QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 21 2019, 01:06 PM)
or just buy on the spot lah you're gonna buy it anyway
Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!
Oct 21 2019, 02:05 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
3,581 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
Oct 21 2019, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 21 2019, 02:28 PM) Medicine is not something I will take risk as I cannot simply take medicine and I may have allergy then it's worse. Better stick to something which I'm familiar with from Malaysia. i've never seen anyone who go japan and not buy medicineit's publicly available and better than our local meds this is what most people buy for fever ![]() |
Oct 21 2019, 04:45 PM
Oct 21 2019, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 05:26 PM) We did the whole pharmacy visits but we find the standard medicines are more expensive than in Malaysia. Whatmore all the packaging are in Japanese words so it was real challenge to find anything, one of our group wanted Japanese tiger balm but we gave up finding it. u need to do your research before u do meds purchase in japan, it's better if u can read chinese..it would be written there what is this forInstead we loaded up on just Kitkats.... all 6,000+ yen full of Kitkats. I think most go there to buy beauty products (SK2, Shisheido, etc). japanese tiger balm is instead an uncle logo on a brown packaging u can ask the worker there, they can show u actually(my last visit yes, my 3 years ago trip to tokyo is harder...most worker can speak mandarin and english now) some meds, it's very clear since it's drawn on the box already like the ulcer med its expensive but it works better but it looks expensive because you're buying a box instead of a row |
Oct 21 2019, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 21 2019, 06:08 PM) Damn right bro... there are pharmacies everywhere. Chinese tourists love going into these pharmacies. Makes me wonder all the time, what the heck do they have so much to buy in there. some store are straight scam, they use the cashier to persuade them to buy more and more...so got more discount(plus tax refund)so they end up buying alot of things they don't need...it happens right in front of my eyes she keep saying left 3k yen...scan another stuff thn say left 1.5k yen...etc etc smart buyer will only buy what they need(do your research beforehand) QUOTE(cofin @ Oct 21 2019, 06:05 PM) Can try fukutaro okonomiyaki osaka (2 Chome-3-17 Sennichimae, Chuo Ward, Osaka, 542-0074, Japan) .....i eat this shop many many times until i pokai ...expensive but yummy i tell the chef oishi he still laugh and say arigato ....then next day i went again he make special for me lol i only tried the one at the basement of the umeda sky buildingI try many others okonomiyaki this is still the best even the one at expensive Namba by the sifu another student also lose to this Downside need to queue lor ..... foreigner and local all eat Remember order avocado tofu with wassabi starter ...very special starter there is no non-japanese menu at all, most patron are japanese the waiter can only do recommendation(via mandarin), we can only say yes menu is hand written, can't use google translate |
Oct 21 2019, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 21 2019, 06:14 PM) Not to mention they employ Jap, Taiwanese or mainlanders who could speak mandarin. They will keep on going "Kwang ling kwang ling". Makes me feel like I'm in China.... it really depends where u goI guess the big spending Chinese tourists are too hard to resist, even by the once mighty Japs. if u go tourist attraction place like namba/dotonbori, most staff are chinese(they're students in JP) but if u go less touristy place like kobe, they still employ japs that can only speak japanese which is better for me actually the lesser the people, the better the deal QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 06:16 PM) We weren't really going there just to buy medicine but one of our party had travel sickness so wanted tiger balm but we just don't know how to describe it to the staff. Probably if we say tiger balm, they won't know rite? And none of us know to read or speak mandarin so yeah. if u went 3 years ago, it will be hard to describeAnyways it was just a couple days by 3rd day the person was alrite. So not getting any medicine wasn't a deal breaker for our trip or anything. Buying a row of medicine? Err..... but if u go recently, no problem at all...just tell them motion sickness or whatever in chinese..they understand that's how those PRC find their meds |
Oct 22 2019, 06:57 AM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 10:40 PM) I guess you missed me saying that we don't know to read or speak mandarin. Not sure if they would know Cantonese though..... if don't know mandarin, just speak english...they'll understand perfectlyBut yeah, its quite awkward hearing mandarin in Japan, like the one time I was at a matcha tea prep demo and the presenter was talking in fluid universal mandarin. For a split second I thought I was in China! |
Oct 22 2019, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Oct 22 2019, 10:03 AM) Geez.... Sagano romantic train ticket for November is like 90% sold out. just wait for itWas checking yesterday night for 21 Nov and non available, today quick check for whole november, all showing "x" with exception of last train is available. Hopefully it will become available in coming days, or else need to queue up and grab the on-the-day ticket. later 1 week before your trip, you'll notice it turn from "X" to triangle to "O" it's not accurate and i don't know why |
Oct 23 2019, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(LinkZ @ Oct 23 2019, 12:56 AM) why would u want to use a taxi in japan?QUOTE(pds_disi @ Oct 23 2019, 10:24 AM) Guys, I will be travelling to Kyoto, Nara, Kobe, Himeji, Osaka area soon. ICOCA is an IC card like our touch & go cardBy reading around, landing at KIX I will buy ICOCA +haruka pass to travel around. My question, is ICOCA alone suffice to travel around the location I visit? Or is there other bus/train pass I need to buy? haruka pass is a 1 way express train ticket to kyoto station if u owned a IC card like pasmo or suica, u don't need ICOCA and there are other mode of transportation in KIX to go where u wanted to go too |
Oct 24 2019, 07:20 AM
