How to stop playing Dota 2, I want to stop playing dota
Nov 15 2018, 01:40 PM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
0 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
Please, I want to focus in final year project but this game is very addictive.
Nov 17 2018, 04:40 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
504 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: It's all relative |
14 floor
Nov 18 2018, 08:52 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
uninstall will do.
Nov 30 2018, 12:04 PM
105 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
haha i believe most of the people have faced this problem before. that's why i chose to have group study instead of study alone at home.
Nov 30 2018, 12:52 PM
895 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -- Alor Star, Kedah -- -- Gelang Patah, Johor -- |
Dec 5 2018, 11:40 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
think in this way, if your standard not qualified to join tournament > quit
Dec 7 2018, 09:41 PM
486 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Just ignore it for first 3 days. If successful then don't open computer to play game anymore. 1 Week later you are cool.
Dec 10 2018, 08:29 PM
2 posts Joined: May 2012 |
When u are in losing streak, u won't have a fucking good mood to play the game, everytime u want to start the game, urself will do a judgement and prediction whether u can end the streak or continue to win.
I was in losing streak after 7.20 come out, didn't open dota for 10 days. |
Dec 11 2018, 02:13 PM
895 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -- Alor Star, Kedah -- -- Gelang Patah, Johor -- |
QUOTE(monsterbid @ Dec 10 2018, 08:29 PM) When u are in losing streak, u won't have a fucking good mood to play the game, everytime u want to start the game, urself will do a judgement and prediction whether u can end the streak or continue to win. I thought losing will make you work harder to win? No offense to the fellow sore losers. I was in losing streak after 7.20 come out, didn't open dota for 10 days. |
Dec 12 2018, 09:52 PM
853 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
get married & have 2 or 3 kids. you wont even have time to touch your pc or laptop dkslave93 liked this post
Dec 13 2018, 07:31 PM
324 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
noob hai
Dec 14 2018, 08:12 AM
6,214 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Busan, Kr | Kuching, Swk |
lol
.. travel2... no time to play eventually stop like me... acc my friend play |
Dec 14 2018, 09:19 AM
Dec 27 2018, 06:19 PM
702 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Dec 28 2018, 12:29 PM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
If i remember correctly, you can request steam to block you from dota for a specific period of time.
Dec 28 2018, 12:50 PM
104 posts Joined: May 2012 |
How can anyone have fun playing with Pinoy and indog and even cancerous local player lol...just stop this shitty game man..aint worth your time
Jan 5 2019, 08:59 AM
856 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
just delete the game bro
Jan 5 2019, 11:35 AM
266 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
just delete steam or sell all your items
Jan 8 2019, 04:50 PM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Move to a place with bad internet, you'll get so frustrated you'll stop playing.
or Find a job. You'll get so busy and tired you'll forget about the game. Both happened to me and thus havent logged in for a solid 2 years now. But i still watch TI and streamers |
Jan 18 2019, 10:09 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
14th floor
Jan 30 2019, 03:24 PM
106 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
actually the problem is normal game takes too much time. its not that the addiction is bad. if you find yourself full of things to do and still want to play the game, just opt for Turbo. nothing can beat what you really want to do.
Feb 14 2019, 08:22 AM
135 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
I got close to 7000k hours on dota and finally managed to quit.
the only way to quit was to delete my steam account permanently. |
Feb 14 2019, 09:59 AM
5 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
QUOTE(aqmuqri666 @ Nov 15 2018, 01:40 PM) If you have a laptop, then throw the mouse and use the touchpad. But seriously, you can always organize your schedule so as to devote time to the project. and play some Dota. The brain also needs to relax from work. |
Feb 17 2019, 12:27 PM
132 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
Control a bit tell urself today only play 2 matches dats it. If not, I ll go jump 14th floor(example)
This post has been edited by CerebralPelsy: Feb 17 2019, 12:27 PM |
Mar 18 2019, 06:15 PM
111 posts Joined: May 2018 From: neraka |
get a girlfriend
Mar 18 2019, 06:27 PM
238 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Get addicted to new game. To be honest ,I quitted dota bcoz it got boring .
Mar 18 2019, 06:27 PM
238 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
-double post- pls delete
This post has been edited by trowapeter: Mar 18 2019, 06:28 PM |
Mar 20 2019, 04:52 PM
341 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Try lose all the match.. u will want to quit...
