TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps
ChenKaiWen
Apr 16 2024, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(RedArc @ Apr 16 2024, 12:11 PM) Hi all, wanna get some opinion from you guys. Currently Im staying in 1200sqft condo with using Maxis home fibre. Im intend switch to Time Fibre with 200mbps plan after few months. is it recommend to replace other brands wifi router or stick with the device provide by TIME? Replace. TIME gives HG8145x6-10, it’s a ONT+Router combo. You can request TIME support to set it to bridge mode. Then use your own router. PPPoE details can be obtained in TIME self care and no VLAN profile needed.
ChenKaiWen
Apr 21 2024, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 21 2024, 09:16 PM) TIME is getting crappier and crappier after COVID. Even I'm surprised by how smooth Unifi is these days compared to TIME. Wonder if it has anything to do with the rapid expansion
ChenKaiWen
Apr 24 2024, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Apr 24 2024, 12:06 PM) hey all just gotten time after unifi been quite erratic recently in my area I am using the archer AX20, so i setup as quick setup just putting in username and password through PPPOE like how i setup unifi, it still shows that i dont have internet. is there any added step that i am missing? Thanks U need to call time self care and request bridge mode
ChenKaiWen
Apr 24 2024, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Apr 24 2024, 12:20 PM) Did you already set the 2 in 1 router/ont into bridge mode? You can ask CS to do that for you Also I think time might use VLAN 499 Don’t need to use VLAN after bridge mode.
ChenKaiWen
Apr 24 2024, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(chonghe @ Apr 24 2024, 11:04 PM) Weird. I call TIME today and said when browsing EU websites it is very slow. The officer checked my connection say no problem, and say nothing wrong. I said "has TIME received any similar complaints?" which she responded "No." I asked for the second time and said "are you sure?" which she responded "Yes, they haven't heard any complaints about EU slowness issue" She basically just shrugged me off Looks like normal call wouldn't make them take this seriously Meanwhile, my friend had a problem with discord connection. Called them and they said because submarine cable broken. But doubt that causes discord in Singapore to be affected.
ChenKaiWen
May 2 2024, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(stasio @ May 2 2024, 02:03 PM) Even browsing not possible for some location....  Anybody close to TIME to ask what's going on ?.....  Works fine here and that says host error not related to TIME
ChenKaiWen
May 2 2024, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(stasio @ May 2 2024, 04:15 PM) Where is "here" ? Seemse I am not alone. Btw, in the mind time, browsing improve a bit..... Mainland penang. No problem for me
ChenKaiWen
May 4 2024, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(Himekaido @ May 4 2024, 12:55 PM) Anyone here having issue international sites, and anyone got problem accessing Twitter wont load? Yesterday I tried twitter. I can load but it’s slower than usual.
ChenKaiWen
May 4 2024, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(phamtom X @ May 4 2024, 05:16 PM) my home facing internet issue just this morning. it happens at random where sometimes the internet is OK and then the next minute there's no internet. i tried rebooting the router but that helps only a little. so i run the diagnostics in the router provided by TIME to see what went wrong hence got the error message. now the internet seems to have resume on its own as i didn't mess the ONT Authentication that set up by the TIME service engineer. Could be a broken fibre based on my experience. Mine had a small damage during installation. The temperature changes cause my fibre reading to degrade until it fails to authenticate etc.
