Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

MUM
post Apr 12 2019, 08:44 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Apr 12 2019, 01:53 AM)
You don't take investment-linked insurance plan (ILP) as an actual "investment". The actual benefit of ILP is to handle future increment of insurance charges thus see what I posted before this.
hmm.gif ever made the comparison by calculation?

assuming "everything" is the same, except the premium....

getting the non ilp and putting the differences of premium into a 6% pa vehicle, then getting that accumulated saving + % returns to pay for the cost differences of the premium increases in future.....
in the end, will it generate more "saving" than that similar ILP product?

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 12 2019, 08:45 AM
MUM
post Apr 12 2019, 09:21 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 9 2019, 11:20 PM)
What sort of insurance can I and should get if I am a 23 year old Male non-smoker, with a premium of maybe around RM200-250 per month? It was mentioned to cover a medical card first and then life and critical illness?
for those following this issue....more about TS and conditions as below.....

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 12 2019, 12:47 AM)
Yup my workplace does provide insurance, it is by AIA.
Its AIA Plan 150 and has personal accident plus term life. Term Life covers about RM100k and Personal Accident about RM150k. However if I am not mistaken it only actively covers when it occurs during 'work hours'.

I do not ride a bike, I drive a car to work. No known critical illness history in my family, be it father or mother side.

My job is a consultant.

You don't take bike thus very less chances of getting a serious accident.
your company provided you with PA and term life plans....hopefully this AIA 150 plan is a medical coverage plan....

On "What sort of insurance can I and should get?"

may I suggest that you think of this first before the above questions....

do you think your current employer's provided insurance coverage is enough in the next 5 yrs or more?
since your current insurance is provided only if you are with them....you will have any plan of leaving or can they terminate your employment?

hopefully the above questions can help to "set' some factors into consideration when answering the needs of your question.

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 12 2019, 09:25 AM
MUM
post Apr 14 2019, 07:00 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 14 2019, 06:06 PM)
thanks for the data.....my neighbour made a query.....
can confirm the maths?

if the true variance is just 20k.....then the ILP is not as 'untung" as stand alone????
after makan,...stomach full....do some work....adding on to your neighbour query.....
....35 yrs...is the meeting point

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 14 2019, 11:29 PM

MUM
post Apr 14 2019, 11:36 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Apr 14 2019, 11:23 PM)
Any prudential insurance agent here? This is the package my wife sign up to insure my kid from birth. Is it too much? I'm paying RM188 per month.
hmm.gif i would reather ask.....
can i afford it?
what is the RM188 pm in relation to my + spouse income in % terms?
would we "spend" that for a better sleep at nites for both me + spouse?
could we or do we dare to do some trade off over that amount in relation to our "feeling good and good to have?"

MUM
post Apr 15 2019, 09:15 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 15 2019, 01:19 AM)
Dear sifus, my Prudential agent introduced me a cash value life insurance plan called Pru-wealth. Is it a better plan compared to a conventional term life insurance plan? Any other insurance company selling similar product?  

Thank you,
Rain
Pru wealth is an ILP....(investment linked protection plan)
comparing it with a non ILP?

read up from last page...there had been some discussion about it very recently......especially those by HoNeYdEwBoY

then,....as normally suggested.
a) You should assess the affordability and suitability of the product (including optional benefits) in relation to your financial goals and risk appetite.
b) Buying life insurance policy is a long term financial commitment.
c) You are advised to choose the type of product(s) that best suits your financial needs.
d) You are advised to read and understand the insurance policy

To achieve this, may i recommend that you speak to your agent and preferably if possible from another companies to perform a needs analysis and discussion and assist you in making an informed decision.

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 15 2019, 09:54 AM
MUM
post Apr 15 2019, 10:08 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(zest168 @ Apr 15 2019, 10:02 AM)
Hi my colleague would like to increase her Life Cover protection. Any good plans out there to recommend?

