HR refusing to offer the job without pay slip

TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 05:52 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 5 2018, 05:21 PM)
Doesn't that last line contradict your earlier observation?
According to you the highest paid group "fell for it" and jumped multiple times, getting their increment each time
Those who "didn't fall for it" refused to provide their payslips, didn't get a new job and stayed on with their existing pay
Nah, willingness to reveal salary was not a factor here.

Being judged by last salary earned was the factor here.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 05:53 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Nov 5 2018, 05:27 PM)
I'm a bit confused here:
1. You're well paid currently.
2. You are doing well in your current company and have built good relationship and good name in management. Good career prospect.
3. You requested the company to offer you based on market rate, but they requested you to provide current pay info, which you rejected.
4. And you also mentioned those well paid staff in your company, are those do not really perform.

So you're under-well-paid now with good name & relationship with management in your current company?
I am paid reasonable - I won’t say the highest in the market, but fair salary for my skills.

My observation was from my down lines - between job hoppers and those that stay loyal in the company.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 05:54 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Nov 5 2018, 05:53 PM)
Since you are happy in current company, and open to right opportunity.
If i am you, i will give whatever they want, and tell them my expected salary (put more than 20-30%).
If they die die want to offer based on last drawn salary which is not my expected salary, i will just reject the offer.
Yes seems like the best approach in current Malaysian market.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 5 2018, 06:08 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Nov 5 2018, 05:57 PM)
Not only Malaysian, it applies to Singapore also  sad.gif
I strongly support that "keeping yourself open" even you are happy what you are doing now.
This approach by HR will benefit job hoppers - hence I recommend people to take advantage of the system. Show your payslip but jump after a year, for your yearly 20% hike.

TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 10:23 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 6 2018, 09:32 AM)
Spot ON!

I am surprised that this trivial topic drags beyond 1 page.  blink.gif  Honesty and transparency are the way to go with HR negotiation especially MNC. I have no problem even telling them there was no bonus besides monthly pay. Because all these can be cross-checked against EPF statements and EA form.

No matter how desperate the hiring manager or HOD likes you, the final gate is HR. HR has the veto power by simply taking any negative screening findings to KO you.  bruce.gif
Rubbish. Showing your salary is not honesty and transparency. Go ask your car market, what is the cost of making the car? Why can’t they tell? Oh they not honest is it??

As a hiring manager, I am saying. Only the hiring manager knows the value of a good candidate to the Corporation. HR job is just to rubber stamp the approval if candidate fits the range of budget allowed.

TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 10:24 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 6 2018, 09:44 AM)
Well said! If the candidate's pay is way above the market median then it will become hiring manager nightmare in coming performance appraisal. It also will cause imbalanced/unfair feeling among team members. Team members like to share their salary although this is strictly prohibited in written company policy. For big picture sake, it is better to skip this candidate.
This happens more often than you think.

In my team, the range between the lowest and highest paying employee is RM10K - all doing the same job.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 10:25 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Nov 6 2018, 10:20 AM)
Just a simple question for HR to ponder:
Given the example that my last drawn salary was SGD 10k per month. If I come back to work in Malaysia and being asked the payslip, should I request at least RM 30k to get the equivalent pay (not even increment of 1% for me) from my last drawn salary? biggrin.gif
Show your payslip and ask standard HR 20-30% increment.

About 36-39k by HR logic lol
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 11:37 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Nov 6 2018, 11:17 AM)
So the deduction I can find from what I see - jump your way to the top, not work your way to the top, if this is what the current market wants.
Exactly, with this current HR policy, working hard and building your skills doesn’t work well.

Just sit in one job for a year, and jump at year end.

Keep doing that as HR will only be looking at your payslip as a sign of your worth.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 01:19 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 12:00 PM)
Every company wants their employees to work their way to the top, and not to jump to the top.

Employment candidates who job hop frequently are not considered for employment at all.  Totally no loyalty there.  Not worth the money for investment.
Job market says otherwise.

