Digi Infinite Fan Club [V4], Infinite 150, 100, 80

cannavaro
post Oct 23 2018, 10:34 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

dropping in to say...

cilaka digi, for the 2nd time I kena unauthorized charges 'DOB for fortumo'.
previously I made a report to MCMC to get a refund.
About 1 or 2 months later, kena again! And the timing of the said unauthorized charges, ngam ngam during the period where I didn't login to the router to check for fishy sms.
Last time the fortumo scammers initiate the charges by sending a sms, something like "your xxx game trial has been activated, please reply stop within x days if you don't want to continue"

I googled and found that this issue is still rampant in the digi community forums. Most, if not all of the victims use the sim card in a router.

https://www.google.com/search?q=digi+dob+fo...nt=firefox-b-ab

add on:
https://fortumo.com/blog/how-can-carrier-bi...d-be-prevented/

the irony, an article by FORTUMO themselves
Let me quote one part from the article:
If the device is a 4G data router and not a phone, payments should be disabled by default.

Exactly. Direct carrier billing was never set up on this account.

Unless it was the previous owner since the number is recycled as what I have read.

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Oct 23 2018, 10:36 AM
cannavaro
post Oct 23 2018, 10:53 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2018, 10:39 AM)
Yes it is. Tell Digi, either they clear your profile with no whatsoever funny subscription or you will escalate to MCMC again.
They really like to taichi, always blame it on user accidentally clicking pop ups and all.. saying they have no control over the transaction, BS
Despite indirectly saying "we are not to blame for these charges" they will still say "however we will help you request for a refund". LOL

The pattern is clear, they (whoever they are, could be digi or fortumo or both working hand in hand or some unknown scammer) target those who use the simcard in a 4G router.
cannavaro
post Oct 23 2018, 06:17 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2018, 11:08 AM)
I only kena once RM 0.50 for some Bangla voicemail. I called Digi CS and asked about this, then they taught me how to stop it and disabled my voice mail. They cannot blame me because impossible I will subscribe since I'm not a bangla. laugh.gif
ROFL laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(ery234 @ Oct 23 2018, 12:57 PM)
Wta why when do speed test if 4g+ we get high speed let say 90mbps but ehen download we cant archive 9Mps only get around 2-5mbps
Its that speed test combine speed b3&b7 but when download only used higher band speed?
Try downloading a driver from NVIDIA on their server, what speed can you get?
cannavaro
post Nov 9 2018, 04:18 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

anyone tried livestreaming on FB/YT using digi infinite 150?
planning to use it for an event, streaming at 720p

cannavaro
post Nov 12 2018, 04:46 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

anyone happen to know a physical store in the klang valley where I can walk in and buy Netgear Nighthawk M1? or any individual seller that do COD?

cannavaro
post Nov 12 2018, 09:48 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(bios123 @ Nov 12 2018, 09:30 PM)
You may try this. This seller is from Klang.
https://shopee.com.my/Netgear-Nighthawk-M1-...2812.1251020256
I'll have a look, thank you!
cannavaro
post Nov 15 2018, 04:35 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

wanna check with you guys

I use tp-link MR200 with digi i150
at the current spot where I put the router, the signal is 3 bars
speed fluctuates a lot, highest I managed to get is 30Mbps ish.

I don't use this connection daily as it is for my tenants and I already have unifi but I was told by the people who use it here that the speed is smooth for web browsing, youtube

Recently I tested the router on the 4th floor, and signal increased to 4 bars

I could get consistent 40 to 50Mbps on speedtest

So I'm thinking.. If I get a better LTE antenna like this, is there a chance for the signal to increase from 3 bars to 4 bars at the original spot? (which is ground floor)

btw, decided not to get the nighthawk m1
that was supposed to be for a 1 day event where I need internet to do a livestream. I tested with digi on MR200 the speed wasn't good enough at that location, I though a better modem like the nighthawk would solve it but a better solution is to just use celcom or maxis prepaid with the MR200 laugh.gif

cannavaro
post Dec 6 2018, 10:27 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Just wanna update.. for the 3rd time I received another unauthorized direct carrier billing charge by the shit scam company fortumo.. in the bill it is shown as 'DOB for fortumo'. Fortunately this time it's only a single charge, RM3.99 IIRC

Managed to get digi to refund it yet again. (the first time I reported to MCMC since digi tried to wash their hands)
Wrote a long ranting email to them vmad.gif
can see many victims in their community forums.

