Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Dear Translators, do you ever find your, English standards declining at one point

MerryGoRound^2
post Oct 8 2018, 05:22 PM, updated 2w ago

Getting Started
Group: Junior Member

Long story short, I currently work as a translator during my free time and the pay is good.

But after spending the month of September translating up to 30+ Chinese projects, I find myself questioning my standards of English.

Do you guys ever encounter such situations when you suddenly experience a sudden decline in your standards of English?

And what do you do to ensure that your it doesn't decline any further?
anakkk
post Oct 8 2018, 05:30 PM

On my way
Group: Senior Member

nice, my friend translator, they have problem looking for job
firefoxian
post Oct 8 2018, 05:32 PM

Yes! I got WARN!

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Oct 8 2018, 11:22 AM)
Long story short, I currently work as a translator during my free time and the pay is good.

But after spending the month of September translating up to 30+ Chinese projects, I find myself questioning my standards of English.

Do you guys ever encounter such situations when you suddenly experience a sudden decline in your standards of English?

And what do you do to ensure that your it doesn't decline any further?
I am currently doing freelance translation for mostly English-Malay projects for various international clients. Personal experience, I don't think my proefficiency for any language has deteriorate rather with more than 50++ projects/jobs, both languages are enhanced, especially for Malay.

It is quite impossible for your proefficiency in the language to decline if you say you are working on projects on a constant basis. (Unless all your projects are just based on translation of certificates etc, simple formal official languages).