm 6xx? im trying to find good offer for 50mm f1.7minolta prime lens.. any1 selling? with good price n good condition? thumbup.gif
clivengu
post Nov 26 2007, 10:01 PM

1,850 posts

woa.. reallly LOOOOONNGGG... like L lens length.. like going to shoot bazooka out of d camera..haha. ei... soulfly. ur 70-210mm minolta= beercan ah?

How much u bought it? I wonder should i get d flash first, or d 50mm lens, or the zoom lens first...
clivengu
post Dec 1 2007, 12:40 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(kenzio @ Nov 26 2007, 10:25 PM)
Supposing, you should ask yourself, whether are you going to use flash frequently for your all time photography? smile.gif
My experience with flash (built in) is oftenly bad... so im not really sure how much good can a external flash brings to my photo. I do take quite a lot of interior potrait photos (with usualy low light condition) thats also one of the reason im planning to get the 50mm f1.7 lens. As for zoom lens... it can be useful for many condition... but mayb i'll leave it for the last ..to collect more money to have a 18-200mm lens (around this range) instead of 70mm onwards. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 26 2007, 11:07 PM)
mine is not beercan. mine is f/3.5-4.5 while beercan is constant f/4. this one is mine...smaller and more compact. the lens extends while zooming, not like beercan which stays long all the time.

so is ur zoom lens better than the beercan? d price r almost similar right? sorry wat r the zoom range again?
70-200?

I got this lens and 3600hs flash for about RM1k from an old timer. thumbup.gif

If you're into indoors and portrait, I suggest that you get the flash first. I actually did not intend to buy the zoom, only the flash. But the seller poisoned me with great bargain. doh.gif
Can i see some photos u took with d flash? I dont quite understand d complicated setting of the flash. doh.gif
clivengu
post Dec 2 2007, 01:56 AM

1,850 posts

Where is live n loud? what events is it... sounds familiar.. today im whole day in pavilion n bukit bintang.. walk around looking for things to test my camera n technique.. will post up my photos for comment.. most are taken badly.. hope you guys can give some advice tongue.gif

Added on December 2, 2007, 10:03 pmHai Guys.. can you pls check my photo gallery?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry14157973

I need some comment on the settings. pls leave me some tips and comment.. iI believe Alpha user should understand my A100 much better than d rest tongue.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Dec 2 2007, 10:03 PM
clivengu
post Dec 8 2007, 12:15 AM

1,850 posts

Raven, mind to share some tips on street photography.. What r d setting u hav in mind that u would use for shots like this? no one reply to my post. sad.

Christmass is here.. i would like to go out walk around.. taking shots of clowns, performance, santa claus, and children especially. smile.gif
clivengu
post Dec 8 2007, 02:11 AM

1,850 posts

i ask this question bcause..i ve try go out to shoot.. but most of d photo r badly taken due to bad setting... some good composition r blurred..which is d major problem for the photo sad.gif need to set very fast n accurate.. chances r usually once
clivengu
post Dec 15 2007, 11:54 PM

1,850 posts

Raven... ur stage photographs has improved really a lot in a very short time... Really Good job smile.gif btw, did u get any side income from all this shots?
clivengu
post Dec 16 2007, 08:08 PM

1,850 posts

I also looking for minolta 50mm lens.. but so far.. most r selling Sony f1.4/ f 1.6

Found a guy selling sony 50mm F 1.4 for rm 800.. quite pricey.. or will it really be very much better than minolta f1.7?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0534sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:02 PM