You can have the skills to pass the hiring manager, but HR will only judge you by your payslip - job hopping skills to continuously increase your salary will help then.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 02:29 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi35mk @ Nov 6 2018, 02:19 PM)
I came across an applicant that worked for company A for 8 yrs then company B for 6 months but when he came for interview he didnt disclosed that he worked for company B and used last pay slip from Company A......HR saw the gap and dig his prev info then find out that he didn't disclose his employment with company B due to reason he was asked to resign..
HR didn’t go background check (calling and verifying job experience) before hiring him?

He was asked to resign after joining your company?
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 03:01 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 02:52 PM)
Back to the subject at hand, it is TS right not to disclose and company's right not to hire.

Nothing right or wrong with that.

Fact is, TS gambled, and he lost.  Fair and square.

If you are not prepared to disclose information despite requested, then you'd better be prepared to go home empty handed.
Did I really lose?

The hiring manager and the Head of Department both approved me. I quote the HOD’s words - “you are the exact type of candidate we want in our company”

Negotiations broke down due to salary agreement - if I look at things the other way, they lost a potential good employee because of HR’s blunder in negotiation. I refused to provide my salary info even though I knew the job was in my hand - who made the call here?

Your mentality speaks volumes on your thoughts - that we should be thankful for employers to offer us a job.

I don’t think of it on the same angle - I see it as a mutual benefiting relationship - I provide my skills, the company pays. There are no winners or losers here - just win-win or no deal.

TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:08 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 03:13 PM)
Sorry to break the bubble my friend, but indeed you lost.

You didn't play the game right.

No point if Jesus/Buddha/@11@h himself approved you if HR didn't.

No need to be in denial.

It was a fair fight after all.

You call their bluff, and they call yours.

In my 20+years in HR management, I've seen all kinds of people, too many to count.  Every month I have 200+ applications to sift through.

Most go to the trash though.

But I wish you all the best.
Yes, sounds exactly like an HR person who has no understanding on the complexity of the job and the skills it requires (both technical and soft skill)

You can say as much as you wish, the hiring manager and the HOD would beg to differ with you - it was a lost on their side too.

No hard feelings either way, it’s negotiation - some work, some don’t.

TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:10 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Nov 6 2018, 03:36 PM)
difficult to keep it confidential as the company has the right to know, but not necessary using it as bargaining chip to determine your next salary.

I bet TS bluffed on his salary and when he was offered the job, couldn't produce his salary slip as evidence.

anyhow, it is TS's right not to produce and it is the company's right not to hire. no one is right or wrong here

off course also depends on the company and hiring position, if it is high security company, they might even ask for your wife info,
I didn’t bluff - I never told my salary till the end.

I don’t find it relevant to my next role.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:12 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 6 2018, 04:38 PM)
was the payslip requested during the interview stage or as a follow up after you left ? and was asked by email or in person?
Follow up after I left - via email
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:14 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Nov 6 2018, 03:52 PM)
Yeah , been there done that

Lost the job also, but nvr regret

I always hate HR to be above the operation needs, this kind of company i sure dun wanna join

Well, really depends whether company needs u more , or u need the job more
That’s what HR doesn’t seem to understand - their procedures don’t come above business needs.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:21 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 6 2018, 05:16 PM)
Clearly you are not a business need then.
Hiring manager and HOD decides that, not HR.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:39 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 05:24 PM)
It might be a tad unwise to brush aside HR, as events have proven itself.

I do believe it is a lesson to remember for your next interview.
Yes the same HR who tried negotiating with me three times to tell them my salary information - we know who needed who more.

When you are the best and working for the best - it is never an employers market.
TSvanbrah
post Nov 6 2018, 05:40 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2018, 05:31 PM)
160 posts and 8 pages. 

Looks like you're setting a record in this section TS.

Not bad.
Salary is an itchy topic.

We all need to make a living after all.

0.0265sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:28 AM