Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

MUM
post Sep 11 2019, 10:34 AM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Sep 11 2019, 10:18 AM)
And don't get lured into a perceivably cheaper medical premium. There is chance that the insurance company has not reviewed pricing for long time, and then realised the money pool gets unsustainable. The only option is then reprice the premium.
Which mean what's cheap today may be more expensive than the competitors when they reprice. I think this happened recently with one of the insurance company.

While it is difficult to track, ideally we should see the repricing history of the insurance company. If the assumption is that every company will price the medical at the same price over the long term, then there is limited motivation to shop around.

Insurance is all about pooled risk, you need a sustainable pool (low claim, healthy participants, etc) for the pool the be sustainable and remains reasonably priced.
thumbup.gif Good reminder thumbsup.gif
MUM
post Sep 14 2019, 10:38 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(Godek @ Sep 14 2019, 11:40 AM)

I would like to get a quote for myself (31 years old, Male, Non-Smoker).

My requirement (not necessary under one policy) as per below:
1. 500k – Term Life Insurance (Death & TPD)
2. 250k – Partial & Permanent Disability (PPD)
3. 250k – Cancer
4. 250k – Critical illnesses
5. Non-Investment-Linked Insurance
6. Guaranteed yearly premium
7. 20 years - Coverage Term

Feel free to PM me for further detail.
Item# 6.....maybe as per post 1595... Page 80
Item # 7...why 20 yrs coverage? Isn't at 51 yrs old... That is the time when most would start to use the insurance coverage most?

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 14 2019, 08:32 PM)
Let say the policy owner, and the person covered is different person... what happens when the policy owner dies?
Does the policy owner also bought payor benefits rider at time of initial coverage purchase?
MUM
post Sep 15 2019, 09:22 AM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(Godek @ Sep 15 2019, 09:03 AM)
I need coverage until my children already finish the tertiary study.
Ok....since it is a term insurance you seek, then i guess you can stop anytime you want.....i think once monthly payment stopped, 1 month later coverage stop

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 15 2019, 09:24 AM
MUM
post Sep 16 2019, 09:48 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 16 2019, 11:35 AM)
Item 6: while unlikely, while the contribution for anugerah plus is level, the charges arent, prubsn may increase charges on ci and cancer. And you still need to pay higher eventually. Ya. It is level contribution for now. But they do not guarantee they wont change.

Item 7: i think you got some misunderstanding. There are investment-linked plan with 20 year term. Like anugerah plus.

Btw, if you want to buy online, many companies has as well. No just manulife. Mandated by bank negara.
not only the charges but the contribution (premium), may not be "permanently fixed" level....

Your Medic Protector contributions are not guaranteed regardless of the contribution option chosen (whether step-up or level).
We may revise the contribution and Tabarru’ due to unfavourable circumstances such as medical cost inflation and higher utilisation of medical services, at any point of time by giving you 30 days written notice.

https://www.prubsn.com.my/export/sites/prud...n_FA_110119.pdf

MUM
post Sep 17 2019, 11:21 AM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(Mr Awesome @ Sep 17 2019, 11:03 AM)
Hi everyone. Just hopping in hoping (no pun intended) all sifus can help me as i'm a super noobie (apologies in advanced)

So a little background info:

- 27, male, previously unemployed, will be employed starting Oct 2019

- I will start working abroad again starting October, but will come home every now and then to visit my family.
My question:

- Do i need a medical card?
since you will be working in overseas,...try to get one from there......as do you need it....does your employer provides it or is the coverage enough?
- My dad's policy is slightly different as he was the sole breadwinner last time, so he had extra protection like 20+ critical illness (17 years ago) and disability insurance but these were not listed in our policies so i'm guessing we (my mum, bro and i) are not insured against these stuff (?)
- is disability insurance = personal accident insurance ?
personal accidents is covering incidents happens due to accidents.....if the disability happens not due to accident, then how?
- Is this a health insurance or medical insurance? And the way i see it, no personal accident insurance is included?
most probably a medical insurance,.....to cover the hospital expenses if incidents happens.
- Should i upgrade/update this within AIA?
most probably you need to buy a new one ...as I think that policy is too "old" to upgrade.
- Should i switch to another insurance?
Insurance industries in Malaysia are regulated.....what is the reason to "switch" or "not to switch"? they are all about the same, just that the insurance agent is not same....your overseas insurance company may not be the same as the one in Malaysia too
- Where can i find the meaning for all these abbreviations (Life /TPD,CI,PA,CIS,R/B)
try google type of insurance or insurance jargon.....
maybe here too...
https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/insurance

That's all for now, sorry for the long posting, as i dont know where to start and i stumbled upon this forum accidentally and it's been mind-blowing reading all the thread. Thank you in advanced and happy Malaysia day guys!
while waiting for real insurance sifus to response,....i kay poh abit

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 17 2019, 11:31 AM
MUM
post Sep 19 2019, 08:19 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(wiwi @ Sep 19 2019, 06:33 PM)
Hi, I am doing a project.
I was wondering if anyone here has any access to the policy description by wording of critical illness in HongKong ?
Maybe ask from friends or relatives over there.

