Cambridge English, anyone??
Jun 14 2007, 01:21 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
166 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
anyone taken Cambridge english or planning to take??can share share here??hehe...is it so hard to get the cert??anyone noe the process??how is it going on?
Jun 14 2007, 05:34 PM
725 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
no wan noe it??i wanted to noe it as well...
Jun 14 2007, 09:17 PM
2,720 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Go to british council, never go to cambrigde! All my fren who went to Cambridge r always come back wit nothing learnt!
British council is better, the cambridge's salemen is totally sux, They call my fren... Cambridge:"Hello, Cambridge Languge center here, R u having any english course now?" Fren:"No, but I think i still can cope with it." Cambridge:"Hav u been think of taking any english lesson?" fren:"Erm, nope, as i said, I still can cope with it." Cambridge:"U think ur english very good izit? Y so proud of urself?" Fren:"...." Then end ....... So impolite! People dun1 ten dun1 lah, y want force people...still ask people:"u think ur english very good?"....-.-" N they did call me too after my fren case, so when they say they r cambridge, i just say no thanks bye.... Within British council, Cambridge, Erican, British Council has the highest reputation.... |
Jun 14 2007, 09:45 PM
oh...then u mean their english better??i mean the standard! different areas have different kind of the ways they approach ppl la...n oh ya,y they called u??how they get ur friends num and urs? mine is i go to the center and register myself then take a test there to determine which standard i m in!!the teacher is frm UK itself!and the fees damn expensive!!
Jun 14 2007, 10:33 PM
1,719 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yeah Cambridge no good , my sister paid them the fees but never improve his english as well , i think British Council is more good than Cambridge .
Jun 14 2007, 10:36 PM
337 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Subang Jaya |
Jun 14 2007, 10:39 PM
is it true that if i get the 4th level or 4th cert or watever la.....then i can go overseas d??no need take TOEFL or IELTS?? almost all Uni accept the Cambridge cert?
Jun 14 2007, 10:43 PM
3,500 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I had joined both British Council and Cambridge, british council really ftw. Cambridge is not that professional, lousy part time teachers, while teachers in the British council are really pro, and are came from all kind of different countries lol.
Jun 14 2007, 11:16 PM
my area the Cambridge center got only 1 teacher!! he open the center himself...and he`s from UK if i m not wrong!Quite young and handsome!!hahaha..n i never heard him talking b4 because that day when i went there,he wasnt there!so i just took the test and went home! anyone noe the cost for 1 month??and btw,Cambridge center got part time teacher??from where ?the center very big??
Jun 15 2007, 12:14 AM
566 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang | KL |
i studied University of Cambridge's ESOL (English For Speakers of Other Language) at a centre in penang. have 3 certs d - PET(preliminary english test), FCE(first cert in english) & CAE(cert in advance english). The teacher here is kinda experieced actually, as he has been teaching the syllabi since before british council was even established in msia. btw, the centre is called BELL (Benny English Language Laboratory).
This post has been edited by nTHtoSEy: Jun 15 2007, 12:16 AM |
Jun 15 2007, 11:37 PM
how`s the process??we at 1st need to take a test to see which standard we r ..rite??then only begin the lessons??
Jun 15 2007, 11:39 PM
12,275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jun 14 2007, 09:17 PM) Go to british council, never go to cambrigde! All my fren who went to Cambridge r always come back wit nothing learnt! If I were your friend, I would ask the phonist to go f*** himself. I would, just that they have not called me.British council is better, the cambridge's salemen is totally sux, They call my fren... Cambridge:"Hello, Cambridge Languge center here, R u having any english course now?" Fren:"No, but I think i still can cope with it." Cambridge:"Hav u been think of taking any english lesson?" fren:"Erm, nope, as i said, I still can cope with it." Cambridge:"U think ur english very good izit? Y so proud of urself?" Fren:"...." Then end ....... So impolite! People dun1 ten dun1 lah, y want force people...still ask people:"u think ur english very good?"....-.-" N they did call me too after my fren case, so when they say they r cambridge, i just say no thanks bye.... Within British council, Cambridge, Erican, British Council has the highest reputation.... |
Jun 15 2007, 11:43 PM
i wonder y and how they can called u?? they don have u or ur friends num. also.....?!?
