my 5 months baby wont sleep at night

TSdaimGeno
post Oct 24 2018, 02:19 PM, updated 8y ago

348 posts

Dear LYN,

ive been struggling for the past few weeks thinking how to help my baby sleep at night.

i dont mind to stay up looking out at him.. but it is not good for him to stay up at night.

before this he dosnt have trouble sleeping. morning especially he will comfort himself and sleep.

now my 5 months old son doesnt sleep in cradle..
i was thinking to buy one auto cradle to help him sleep..

his sleeping schedule looks more or less like these
- 8pm - 11pm (sleep)
- 11pm - 5am (awake)

sometimes - Yesterday
- 8pm - 12am (sleep)
- 12am - 3am (awake)
- 3am - 7am (sleep)

Should i extend the sleeping time? mayb let him sleep around 10pm?
kindly help thx

HonMun
post Oct 24 2018, 02:23 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Dark room
kelvinfixx
post Oct 24 2018, 02:25 PM

1,589 posts

Let the baby go out in the morning sun, then at evening, dim the light and at night switch off all light.
popopi
post Oct 24 2018, 02:30 PM

1,197 posts

keep the light off and on...

On when day time, best is to natural light... dun close all curtain..
night time kasi dark dark room... and do this for few days~1 week... this will program ur baby to sleep... need patient... baby will adjust to the dark = sleep time.

good luck..
TSdaimGeno
post Oct 24 2018, 02:32 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(HonMun @ Oct 24 2018, 02:23 PM)
Dark room
QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Oct 24 2018, 02:25 PM)
Let the baby go out in the morning sun, then at evening, dim the light and at night switch off all light.
QUOTE(popopi @ Oct 24 2018, 02:30 PM)
keep the light off and on...

On when day time, best is to natural light... dun close all curtain..
night time kasi dark dark room... and do this for few days~1 week... this will program ur baby to sleep... need patient... baby will adjust to the dark = sleep time.

good luck..
my room so dark already..
usually after feeding time around 11pm he will woke up and stay awake till morning.

any other suggestion? should i buy cradle?
mydurian
post Oct 24 2018, 02:33 PM

854 posts

This is normal. Been thru it few times. Perhaps you can try playing some lullaby. With love and care, this will be a past.
SUSAmeiN
post Oct 24 2018, 02:37 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(mydurian @ Oct 24 2018, 02:33 PM)
This is normal. Been thru it few times. Perhaps you can try playing some lullaby. With love and care, this will be a past.
Exactly. Same like my baby last time.. There a time he will sleep accordingly, while some times rclxub.gif

Lullaby song really help too

https://www.google.com/search?q=baby+sleep+song

This post has been edited by AmeiN: Oct 24 2018, 02:37 PM
TSdaimGeno
post Oct 24 2018, 02:37 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(mydurian @ Oct 24 2018, 02:33 PM)
hopefully.. he has been like this almost 3 weeks..
i do some googling can be caused of sleep regression.
but if continuous can have long term side effect in terms of baby emotion
TSdaimGeno
post Oct 24 2018, 02:38 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Oct 24 2018, 02:37 PM)
Exactly. Same like my baby last time.. There a time he will sleep accordingly, while some times  rclxub.gif

Lullaby song really help too

https://www.google.com/search?q=baby+sleep+song
i tried lullaby.. white noise.. lol then he laugh at me.. feels like being mock by my own son.. biggrin.gif
SUSAmeiN
post Oct 24 2018, 02:40 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(daimGeno @ Oct 24 2018, 02:38 PM)
i tried lullaby.. white noise.. lol then he laugh at me.. feels like being mock by my own son..  biggrin.gif
haha... try different song, my experience, not all lullaby song work for my baby. Need to experiment this..
cc980024
post Oct 24 2018, 03:28 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(daimGeno @ Oct 24 2018, 02:19 PM)
- 8pm - 11pm (sleep)
- 11pm - 5am (awake)

sometimes - Yesterday
- 8pm - 12am (sleep)
- 12am - 3am (awake)
- 3am - 7am (sleep)

kindly help thx
Yes, slowly adjust his sleeping schedule from day nap to night. He is no longer newborn.. from toddler to later grow up kid.. there is a need to do such adjustment.