Thanks in advance
while waiting for responses from here or your friends or relatives in HK.....
I googled and found this....
hope it helps.

https://www.aia.com.hk/en/our-products/crit...protection.html
select the product you want....
click the brochure to read more
or click at Covered illness explained to know more....

more from google
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...Q4dUDCAU&uact=5

btw, good luck on yr project. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 19 2019, 08:19 PM
MUM
post Sep 19 2019, 08:32 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(wiwi @ Sep 19 2019, 08:26 PM)
I found these earlier.
But not the policy wordings.

Like eg, what does it mean by heart attack , stroke, brain operation and so on (what are the criteria that fulfill a claim).

I am looking for the wordings, the thick booklet that comes with the policy (that most people don't read)
oh, that thick book....yes no one reads that. thumbsup.gif
you read Chinese?
if yes try read this and tell what this is?
this is from Covered Illness explained link....
I cannot read Chinese thus unable to tell..

https://www.aia.com.hk/zh-cn/our-products/c...on/illness.html
MUM
post Sep 19 2019, 08:40 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(wiwi @ Sep 19 2019, 08:36 PM)
I found this page too.
But this is video.
I need the exact wordings..

Hope someone who has access to it could share it out.
hope you had your project completion contingency plan prepared

good luck
MUM
post Sep 27 2019, 12:11 PM

14,875 posts

chances of getting the Death/TPD claims for Malaysian age 70 above will be more.

why not get those that cover more than 70?

MUM
post Sep 27 2019, 12:28 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(joe8489 @ Sep 27 2019, 12:19 PM)
can be pushed to 80...but for maturity will also be equally pushed to 80......so the bonuses, etc for maturity will be pushed back also...
go for the max without much cost overrun.....(I would want it to be 85 biggrin.gif )

QUOTE(joe8489 @ Sep 27 2019, 12:22 PM)
cash value back is more for bonus / savings / emergency purpose when that age arrives....

payout sure important in case of death....

.....any advice boss / sifu?
for this aim "when age arrives"......there are many other more efficient vehicles than insurance
MUM
post Oct 2 2019, 06:03 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Oct 2 2019, 05:27 PM)
Do you think I should surrender some of my personal policies and consolidate into a single provider to reduce premium costs? I'm the sole provider for my wife and one child.
What is the % of your income is used for your personal insurances?
Will you be planning to stick with this employer for life?
Do you have housing loan? Are they covered by insurance like mrta / mlta sort of things too?
MUM
post Oct 2 2019, 06:47 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Oct 2 2019, 06:11 PM)
.............If I pay those premiums currently paid with cash bonuses too, it will be around like 4-5% of my income.
As you had mentioned in another post...cash bonuses won't last long if used it to pay the premium.....thus what is the total % of yr income from yr pocket every month is used to pay your personal insurances?

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 2 2019, 07:25 PM
MUM
post Oct 4 2019, 09:09 AM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Oct 4 2019, 08:58 AM)
Guys
I have a question,
Lets say i did surgery using insurance company A, can insurance company B see the claim?
while waiting for responses from real insurance sifus...
I googled and found this...
hope it can provides you with some info while you wait....

"...a second policy can act as a ‘top-up’ if your current policy limit isn’t enough to cover your medical bill."...
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/Insurance/S...nce-Policy.html
MUM
post Oct 6 2019, 05:46 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(darksin_90 @ Oct 6 2019, 05:40 PM)

Medical extender
Deductible amount - 120k
Overall annual limit - 1.2mil
No life time limit

My question is, does the medical extender really necessary?
hmm.gif to me,...it is all about risk mitigation...
how much % extra will you be paying for this "extender" in relation to your pay?
if by the time you need to use it, then it was a necessary....just like insurance.
it is really up to you and your risk mitigation view.

anyway, if you can afford it easily...then it is a good to have things.....
else,...just go for the basic coverage will do.

