4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

hawk1lo
post Jan 29 2019, 06:37 PM

33 posts

speaking of choosing grab driver as long term career, even work as waiter/bartender there is some career path senior/assistant manager/manager. If just grab driver straight away manager, but manage oneself only and that's all lol.
hawk1lo
post Feb 11 2019, 05:27 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(zinglicious @ Feb 11 2019, 03:03 PM)
My sauces of information comes from the real up close and personal interaction where I lepak in the KLIA chatterfield. I would take a pee and puff with the drivers and at the NGV gas station where there is long Q of taxi fellas. Many of them would asked me how to and what the cost is to convert thier Teks1M into private use since mine was a spot on ex taxi without the neon signage.  And when riders said they are also ex Grabbers or ex Ubermen recounting thier experience. Some still driving to supplement thier incomes. Just 1 would bragged about thousands he is making made driving zig zag siang malam. I asked him if he ever thought of being in the medical risks the way he drives without proper rest and exercise in peanut jams. Just by holding his pee, he may gets kidney stones. Then there is one middle age guy who is driving with signs of stroke risks. I asked him about it and he said he suffered stroke attack a year back. Told him to seek the medical advice from his consulting doctor whether he should continue driving part time as his condition would risk with more serious of brain haemorrhage. I gave him the parting advice as a rider  if he needs to drive as part time, the least he could do is to get down and boogie with exercise his feet in every hour or two of driving. After all, he cannot afford to be sick and down with future stroke attack.  console.gif 

One Malay chap was the most detailed of them all. He would jot down in his daily journal every single sens of fares and tips and subtract all those cost from servicing, tyres pancit to petrol. After 1 year, he gave up ehailing where he is a private chauffer to ferry a Datuk son to school. In just 6 hours on the job and just probably 1 hour of driving, he is earning 80% as a Grabbie full time siang malam. And he makes much more where he goes to be a Burger Man at the stall near his home.  He works 5 days a week in both of his jobs.  cool2.gif

A few of them lost thier jobs in the O & G industry and got to drive to raise fund for thier family. However there is one who is driving brand new BMW picking hotties in the name of raising charity fund. If he goes clubbing, his wife would be looking high and low for him. But since he said he is doing a good cause picking riders, his wife was being CONvinced.  devil.gif
lol definitely you cant spell convince without CON
hawk1lo
post Mar 4 2019, 09:24 AM

33 posts

Not too proud of myself but i guess i finally did that rider coming, walk away cancel thing.

Reached PUP, pressed arrived
rider : will be there in a few minutes
me : lol
rider : that's right
me (right???) : ok

the trip was to KL at night and i felt reluctant as minutes go by, hopefully passenger really no show up coz i planned to head home already (home is opposite direction of travel). Just reached the 5th minute i moved away and i think i saw rider walking from the corridor a far. While leaving cancel because passenger did not show up. Not too sure if there are other drivers like that too

hawk1lo
post Mar 4 2019, 05:58 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(zinglicious @ Mar 4 2019, 05:03 PM)
5 minutes for me to press no show for those who either call or message me at last minutes by saying I am coming down plse wait, blah blah blah..... If they dun respect the drivers time and effort to be there, forget about it. And the worst offenders are those who are in the malls or condo where they are no waiting or parking spaces like KLCC to say they are coming out from shopping or shower. sumore ask for extra minutes. tongue.gif

The only time I would have waited is when they call me the instant I press I have arrived - and I look at the designation they are heading. I dun care if they are going anywhere except to clinic or hospital. I dun mind to wait 10 to  20 minutes because they are being medically compromised. Once I even carried a fainted lady to the clinic and at other time to check in the rider as a patient to ER to get immediate attention for acute cardiovascular condition.  innocent.gif 

It is my rules of engagement of 5 minutes waiting which is also Grab law and order to get paid without losing your AR. And after 5 minutes, I just love to look at the faces of riders when they get down to see thier rides got cancelled. And I got the comfort of knowing the next driver dun have to wait when they pick up these riders.  bruce.gif
later the rider rate low star because unhappy about grab lol
hawk1lo
post Mar 5 2019, 09:33 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(elroses @ Mar 5 2019, 10:16 AM)
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singap..._medium=twitter

SG gonna implement cancellation fee towards riders. As expected, riders feedback are disastrous. Instead of attacking grab, they vent their anger towards driver. Usual replies are such "if driver cancel then we get $4?" "There's a cancel button so it's up to us to choose our driver suka hati" "what if the driver is the one who asks us to cancel?" "driver suka2 cancel can, we cancel kena punish?!"

