Unifi speed upgrade scam for tel line (condo)user, Stop waiting for upgrade ask support now

TSwiller
post Jan 3 2019, 06:10 PM, updated 7y ago

219 posts

I use the word scam because I felt cheated. Sorry if inappropriate admin, you can read and decide is a scam or not.

My issue only applied for high-rise building/apartment/condo that using telephone line (VDSL technology) to conect unifi.

Here is what I am facing, I being paid extra rm40-50 for my 30mbps and waiting for 10x promised upgrade. I been talked to two supports within 1 month regarding my upgrade schedule and non of them can confirm the date. First support said I am eligible for 10x (300mbps) upgrade but not sure the actual date.

So today I had decided to take the rm129 (100mbps) package. I had done the research VDSL should able to run up to 100mbps and VDSL2 should go 300mbps.

Talk to the online support, than they said my building do not support 100mbps. They advise me go to TM point to ask for hidden non fiber package, the kind TM support also give me a hint said I can bargain the price around rm 119 for 30mbps. (Where is my eligible 10x now?)

So I went to midvally mall's TM point, they checked my account and show me their PC, from a drop down box, what I can choose is rm139 for *SAME* 30Mbps. Wa.ta.heck? They already know I can't get 10x but why the first support said OK?

Then, I said maybe you can offer me rm119 for 30mbps but the tmpoint ppl ask me go HQ to bargain.

Can you feel it? TM try to drag. They want you to pay and end up your building can't support the actual speed.

For any apartment/condo user, please check your building max speed and do not believe the *bs they say you eligible for upgrade! Please do not wait! Go ask them now!

PS I got all the conversation voice record and printscreen with online support. Maybe I should complaint to kpdnkk...

This post has been edited by willer: Jan 3 2019, 06:11 PM
PJng
post Jan 3 2019, 07:28 PM

12,047 posts

I was able down form 199 to 119 high rise 30 mbps
I did not argue anything on tmpoint damansara
YoungMan
post Jan 3 2019, 08:10 PM

6,817 posts

Bro, the support chat or call center cannot use one lah. They will just answer according to script, and you can only find out the truth when you go to TMpoint HQ. Even though you read online that VDSL2 can support, doesn't mean TM already using that technology in your condo. Why not push your condo management to upgrade the infra to Fibre? You also know that they have the power to do it instead of waiting for TM, because TM will concentrate on expanding to other area but hardly on upgrading infra on condo.
imalmighty
post Jan 3 2019, 08:29 PM

mic test
732 posts

Depends on how far u want to go. This is important. If the building has already been fiberized by TM, game over. U r stuck with TM. The thing about condo, put time and effort to lobby Time, imo, just my 2 cents, u wont regret it. If i were u, i'd rather TM never fiberize the building, let Time do it instead.

This post has been edited by imalmighty: Jan 3 2019, 08:29 PM
starlight
post Jan 3 2019, 08:39 PM

531 posts

I have similar experience. Today I called and they said new user not in the turboboost plan. I registered 39mbos rm139. The heck, I might as well take 100mbps rm129 only
yvliew
post Jan 3 2019, 08:41 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

went to tm point and ask for price reduce from 189. at the moment 50mbps .

The CS said can reduce to 129 and stay with 50mbps. Made changes on 24th Dec. Til now still pending. Made another complaint on 1st. Said will ask them to submit. TM is really blood sucking!! Business ethics is 0!

High rise and not support turbo. Max 50mbps they said.. so can't even normally apply RM129 100mbps..

This post has been edited by yvliew: Jan 3 2019, 08:46 PM
jolmy
post Jan 3 2019, 10:09 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

You cannot just go to any shop with the TMpoint sign.

There are 2 types of TMpoint:- The actual TMpoint, and the TMpoint TAD (TM Authorized Dealer)

You have to go to the actual TMpoint, this is where they may help you to switch to the hidden package.

As for the TAD, those are 3rd party resellers/dealers who represent TM and will not be able to help you. They basically earn commissions from signups & also provide bill payment service, etc. only. You can't even do termination of service there.

If you really want the real high speed Internet, suggest you talk to your condo mgmt, get any of your neighbors who are interested, with cooperation of your condo mgmt, try submit a request to TIME to provide Fiber service to your condo. It may or may not be successful but no harm trying.

QUOTE(willer @ Jan 3 2019, 06:10 PM)
So I went to midvally mall's TM point, they checked my account and show me their PC, from a drop down box, what I can choose is rm139 for *SAME* 30Mbps. Wa.ta.heck? They already know I can't get 10x but why the first support said OK?

TSwiller
post Jan 3 2019, 11:39 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(starlight @ Jan 3 2019, 08:39 PM)
I have similar experience. Today I called and they said new user not in the turboboost plan. I registered 39mbos rm139. The heck, I might as well take 100mbps rm129 only
should fight again!
TSwiller
post Jan 3 2019, 11:41 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Jan 3 2019, 10:09 PM)
You cannot just go to any shop with the TMpoint sign.

There are 2 types of TMpoint:- The actual TMpoint, and the TMpoint TAD (TM Authorized Dealer)
I suspected so.. thanks bro
TSwiller
post Jan 3 2019, 11:44 PM

219 posts

Theoretically my house unit can reach 106344 kbps (Attainable Rate), slightly above 100mbps.

tmr i will goto HQ to ask again....

---------------------------------------------------
from my RG router
Modulation Type VDSL2
Actual Rate(Up/Down) 9999/43999 kbps
Attainable Rate(Up/Down) 34816/106344 kbps
Noise Margin(Up/Down) 21.8/13 dB
Line Attenuation(Up/Down) 0.2/5.6 dB
Output Power(Up/Down) 9.8/13.6 dBm
Data Path(Up/Down) Interleaved/Interleaved
Interleave Depth(Up/Down) 167/1553
Interleave Delay(Up/Down) 4/7 ms
INP(Up/Down) 2/5.7 symbols
Profile 17a
Showtime Start 189 h 34 min 23 s
LinkEncap G.993.2_Annex_K_PTM
CRC Errors(Up/Down) 0/0
FEC Errors(Up/Down) 0/3273
squall0833
post Jan 4 2019, 10:54 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(willer @ Jan 3 2019, 11:44 PM)
Theoretically my house unit can reach 106344 kbps (Attainable Rate), slightly above 100mbps.

tmr i will goto HQ to ask again....

from my RG router
Modulation Type VDSL2
Actual Rate(Up/Down) 9999/43999 kbps
Attainable Rate(Up/Down) 34816/106344 kbps
Noise Margin(Up/Down) 21.8/13 dB
Line Attenuation(Up/Down) 0.2/5.6 dB
Output Power(Up/Down) 9.8/13.6 dBm
Data Path(Up/Down) Interleaved/Interleaved
Interleave Depth(Up/Down) 167/1553
Interleave Delay(Up/Down) 4/7 ms
INP(Up/Down) 2/5.7 symbols
Profile 17a
Showtime Start 189 h 34 min 23 s
LinkEncap G.993.2_Annex_K_PTM
CRC Errors(Up/Down) 0/0
FEC Errors(Up/Down) 0/3273
Unfortunately, 70% likely u will be stuck at 50Mbps package only,

Even though attainable rate shows can over 100Mbps, but raising actual rate might cause unstable vdsl connection

Correct me if im wrong, if that is similar how ADSL works but higher speed

0.0155sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:38 PM