Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

joshhd
post Aug 19 2019, 02:40 AM

7,799 posts

My friend plan to port out from U Mobile prepaid to other telco.
But my friend still has a lot of credit in the account balance cuz previously keep topping up to keep line active.

What are the other ways available to spend the remaining unused credits before my friend port out, such as buying what stuff? Where to spend it? From MyUMobile app?
Or better still, transfer the amount of unused credits into bank account biggrin.gif Nah I know it's can't be done.
joshhd
post Aug 19 2019, 06:07 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(khk1987 @ Aug 19 2019, 05:47 PM)
"Donate" as topup or se*l it

How to sell the credits?
You mean transfer credits to other U Mobile prepaid user? How to do it?
joshhd
post Nov 1 2019, 12:48 AM

7,799 posts

Hi. Anyone here uses Samsung Galaxy S7 edge, on Android Oreo 8.0 version?
Is the WiFi calling function works?

Or need to install separate APK (which previously for beta only) for the VoWiFi to work?
https://www.soyacincau.com/2016/09/29/heres...ing-on-android/

joshhd
post Nov 1 2019, 12:50 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(DonutZai @ Oct 30 2019, 08:19 PM)
Hi all, am a prepaid user with extra credits to spend.
So far found more relevant ones like Spotify, video-streaming subscriptions, book subscriptions, game / Steam credits.
Any other recommended services / subscription ?

Or, you can transfer the credit to someone else that uses U Mobile, and then find ways to tell them give cash to you. More info here:
https://www.u.com.my/plans/prepaid/credit-share
joshhd
post Nov 1 2019, 10:57 PM

7,799 posts

It's on the article now.... sweat.gif
https://www.lowyat.net/2019/197873/umobile-...50gb-unlimited/

To all U Mobile GX30 and GX50 users who rape the network until over 50GB a month, don't cry.
joshhd
post Nov 3 2019, 02:03 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2019, 03:56 PM)
anyone know for umobile what is the cheapest plan to try out umobile volte and vowifi function? got daily or weekly plan ka?
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Nov 2 2019, 05:41 PM)
Prepaid..... just top up and use it on supported phone
QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 2 2019, 06:03 PM)
Volte and vowifi have plan? Just normal call

As long the account is active (not passive/grace/suspended), U Mobile's VoWiFi and VoLTE will always be there, regardless whether you're on U Mobile prepaid or postpaid or any add-on plans.

Just make sure your phone supports it on U Mobile network, example iPhone 6 and above, or Samsung Galaxy S8/Note8 and above. (For Samsung Galaxy S7 edge, U Mobile's network supports only VoWiFi).

To activate VoLTE/VoWiFi for your account, type “wificalling on” and SMS to 28118.
Also, make sure your U Mobile SIM card is on SIM 1 slot of your phone, for the VoWiFi/VoLTE to work.
If you put it on SIM 2 slot, U Mobile's VoWiFi/VoLTE won't work.
joshhd
post Nov 3 2019, 11:37 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Nov 3 2019, 11:11 AM)
Ask your friends and family to put their SIM card into ur phone...

Please take note that VoLTE and VoWiFi only "happens" when the other party of the call is also either VoLTE and/or VoWiFi enabled. If only ur device has VoLTE/VoWiFi, it won't be used during calls.

As for plan, the VoLTE / VoWiFi is not tied to any plan. Both Postpaid and Prepaid plans will support VoLTE / VoWiFi... Just ensure ur device supports VoLTE / VoWiFi is enuff...

Also, don't complain later that the coverage for VoLTE is not to your expectations... Where as VoWiFi is definitely working as long as there is "open" WiFi...

Err no not like this...
Even you're on VoLTE or VoWiFi, you can still make calls to those who's not using VoLTE or VoWiFi.

However, the call will not be in HD Voice, even the "HD" indicator is shown on phone screen during the call (certain phones has it, especially Samsung phones). The call audio quality will be the usual quality (Technical: NB AMR 12.2kbps) rather than HD Voice quality (WB AMR 23.3kbps) because the opponent is not on either VoLTE or VoWiFi.

HD Voice only works when both parties (you and opponent) are on either VoLTE or VoWiFi.
And if suddenly you're in poor or not in 4G coverage during the call, it shall fall back to 3G seamlessly, and the call shall also fallback from HD Voice to the usual voice call quality as well.
joshhd
post Nov 5 2019, 10:54 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Nov 5 2019, 08:53 AM)
Yes, you are right... As long as we see "HD" or "VoLTE" logo next to the timing...

In the above sample, Huawei Mate 10 Pro shows "VoLTE", while Xiaomi Pocophone F1 shows "HD" ... So, it depends on which smartphone we use...

For Samsung, the notification bar appears as VoLTE.
During calls, HD indicator will appear.

