6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

-kytz-
post Nov 5 2019, 01:51 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 5 2019, 01:47 PM)
from my previous tokyo lesson...yes u do
no matter what size u bring, it's gonna be full when u leave japan
my mom hasn't bought enough yet but have to stop because it's full

u need money and a huge suitcase/multiple suitcase to bring back everything from japan
because almost everything there is unique
So u bring multiple empty bags from Msia to Japan or you buy the luggage there?

I'm thinking of bringing a soft bag (made of fabric) to bring on the plane..

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 5 2019, 12:56 PM)
I change my cash in Malaysia and I bring 2 wallets there, my normal one and a thin one. I put like 20,000y in my normal one and the rest I keep inside the thin one which I keep in my luggage. If I run low I just topup from the thin one.

Exchange rate in Japan is really bad, and I guess withdrawing there eats some percentage interest.
So I guess it's still recommended to exchange money here then?

Hey that's a good idea leaving most of the cash in your luggage!

I'm thinking of having 7,000Y in my Kansai One Pass for transport, buying breakfast in convenience stores and buying water from vending machines, if any. 10 full days in Kyoto and Osaka. I wonder if it's enough?
-kytz-
post Nov 5 2019, 03:47 PM

12,573 posts

Guys, I know for Shugakuin Imperial Villa, you need to book a free tour in advance with passport. However, I read that you could actually grab some limited same day tickets from 11am.

I'm thinking of waiting there before 11am to grab the same day tickets, anyone knows if there's usually a long queue and how many tickets are given out?

Tickets for online reservations all full already sad.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 5 2019, 04:35 PM
-kytz-
post Nov 6 2019, 10:35 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Nov 6 2019, 09:41 AM)
Japan is very safe, I’m not sure why you don’t want to put more money,
your bring 10x 10k should be enough for your 10 days trips, just remember to bring a small coin pouch

So far I got no issue to bring 200k yen on my wallet
I'm using a minimalist wallet where the notes have to be folded twice. Should not take too many notes.

-kytz-
post Nov 8 2019, 10:15 AM

12,573 posts

Which cashless option is more widely used for convenience stores/restaurants/shops? Alipay or ICOCA?

Don't want to bring around too much cash and those coins!
-kytz-
post Nov 8 2019, 10:28 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 8 2019, 10:25 AM)
japan is still mostly cash
alipay vs ICOCA?...ICOCA of course will win
rarely see alipay accepted unless places like drug store and not all accept
Thanks. So those restaurants and small shops selling souvenirs/clothes etc accept payment using ICOCA?
-kytz-
post Nov 8 2019, 10:46 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 8 2019, 10:33 AM)
should be
restaurant surely will accept
clothing shop i'm not that sure because i didn't buy any cloth during my trip to japan
That's great! And also easier to track and consolidate expenses using this app which I hope works!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
-kytz-
post Nov 11 2019, 12:31 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Jun 17 2019, 10:01 AM)
Has anyone used their Maybank Visa Debit Card to withdraw cash in Japan ATM? How`s the rate like?

For example 10,000 yen now is around RM385. I guess around RM8 will be deducted from Maybank and the exchange rate follow the  Selling TT/OD rate of  `Foreign Exchange Counter Rates`?
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 17 2019, 10:16 AM)
Current exchange rate are Rm384.3 for 10000 Yen
Maybank Rate are Rm391.00 for 10000 Yen 
Maybank charge Rm6.7 as service fees
When you mentioned "current exchange rate", do you mean current international exchange rate or current Maybank exchange rate in Malaysia?
QUOTE(quadcube @ Jun 18 2019, 07:19 AM)
add another I think about rm24, withdrawal fee and don't forget to activate oversea withdrawal. used to withdraw JPY from my Maybank and CIMB acc from 7E ATM last time before I opened an acc in JP
So to sum it all, there are extra charges on top of the exchange rate and also withdrawal fees?

Sorry for digging up old post...

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 11 2019, 12:37 AM
-kytz-
post Nov 11 2019, 08:45 AM

12,573 posts

Thinking of taking the Hozugawa river boat ride but it costs 4100Y and takes like almost 2 hours!

Has anyone sat on this before can tell if its worth the money and time? hmm.gif

QUOTE(kilofi @ Nov 11 2019, 12:35 AM)

There's sale for suica and icoca card from travel recommends

Happy travelling XD
Thanks! Might grab this instead of Kansai One Pass tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 11 2019, 11:58 AM

12,573 posts

Something seriously wrong with travel recommends website? I kept getting wrong username and password errors, I even reset my password twice and got the same message. I registered a new account and still got the error. Already verified emails for both accounts..
-kytz-
post Nov 11 2019, 04:36 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 11 2019, 04:15 PM)
no
the date in front, u select MUST be 11th

u read at the top there "For 11.11 Promotion, please select the pickup date at the checkout page"

after u select "11.11 Sale (1 Ringgit Deal) WiFi Device"
select days...press book now
at the booking page...see the 1st column that say "Device Pickup Date (3 months from booking)" - this is where u select the date u want laugh.gif

i guess it's confusing that's why until now 1st 50 booking also not yet finish laugh.gif
What a steal! Really only RM1/day, I thought you typo laugh.gif

