Cambridge English, anyone??

EducationABC
post Jun 12 2011, 06:52 PM

215 posts

Hi guys, I am a currently taking Cambridge English classes. It seems that most of you don't have much information about it, so I will try my best to help you out smile.gif . There are many levels in the Cambridge English classes, which you can find more about them over here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of...OL_Examinations

I am currently doing CAE, and I would say the standard is quite good. The teaching? It depends what kind of teacher you get. Don't expect an intensive class, as this is not one. If you are the kind of people who thinks that that the quality of teaching is no good because very little is accomplished in every class, the Cambridge English is not for you.

nope..the English course....they said if we got this cert..we don have to take TOEFL or IELTS if we wanna go overseas to study!!

Yes, that is true in UK universities, you can also do that in some Australian, Singaporean universities, but it depends on the university you are interested in applying. Check the admissions webpage of the univeristy to find out more.

EducationABC
post Jun 13 2011, 03:09 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(reconnaissance @ Jun 12 2011, 07:17 PM)
Please do not accuse Cambridge of possessing a weak English skill, since Cambridge is a prestige university with high reputation in the English sector.. Instead, blame Cambridge centers Malaysian branch. Do not compare them, since both of the examinations are the same, the ESOL you take in the British Council is from Cambridge International Examinations, which is a sector of Cambridge. Even the CIE A levels provided these are of Edexcel and Cambridge.. You can only compare the faculties and teachers. The teachers at Cambridge centers are hired Malaysians, therefore, still possessing Malaysian style of English and their regular procrastination. In addition, the fact that they're part timers indicates that's not their main pot of rice, so they don't need to work extra hard. sleep.gif
While in British Council, the teachers are hired from English speaking countries, whose native language is English. Even if they're losers back then, they'll still be professionals here because English's their first language. Therefore, their teaching is much much better.
However, if you're just pursuing the recognition of the certificates, both are the same no matter where you take your examinations, because every sites will eventually report the scores back to Cambridge for evaluation. sleep.gif Please do some research.
This is not quite true. There are quite a number of teachers of foreign nationality, and even local teachers are quite good in teaching, sometimes better! At least thats the way in my center -- Cambridge English For Life

Go to british council, never go to cambrigde! All my fren who went to Cambridge r always come back wit nothing learnt!

British council is better, the cambridge's salemen is totally sux,

They call my fren...

Cambridge:"Hello, Cambridge Languge center here, R u having any english course now?"
Fren:"No, but I think i still can cope with it."
Cambridge:"Hav u been think of taking any english lesson?"
fren:"Erm, nope, as i said, I still can cope with it."
Cambridge:"U think ur english very good izit? Y so proud of urself?"
Fren:"...."

Then end .......

So impolite! People dun1 ten dun1 lah, y want force people...still ask people:"u think ur english very good?"....-.-"

N they did call me too after my fren case, so when they say they r cambridge, i just say no thanks bye....

Within British council, Cambridge, Erican, British Council has the highest reputation....
I don't know about other centers, but there are only 9 certified centers in Malaysia, 6 in KL and 2 in Selangor and 1 in Penang. Are you sure that you called the right center? The one you called might be bogus. check it here:

http://cambridgeesol-centres.org/centres/s...ion=ALL&=Search

This post has been edited by EducationABC: Jun 13 2011, 03:12 PM

0.0141sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:00 AM