When HD indicator appears, it doesn't means the call is definitely in HD Voice. It may be still the standard NB AMR 12.2kbps, but the call is indeed routed via 4G network instead of 2G/3G, cuz it still depends whether the opponent's phone is either in VoLTE or VoWiFi network.
joshhd
post Nov 7 2019, 05:59 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Nov 7 2019, 05:05 PM)
Hi, want to ask. Can i subscribe umobile postpaid and use it in modem? i feel the p99 package is better than the broadband package.

Technically yes you can. You got to use your own 4G LTE modem, but it would utilise your 30GB hotspot quota instead of getting unlimited data, including using it as a hotspot from your phone.

Also, thanks to Video-Onz, video streaming for this P99 plan are still capped at 1.5Mbps speeds. It may be sufficient for videos between 480-720p quality, but you may experience buffering on 1080p quality and above.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 8 2019, 01:31 AM
joshhd
post Nov 9 2019, 10:16 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Nov 9 2019, 06:30 PM)
Don't forget to update us on the performance of the 4G and 3G. Especially when they are riding on the Celcom network.

Celcom??? U Mobile no longer having 2G and 3G domestic roaming with Celcom... That was ages ago lol...
U Mobile was later have RAN sharing with Maxis 3G network for several years. Especially when U Mobile awarded spectrum on 900MHz and 1800MHz, they decided not to continue its sharing agreement with Maxis, although later was extended for quite some time for them to fully prepare.
More info here: https://www.soyacincau.com/2018/12/13/u-mob...d-3g-ran-maxis/

Right now, U Mobile is all on their own network, except its 2G service which is 100% rely and use Maxis network.
U Mobile don't have their own 2G network also...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 9 2019, 10:16 PM
joshhd
post Nov 10 2019, 01:28 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Nov 10 2019, 12:58 AM)
Getting more and more frustrated with data speed with umobile.

Considering to port out to unifi mobile

if you find that U Mobile sucks, don't put much expectation that Unifi Mobile will definitely better on that.

Maybe you can buy a SIM card and try it out first. If you're happy with it, and has the network performance you'd expect in many of your frequently visited places, then only you decide to port out to other telco or not.
joshhd
post Nov 14 2019, 03:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 14 2019, 02:46 PM)
No 4G LTE signal unstable problem = Klang Valley (= not KL city), UMobile GX50 phone plan, 4G Android device.

Note that UMobile uses only LTE Band 7 = 2400MHz = easily blocked by walls = best to have your device facing the open air and not move about too much.

Correction:
U Mobile now uses both 1800MHz Band 3 and 2600MHz Band 7.
Because U Mobile was awarded total of 2x15MHz block of 1800MHz spectrum, that's why their coverage is much better now compared to last time. But still, that doesn't mean their network are as good as the big 3 telcos yet.

If the coverage is bad, contact U Mobile to file a complaint.
If not action taken, port out to other telco. It's pretty straightforward.
joshhd
post Nov 14 2019, 05:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Nov 14 2019, 04:39 PM)
I actually complaint about poor coverage and they asked me for address, I gave them the street name and they say must give house address.

Gaved up on complaining to them, and actually the other big 3 Telco have poor coverage at that area as well( no 4G ), in Bandar Utama,PJ

What's the issue with providing the actual address to them?
They won't go to the house/place, ring the doorbell to come ask this and that one...
They need it for record purposes, and able to exactly pinpoint the location.
joshhd
post Nov 21 2019, 10:05 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Nov 21 2019, 10:26 AM)
Just a heads up

UMobile only would take action if the speed is below 1mbps as their definition of slow browsing is below 1mbps

So basically means, as long your Internet speed is 1.1Mbps and above, it is considered as fast internet, so they won't layan your complaint.
"Slow browsing? Load video so slow and blurry? Can't send a file out? As I check on your speed test, your Internet speed is 1.1Mbps and above, so there's no abnormalities on our network. biggrin.gif "

That's the service you get from U Mobile. Many Malaysians just love cheap stuff that offers lots of quota/unlimited this and that, but many would never consider things like these.
So end up either complaining or continue using it as it is, and be patient as the page/content loads at slow speeds.
People dislike U Mobile, feel like want to port out, but consider that it is troublesome and not aware that you can remain your current phone number even after porting out to other telco, so they end up continue using U Mobile, and this "unsatisfactory" cycle goes on and on, giving you the impression that Malaysia's 3G/4G mobile network is like that one, really sucks one, and U Mobile continues to happy happy earn your money tongue.gif.

Plot twist: And then suddenly Unifi Mobile comes in, offers look so attractive, free SIM card, free this free that, so you take it, then eventually you realise it is worst than U Mobile.
*subject to location, not everywhere are like that.
joshhd
post Nov 24 2019, 03:46 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Nov 24 2019, 03:13 PM)
Got the info from this link
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4834196/all

TnC latest Oct 2019
As you can see.....usually capped speed is 1.5Mbps...
Now change to 0.5Mbps.......once you use up the 50GB quota...