Mar 20 2019, 04:54 PM
2,329 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
2 options:
1. delete the game 2. quit uni and continue with the game' choose wisely |
Mar 26 2019, 12:44 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
Mar 31 2019, 03:38 PM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
make your gf pregnant...thats how i stop.
May 22 2019, 07:55 AM
586 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Jun 25 2019, 04:12 PM
21 posts Joined: May 2019 |
Jun 28 2019, 02:07 PM
182 posts Joined: Apr 2018 |
addicted to something else
Jul 3 2019, 09:46 AM
17 posts Joined: Jun 2019 From: Kuala Lumpur |
try play other game, and then you will stop playing Dota then addict to other games
Jul 25 2019, 12:45 AM
Probation
0 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
I stop playing dota2 by spending up my free time doing part time job
Jul 26 2019, 03:53 PM
36 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
uninstall steam
Sep 12 2019, 01:14 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
I also long time gamer. I pursuit become dota 2 pro end up failed as I play in sea server most toxic places in the world. my mmr keep dropping instead of increasing. Actually quiiting dota 2 a lot of benefit. u tend u to talk better without inner secretly hate people. I play sea server now I feeling hate pinoy don't want become their friend in realife as they destroyed my dream become pro game. I tried my very best already always solo queue expose a lot flaw factor. play until mentally ill. physical grown fat, entire world call you retarded and call you idiot. lots more..dota 2 is very very addictive game instead of fun. if u fun why you feel angry and frowning at people? if u cannot quit just limit your play time if u miss it sometimes. I quited dota 2 1 week .. I feel very miss the game and keepc oming back....cant be helped...I have beat mushi one on one in a pc expo..everyone when crazy..for me such a lot rank ppl can beat pro gamer....sponsor offer me become pro gamer but I reject..i feel that I work so hard until today and pawned every single ounce of my mental and health now u just easy easy offer me this sponsorship. go fuck yourself la!
Oct 1 2019, 04:21 PM
55 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
The more I lose in Dota the more I want to play
Oct 5 2019, 08:59 AM
143 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: My Bloody Valentine |
watch pro scene
you'll stop playing want to watch more |
Oct 7 2019, 02:04 PM
Probation
20 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
UNINSTALL. And get urself busy. Best is not to do work alone.
Oct 10 2019, 09:57 AM
13,460 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Oct 15 2019, 08:15 PM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
Removing the game helps a lot
Oct 24 2019, 12:51 PM
513 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Get a gf, then you got no time to play d, quit naturally LOL
Oct 25 2019, 07:20 AM
33 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
Oct 25 2019, 05:47 PM
513 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Oct 29 2019, 09:34 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
There is way out from DotA 2. I only manage to quit for 2 years then o got hooked up to it again. Smh
Nov 3 2019, 09:27 PM
125 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
You just cant 😅
I quit cold turkey 5 to 6 times in the span of 6 years Still cant dota 2. Keep one going back addicted to dota 2. Tried moving to csgo,LoL, rocket league, minecraft,l4d2 and many others games still cant work. This time i tried going cold turkey again from december until now. Accidentally saw ti9 and shit, want to play again. After spm sure will 24/7 dota 2 edy. Haiss. Gone la my life |
Nov 11 2019, 03:15 AM
34 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
I think once you realised the commitments you have, then you would stop. One match is like 40-60 mins just for 25 mmr. Can do something else or play other games
Nov 22 2019, 11:23 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2015 From: Damansara |
same seems to be for everyone. haha. no getting awayyy
Nov 25 2019, 05:30 PM
188 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Started working..but weekend confirm will still doto with my friends..doto never dies man..
Nov 25 2019, 11:50 PM
65 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
well one day Im kinda pissed with my 28th y.o friend who was so serious in this game and scold my noob hands and I realized im not that young anymore so I just screw him back: stop being childish because it's just a fuking game and im trying to relax here or I will just quit dotA.
Eventually that was my LAST GAME. BYE I GTG for COD mobile.. . |
Nov 25 2019, 11:53 PM
111 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Serdang |
Watch prawn...
Nov 26 2019, 06:07 PM
125 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
Sorry to say. Dont think you can. The only way is to find a hobby or other game to replace.