Jun 16 2007, 12:32 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
juz for asking, y people go to these kind of British council, Cambridge or watever? izzit to learn the language juz for the sake to improve ourselves or some as a requirement to further their studies?
Jun 16 2007, 12:37 PM
105 posts Joined: May 2007 From: JB |
is it the A-level ?
Jun 16 2007, 01:44 PM
nope..the English course....they said if we got this cert..we don have to take TOEFL or IELTS if we wanna go overseas to study!!
Jun 16 2007, 02:15 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ic,so it is mainly for overseas studies i guess.
Jun 27 2007, 10:36 PM
566 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang | KL |
QUOTE(Jesse_17 @ Jun 15 2007, 11:37 PM) how`s the process??we at 1st need to take a test to see which standard we r ..rite??then only begin the lessons?? in the past, british council utilises this process. but recent few years...they've changed their sytem to seeing which level are u at in secondary/primary school...this is wat happened to the penang branch...The centre I went organizes their classes according to our levels in school too..like if ur Form1-form3, you'll be taking PET..Form4 for FCE and Form5 for CAE... QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Jun 16 2007, 12:32 PM) juz for asking, y people go to these kind of British council, Cambridge or watever? izzit to learn the language juz for the sake to improve ourselves or some as a requirement to further their studies? QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Jun 16 2007, 02:15 PM) different people go for different reasons...most of us at the centre i attended wanted to get the qualification..meaning getting the cert offered my cambridge..and by this we strived hard in studyin and learning..as a result..our english improves..and we learned skills needed in a university and also when we're working in future...ppl normally take IELTS as a requirement to further their studies... |
Jun 30 2007, 12:19 PM
65 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
my sis jus back from uk for summer holz... and she plan to take her english course at here... so izzit sure british council is better than cambridge?? cuz she tend to go for cambridge when i asked her...
Jun 11 2011, 10:55 PM
1 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Good Evening all,I would like to ask several question,I am 17 years old.And I am wondering is that British Council better than Cambridge?Furthermore,I am going to overseas after learning english.
Jun 12 2011, 06:52 PM
215 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hi guys, I am a currently taking Cambridge English classes. It seems that most of you don't have much information about it, so I will try my best to help you out
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of...OL_Examinations I am currently doing CAE, and I would say the standard is quite good. The teaching? It depends what kind of teacher you get. Don't expect an intensive class, as this is not one. If you are the kind of people who thinks that that the quality of teaching is no good because very little is accomplished in every class, the Cambridge English is not for you. QUOTE nope..the English course....they said if we got this cert..we don have to take TOEFL or IELTS if we wanna go overseas to study!! Yes, that is true in UK universities, you can also do that in some Australian, Singaporean universities, but it depends on the university you are interested in applying. Check the admissions webpage of the univeristy to find out more. |
Jun 12 2011, 07:17 PM
1,253 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Please do not accuse Cambridge of possessing a weak English skill, since Cambridge is a prestige university with high reputation in the English sector.. Instead, blame Cambridge centers Malaysian branch. Do not compare them, since both of the examinations are the same, the ESOL you take in the British Council is from Cambridge International Examinations, which is a sector of Cambridge. Even the CIE A levels provided these are of Edexcel and Cambridge.. You can only compare the faculties and teachers. The teachers at Cambridge centers are hired Malaysians, therefore, still possessing Malaysian style of English and their regular procrastination. In addition, the fact that they're part timers indicates that's not their main pot of rice, so they don't need to work extra hard.