Hahaha

HiDup...UMobile.....Kebabaian yang cemerlang.

My goodness....
"Best Telco of The Year" Award goes to.....
Not TM... The award goes to U Mobile. biggrin.gif

Long live U Mobile!
I wish to all U Mobile GX30 and GX50 users a happy internet experience with unlimited 512kbps mobile internet from U Mobile.
joshhd
post Nov 24 2019, 04:13 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 24 2019, 04:06 PM)
I've been on UMobile GX50 4G LTE phone plan since Jan 2019 = Klang Valley. No problem streaming Youtube videos at 480p day or night = > 800kbps or 0.8Mbps.
....... I need to keep my 4G phone facing the open air = 4 or full bars signal strength , ie not blocked by any wall.

If you want unlimited speed also(= about 30Mbps at all times day and night), there's the much more costly UMobile Hero P139 or Digi 150 Infinite plan.

If not satisfied with UMobile, we can always move to a better telco.

But there are customers who is being loyal to U Mobile lo... (definitely not me)
Like those die die also don't want to port out to other telco. That's their problem lo.
joshhd
post Nov 26 2019, 12:10 AM

7,799 posts

Since U Mobile throttle its GX30/50 users until like that,
I wonder those U Mobile users that uses plans that does not have any speed cap (except Video-Onz), do you experience faster mobile internet speeds now?
Or still slow as usual? biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Nov 30 2019, 03:27 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Nov 30 2019, 01:19 PM)
Don't use speedtest... It's a "fake" result... Use "fast.com"...

[attachmentid=10365543] [attachmentid=10365544] [attachmentid=10365545]

Err, not entirely "fake".

U Mobile put a special exception on speedtest sites like speedtest.net so that the speed test results you get, are actually showing you the max capability that their network can provide to you,
but when it comes to the end user (you) using it for any internet browsing activities, you won't get speeds this fast, and they can throttle your speed to how much they want, especially if they feel like you're using too much or abusing it.

You try change the speedtest server to U Mobile, then you will notice the speed difference, and no matter how many times you perform speed test, it won't deduct your quota.
If you change to other server, it will deduct your data quota.

From what I see, they don't want their ever-growing users to congest their network, and continue to advertise their unlimited plans here and there to entice new customers.

The one on fast.com, is throttled to 1.5Mbps because of Video-Onz.
Just because they so generously give you unlimited or dedicated video streaming quota, that doesn't mean they would let you stream at full internet speed.

Why they do this, you ask? They want more and more customers to jump to their ship, but they don't want people to congest the ship.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 30 2019, 03:29 PM
joshhd
post Nov 30 2019, 03:39 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Nov 30 2019, 03:31 PM)
Then might as well advertise unlimited at 1.5Mbps  right?
Easy right....no need hide behind those bushes...

UMobile damn smart......they want to entrapped those those user by create false advertisement......Unlimited as they see fit....

And now hidden quota aka so Unlimited Speed....
Bodoh....

They know that many Malaysians out there don't bother about the speed.
Whenever people see the word "unlimited", their eyes will open big big and immediately interested to sign up.

If they publicly advertise 1.5Mbps speed, for sure many people won't interested to sign up, and even terminate U Mobile dy.
That's why they rather emphasise their Unlimited plans more than the 3Mbps and 5Mbps speed cap for GX30 and GX50 plans respectively.

You go watch their ad:
I can see that they throw a lot of money in marketing and promotions to entice especially youngsters to sign up and port over to U Mobile.
So now they rather throw in more money in advertising than improving its network, and when the network became too congested, they throttle the speed, and then push the blame to those abusive users.

In conclusion? Throw money into advertising is cheaper than improving its mobile network.

"RM30/month? Wow, so worth it. My existing telco don't even offer unlimited data at that kind of price."
Words like this, is something that is most commonly heard by especially those non-tech-savvy youngsters and the rest of the public out there.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 30 2019, 03:42 PM
joshhd
post Dec 11 2019, 12:35 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Dec 11 2019, 11:52 AM)
Hi all,

If I subscribe to Giler GX50 and put the sim into 4G router modem, it will treat all usage as mobile hotspot and limit to 5GB usage only?

Looking for a mobile broadband as new housing area no TM or any fixed line. Thanks.

Yes correct.

Are you certain that your area doesn't have Unifi Air coverage? Unifi Air is different than Unifi Fibre Internet ya... Unifi Air is uses 4G LTE one...

Don't have TM or any fixed line in your area? Complain to MCMC.
https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
Or else, TM will just close one eye.

0.2424sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:12 AM