MUM
post Oct 6 2019, 10:40 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(Adam_Andy @ Oct 6 2019, 10:21 PM)
Hi Guys, I need your advice. My friend going to work as a courier guy for one of the online shopping company. The thing is he is not working for that company as an employee but something like contractor and that company will be the principal.

That online shopping is so famous and many expensive item sold on their platform. As courier guy for sure my friend will one day face something like item loss or whatsoever.

What insurance should he take to cover himself against any losses claimed by customers (either seller or buyer)? Should he buy Transit Insurance?

Actually, I dont really get the whole picture as I have yet read the terms and condition between him and the company.
I think it should be discussed and have it in writing between he and that company....
also just for info,...I was told that the PA insurance premium for him if he intent to have one would be many times more costly than others for he is travelling more often than others
MUM
post Oct 13 2019, 09:13 AM

14,875 posts

How to decide when to opt for a standalone medical plan

So what should a policyholder do? When choosing between a standalone medical plan and a medical rider, one way is to assess your financial habits. FA Advisory’s Liau points out that premiums for both plans are not fixed as they are subject to reviews and increments in future.
“If a person has proper financial planning, and the discipline to invest the premium difference between a standalone medical plan and an ILP with medical rider, then a standalone medical plan may be more suitable,” he says. By contrast, if a person doesn’t have the discipline to save and invest regularly, an ILP may be a better option as it is a form of forced savings/investment. The plan, he adds, could help the person invest the additional premium to offset future increment in health premiums.
The premium difference between a standalone medical plan and a medical rider is quite substantial until the policyholder turns 60. A 45-year-old policyholder who opts for a standalone medical plan with the same medical coverage pays an annual premium of only RM1,643 as opposed to RM4,596 for a medical rider, saving some RM3,000 a year.

more.....
http://www.focusmalaysia.my/Income/when-to...ne-medical-plan
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...Q4dUDCAU&uact=5

MUM
post Oct 18 2019, 04:55 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(sempcc @ Oct 18 2019, 04:47 PM)
I have come across this PRUmy child plus insurance from this link -- https://www.prudential.com.my/en/our-produc...umy-child-plus/
I would like to understand what does it mean by this Pregnancy Complications with GDM. -- <a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/10/18/5Vuaz5.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/10/18/5Vuaz5.md.png </a>
Does this mean that one must have one of the complications AND GDM in order to be reimbursed with additional rm1k (under Plan 2)?
So if just having GDM only, one would not be compensated at all? 

And if one already have GDM before having such policy, would she still be allowed to buy this policy?
Hope someone knowledgeable on this can assist on answering the above. Thanks.
hmm.gif I would ask Prudential by writing for issue that would have implication of official claim process.

MUM
post Oct 29 2019, 06:09 PM

14,875 posts

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery included to provides you with high medical coverage and access to treatment anywhere in the world.
= Oral and maxillofacial surgery specializes in surgery of the face, mouth, and jaws.

https://www.axa.com.my/international-health-insurance
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oral_and_maxillofacial_surgery

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 30 2019, 10:19 AM
MUM
post Nov 1 2019, 10:52 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(ahleemaju @ Nov 1 2019, 10:17 PM)
hi, i'd been introduce term life insurance that have no medical question.

should i declare my condition/detail for this type of insurance as well ?
read the product disclosure terms and conditions...
there should be some of the key terms and conditions that you should be aware of
example....Importance of disclosure, pre-existing conditions exclusions, etc, etc

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 1 2019, 11:14 PM
MUM
post Nov 1 2019, 11:38 PM

14,875 posts

QUOTE(ahleemaju @ Nov 1 2019, 11:20 PM)
i'd told agent my condition, but he didnot told me to declare anything.
this's the product

https://www.greateasternlife.com/my/en/pers...eat-love4u.html

https://www.greateasternlife.com/content/da...4u-brochure.pdf
from what i read, it didn't mention any medical requirment at all, but i feel like it'll have certain catch or hidden term that i should be aware of.
from those link.....

"The above is for general information only. It is not a contract of insurance. You are advised to refer to the sales illustration, Product Disclosure Sheet and sample policy documents for detailed important features and benefits of the plan before purchasing the plan. The exclusions and limitations of benefits highlighted above are not exhaustive. For further information, reference shall be made to the terms and conditions specified in the policy issued by Great Eastern Life."
&
Hassle-free enrolment with no medical underwriting
We’ve made it simple for you to obtain the protection you need. With no health questions asked and no medical examinations required, signing up for this plan is an easy process.
Note: Terms and conditions apply.
& also
The exclusions highlighted here are not exhaustive. Full details are available in the policy document.

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 1 2019, 11:40 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0755sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:39 AM