I tried quitting cold turkey like 10 times already in a span of like 5 years. I am able to get as far as like a year and less without playing dota 2. But i will come back with a raging boner to play it in the end. Your only choice is to reduce and control. Quitting is definitely much much harder. |
Dec 1 2019, 12:44 PM
51 posts Joined: Nov 2019 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
I think you can gradually shift your focus into sports.
Like hanging around with people that are into sports. Badminton, Futsal, Cycling, Basketball, Fitness or even train for MMA. By the time you finished doing all those activities, you would have little to no time or energy left to play DOTA2. Thus, you'll get in-shape and have a healthier body overall. |
Dec 27 2019, 10:35 PM
491 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
lol you can uninstall if everything else dont work, its tht simple
Dec 29 2019, 12:12 PM
53 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
Stop the studying, no future, DotA can make u millionaire, enough shit blue collar out there, we need more esport athlete
Jan 21 2020, 08:10 PM
Probation
0 posts Joined: Jan 2020 |
well, maybe don't stop playing dota2 just think about better organise your time, for example in games lets play ONLY in weekends, from monday to friday focus only on studying or something
Mar 1 2020, 02:39 PM
112 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Go set a target foryour self about make $., hangout with people with future.
May 22 2020, 09:15 PM
1,163 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
With wfh nowadays..it’s getting harder
I’m still playing during work and my work always finish late But for some reason, my work speed boost as if I feel like I’m catching a deadline. So Dota actually do help me also..still same amount of hours use for work just bit late I think the reason is brain jammed and then release stress by playing games and work again..it actually help |
May 27 2020, 01:36 PM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(playxboxwii @ May 22 2020, 09:15 PM) With wfh nowadays..it’s getting harder it's impossible now. Battlepass is out I’m still playing during work and my work always finish late But for some reason, my work speed boost as if I feel like I’m catching a deadline. So Dota actually do help me also..still same amount of hours use for work just bit late I think the reason is brain jammed and then release stress by playing games and work again..it actually help |
Jul 2 2020, 04:45 PM
Probation
0 posts Joined: Jul 2020 |
An annoying girlfriend will help, xd:
Jul 8 2020, 09:14 PM
184 posts Joined: Dec 2015 From: Malaysia |
Ive been playing DOTA 2 for more than 10k hours. Almost 1 year non stop to be exact.
Before this I think I cannot stop too, playing hours everyday. I think you should find something as passion to be a little bit busy compare than before. And less friends playing DOTA also helps though. Because DOTA = team games. I didnt have high desire anymore in playing DOTA. But still can play DOTA to enjoy with friends but seldomly / not everyday anymore. |
Jul 9 2020, 05:26 PM
144 posts Joined: Jul 2020 From: 5.3638° N, 100.3260° E |
Try to shift your concentration towards something else, such as picking up a hobby to curb your addiction.
Jul 10 2020, 09:44 AM
76 posts Joined: Feb 2020 |
QUOTE(hostingmalaya @ Jul 8 2020, 09:14 PM) Ive been playing DOTA 2 for more than 10k hours. Almost 1 year non stop to be exact. I played dota from 2012. But my hours total is probably only 7-8k hours.Before this I think I cannot stop too, playing hours everyday. I think you should find something as passion to be a little bit busy compare than before. And less friends playing DOTA also helps though. Because DOTA = team games. I didnt have high desire anymore in playing DOTA. But still can play DOTA to enjoy with friends but seldomly / not everyday anymore. I have deleted multiple steam accounts in order to quit dota. But just a few months later, recreate new account and reinstall. Dota is really my personal demon. And I am going to hell. I am stuck in it forever. These days I only play Turbo... less stress to win. And faster to finish the game. |
Jul 10 2020, 05:28 PM
184 posts Joined: Dec 2015 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(whyareugey @ Jul 10 2020, 09:44 AM) I played dota from 2012. But my hours total is probably only 7-8k hours. Ive played since 2011 I think, 10k hours convert to year = 1 year above playing dota non stop lol.I have deleted multiple steam accounts in order to quit dota. But just a few months later, recreate new account and reinstall. Dota is really my personal demon. And I am going to hell. I am stuck in it forever. These days I only play Turbo... less stress to win. And faster to finish the game. 8k hours also almost reach 1 year play non stop. I dont know if you can play solo DOTA, but I will be boring playing it without friends. So thats how I stop playing it till now. Still having dota in my PC but just randomly checking inside because even i didnt played dota much like before, im still interested in TI. Also, maybe because of some famous DOTA players that I loved retire so I didnt have that desire much anymore. LOL. |
