2019 - Streamyx Internet bottleneck, The Legendary LCP terminated by peer

TSAnime4000
post Jan 15 2019, 12:01 AM, updated 7y ago

2,399 posts

Hello everyone,

Here I want to tell a story of my unsolvable issue with Streamyx 8Mbps, sorry for my bad grammar English, lol.

You all can reproduce same issue as I facing...
If we together keep reporting to TM, it might accelerate installing Unifi or pull fiber...

If you remember, Oct 2018 and This Post, I facing frequent disconnect when internet heavy use, like Scheduled Whatsapp Backup, Cloud Sync, etc... This disconnect way... to frequent, not like before, looking into Asus SysLog, this what I get:

As expected, I get disconnect every 3 to 10 minute!

Before I make a report, to make sure issue is not my problem, so I run several test:
1. Test without splitter, a bridge modem, run iperf (dual test)
2. Test without splitter, non bridge modem, port forward, run iperf (dual test)
3. Change Password
4. Take a good SNR Margin and Line Attenuation

Next step, make a report TM and CFM
The day after tomorrow, a nice technician guy come, take a SNR Margin reading... looking perfect, high as near 30dB, however, he replace a copper wire FOR FREE, then run same test, still disconnect.

Report still open, technician come again, this time, he lend me ZTE ZXHN H267A modem for a day, so I run same test for whole day, still disconnect...

The technician stuck, he do anything he could, and he done very good job, he tell me this is TM fault, so he close a report, then I proceed to create issue at MCMC

At this time,
I prepare every evidence, like: Video, Wireshark and Syslog

Wireshark diagnostic, an interesting finding~
CODE
Filter: pppoe || pppoed || lcp || pap || ipcp

04:25:c5:96:f7:63 is Huawei IBRS
a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f is My VyOS PC using Intel Server LAN

CODE
04:25:c5:96:f7:63 => a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f [PPP LCP]: Echo Request
a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f => 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 [PPP LCP]: Echo Reply
04:25:c5:96:f7:63 => a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f [PPP LCP]: Termination Request
a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f => 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 [PPP LCP]: Termination Acknowledge
a0:36:9f:34:a5:6f => 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 [PPPoED ]: Active Discovery Terminate (PADT)

Wireshark tell me, TM purposely disconnect user when bandwidth fully utilised!

After that, I had to limit the speed in half for DL and UP, so I dont get disconnect.

28/Dec/2018,
Almost 3 month later, TM come to my house, they are not regular Technician, checking how I setup the network, no problem so far, show them how can disconnect, still, not my fault, they see 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 (Huawei) tell client to disconnect, and check if got Taman I live got Unifi Project and Try pull fiber nearby Unifi DB. I have several Unifi signature, I gave to him.

03/Jan/2019,
I gather some evidence, install VyOS and I wrote a script that record every pppoe0 reconnect until I unable to login streamyx, pppoe0 tell port not found, try using Windows, same error, I guess 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 blocking from begin discovered!

04/Jan/2019,
TM send vendor to check 04:25:c5:96:f7:63 (Huawei) what the cause.

07/Jan/2019,
TM take 5 disconnect sample for them to check

11/Jan/2019,
TM come to my house again, this time they bring Netis VDSL2/ADSL2+ modem, and take 5 disconnect sample.

At this point, disconnect still occur...

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Jan 1 2019, 11:54 AM)

maybe try ask them to increase your dsl cap to 12000kbps
Asking to increase port speed, is not possible... Even change ANNEX_A to ANNEX_M

TM guy suggest, cut internet speed in half (5mbps/256kbps), including upload speed, this will give 10mbps huge buffer!

After long discuss, TM wont install VDSL2+ DSLAM, this for kampung area only. Pull Unifi cable nearby Taman is no-go.

Upon checking local TM, now my Taman now under Unifi Project, expected early August arrive
Conclusion,
1. TM wont fix streamyx
2. Taman I live is now under Unifi Project, expected August 2019
3. Rebate every month until Unifi arrive (RM140 / 8mbps = RM17.50 x 5mbps = RM87.5)

To reproduce same effect:
1. You need an Public IP Address, so you can test CCTV or remote access
2. You need a decent ADSL2+ Modem (ANNEX_A/10240kbps/640kbps)
3. You need open a Port Forward, allow iperf to Download
4. You need a iperf.exe
5. A iperf.exe server (I have one, PM me for command-line & server)

Get a evidence if disconnect is happen
1. Record a video about modem LED go red or light off (disconnect)
2. Turn modem as Bridge, use Windows PPPoE to dail
3. Open Wireshark, monitor LAN where modem is connected, apply filter: pppoe || pppoed || lcp || pap || ipcp
4. Start connecting (PPPoE Dail)
5. Run iperf in Dual Test (Download, Uplaod)
6. Screenshot or save captured packet like this:

Once you have enough evidence, make a report to TM and MCMC.
If you want to accelerate Unifi to come, get a signature that your Taman want Unifi.

Done...

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jan 20 2019, 12:01 PM
imalmighty
post Jan 15 2019, 09:54 AM

mic test
729 posts

So does TM really disconnect streamyx users at will?
TSAnime4000
post Jan 15 2019, 10:36 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Jan 15 2019, 09:54 AM)
So does TM really disconnect streamyx users at will?
Yes...
powerwoot
post Jan 15 2019, 10:45 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

How bout your other neighbors that connected to the same network, same problem of disconnections?
TSAnime4000
post Jan 15 2019, 10:57 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 15 2019, 10:45 AM)
How bout your other neighbors that connected to the same network, same problem of disconnections?
Yea, I visit several home to who using 8mbps, yeah, still disconnect.