Then this one comment crack me up. He said that drivers should not accept booking when they are not even dropping off current passenger yet. Guy doesn't even know the concept of b2b. Such a privileged person.

Your thoughts?
About driver asking rider cancel, who should cancel actually, its pretty grey area sometimes. Rider feel that driver cannot accommodate their requirement thus driver should cancel, while driver feel rider is being ridiculous and they should cancel rclxub.gif

B2B accept booking before dropping is kinda a hit and miss. For me the most ideal condition will be dropping and picking up at the exact same place, which is quite impossible other than those general public places, mall, lrt stations etc.

Its understandable that the frustration of rider, when they saw that their driver went to drop off other place, sometimes take a long time due to entrance problem, bad route, or rider cant find location etc. They thought a direct driver will be faster (maybe they are wrong). But this one will be all about grab algorithm.
hawk1lo
post Mar 5 2019, 06:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(AegonTagaryen @ Mar 5 2019, 04:22 PM)
Happened to me today!

7.00 AM, after dropped off a passanger at Titiwangsa, I received another ping from an Indian passenger named Vijay (bukan nama sebenar) at about 1 km from my dropped off location. So I quickly go to the area to pickup Vijay.

When I reach at Vijay's condominium, 2 Indian guy waving at me and enter my car. I greeted “Good morning Mr. Vijay”, and he replied “Good morning to you too”. I quickly pressed pickup and drove to the location -  HKL.

The traffic on Jalan Tun Razak was heavy and one of the passenger told me to use another road to avoid traffic. Since CRAP told us to negotiate with the passenger for the best road to choose, I just follow.

When I realised that I was heading to Ulu Klang via bulatan Pahang, I knew something is really wrong. And suddenly I saw GRAB's number calling and Vijay texted me "Where are you? I am late for work!!" , I think I know what is going on. I started to run several plan on how to deal with 2 big, half drunk and hairy Indian guy in my car.

Not more than 1 min,  the one who sit beside me said “I think you already knew that we are not your passenger.." I was like "Shiiiiiit..", and I was really lucky when I saw a bus stop where many people is waiting for the bus. I quickly hit my brake and immediately open my door and get out of the car in front of everyone and tell " Get the fuck out of my car!!". The passengers freaked out, swiftly get out from my car and ran away. I was panicked and didn't really want to kejar them.

While still shaking, I called Vijay, explained and apologized. Vijay was furious because he was late and he could not get another ride while I still haven't 'drop him off' in the App. But at least he knew I wasn't purposely did that and he forgive me. I cannot call GRAB while still on the ride and I have to press 'drop off' before the Call Us option available on the screen. And the GRAB Helpline operator said I should not end the ride, so he could cancel the trip. I think GRAB has no idea how their app's works.

The option to call police is never been in my head because there is no way I could navigate to the option while driving and these two crook are watching me.

What a shitty day.
shit man, looks like need to verify from the customer where they are heading instead next time. I wonder what those guys doing in your car then, since they told u they are not and run away.

hawk1lo
post Mar 11 2019, 09:50 AM

33 posts

it's a good thing if coming up taxi fare will be strictly regulated by app. No more scams and they will know actually eliminating e-hailing also affects their income.

True that if gov regulate the e-hailing industry by making it very close to taxi services, it defeats the purpose of having non taxi drivers to have e-hailing anyways, looks like the only difference will be a better car but I wonder how many drivers are willing to convert their private vehicles into commercial vehicle, which i heard lowers the resale value by a lot, plus giving so much commission to e-hailing providers while taxi don't need to.