While in British Council, the teachers are hired from English speaking countries, whose native language is English. Even if they're losers back then, they'll still be professionals here because English's their first language. Therefore, their teaching is much much better. However, if you're just pursuing the recognition of the certificates, both are the same no matter where you take your examinations, because every sites will eventually report the scores back to Cambridge for evaluation. |
Jun 13 2011, 03:09 PM
215 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(reconnaissance @ Jun 12 2011, 07:17 PM) Please do not accuse Cambridge of possessing a weak English skill, since Cambridge is a prestige university with high reputation in the English sector.. Instead, blame Cambridge centers Malaysian branch. Do not compare them, since both of the examinations are the same, the ESOL you take in the British Council is from Cambridge International Examinations, which is a sector of Cambridge. Even the CIE A levels provided these are of Edexcel and Cambridge.. You can only compare the faculties and teachers. The teachers at Cambridge centers are hired Malaysians, therefore, still possessing Malaysian style of English and their regular procrastination. In addition, the fact that they're part timers indicates that's not their main pot of rice, so they don't need to work extra hard. This is not quite true. There are quite a number of teachers of foreign nationality, and even local teachers are quite good in teaching, sometimes better! At least thats the way in my center -- Cambridge English For LifeWhile in British Council, the teachers are hired from English speaking countries, whose native language is English. Even if they're losers back then, they'll still be professionals here because English's their first language. Therefore, their teaching is much much better. However, if you're just pursuing the recognition of the certificates, both are the same no matter where you take your examinations, because every sites will eventually report the scores back to Cambridge for evaluation. QUOTE Go to british council, never go to cambrigde! All my fren who went to Cambridge r always come back wit nothing learnt! I don't know about other centers, but there are only 9 certified centers in Malaysia, 6 in KL and 2 in Selangor and 1 in Penang. Are you sure that you called the right center? The one you called might be bogus. check it here:British council is better, the cambridge's salemen is totally sux, They call my fren... Cambridge:"Hello, Cambridge Languge center here, R u having any english course now?" Fren:"No, but I think i still can cope with it." Cambridge:"Hav u been think of taking any english lesson?" fren:"Erm, nope, as i said, I still can cope with it." Cambridge:"U think ur english very good izit? Y so proud of urself?" Fren:"...." Then end ....... So impolite! People dun1 ten dun1 lah, y want force people...still ask people:"u think ur english very good?"....-.-" N they did call me too after my fren case, so when they say they r cambridge, i just say no thanks bye.... Within British council, Cambridge, Erican, British Council has the highest reputation.... http://cambridgeesol-centres.org/centres/s...ion=ALL&=Search This post has been edited by EducationABC: Jun 13 2011, 03:12 PM |
Nov 26 2012, 10:19 AM
21 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(EducationABC @ Jun 13 2011, 03:09 PM) This is not quite true. There are quite a number of teachers of foreign nationality, and even local teachers are quite good in teaching, sometimes better! At least thats the way in my center -- Cambridge English For Life EducationABC, which Camabridge English for Life centre are you studying? How much is the course fee for CAE?I don't know about other centers, but there are only 9 certified centers in Malaysia, 6 in KL and 2 in Selangor and 1 in Penang. Are you sure that you called the right center? The one you called might be bogus. check it here: http://cambridgeesol-centres.org/centres/s...ion=ALL&=Search |
Nov 29 2012, 12:58 AM
1,052 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Hi Im frm Cambridge English for Life puchong branch and have just completed my Cambridge CAE course last week and going to take the ESOL Exam this week @@
anyway what I have went through the whole year Is quite fun actually. The syllabus and everything. The teacher i had is a very experience local teacher and is also one of the examiners for the exam. I'm quite lucky to have him. the class is quite small so teacher can have an eye on all of us. and before we got started we have to undergo a placement test to see how is your English. So it's quite professional actually. This post has been edited by hyunterx: Nov 29 2012, 01:03 AM |
Nov 29 2012, 11:31 AM
6 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
u stay at where..???our centre provide the english courses from university of cambridge..if u live at johor bahru u can came to get more information about the english courses..
Nov 29 2012, 12:47 PM
215 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
I would advise people not to take up Ira TouchLearning's English courses. The poster does not have a good command of English and it would be detrimental to any one who wants to learn English.
QUOTE u stay at where..???our centre provide the english courses from university of cambridge..if u live at johor bahru u can came to get more information about the english courses.. One can see very glaring errors in the above quoted.If Ira has a good command of English, the sentence should read - » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « It is shameful that you are trying to advertise for English courses when your command of the language is atrocious. Please learn proper grammar, punctuation and sentence structure before you advertise for an English language course. |
Nov 29 2012, 05:46 PM
2,406 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: bandar Sunway |
A Level General paper is pretty interesting paper i think, covers almost every area of general knowledge and of course grammar,vocabulary
accepted in some uni as meeting the english language pre-req |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:08 AM |