KINGSTON SSD A400 240gb Budget SSD, ssd

CyrusWong
post Dec 18 2018, 06:16 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Nov 29 2018, 02:03 PM)
Dont buy tht a400. By right never ever buy a super low end ssd from kingston. Somewhre in year 2014 , kingston used to have a low end model call V300.  Different batch get different type of NAND chips. Performance difference are significant.

Kingston themselves dont manufacture NAND chips , RAM and the SSD controller. They only assemble them. Bill of materials wise they just buy watever is available on the market that is cheap for the low end segment. Kingston is more like an assembly company.

Crucial on the other hand belongs to Micron. They produce their own NAND chips and RAM. They only buy the SSD controller from 3rd party. Their product QC is good because of this. Thts y i also recommend to buy MX500 if cheap ssd is all you want. Never go below that.

For the entire SSD industry, only Samsung produce everything by themselves . NAND chips, RAM and SSD controller. QC is top of the line. Of coz here you pay through your nose for a Samsung SSD.
I have seen kingston d3 ram with kingston chips, on the chip there printed kingston
k!nex
post Dec 18 2018, 07:00 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 18 2018, 06:16 PM)
I have seen kingston d3 ram with kingston chips, on the chip there printed kingston
Those are rebadged. Not only Kingston does that, even Apacer and Kingmax do that. Still these companies do not manufacture their own RAM chips themselves.
CyrusWong
post Dec 18 2018, 07:37 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Dec 18 2018, 07:00 PM)
Those are rebadged. Not only Kingston does that, even Apacer and Kingmax do that. Still these companies do not manufacture their own RAM chips themselves.
what the.... !?

personally i think is is lying lol.... F kingston shakehead.gif
DuitNow
post Dec 18 2018, 09:46 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 18 2018, 06:16 PM)
QUOTE(k!nex @ Dec 18 2018, 07:00 PM)
QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 18 2018, 07:37 PM)
what the.... !?

personally i think is is lying lol.... F kingston shakehead.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
CyrusWong
post Dec 18 2018, 10:33 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(DuitNow @ Dec 18 2018, 09:46 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
now i read back, he use the keyword "manufacture"

that's different thing liao, last time i read it somewhere dunno what company and electronic product, they find other company to help manufacture.

help manufacture is 1 thing, but rebadge other ppl chips to own brand... hrm... I still doubt it though
k!nex
post Dec 19 2018, 04:24 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

Today's world are only left with 3 DRAM manufacturers . Samsung , Hynix and Micron. Only 3 companies producing DRAM chips for the entire planet. So everybody else like , Kingston , A-Data , G-Skill have to buy their chips from these 3 companies.
The thing you read is most likely related to those semiconductor companies that do not have their own wafer fabrication foundry. A good example is Nvidia. TSMC manufactures most of their chips. However, Samsung is the manufacturer for their GP107 chips, which you can find in the GTX1050Ti and GTX1050 cards.

"Kingston has developed long-term relationships with the leading DRAM manufacturers. Our DRAM chips are purchased directly from these manufacturers, which include Micron, SK Hynix, Powerchip, Nanya and others. The components are shipped directly from the manufacturer's facility to Kingston's facility minimizing handling and exposure to damage." Source. Even Kingston themselves admit they dont manufacture their own DRAM chips. Their own brand markings on the chips are common though.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Dec 19 2018, 04:24 AM
tslim2696
post Dec 19 2018, 12:08 PM

24 posts

I just bought 2 of A400 on 12.12. Problem is I encounter intermittent freezing when gaming. Any one of you encounter this?

renyyz
post Dec 19 2018, 12:11 PM

450 posts

im using a400 240gb. before this i use 500gb seagate hdd. so far no problem. pc startup around 5sec. play game (black desert) loading time really fast. so far im satisfied
tslim2696
post Dec 19 2018, 12:14 PM

24 posts

hmm that's strange. every game I play the SSD like to freeze...I am using 480G version....Played JC4 and XCOM2 also freeze...music goes into loop..wait till SSD load data back then can resume.

Both SSD also like that. I am starting to think that the SSD's are refurbished. Lol
xxboxx
post Dec 19 2018, 01:21 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(tslim2696 @ Dec 19 2018, 12:14 PM)
hmm that's strange. every game I play the SSD like to freeze...I am using 480G version....Played JC4 and XCOM2 also freeze...music goes into loop..wait till SSD load data back then can resume.
Both SSD also like that. I am starting to think that the SSD's are refurbished. Lol

Is the SSD almost full?
tslim2696
post Dec 19 2018, 01:45 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 19 2018, 01:21 PM)
Is the SSD almost full?
Nope. 1 has 30% free space left and another one has 70%~80% free space left. both has same problem.
caloyness
post Dec 21 2018, 04:53 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(tslim2696 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:45 PM)
Nope. 1 has 30% free space left and another one has 70%~80% free space left. both has same problem.
did you buy online? which seller ...hopefully not refurbished stuff got into your hands sad.gif
jorgsacul
post Dec 22 2018, 02:44 PM

1,377 posts

Many are oem produces for them. Overall value for money a400. See how you use it as well, motherboard and other things play big role.
TristanX
post Dec 23 2018, 07:38 PM

Where is my stars?
24,339 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Dec 22 2018, 02:44 PM)
Many are oem produces for them. Overall value for money a400. See how you use it as well, motherboard and other things play big role.
Ignore that trash. Seagate Barracuda is value for money.
jorgsacul
post Dec 24 2018, 05:53 AM

1,377 posts

https://www.kingston.com/en/support/technical/ssdmanager

Ignore that trash hdd if you need to select only one drive
jorgsacul
post Dec 24 2018, 05:54 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(tslim2696 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:45 PM)
Use this

https://www.kingston.com/en/support/technical/ssdmanager
Savor_Savvy
post Dec 24 2018, 08:16 AM

2,776 posts

How about the cheap Kingston a1000? Same issue?
TristanX
post Dec 24 2018, 08:20 AM

Where is my stars?
24,339 posts

For those who doesnt know.
https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=Seagat...rracuda%20250GB

The new budget king.
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 24 2018, 08:16 AM)
Still trash.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/12991/the-ki...me-ssd-review/2

This post has been edited by TristanX: Dec 24 2018, 08:21 AM
jorgsacul
post Dec 24 2018, 09:13 PM

1,377 posts

If barracuda at that price ... winner over a400
xxboxx
post Dec 25 2018, 11:03 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 24 2018, 08:16 AM)

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 24 2018, 08:20 AM)
Although Kingston A1000 performance is one of the worse for NVME SSD, my opinion it's still better than SATA SSD. Even when against Barracuda SATA SSD.

user posted image user posted image

user posted imageuser posted image

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Seagate...D_500_GB/4.html

NVME always the better choice against SATA because of the bigger bandwidth and better latency. Unless of course if the drive is really bad until SATA SSD can outperform it.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:27 PM