I am quite surprised there's no drastic actions taken by all other e-hailing companies other than grab announcing some statements here and there but still not helping. Its very clear than after July number of online part timers will plummet.
hawk1lo
post Mar 12 2019, 02:25 PM

33 posts

i m thinking one of the main reason for this " government regulation" is that gov never get anything from grab? no income tax, no registration fee, no whatsoever that give government the income
hawk1lo
post Mar 15 2019, 10:07 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Artak @ Mar 15 2019, 01:27 AM)
guys is it just me or its extreemely hot thesee past couple weeeks? I reaelizeed ive been consuming at least 2 to 3 bottles of large mineeral waters everyday and that hasnt iinclude sweet driinks and coffees, and yet I still crave for driinks >.<
better go check up, unless you are exposed to the hotness and sweat a lot
hawk1lo
post Mar 20 2019, 02:31 PM

33 posts

For me the cancellation fee really have to depend on scenarios, possible situations:
1. Drivers reached PUP, press have arrived, and disappear or make rounds say cant see rider, driver cancel to get Rm3 (Rider WTF, if they are really waiting at the PUP need some system for this)
2. Drivers reached PUP, press i have arrived, but msg no reply, call rider no pickup, wait and driver cancel no show to get Rm3 (must be compensated)
3. Drivers reached PUP, press i have arrived, msg/call rider say pls wait for >5minutes. Driver reply ok and cancel just the 5 minute mark or just saw them walking over and get RM3 (Driver and Rider WTF, need compensated but maybe minute basis )
4. Driver otw to PUP, near dy rider say wrong location and cancel. (driver WTF)
5. Drivers reached PUP, press i have arrived, msg/call, sounds like rider set wrong pick up point, rider cancel within 5 minute after reached PUP and driver get nothing (Driver WTF)
6. Drivers reached PUP, press i have arrived, msg/call rider say wait >5 minutes, driver say no, rider say ok sorry, rider cancel (if within 5 min, Driver WTF)
7. Drivers reached PUP, press i have arrived, msg/call rider say wait >5 minutes, driver say no, rider say you cannot then you cancel, rider don't care use other phone. (currently compensated which is ok)

Any other scenario? i hit by no5 yesterday damn dulan. Maybe time counted from accepted till cancellation regardless of reach PUP wont have compensation
hawk1lo
post Mar 22 2019, 11:16 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(AegonTagaryen @ Mar 21 2019, 08:07 PM)
I have another scenario.

2 Banglas passenger are comparing price with their phone. 1 Bangla requests a ride during peak hour, the driver took 10 mins to reach PUP. 50 meters to PUP, passenger cancel the trip (Driver WTF). Within one minute later, another Bangla request for a ride with the SAME destination, but this time the fare is lower than the first one (Driver again WTF).

Maybe if Passenger cancels the trip within 5 mins, they will be banned for 30 mins just like when we ignore a ping.
Is it compensated if rider cancelled after more than 5 minutes driver otw?
hawk1lo
post Mar 25 2019, 09:19 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(ammaranas @ Mar 24 2019, 09:50 PM)
I'm a fresh grad and planning to buy a new 1.5AV Myvi for personal use and do part-time grab after work (sometimes) and on weekends.
I landed a job where I get RM300 monthly for car allowance. So I'm thinking of generating at least RM400 a month doing Grab to pay off the Myvi which will cost RM700 monthly. Can anyone advice whether it is a good idea to do Grab part time on weekends with a new car? Of course sayang a bit, but is it going to be worth it?
For my case i drive part time and i have car allowance + new car includes free maintenance for 5 years or 100,000 km. I loan for 5 years so that generally i can think it like, for this 5 years i only pay loan no need worry bout maintenance at all. (other than tyre change)

My friends also ask me not sayang meh use new car? For me ok la, i make it nice, comfy and clean if didn't get to share to other ppl sayang also right lol. Although i am not paying directly for maintenance, but i can't hit the 20,000 km a year so my "free maintenance" confirmed to be less than 5 years.

So need to consider maintenance also, more you drive, maintenance fee more thus to include the maintenance fee to your monthly payment. i tried to limit myself to 10,000km per 6 month (my car free service interval) but when pings keep rolling in, you won't wanna stop lol

After July, i can finally hit below 10,000km per 6 month maybe lol
hawk1lo
post Mar 26 2019, 09:21 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Mar 26 2019, 05:05 AM)
The cancellation still got loophole.

When traffic smooth can reach pup/almost before 5min kena cancel by rider no compensate even though prove the case.

Another one we are on the way, but heavy jam. After 5 minute got cancel. Then cs blame us we don't make effort or fail to reach pup on time.

Yealoh.. this one fall under what%, 0.001%?
Then just leave it like that...
Yeah not too clear about the system as i rant in my previous post hmm
-Accepted job, reach pup and pressed "i m here", but rider put wrong PUP, stay silent after msg cant see me, cancel Within 5 minutes i get nothing

then at saturday
-Accepted job, reach pup, press i m here, a foreigner ask if i can deliver only groceries, i declined and rider cancelled himself, get compensated Rm3. I m pretty sure less than 5 minutes because i am really nearby.

