7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Unifi TV Ver 2, Formerly known as HyppTV

AV_2018
post Jul 13 2020, 03:38 PM

448 posts

Unifi playTV app for Android TV (com.tm.unifitv) confirmed to be working on 2016 Sony Bravia TV running Android TV 8 (Oreo) installed from Google Play. Image quality confirm poorer compared to the VLAN500 STB.

Account still limited to 2 devices and installing on TV counts as one device.

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Jul 13 2020, 03:40 PM
AV_2018
post Oct 7 2021, 11:46 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Oct 6 2021, 10:34 PM)
That box is a RDK OTT box and doesn't have any satellite input.
Looks like TM will use their own customized OS like Astro.

The OEM is Skyworth and model no is HP43A.
https://en.skyworthdigital.com/products-detail/ProId/67.html

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 6 2021, 11:32 PM)
Maybe this one...

4K AndroidTV Hybrid STB
Model: HY4xC
Android TV certified with latest version
Netflix pre-certified
Amazon Prime Video pre-certified
Disney+ pre-installed(for specific regions)
Dolby Vision Certified
Dolby Digital Plus & Dolby Atoms certified
Dual DVB-S/S2 tuners
Irdeto IFCP/Verimatrix Ultra/Nagra TKL
https://en.skyworthdigital.com/products-detail/ProId/65.html
The image looks more like HP43A. Hope the hybrid means VLAN600 + Wi-Fi. That way the dedicated multicast IPTV network can still be used and the image quality will be 'broadcast grade' like with previous STBs as well as uninterrupted by network congestion while having the possibility of running streaming apps.

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Oct 7 2021, 11:53 PM
AV_2018
post Oct 7 2021, 11:55 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Oct 7 2021, 11:52 PM)
do you mean VLAN600?
Ya I meant VLAN600, thanks for pointing out. Been too long since I last manually configured the VLANs haha.
AV_2018
post Oct 8 2021, 12:37 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(amir_baharuddin @ Oct 7 2021, 11:41 AM)
As I read somewhere, they say all new channels will be free to view until end of the year, but my Hits Channel (not the movie one) got "youre watching preview"... Others ok to watch, no problem. Is there any one who faces this issue?
I can't access SPOTV and SPOTV2 also. I'm not on ultimate pack. Are they supposed to be free till end of year?
AV_2018
post Oct 8 2021, 01:26 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Oct 8 2021, 05:40 AM)
https://9to5google.com/2021/06/23/android-t...0-g20-hands-on/

Apparently by default Android apps don't accept number inputs, hence any remote with numbers are usually for TV's with built in Android TV, and not dedicated Android TV box. Also that explains the shitty Unifi TV APP UI, where there is no guide, and instead you change the channel by going down and scrolling
Well Netflix app is one that accepts number pad input. Can be used when entering profile PIN.
AV_2018
post Oct 11 2021, 06:22 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 11 2021, 03:09 PM)
kaypoh sikit,
which +1 app that most of you chose?
Using both VIU and iQIYI though not via TM. Both have different shows and I notice iQIYI has higher video and audio quality than VIU.
AV_2018
post Jan 4 2022, 03:08 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(somy nex @ Jan 2 2022, 10:28 PM)
Thanks so much for the suggestions. I tried putting the playtv@unifi apk on a usb, but the smart monitor only recognises media files. Maybe it's cause it's running Tizen instead of Android?

Anyway for now I've decided to just cast screen from phone to monitor as a stopgap. Not ideal but works for now I guess...
QUOTE(Philippng @ Jan 3 2022, 12:08 AM)
Have you check if you can find the app x-plore file manager. I think you should be able to find it in the playstore.

If you are able to get that app x-plore which u can connect to your google drive which mean you can download the apk to the web drive and install from there
He is using a Samsung TV. Samsung TVs don't run Android TV OS. PlayStore is not available on Samsung TV and Unifi TV is only available on certain models (https://unifi.com.my/tv/devices/other-smart-tvs). I don't know whether can sideload on Tizen or not but even if can you'll need the Unifi TV app file that is for Tizen and not APK.