Thank you.
what does she has?
what does she lacked?
what does she need?
what is her age?
does she has dependents?
Does she has a spouse?
surplus budget?
etc
etc

i think that are just some of the things that would be useful to real sifus out there to start to recommend

MUM
post Apr 18 2019, 01:10 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(stevencjh @ Apr 18 2019, 12:49 PM)
May i ask for AIA A-Enrich Gold is we can get the money guaranteed for the next 20 years? My agent quotes me by paying  RM3700++ per month for the next 6 years, i will get RM5000 guaranteed for every 2 years and the amount increases after 10 years. Is it worth than place FD since i am not a ppl who knows how to invest?
While waiting for real sifus to come gives comments....
I kay poh abit.....
Aquick calculstion excluding otjer factors.....
5k every 2 yrs = 2.5k every year...
3700 x 12 mth x 6 yrs = 266k
Thus 2.5k of 266k = abt 1% per year
MUM
post Apr 20 2019, 01:35 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Apr 20 2019, 01:30 PM)
Hi, just wondering if there's a kind of insurance that covers travelling for work for my uncle. Driving from perak to jb twice a month and flight to East Malaysia once a month. Age around 50. Mainly to cover for medical and accident (loss of income, because got 4 kids still in secondary school + university) *touch wood*
Budget below rm500 per month but can be adjusted.
try check out
Term medical insurance and
Personal Accident Insurance....

at the same time.....check out how much $$ your uncle needed to provide for lost of income as he got 4 kids still in secondary school + university

while waiting for real sifus to comment

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 20 2019, 01:37 PM
MUM
post Apr 21 2019, 12:58 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(zfc @ Apr 20 2019, 10:19 PM)
Is critical illness insurance considered as medical insurance or life insurance for the purpose of income tax claim?
I think both insurance types (medical & life) is eligible for income tax deduction under different section of the BE form.....

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 21 2019, 12:58 AM
MUM
post Apr 23 2019, 05:10 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 23 2019, 04:56 PM)
Here got any AIA sifus?
there are many but a quick find, found one in page 3....
look at the signature* of the forumer
(the little sentence they posted at the end of their posting)
MUM
post Apr 29 2019, 11:15 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(bengyson @ Apr 29 2019, 11:08 AM)
Hi everyone,

I have quoted by AIA insurance agent with below quotation. Do you think this is a good medical plan? My concern is about the premium cost and sustainability.

At what stage we should consider to top-up the premium?

R&B: 200
Life: 100K
TPD:100K
CI: 50K
Premium waiver
with Deductible 300

Sustainability is range between 61 - 64 yo based on projected X & Y.

Premium is 2800 per annual.

Appreciate all your valuable advice.
hmm.gif
sustainability from 37 to 60+ yrs ...that is abt 25yrs...
at inflation rate of medical cost ....
do you think these rate
R&B: 200
Life: 100K
TPD:100K
CI: 50K

can provides enough for a hospital stays when having critical illness during the time of needs 20 yrs from now?

MUM
post Apr 29 2019, 11:24 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 29 2019, 11:17 AM)
Lets say i dont wanna buy ILP insurance ... just wanna buy term medical card ...
the logic is lets say 18years old premium is 1k, as it increase with age, 30 years old mayb around 2k, 40 years old 3-4k , 50-60 years old 4-5k and so on.

Can I say that actually the myth of buy insurance when you're young (cheaper) is misleading ? Since that no matter when you buy, the price structure is there. The only thing buy younger is to cover any illness that happen when youre young.

Lets say a person A have this disease at age 40, whats the different if that person bought the medical card ;
1) When he/she around 18years old
2) when he/she around 38years old
3) When he/she around 42 years old

Can this be summarized that option 3 not a good option coz insurance will no longer cover the "existing disease", whereas option 2 is the best here ? option 1 is covered but based on this scenario is bought when too young ? am i rite ?
hmm.gif buy just a few years before having the need to claim would be BEST....but how to know "when"?

also do take note of TS's situation as in this....

An insurance company that might not be trusted, Only Received Half Of Terminal Bonus
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4764904/+0#entry92507894
MUM
post Apr 29 2019, 11:31 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 29 2019, 11:29 AM)
so the logic behind this is correct rite ?
i just give example ..

1) Buy at age 18
2) Buy at age 40
3) Buy at age 60

That person had disease at age 50... Which buy age is the best "BASED ON SCENARIO" above.. i just wanna have a clear view of this scenario if my understanding is correct.
my take is buy just a few years before having the need to claim would be BEST....but how to know "when"?
thus if you "KNOW" at 50 yrs old WILL get it...then buy at 40 as your example...