If he can stay awake and not making any frust.. postpone his sleep to 10pm. But he need to be ready to stay awake til 10pm (as he used to sleep by 8pm). Hence, you need to slowly adjust the day nap.. in order for him to be able to nap 1-2hour before 8pm.

Last time my son will nap from 5pm- 7pm+.. then will happily stay awake.. til 10pm+ for official bed time.

lowlowc
post Oct 24 2018, 03:35 PM

918 posts

When he's awake at midnight, is it because he's hungry or simply just awake?

I watched some sleep training videos before, and some of them recommend not taking the baby out from baby cot when he's awake (provided he's not hungry and you're sure he's not sick). Instead, put your palm on his chest/belly to reassure him back to sleep. Get a night lamp with warm white/yellowish tone and dim it.

Did you have babysitter? Maybe ask if he's been given too much afternoon nap?

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Oct 24 2018, 03:42 PM
shinchan^^
post Oct 25 2018, 11:27 AM

K66
21,256 posts

Dear LYN,

ive been struggling for the past few weeks thinking how to help my baby sleep at night.

i dont mind to stay up looking out at him.. but it is not good for him to stay up at night.

before this he dosnt have trouble sleeping. morning especially he will comfort himself and sleep.

- 8pm - 11pm (sleep)
- 11pm - 5am (awake)

sometimes - Yesterday
- 8pm - 12am (sleep)
- 12am - 3am (awake)
- 3am - 7am (sleep)

kindly help thx
maybe u can re adjust by feeding him 11pm/12am

post Oct 25 2018, 12:31 PM

Dear LYN,

- 8pm - 11pm (sleep)
- 11pm - 5am (awake)

sometimes - Yesterday
- 8pm - 12am (sleep)
- 12am - 3am (awake)
- 3am - 7am (sleep)

kindly help thx
Do he needs hug only can sleep?
Maybe you can try to use a baby sling.
chongevie
post Oct 25 2018, 02:44 PM

I usually play and read with my baby after dinner until 10pm, then bring her to the bed, switch off the lights, give her milk, and sing songs to her to make her sleep. Sometimes she still wants to play, so I pretend to be asleep next to her. Then she feels bored and goes to sleep also lol.gif
TSdaimGeno
post Oct 26 2018, 12:26 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Oct 24 2018, 03:35 PM)
When he's awake at midnight, is it because he's hungry or simply just awake?

I watched some sleep training videos before, and some of them recommend not taking the baby out from baby cot when he's awake (provided he's not hungry and you're sure he's not sick). Instead, put your palm on his chest/belly to reassure him back to sleep. Get a night lamp with warm white/yellowish tone and dim it.

Did you have babysitter? Maybe ask if he's been given too much afternoon nap?
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 25 2018, 11:27 AM)
maybe u can re adjust by feeding him 11pm/12am
QUOTE(50211024 @ Oct 25 2018, 12:31 PM)
Do he needs hug only can sleep?
Maybe you can try to use a baby sling.
QUOTE(chongevie @ Oct 25 2018, 02:44 PM)
I usually play and read with my baby after dinner until 10pm, then bring her to the bed, switch off the lights, give her milk, and sing songs to her to make her sleep. Sometimes she still wants to play, so I pretend to be asleep next to her. Then she feels bored and goes to sleep also  lol.gif
update guys:-

8pm - 12am usually he will sleep with me. hugging then wake up to feed.. before this he will stay awake till morning
now after feeding 12am i put him inside small crib and he sleep till morning

i guess because babysitter put him in some kind of car seat crib.. dont know what it is.
planning to change babysitter as well.. got many complaints.. my baby heavy oso complaint die la

g r a p e k e y
post Nov 2 2018, 07:56 AM

483 posts

Just realized you're the husband and not the wife.

By reading through what you wrote at Cupid corner, no wonder your wife don't tend to respect you.

There's this lousy impression of you hence, she's not interested to listen to you.

0.0170sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:07 PM