I've said this before, it seems most, if not all the victims use the sim card only in a router
It's almost like someone is feeding them information about which number to scam, lol
Since the sim card is in a router, it is less likely that the victim will detect the scam early (since there will be a SMS saying something about a game trial being activated and will auto renew if not stopped within 7 days).

A big irony is, when I was searching more into this issue with direct carrier billing, I stumbled upon an article by Fortumo themselves, and in that article the writer said something like "if the sim card is in a router, direct carrier billing should be disabled by default'. laugh.gif
I even sent digi this article and that particular excerpt.

cannavaro
post Dec 7 2018, 12:08 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Dec 6 2018, 10:43 PM)
for safety purpose, it is advisable to send email to all these services to block/blacklist your number from subscribing any services from them in the future.
I only told digi to do so, in fact I asked them to disable direct carrier billing for my account, was told cannot I have to do it myself. I never set it up in the first place

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Dec 6 2018, 10:45 PM)
I check for sms daily for my router.

could this sms charge was caused by malicious pop up ads from shady websites?  i always stream movies use openload player, their ads keep popping up even with adblock on. and sometimes i will get ads that pretend to be digi, asking for bill payment and TAC number.
If the sim card is being used in a phone that would be more likely
for this particular rubbish fortumo company, there is no TAC whatsoever. it will start with a sms saying something like this "your free trial with some game has been activated. will auto renew within 7 days. to unsubscribe, (fortumo link here)"

another possible angle is the number is recycled, probably previous owner subscribed to it or so. I noticed 2,3 smses in the router about unlinking facebook account or something that needs a TAC or code, not sure if it was really FB or what.

digi's default response is, though not being said directly, the customers are idiots who simply subscribe to this shitty fortumo or some random game service. the CS will then tell you to disable direct carrier billing in the playstore or use the sms STOP ALL method - which didn't work for me.
have a look
https://www.google.com/search?q=digi+dob+fo...iw=1366&bih=632

I even removed the sim card from the router and put it in a spare phone just to check and it wasn't even set up for direct carrier billing.

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Dec 7 2018, 12:08 AM
cannavaro
post Dec 7 2018, 12:26 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(badminto @ Dec 7 2018, 12:15 AM)
Same thing happen to me. I'm started using i150 for about 3 weeks and already got charged RM4 from 33303  mad.gif Not sure if Digi have feature to block outgoing sms. If they have, I surely will block my outgoing sms to prevent this scam since I'm only used the sim in router.
Report to them and ask for a refund
Most probably they will reply it is not their service blablabla.. basically telling you to sort it out yourself.
Once you get this reply, tell them you will report to MCMC because you are certain you didn't subscribe to it or surf dodgy websites and all plus there are many other victims in the digi community forum itself.

The next reply from them will be helpful laugh.gif
At least that's what happened to me.

I did report to MCMC though after their first unhelpful response. I even attached it in my report.

cannavaro
post Feb 14 2019, 04:39 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Wanna share again about the notorious unauthorized charges on my digi infinite account. the 3rd time I believe.
long story short, got charged RM4 x 3 for a 'tournament game' service, whatever that is
previously I kena the 'dob for fortumo'

Reported to digi via their app on 21st Jan. asked for a refund.
Got the usual acknowledgement and 'will respond within 5 working days' automatically generated email.

27 Jan, I emailed them again for an update on my report.

After god knows how many working days later without a reply from digi, I lodged a report to MCMC (SKMM) on 11 Feb.
Today I finally received a reply from digi:

CODE
Dear xxx

We refer to your complaint on dispute on 3rd party charges at your postpaid account stated above.

We attempts to facilitate an investigation to your issue and we have ceased all recovery actions at this account immediately.

We wish to inform you that sum of RM16 will be credited to your prepaid account within 7 working days on goodwill.

We trust the above clarifies your concern raised to us.

Please write to our official email address at help@digi.com.my  or call us 016 2211800   for further queries related to our product and services before escalating to SKMM.

Thank you.
Regards
Digi Customer Service

oh the irony.. of course I had to escalate to SKMM since they didn't bother to respond after so long.
previously I had to report to SKMM to get my money back as well.

these unauthorized charges on digi is widespread, many people complaining about it regularly on the digi community forum.
gonna terminate my account soon and add 1 more unifi account since it's so goddamn annoying and I already mentioned to digi that if I kena again for the 3rd time I will terminate

got digi staff here? laugh.gif

0.0215sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:20 AM