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Jan 3 2022, 10:18 PM)
Is it me or my unifi play tv can't login or stuck on unifi logo with white background. Then service is unavailiable error appearred.
QUOTE(zhenhao @ Jan 3 2022, 10:25 PM)
It prompted me to login. After several tries yet still can't log in.
QUOTE(mdshaman @ Jan 3 2022, 10:30 PM)
Same. So unifi tv service is down?
TM's UPS room caught fire. Source: https://twitter.com/unifi/status/1478189143955963904

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Jan 4 2022, 03:35 PM
AV_2018
post Apr 12 2022, 12:08 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Apr 4 2022, 07:10 AM)
hello seniors, i bought a mi tv stick and installed unifi tv on it, but the picture quality is way much lower than original laggy hypttv stb. any idea or solutions to improve the picture quality?
The app is different stream that has a lower and adaptive bitrate compared to the old STB that uses VLAN. That's why I still use the STB on VLAN. VLAN stream has consistent and high bitrate. Furthermore, using the STB on VLAN can watch TV while using Internet at full speed without affecting each other.
AV_2018
post Apr 13 2022, 02:57 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(cns20 @ Apr 13 2022, 11:07 AM)
From LYN article

Bottom side of gen2 UPB

> Name unifi Plus Box – Hybrid
> Manufactured Oct 2021
> Model no. HP43A (either based on HP4xA or HP43A RDK (no AV1 codec or Wi-Fi 6)

Ports

> 1x S/PDIF-out
> 1x infrared?
> 1x HDMI-out
> 1x Ethernet
> 2x USB Type-A ports (1x 2.0, 1x 3.0)

AV-out and microSD slot are missing

"Hybrid" probably means IPTV via VLAN/normal Internet since no DVB tuners present
That 3.5mm port should be composite/analog AV-out and not infrared.
AV_2018
post Apr 13 2022, 05:15 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Apr 13 2022, 01:25 PM)
What's weird is why TM is advertising the box as 'Powered by Google play' instead of Android TV...hmm.gif
QUOTE(juzmafia @ Apr 13 2022, 01:53 PM)
Funny thing is that there's not even one Android TV™ word available on the box packaging based on the pictures on LYN article..😄
Maybe it has something to do with Google new 'branding'..
Maybe can't have official Android TV branding because it doesn't support AV1 video decoding. It was said that AV1 is mandatory for newer Android TV devices.

Google is requiring that all new Android TV devices launching after March 31, 2021, support AV1 video decoding. This requirement is said to apply to all new TV products launching with Android 10 or Android 11 later this year (2021), according to an internal slide reviewed by XDA. This slide is part of a presentation that Google held for its Android TV partners last year (2020). Therefore, we do not know if this deadline is up-to-date, and we did not receive a response from Google when reached for comment.
source: xda-developers

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Apr 13 2022, 05:22 PM
AV_2018
post Apr 13 2022, 09:43 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 13 2022, 08:40 PM)
No infrared... But since its based on android would FLIRC work? Silver box still working well but wanna see if this box is actually an upgrade from the old box or not. The first UPB is a real downgrade in my POV.
According to Skyworth specifications, the STB has IR sensor/receiver. The remote control is dual Infrared and Bluetooth. Based on my experience with Android TV televisions, it can be either:
- IR for buttons on the remote and BT only for the microphone
- power button uses IR only (BT probably off when in standby mode) while other buttons on the remote uses IR/BT (BT so that no need to aim remote while using but third party IR remote still works) and the microphone also uses BT.
AV_2018
post Sep 20 2025, 10:40 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Sep 20 2025, 07:59 PM)
The app is 4 Mbps. For STB with IPTV, 8 Mbps.
Last I checked, the VLAN is around 5 Mbps and app is 4.8 Mbps. Might be channel dependent.
AV_2018
post Sep 21 2025, 12:23 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 20 2025, 11:23 PM)
how to check? on router UI?
I checked again the VLAN bitrates. I did not check every channel and just randomly picked a few. I see 3 types of bitrates.

SD channel for example.

Movie channel for example.

Sports channel for example.

For Unifi 1.0 app, I remembered it showed 4.8 Mbps in the app for movie channel if I remember correctly.

But bitrate does not tell the full story. It also depends on what encoder and encoding settings they used. Also the resolution and framerate.

