Maxis OnePrime (Home) - 4G wireless backup

jsnhoh
post Sep 23 2019, 10:57 AM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(daigoking @ Sep 23 2019, 12:44 AM)
So far any news for if use backup sim outside and Kena ban?

I plan to use the backup sim in another location.

If backup sim use over 300GB also no impact YouTube right?
Since you r oneprime subscriber, why not subscribe 1 more subline at rm48per month which comes with unlimited data and call and it is legal to use it anywhere you like.
jsnhoh
post Oct 24 2019, 08:09 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(ktn1169 @ Oct 24 2019, 05:56 PM)
I guess my 4G backup sim was banned too.
Can't access internet from tablet anymore today after lunch.
Put it into my phone then saw "Sim 1 not allowed". Try to register to MY MAXIS 4G network and get a message 'Your SIM card doesn't allow a connection to this network."
How long u had been using this backup sim card?? Mind to share?? Thanks
jsnhoh
post Oct 25 2019, 01:14 AM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(ktn1169 @ Oct 24 2019, 09:49 PM)
1 year. I think Maxis start taking action now~~
when I register for OnePrime, only MaxisOne 188 can register for OnePrime, now MaxisOne 98 also can get One Prime. The barrier to entry is lower a lot
Ic, thanks
jsnhoh
post Oct 25 2019, 01:32 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(jiesheng12 @ Oct 25 2019, 01:24 PM)
i using the backup sim with the maxis broadband, by yesterday afternoon kena banned already cry.gif
How u use the backup sim with maxis broadband?? U mean maxis modem ??
jsnhoh
post Oct 25 2019, 03:54 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(jiesheng12 @ Oct 25 2019, 01:35 PM)
yaya maxis broadband modem (Huawei B315 4G LTE Router By Maxis)
Huawei?? My router given by maxis is TP link... omg... so many routers.
jsnhoh
post Oct 26 2019, 01:40 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(meteorex @ Oct 26 2019, 01:06 PM)
My 4g backup sim also got banned since yesterday cry.gif
OMG... So many got banned. Let change to other Telco. Bullshit maxshit...
jsnhoh
post Oct 27 2019, 03:32 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

Any other portable broadband recommend?? Since now the 4g sim no longer can be used separately.
jsnhoh
post Oct 27 2019, 10:01 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Oct 27 2019, 09:32 PM)
Since everyone here is on One Prime. Just get a OneShare line 48 from the principal number and u can get endless data. This way is still legal. I have 4 OneShare line
2 on 4G router
1 my wife main line
1 my father in law put on fon

Alternative. A+B (not yet trying this the same time. A only or B only is working)
A. Use 3rd party router for the home fiber.
B. Use the backup sim inside the provided modem plugged to the maxis router... BRING THIS EVERYWHERE
Tq. But bring the maxis router everywhere is not flexible... haha
jsnhoh
post Oct 28 2019, 03:30 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Oct 28 2019, 12:52 PM)
Basically it is not unlimited. It just that you have very big quota. I subscribe to 30mbps so get 300GB data. I guess it follow your speed amount I.e 100mbps will get 1000Gb.

300gb is applied to all maxis oneprime subscribers. Everyone also got the 300gb per cycle regardless what fiber plan u applied.
jsnhoh
post Oct 28 2019, 03:33 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Oct 28 2019, 11:27 AM)
Then add OneShare48 sim is your best option... Who can give unlimited quota at 48 right?
I think I just share my hotspot will do. Yes rm48 is not that much, but since I can't finish my 300gb qouta everymonth, so no need waste.

This post has been edited by jsnhoh: Oct 28 2019, 03:33 PM
jsnhoh
post Oct 30 2019, 02:19 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(michaelhm5 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:24 AM)
I have Maxis One Prime package. Maxis used to gave me a back up sim without the Dongle(No Stock that time) and I used the sim card to put in Wifi Modem and can use without any problem. After some time, I gatal-gatal called Maxis to asked for the Dongle and they gave me a Dongle together with new sim card.
The previous sim card have been canceled by Maxis and the new sim card wont work with the wifi modem.
Plugged the Dongle to my laptop also can't work. Put the sim card into my phone also wont work.