ChenKaiWen
May 4 2024, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(YS3nsatiOn @ May 4 2024, 05:37 PM) Hi sifus, need some advice from you guys for my new house (double storey) setup which I recently signed up for their 1Gbps package that comes with 2 Dual Band Wireless Optical Network Terminal (not sure whether to call it router or modem anymore because they're 2-in-1 now): 1. HG8245X6-8N-30 2. HG8145X6 My fibre optic point is at ground floor at the TV/ Living area, hence that would be connected to the 1st unit (HG8245X6-8N-30) and at the ground floor, I can get close to 800+Mbps which I'm fine with. But now, when I'm upstairs, I can only get about 400+ Mbps (without using the router/ 2nd unit they gave). So then, I've tried putting the 2nd unit (HG8145X6) upstairs at the common area and when I did speedtest, the speed I'm getting is only about 300 Mbps (even slower than without using this router). My question is, how can I improve this so that I can at least get the same speed both downstairs and upstairs? Not sure if it will help, but I have 2 RJ-45 wall ports downstairs at the TV area beside the fibre optic point and 1 RJ-45 port upstairs at the common area (picture for reference below)  Assuming one of the ports downstairs is connected to the upstairs one, just connect the main unit and 2nd unit together with cable through that
ChenKaiWen
May 11 2024, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 11 2024, 08:07 PM) Allo seems like a really decent small provider with great connection quality. Heard many good things about them as well. I thought their CityBroadband international routing was pretty bad. So far, I haven’t seen anyone using Allo in my lorong. I came from TM-Maxis. I remember local ping and Singapore was lower after I switch to Time. I don’t use China services that much so it didn’t affect me. Only until I was in China and tried to use Tailscale to VPN back. China Unicom was working with some packet loss but China telecom had really bad speed and high packet loss. Might consider switching back to Maxis if things do not improve after contract over. My Taman area has maxis infrastructure but no coverage yet afaik.
ChenKaiWen
May 11 2024, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 11 2024, 08:44 PM) I am on the same boat as well, considering Maxis 1Gbps@RM159 promotion. Yeah. Only downside is the rm10 public ip. Any idea what’s the price for maxis own infrastructure and if the promotion apply for maxis own infra
ChenKaiWen
May 13 2024, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 13 2024, 04:53 PM) Finally terminated TIME, retention team offered free 6 months for 1Gbps plan with 24 months contract renewal. No discount provided. Didn't take it and need to wait 30 days for service to be fully terminated. Those contract ended who wish to stay with TIME can try to apply for termination. You can cancel the termination request within 30 days so no harm trying. Which ISP are you moving to? If possible, do some comparisons while you still have TIME
ChenKaiWen
May 13 2024, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 13 2024, 05:30 PM) I am moving to Maxis as I don't think how it can be worst. Sadly I cant perform direct comparison as Maxis will reuse the same fibre line from condo riser to my unit. However, I currently have access to Unifi 500Mbps at my relative's place and it's definitely better than TIME. At least I can browse Twitter normally. Lately I even notice some non-mainsteam YouTube videos are buffering on TIME's connection and I don't have such nonsense on any other ISPs. My friend that lives in a condo nearby is experiencing connection lost sometimes. But could be just his own issue since he uses HN8245x6 and I don’t have any issue.
ChenKaiWen
May 14 2024, 11:37 PM
 Can confirm
ChenKaiWen
May 15 2024, 05:20 PM
I am unable to speedtest with Singtel and Rakuten Mobile, Tokyo (Latency test error). With SG Viewqwest server, im getting 0.5-0.7% packet loss. Using Maxis 4G, 0% packet loss and no problem with singtel/rakuten mobile. Im getting random 5-10ms ping spike in Apex Legends.
ChenKaiWen
May 15 2024, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 15 2024, 05:29 PM) I can speedtest with Singtel server but the latency and speed are not good.  I am able to speedtest with rakuten mobile on speedtest-cli but not on the website. Singtel has latency test error on both. My IP starts with 161.142.x.x if that matters like TM
ChenKaiWen
May 15 2024, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 15 2024, 06:08 PM) I'm on 1G plan, never got the 161 range, always been 202 My friend is on 1gbps. His one is 161 as well. I remember it was 202 back then
ChenKaiWen
May 15 2024, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(stasio @ May 15 2024, 06:24 PM) When TIME will be back to "normal " ? :confused: If not mistaken , is almost a month like this.....  Same as me, but I have +RM10 for phone. I guess ever since TIME rapid expansion, their quality has been dropping. I switched to TIME on the first week they started operating for my area. Now need to wait until next year if I want to switch ISP again. Hopefully maxis own infrastructure will be available soon.
ChenKaiWen
May 15 2024, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ May 15 2024, 07:18 PM) U have no contract? Can switch so fast? Cannot. I switched to TIME last year august. Need to wait until august 2025 for contract to end. If TIME doesnt fix their routing by that, I might consider going back to Maxis if they're better. I dont remember having any problem with Maxis back then.