Technician come and try change port, still same effect, which is whole taman is effected
danieln
post Jan 15 2019, 11:03 AM

1,306 posts

well, if you are lucky to have the taman infra to be KO then good, but for places where the infra is still working then you can dream on for the upgrade as don't expect them to automatically do it
SilentVampire
post Jan 15 2019, 11:07 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

The only thing left to do is start implementing Unifi in your area and remove all the old copper cabling. 7 more months to go, bro. My other house in Penang finally will install Unifi next week after 7 years waiting, so I know how you feel.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Jan 15 2019, 11:08 AM
TSAnime4000
post Jan 15 2019, 11:26 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ Jan 15 2019, 11:03 AM)
well, if you are lucky to have the taman infra to be KO then good, but for places where the infra is still working then you can dream on for the upgrade as don't expect them to automatically do it
Yea, 3 month waiting to be fix, turn out cannot fix,
refuse to increase port speed, hell even change ANNEX mode from A to M

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 15 2019, 11:07 AM)
The only thing left to do is start implementing Unifi in your area and remove all the old copper cabling. 7 more months to go, bro. My other house in Penang finally will install Unifi next week after 7 years waiting, so I know how you feel.
Lucky you next week... hahah...

Yea, because of this rare and unique issue, TM guy ask Unifi Project to help, put my Taman under it, and was now, I hope TM guy dont give false hope! Because I live by surrounding Unifi Taman.

TM want town convert to Unifi, since budget goes to TNB, this will working very slow

However, MCMC case still Open, I need go to TMpoint to redeem rebate until Unifi arrive

---

I wanted other 8mbps streamyx user to replicate of my test, see what outcome,
still same Huawei (04:25:c5:96:f7:63) give you disconnect?
ericong77
post Jan 15 2019, 03:29 PM

140 posts

Reading the date in your first post, didn't know you came from the future. LOL
danieln
post Jan 15 2019, 04:49 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 15 2019, 11:07 AM)
which part of penang?
SilentVampire
post Jan 15 2019, 04:53 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ Jan 15 2019, 04:49 PM)
which part of penang?
Balik Pulau lol, so last place you would expect to have Unifi.
danieln
post Jan 15 2019, 05:30 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 15 2019, 04:53 PM)
Balik Pulau lol, so last place you would expect to have Unifi.
vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

my place still nothing
SilentVampire
post Jan 15 2019, 05:53 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ Jan 15 2019, 05:30 PM)
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

my place still nothing
Which part of Penang are you in?
PJng
post Jan 15 2019, 08:24 PM

12,039 posts

2018, suddenly dec 2019
TSAnime4000
post Jan 15 2019, 09:58 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(ericong77 @ Jan 15 2019, 03:29 PM)
Reading the date in your first post, didn't know you came from the future. LOL
QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 15 2019, 08:24 PM)
2018, suddenly dec 2019
hahaha, write middle of night~ forgot to re-read xD
hashtag2016
post Jan 19 2019, 02:28 PM

499 posts

TS... confusing with the year 2018 and 2019... please fix it.
btw, I do believe I ever saw similar incidents like yours (streamyx with CGN NAT ), many many years ago ..
I think I temporarily get around with it by limited the total upload speed(in the modem load balance) and disabled the IGMP Proxy (If my memory serve me right) from WAN setting.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jan 19 2019, 02:34 PM
SUSpakji
post Jan 20 2019, 01:30 PM

1,386 posts

mine stuck streamyx 4mbps only no unifi my area Penang Georgetown 10200\
unable to get 8mbps due infra distance long sad.gif

to bad already waiting 7year more then

This post has been edited by pakji: Jan 20 2019, 01:31 PM
TSAnime4000
post Jan 20 2019, 07:51 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Jan 19 2019, 02:28 PM)
TS... confusing with the year 2018 and 2019... please fix it.
btw, I do believe I ever saw similar incidents like yours (streamyx with CGN NAT ), many many years ago ..
I think I temporarily get around with it by limited the total upload speed(in the modem load balance) and disabled the IGMP Proxy (If my memory serve me right)  from WAN setting.
the date is fixed hahaha

TM guy told me, only way to fix temporary is limit both Download and Upload,

for example, DSL Line Rate 10240kbps DL, 640kbps UP
half these speed in Bandwidth Limiter to, 5120kbps DL, 320kbps UP
which mean, give more buffer for ATM stream

problem is, how do I claim rebate for speed cut?

asking to downgrade account to 4mbps, TM said will lead DSL Line Rate limit to 5120kbps DL, 512kbps UP.
10mbps port only for 8mbps streamyx...

damn it...

QUOTE(pakji @ Jan 20 2019, 01:30 PM)
mine stuck streamyx 4mbps only no unifi my area Penang Georgetown 10200\
unable to get 8mbps due infra distance long  sad.gif

to bad already waiting 7year more then
Try overload your streamyx see got any disconnect, then make a complain, until TM dont know what to do.

as you know, TM wont fix streamyx

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jan 20 2019, 07:53 PM
TSAnime4000
post Apr 2 2019, 10:44 PM

2,399 posts

TM still not fix disconnect issue...

disconnect time, just perfect

QoS wont help...

Time when PPPoE disconnect, I just pay the bill

IP Address, Old and New, TM will have this record, I not lying !
CODE

175.140.148.226 (old)
118.100.240.248 (recent)

junclj
post Apr 3 2019, 03:11 PM

2,347 posts

This is the telephone copper line issue. Need to call technician come to check or may need to replace new cable.
2. Taman I live is now under Unifi Project, expected August 2019
I think better just wait for Unifi arrive into your house area. Fiber cable is more stable, I have no issue with it since I upgrade to Unifi in 2016.

0.0239sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:22 AM