Too bad I got my hello1010 sim cards already lol..
-kytz-
post Nov 14 2019, 10:48 AM

12,573 posts

Anyone had experienced waiting at the Kyoto Imperial Office at opening time at 840am and managed to get same day tickets to Shugakuin Imperial Villa? I did not manage to reserve tickets online.. sad.gif

Should be there on Saturday, 23 Nov.
-kytz-
post Nov 14 2019, 01:31 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Nov 14 2019, 11:24 AM)
Same management as Tokyo Imperial Palace? If ya, maybe got on-site first-come-first-serve tickets?

Didn't book online for Tokyo Imperial Palace free tour last year coz was a last minute decision; instead went early in the morning, queue up before the 9am ticket reservation open (they reserve more tickets for on-site instead of online), took the queue ticket, came back a while later for the intended slot booking with English speaking tour guide.  Managed to get a slot.  Inside they split into several groups again (Chinese language tour guide, English, & Japanese).

So, google online, see if can do that with Shugakuin Imperial Villa as well?
I'm not sure if it's the same management.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 14 2019, 11:51 AM)
This Kyoto imperial villa very cocky one. Need one day advance register at ticket office with passport.
1st come 1st serve are only for Japanese tour. If you dunno any Japanese then you will be fxxx. No idea what they talking.

I been Kyoto so many times, never once been this place.
Hmmm guess I should try to be there earlier in my itinerary so that I can book for the English speaking tour in advance..

Hope I'm lucky to get same day tickets though...
-kytz-
post Nov 14 2019, 02:13 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Nov 14 2019, 01:59 PM)
Those that purchased travelrecommends Buy 1 free 1 icoca/suica cards, did you get the e-voucher to redeem the tickets in Japan?

All i got was a invoice/receipt sent to my email. Not sure if this is sufficient to redeem the physical cards later?
I had the same issue too, their system is having some glitches. Do WhatsApp their 24 line. The voucher would be sent to your email address.
-kytz-
post Nov 14 2019, 02:43 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Nov 14 2019, 02:31 PM)
I also plan on doing the same as Chester stay at Osaka travel to Kyoto daily.

I thought doing so can save hassle & time packing and repacking. Furthermore checkout is morning in one hotel and 3 pm in the other hotel. 1/2 day pass already
Everyday travelling time between Osaka and Kyoto is no joke. 2 hours plus to and fro! shakehead.gif

Traveling from Osaka to Kyoto can easily visit Nara/Uji in the morning/afternoon before checking into the hotel which is what I'm planning to do.
-kytz-
post Nov 19 2019, 06:59 AM

12,573 posts

Hey I just reached Osaka recently!

So many drugstores/pharmacies at shopping streets (Ebi suji, Shinsai, Sennichimae) @ Namba area...

Which drugstore/pharmacy overall is one of the cheapest to get skin care/beauty products? Because there are like 1001 of such stores so maybe we can an indication of which shops to look at.

Also, should we buy our sweets/chocolates/souvenirs at Osaka or at Kyoto? We're scared that there are not many choices or it's more expensive in Kyoto
-kytz-
post Nov 20 2019, 09:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Nov 20 2019, 01:11 PM)
Anybody going to Kyoto in the next few days? Colors should be peaking just about then.
Yup, I'll be going to Kyoto tomorrow and will be spending the next 7 nights in Kyoto. Timed it perfectly smile.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 21 2019, 03:50 PM

12,573 posts

Greetings from Nara. I think it's peak here already smile.gif

En route to Kyoto later..

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 21 2019, 04:03 PM
-kytz-
post Nov 22 2019, 07:31 AM

12,573 posts

Hey guys, quick questions:

What's the least tiring way to explore Gion and Kiyomizudera?

1) Gion Hanamikoji--Gion corner - Ninenzanka - Sanenzanka-Kiyomizudera

2) Take bus from Gion shijo to Kiyomizumichi bus stop - 11 minutes walk uphill - Sanenzanka - Ninenzanka - Gion corner - Hanamikoji dori

Don't really wanna take route 2 due to the 11 minutes uphill walk... If we take route 1, can slowly make it to Kiyomizudera with several stops (rest)
-kytz-
post Nov 24 2019, 08:56 AM

12,573 posts

Loving Kyoto so much that I'm planning for a solo photography trip here in the future tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 25 2019, 07:36 AM

12,573 posts

On the way to Arashiyama now! I know it's a bit late tongue.gif

The foliage during peak autumn is absolutely amazing, couldn't believe that it's that red. I honestly thought those videos/pictures I saw were mostly exaggerated in terms of colour editing but mannnnnn they were really like that in real life!! wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 25 2019, 07:49 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1561sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:58 AM