Jul 10 2020, 05:41 PM
76 posts Joined: Feb 2020 |
Jul 11 2020, 11:49 AM
123 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Play non stop for one day.. from morning to midnight.. then you will get bored the next day
Jul 11 2020, 12:51 PM
243 posts Joined: Dec 2019 From: Harlan's World |
Jul 14 2020, 11:31 PM
Probation
Oh this is impossible! I tried to stop playing. But my task is more difficult since I am dependent not only on Dota but also on gambling. True, I got into gambling much earlier. Passed a rather difficult way from a beginner to an experienced player. Break even a couple of jackpots and began to seriously cooperate with one of the services. Then I began to study Dota. I also liked it and got involved. Sometimes I think about what I need to stop playing, but then I ask the question why? After all, where then look for the meaning of existence
Jul 15 2020, 08:49 PM
Probation
QUOTE(dontmesswithme @ Jul 14 2020, 11:31 PM) Oh this is impossible! I tried to stop playing. But my task is more difficult since I am dependent not only on Dota but also on gambling. True, I got into gambling much earlier. Passed a rather difficult way from a beginner to an experienced player. Break even a couple of jackpots and began to seriously cooperate with one of the services. Then I began to study Dota. I also liked it and got involved. Sometimes I think about what I need to stop playing, but then I ask the question why? After all, where then look for the meaning of existence I forgo to show my platform My Webpage on which i had palyed for a long time. |
Sep 3 2020, 03:13 AM
Probation
8 posts Joined: Aug 2020 From: Netherlands,Amsterdam |
Question of age and your needs.
If you are 20+ years old and you still can`t get money out of it - you should find work you like and that process will start. I gave up alcohol,cigarettes,hookah,sugars and dota with cs also xd So I can help you more if you want. |
Sep 17 2020, 11:50 AM
8 posts Joined: Jan 2020 |
I watch probably 50 hours of dota for every hour I play. Stopped playing matchmaking, just fill my lobby with easy bots on my team, and Ranked Matchmaking AI on Unfair on the enemy team. It's good fun when your bots feed and make you scramble with some aoe and antipush. Haven't looked back!
Sep 21 2020, 02:51 PM
Probation
17 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
It's actually that simple - delete the game
If you install it again, you should be ashamed in front of you |
May 6 2022, 02:27 PM
23 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
managed to stop?
Oct 7 2022, 03:43 PM
50 posts Joined: Sep 2022 |
Hard to stop. Ti coming
Oct 7 2022, 03:46 PM
908 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Selangor |
Alt+F4
Oct 23 2022, 12:04 PM
837 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Malaysia |
while doing project, give account to booster
Oct 27 2022, 11:20 AM
596 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Free arcana now. Even harder to stop
Oct 27 2022, 08:16 PM
69 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
thanks gaben for the free arcana and bp levels!
Nov 15 2022, 05:40 PM
36 posts Joined: Sep 2022 |
I didnt open the game in 3+ years after losing streak. And yeah last week I play 15 straight game lol.
The games change so much! |
Nov 15 2022, 07:05 PM
472 posts Joined: Apr 2019 From: Penang |
Jan 3 2023, 07:30 PM
837 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Malaysia |
Aug 11 2023, 04:46 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
well, been playing dota since 12 years old. and now 20 years later ( 32 y.o married and have a daughter) still playing every night. usually play from 11pm -1am. Dota is like my afterwork therapy. i use to delete it during uni days. but the the music is playing in my head(also the when found game sound) . so i reinstall and play again. Luckily i didnt fuckup my life, got a good n high earning job. my friends and family used to tell me that im not gonna do well in life because of too much dota. Well i proved them wrong, i still a functioning member of society and still play this game. Main je, selagi tak menyusahkan orang okay lah. froz3nnoob liked this post
Sep 13 2024, 08:26 PM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
i stopped like for 7-8years then this year i started it back when i build my new rig and been on it like non-stop
| Change to: | 0.0466sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:05 AM |