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 29 2019, 11:32 AM
MUM
post Apr 29 2019, 11:41 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(bengyson @ Apr 29 2019, 11:38 AM)
At this moment, I have company group insurance coverage also AIA. The medical protection I'm looking at is after my retirement. So my prediction that for the first 20+ years, I should not be worrying too much on medical bills. My personal medical card should only be kick-in after my retirement or when the group medical card limit is not enough to cover.
plan the need for "at retirement" age duration.
factor in the cost of medical cost inflation....

what is enough for now may not be enough after 20 yrs hmm.gif
MUM
post Apr 29 2019, 11:43 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 29 2019, 11:35 AM)
and based on some research, there's some insurance company that sell term insurance without the guaranteed renewal am i rite ?
so in order to buy term insurance, must buy those that guaranteed renewal.

based on this link

https://www.ibanding.com/best-medical-card-in-malaysia/
i think and agar agar says....there are insurance company that provides guarantee renewal...but have to awaits the qualified SIFUS to confirm.

but just a note....they may provides guaranteed renewal...but they can also amend the TnC of the policy....like premium charges....what if the premium charges JUMP at a high %....will just still continue to renew?

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 29 2019, 11:45 AM
MUM
post May 4 2019, 12:23 AM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 4 2019, 12:19 AM)
I'm 27 years old currently with a job paying 3.6k before deductions. my first job and just started working since Nov 2017

planning to get myself an insurance soon but not sure where to start

was approach by some Great Eastern agent previously and got offered medical + life combo for RM200 and 250  however I'm not sure if I should pay so much?

any sifu here pls advice
while waiting for responses,...
try read these for some info...

buying 1st insurance plan Malaysia
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...i21.HRX2fzw3Ef4
MUM
post May 5 2019, 06:07 PM

14,866 posts

Non-Drug Costs of CAR-T Cell Therapy

Non-drug expenses may be particularly burdensome to patients receiving chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-T cell immunotherapy for cancer, according to a research letter published in JAMA Oncology.
While tisagenlecleucel and axicabtagene ciloleucel, 2 CAR-T immunotherapies that received US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approval last year, are priced at $475,000 and $373,000, respectively, these costs do not include non-drug costs due to adverse events, leukapheresis, and lymphodepletion therapy. More than 40% of patients who receive CAR-T therapy may, for example, require intensive care for cytokine release syndrome (CRS).

https://www.cancertherapyadvisor.com/home/c...y-exceed-50000/

doh.gif RM 1 million "IF" they cover it and "if" they provides "Guaranteed letter"....where got enough.
MUM
post May 19 2019, 02:17 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(thomasjames @ May 19 2019, 02:07 PM)
Thanks. Do you know which insurance company provide this today ? GE ? Prudential ?
googled and found this....

medical insurance plan for senior in Malaysia
https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...i30.pFCKIhtoylM

MUM
post May 19 2019, 03:09 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 19 2019, 02:54 PM)
Ya, besides medical insurance for the elderly, I was looking at it from the angle of in case critical illness happens to them. If my parents, touch wood, if they had critical illness, myself and siblings can't afford to pay few hundred Ks for surgeries, etc.. So I'm thinking would buying a life insurance for them now help to address that?
hmm.gif i may be wrong, but looks like....life insurance (unless has add on riders if applicable) does not covers medical bills in the event the insured lives on after the medical incidents

https://www.comparehero.my/insurance/articl...dical-insurance

This post has been edited by MUM: May 19 2019, 03:11 PM
MUM
post May 22 2019, 07:19 PM

14,866 posts

QUOTE(Vintage_X @ May 22 2019, 05:39 PM)
I’m 38 years old, non smoking.

Looking for AIA medical insurance with
1. CI, RM50k (this is a top up only as I already have RM150k from another policy)
2. Room and board 200
3. Waiver of premium

May I know how much is the premium?

If add on hospital income, how much is the additional premium?

Thank you?
just googled and found out that there are over 10 CI insurance plans from AIA alone.

https://www.aia.com.my/en/our-products/crit...protection.html

wow.....really "pening" to decide which plan and premium rclxub.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:35 PM