Oct 24 2019, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 24 2019, 09:33 AM) japanese uses them, no problem at all because of how much they earnit's only hard on the tourist japanese take the shinkansen like nothing as well but for us, it looks expensive and many of the taxi, they're being "booked" at night to take the "girls" from 1 place to another |
Oct 28 2019, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2019, 11:26 PM) yea…subway also same. only in tokyo i guesswork life balance? nah…those office guys still wait until after 10pm baru take subway go back home. i was in kyoto, the underground mall under kyoto station....at 8PM sharp like not even a seconds more...the gates are rolled down i know there is still somebody inside to finish the leftover like closing account but the worker, 5 mins later...exit the door beside and straight to the starbucks next door |
Oct 28 2019, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 27 2019, 09:02 PM) just came back from osaka/kyoto/nara…10days family trip. haruka takes u to kyoto, nankai takes u to osaka...2 different placesome attraction points are trap…lol. not worth to visit at all. some tips: 1. KIX tourist counter opened at 7am, if u want to buy osaka amazing pass. 2. when u come out from airport, just walk to the opposite building to buy icoca+haruka. if u want to save money, just take nankai with icoca or buy ticket at the machine…super easy. u can buy icoca from the machine itself. top up icoca also super easy with machine or convenience store. 3. if u want to take nankai from osaka back to KIX to catch early flight, don't take the 1st train…it's full af…take the 2nd. 4. travel in kyoto use bus more than subway. 5. even travel 1 stop is same cost. plan your route wisely… 6. just use google map and u no need scare sesat…powerbank is a must have. 7. good luck to pure vegan…haha. 8. don't like some places with their late opening hour and early closing hour. and from osaka to KIX, u got 2 choices nankai that takes u straight to airport without stop or u can take the normal train that stop in a few stop....cheaper by 500 yen and it's only 10 mins difference.....not that much people |
Oct 28 2019, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 28 2019, 03:28 PM) some ppl stop at osaka 1st mah…so nankai to osaka then keihan line to kyoto after doing my tripya…that's what i took, 930yen from shin-imamiya to kix with nankai. the morning 1st train packed like sardin. deswai i said take the 2nd train. i guess i did it right and i do suggest people do kyoto 1st else you're gonna drag your luggage all the way to kyoto from osaka thn drag it back down to osaka again which is OMG and when u drag the luggage there, u have to drag it until check in time doing kyoto 1st will reduce your headache at least once |
Oct 28 2019, 03:42 PM
here are some tips to those going to japan looking for what to buy
this shouldn't be listed anywhere else if you're into cooking, especially fried chicken...u should grab these...award winning fried chicken powder(comes in different flavour) ![]() to those looking for instant ramen, instead of getting the way overpriced and not tasty at all ichiran ramen...Buy these instead, taste so good and way cheaper big place like don-quixote should have sell but i think some branch don't have and they don't stock all the flavours but i can confirm the local supermarket in the middle of kuromon market has it, they carry all the flavours ![]() |
Oct 28 2019, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 28 2019, 03:36 PM) Thanks! Was thinking if I should purchase them from Nishiki market or Kuromon Ichiba market instead don't buy fruit from nishiki..i don't recall any nice fruit shop thereThanks! Do locals shop at Nishiki/Kuromon Ichiba market? if u want to buy from kuromon, buy from "千成屋" yes, locals do shop at kuromon but 97% is still tourist |
Oct 28 2019, 04:11 PM
Oct 28 2019, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 28 2019, 04:15 PM) kintetsu way too much stop from what i searchJR from kyoto is way faster(if u take the correct train) plus if u pair fushimi inari with nara(the timing is just perfect)...4-5PM you'll be heading back to kyoto...else if u pair with uji, you're left with nothing to do like the rest of the time(because fushimi inari need to start really early and when u reach nara, most shop just opened) uji can skip if you're in time constraint because nara is huge |
Oct 28 2019, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 28 2019, 04:31 PM) nipponbashi to nara with kintetsu express 8 stops je… based on the itinerary at 1st page, can but of course depends what u wanna visit and how fast is your pacei mean fushimi inari+uji 1 day, nara 1 day. mana boleh inari+uji+nara 1 day…lel. i went to nara straight from inari because i know my mom's pace is slow and want to visit alot of places not in my itinerary(before the park or temples) indeed it did and end up 4.30PM only back kyoto...else can actually cramp uji in |
Nov 1 2019, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(cradle0fFilth2 @ Nov 1 2019, 12:59 AM) hi guys, is there any kinda snacks / packed food / chocs / instant noodle etc that is a must to try / buy back from Japan which is not available in Malaysia yet? with the influx of DAISOs, Family Marts, Shokikiya....just wondering is there any famous brands which they have not brought it over to our shore yet my answer?heading to Tokeioooo in a month's time.. advice is greatly appreciated =) ALL OF THEM almost nothing in japan is exported out, they're all for domestic consumption made it themselves for own consumption so basically u need a big bag of money to buy everything back to malaysia for instant noodle(ramen), don't buy the overpriced, overrated ichiran one buy the ones i recommended above for snacks/chocolate..etc...almost all are unique to japan royce chocolate are only available exclusively at airport(departure area) and if you're visiting kansai region like kyoto,osaka,kobe and nara(at once) each area has their own confectionary like bisuits,cakes,chocolates so if u tasted something u like, u best buy it on the spot...u can't find it back in other areas especially kobe QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 1 2019, 08:11 AM) Michelin star Cup noodles by Tsuta/Nakiryu which can be found at 711. Maybe you can refer to the previous post by mr alien on some instant noodles and fried chicken powder.. i wanted to bring back a pack of that tsutabut man that thing eats up so many space, i just ate both in my airbnb only |
| Change to: | 0.2244sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:55 PM |