It seems it only work on the Dongle plugged in to Maxis home fibre router. Now i regretted calling Maxis to ask for the Dongle.  cry.gif  bangwall.gif
The new simcard is activated? What is the color on the dongle when u plug into maxis router?
jsnhoh
post Oct 30 2019, 04:57 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Oct 30 2019, 02:56 PM)
I using the fiber and USB dongle in the same time now, still ok
You r lucky.... Hahaha...
jsnhoh
post Nov 7 2019, 09:04 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 7 2019, 06:27 PM)
new batch dongle come with firmware lock, only can use with Maxis router
When they update this???
jsnhoh
post Nov 13 2019, 10:44 AM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(dark.knight @ Nov 13 2019, 09:45 AM)
Guys, how do I tell if my dongle works? I unplugged it and plugged into my laptop, nothing happens. Plug it into a USB adapter for charger, cannot find my usual access point name. If the dongle is locked, will the sim work if I put it in my own dongle or 4G modem? Thanks....
Try plug into maxis modem again. If the light is blue, then shd be ok.
jsnhoh
post Nov 13 2019, 02:38 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(menza78 @ Nov 13 2019, 02:17 PM)
Mine got banned couple days ago after a few months in my backup phone. So sad. Do I need to call Maxis center to re-activate my sim or I would just need to use my dongle connected to my wireless router to make it work?
Try to make a call to maxis center and see how they reply.
jsnhoh
post Nov 13 2019, 11:00 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 13 2019, 10:50 PM)
sorry, your broadband line is online and ok.. your sim will be temporary hibernate.
your line will be active when report is made and connection is down  rclxm9.gif
Like that die lo... The 4g backup sim should activated immediately when fiber is not active.
jsnhoh
post Jan 18 2020, 01:34 AM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(jcvun @ Jan 18 2020, 12:56 AM)
Hi guys....what is the speed result should get with Maxis 30mbps? i got below 30mbps in Maxis speed test. is that normal? or should be more than that?
Max is around 30mbps. If u get between 10 - 20 mbps, which it is still considering as normal range too.
jsnhoh
post Jan 20 2020, 02:31 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(cool.seabreeze @ Jan 20 2020, 12:53 PM)
jcvun Maxis

I think if you get between 10 - 20 Mbps for a 30Mbps plan, you should complain to get higher speed. This is between 33% to 66% of what you pay for.  When I first got onto the net, any speed lower than 70% of the speed one pays for is considered a fault.  But that's during ADSL time. 

Given that fibre connections are much better than mostly old copper wires during ADSL time, you should expect higher speed than between 10 - 20 Mbps.

Maybe Maxis can let us know for fibre what is the minimun speed for a particular plan before user should complain.
The building infra is still copper wires. So during the peak hours, speed is ard 10 to 20 mbps.
jsnhoh
post Mar 2 2020, 06:34 PM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Mar 2 2020, 11:05 AM)
Hi all,

The Maxis 4G dongle is locked to the router. What happens if I buy my own dongle and use it with the SIM, will it work? brows.gif
I think as long as u r using the modem and dongle together and maxis network. It should be fine.
jsnhoh
post Mar 19 2020, 09:30 AM

Vinc
1,018 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Mar 19 2020, 09:02 AM)
Will 4G backup work anywhere as long as it is plugged into the maxis router? I am surveying at wifi network that could allow me to use at 2 places temporarily because i will be moving to another new place in another month or so. My plan is to register the home fibre to my new house and use the router back at my old house for another month. would it work this way??
I tried for couple of months last year. If u r using maxis router and dongle, everything is fine.

0.0227sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:10 PM