For Unifi 2.0 app, wait till I get it. I cannot sign in that yet. For that one, since it uses buffer and downloads in bursts, need to get the total bytes transferred in a minute then divide by seconds and convert to bits to get an estimate of the average bitrate.

AV_2018
post Sep 24 2025, 04:18 PM

448 posts

Anyone got the new HP4BF STB so far? Does it have the same design as previous one or different?

Also anyone who received the 'LINE CLEAR' SMS around 8 September received the STB yet? Still waiting for mine.
AV_2018
post Sep 24 2025, 05:41 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 24 2025, 05:31 PM)
So when do we swap the new Unifi STB over? The instruction packet says to wait for an on-screen notification.
Where does this notification pop up?

Do we have to make any changes to the router which has the old VLAN settings for IPTV?
For my relative, there is an SMS that will inform when the account is migrated. Change the STB then.

I reconfigured the router to remove special VLAN on port 4 for my relative (for Asus router, change to Unifi Business profile instead of Home). The new STB still plugged at port 4 and not using Wi-Fi. It was streaming smoothly when I tested.

AV_2018
post Oct 1 2025, 04:02 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Oct 1 2025, 02:20 PM)
Guys do you all recommend taking the UnifiTV Box Plus, if subscribe the packs?
It might be better to use self-purchased Google TV box or TV such as Xiaomi box or Sony TV.

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 1 2025, 03:14 PM)
I still not receive the new TVBox since sms sent to me on 8 September.
Same. Still waiting. No new messages received also.

AV_2018
post Oct 1 2025, 04:34 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Oct 1 2025, 04:28 PM)
u got tracking no. or not.

mine was assigned for skynet for delivery. 1 week wait still not received. went to the hub self collect. saw many unifi box package to be return back to sender.
My SMS same like this one:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=112121721

Until now no more SMS or WhatsApp. Ask TM CS say Line Clear will message the tracking number but don't have so far.

AV_2018
post Oct 2 2025, 09:52 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 2 2025, 08:21 PM)
Huh so low spec use of the lan hub speed.
Even expensive Google TV televisions have only 100Mbps Ethernet port. If Unifi TV box suddenly has 1Gbps it would be a surprise. biggrin.gif
AV_2018
post Oct 5 2025, 08:59 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(singung @ Oct 5 2025, 08:37 PM)
What about picture and sound quality? Same? What about others feature like subtitles, languages?
I don't have the STB yet so cannot compare but I am expecting that running the app on TV itself may have better image quality due to upscalling performed by the TV (if the TV is one that has better upscaler than the STB) and also TV handling HDR switching. The Unifi STB is known to always output at 4K HDR even when playing HD SDR content.

Features should be same but not 100% certain since it seems the STB is using different app integrated with launcher.

I see three Unifi TV 2.0 apps on Google Play.
- net.oregan.onyx.tm.unifi
- com.tm.unifitv.tv
- com.tm.unifitv.mobile

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Oct 5 2025, 09:07 PM
AV_2018
post Oct 6 2025, 02:59 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(kayroll @ Oct 6 2025, 07:49 AM)
Morning...anyone on ultimate max pack with unifi 2.0, is it Netflix got inside the new app. Mine no Netflix inside but all others app under my subscription was there.
QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Oct 6 2025, 08:47 AM)
The netflix app is only available in the upb box
If using Unifi TV STB, need to press the button with the grid of nine squares to access Netflix and other apps that are not shown in the Unifi TV 2.0 app/launcher. If your remote has Netflix button, that should work too.

If you have your own subscription for Disney+, VIU, iQiyi etc that is not in your Unifi TV plan, you need to use the nine square button or the app button on remote instead of the tile inside Unifi TV 2.0 app/launcher to access them too. This also applies if using own Google TV box or TV, you need to access those apps using the Google TV launcher or directly from remote and not from inside Unifi TV 2.0 app.

In short, the app section / tiles within the Unifi TV 2.0 app / launcher only shows certain apps and not all installed apps. They also only work if you have a subscription for them as part of Unifi TV plan or else it will prompt you to subscribe instead of launching the app.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0347sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:04 PM