Maybe also depends on reason?

hawk1lo
post Mar 27 2019, 11:47 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Mar 26 2019, 01:55 PM)
why decline groceries?

i did it once to a rider who use the service to send some parcel without him around.

is that illegal?
grab wont be responsible for anything that happen. Nah i m just prefer to stay out of trouble, it could be white powders at worst and i saw few cartons of egg. later pecah i have to tanggung lol
hawk1lo
post Apr 4 2019, 11:50 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(tanmy2 @ Apr 3 2019, 06:54 AM)
I read from the puspakom website on the inspection for ehailing vehicles. One of the items that they'll be checking is the light transmission on our windows. Most of us who are using our own cars will definitely have window tint and most of our window tint on our windscreen will fail the test. Any ideas how to overcome it besides removing the tint prior to inspection and then re-tinting it back.. This way will cause a lot of money and we need to inspect the car annually. My car is more than 3 years old so I got to send it for inspection.
My last saga pass Puspakom with those GROUPON Rm200++ claiming JPJ compliance tint. Unless ur tint is known to be illegal then what to do.

If your Tint provider is JPJ compliant, last time the shop ppl tell me if kena summon, bring to them and they pay. But if puspakom no pass, dono they pay what.
hawk1lo
post Apr 5 2019, 01:46 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(kratosgrab @ Apr 5 2019, 12:57 PM)
i foresee there will be less drivers on the road after ehailing regulations been implemented. Thus, fare will sure become higher due to less lembu. correct me if i'm wrong to say so... icon_rolleyes.gif
obviously drivers will be less, especially new drivers. Higher fare may not be just due to less lembu, factors like "regulation" and new hidden costs.

But then, has grab themselves aided drivers in any way for this July? So far all the PSV, puspakom, car insurance all personally covered. Grab just continue being a platform?
hawk1lo
post Apr 16 2019, 09:22 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 15 2019, 06:40 PM)
Grab is poor in handling rider complaints. Often they suspend the drivers first before conducting a thorough investigation.

But if you are suspended for high CR, you only have yourself to blame.

Nobody loves to drive to KLCC during peak hours. But your choice is not between good jobs and bad jobs. It's between bad jobs and suspension.

Don't make it sound like grabbing is the worst job in the world. (Just earlier somebody talked about health risk.) If you are doing sales, you are bound to meet with bad customers. You can't just tell your boss, "I don't like him. I am not serving him." Grabbing is similar.
As a company, i think it's pretty general that they suspend any employee and conduct investigation later before anything worst happen once reported.
For general public and employer, it's for safety in case the driver really problematic and suspending it immediately (eg toxic drivers)
But for drivers who are innocent and got reported and suspended for long time, sure not happy lor.

Not too sure how they can handle it better, add more manpower?

hawk1lo
post Jul 18 2019, 09:04 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(tancth @ Jul 17 2019, 04:11 PM)
Guys, I will be taking the PSV exam this Saturday. I am required to bring completed JPJL8A form. What is that?
When you register? u get the notification from grab driver app?
i register since monday for this sat slot but till now no confirmation sad.gif
hawk1lo
post Jul 29 2019, 10:50 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(ANewcomer @ Jul 29 2019, 10:01 AM)
hi all, just asking about the rear passengers' seat belts, do you all ask the rear passengers to put on the seat belt? i read whatsapp message starting today police will be checking this.
no wonder my last few passengers used my rear seatbelt
one fella cant insert the seat belt into position after quite some tries (coz he inserted into the center one) and i tell him later i check. and the day after got my first 1 star rating. Can't think of any other possibility, i think that was it lol

hawk1lo
post Aug 5 2019, 09:41 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(lowfart @ Aug 5 2019, 10:18 AM)
am using asus zenfone max plus for grabbing like 15 months alrdy, still never give problem

P/s: i hang my pphone on the ac vent, phone always cold lol
same lol cooling for phone

But for all those who blames no Rm3 cancellation due to gps devices crappy , i really doubt it, coz google maps or grab app itself able to show we drivers are near the pick up point (just double check from both apps) , yet the app itself didn't prompt up this option. hmm.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2117sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:28 PM