Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

joshhd
post Dec 31 2019, 06:43 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(tboxmy @ Dec 31 2019, 09:51 AM)
Video streaming means Netflix things right? At 1Mbps will netflix play smoothly if my other devices are connected for games and browsing

Not very clear about this prepaid gx30. Since I plan to only use for Internet and sharing with my devices.

Yes. Video streaming includes Netflix, iflix, Astro Go, HBO Go, YouTube and more.

For U Mobile, as long you see there's a Video-Onz included in any data plans, then any video streaming activities will be throttled to 1 to 1.5Mbps, in exchange with either unlimited streaming data or dedicated quota for video streaming. (That's how U Mobile attract customers 😎)

Prepaid GX30, unlimited data but speed cap of not more than 3Mbps. You'll only high speed possible when you tether hotspot, which it has dedicated quota for hotspot, which is 3GB.
joshhd
post Jan 1 2020, 03:40 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 31 2019, 11:35 PM)
Not to say 1080 screen
On my 8inch tablet with only 1280×800 screen
I hate that umobile only can load 480p
Blurry/pixelled if i watch game video
Until now no idea how to turn off video onz on UMI30

Contact U Mobile that you want to deactivate Video Onz, so any video streaming activities (YouTube, Netflix...) will consume the base quota of the plan instead. Can try to see if it works.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 1 2020, 03:41 AM
joshhd
post Jan 1 2020, 06:28 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Jan 1 2020, 05:18 PM)
How can get offers from umobile by sms and email?  So far i never get any offers from umobile  marketing

What offers are you expecting from U Mobile? biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 10 2020, 01:54 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(deft79 @ Feb 10 2020, 11:06 AM)

I recently contacted u mobile to activate the volte function. They said the volte is automatically activated and i will have to contact the phone manufacturer. however i don't see the volte icon on my phone. II'm using nokia 6.1 which according to the specs , supports volte and vowifi. I also contacted nokia cs, they said there is no problem with my phone and to contact the telco operator.

I'm searching for info on umobile site but there is no list of phones.

May i know what phone u are using?

I think you just file a complaint to MCMC about this.
https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/

Mention it in the complaint description that, you've contacted the phone manufacturer (Nokia), and they say VoLTE and VoWiFi works fine.

It's likely that U Mobile may not support VoLTE for Nokia phones (I might be wrong), so that is something that the telco need to work on.
If you blame telco, telco will blame the phone brand. Then phone brand will blame the telco.
Both U Mobile and Nokia will keep throwing the balls to one and another non-stop, and you, the middleman just sit there waiting.
joshhd
post Feb 13 2020, 11:36 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 13 2020, 04:08 PM)
It's under T&C.

FUP should also apply to GX68, ie will get throttled to 0.5Mbps when exceeded 100GB of data for the billing month.(but since Dec 2019, this threshold has been relaxed, maybe to 200GB because of threatening promos by Unifi Mobile RM59 and YES Konfem 48)

In simple words, as long it's a "GX" plan, then video streaming usage will be capped speed, make it able to stream in SD quality.
Also, any P2P torrent usage will be capped at 64kbps (according to T&C).

And, what you mean Konfem 48 plan? That plan no longer available as per checking on Yes website. Yes 4G no longer offer unlimited data postpaid plans, probably bcuz they scared already; too many users abuse the network/bypass hotspot block and perform excessive usage.

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 13 2020, 10:27 PM)
Oh got such thing? but change plan no need to change SIM card rite?

No need to change SIM card.
joshhd
post Feb 14 2020, 12:08 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 13 2020, 11:40 PM)
oh? this is really strange approach. so as i said, it is a gimmick. haha.

General consumers don't purposely read T&C. They want the information to be easy to digest and understand.
So when it says "unlimited everything", they'll take it for real, and then take action (subscribe it).
Many won't go and think so much, such as is there any speed caps/throttle? any exceptions?

You say it's gimmick, but then, it's a pretty successful marketing.
When the salesman approach you with a smile face, tells you this plan has unlimited data, no speed cap, then you feel happy for a while.
When you ask the salesman "is there a speed cap/throttle/hidden T&C?", then you'll see the salesman's smile fades away, suddenly the salesman don't feel that happy anymore to you. smile.gif
joshhd
post Feb 16 2020, 03:19 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 14 2020, 10:03 PM)
Hmm..
Very interesting information...

So u Think its really possible to share the 5G infrastructure for various telco in 1 tower?  As u say its needed to cater 20k users at least? Seems like hard to achieve yo... Personally feels like its look good on paper but reality is not hmm.gif

Talking about sharing infra in 1 tower, I wonder if telcos shall consider consolidate all 3 telco tower's 2G network (Maxis, Celcom and Digi) into a single consortium,

After all, it isn't that cost efficient if all 3 telcos operates its own 2G network in today's context, so might as well share all of them into 1 tower. Like let say if this particular area has 2G coverage from all 3 telcos from 3 different towers/antenna, why not just consolidate into 1 tower/antenna? So it's like 2G network domestic roaming.

So that can fully utilise the 2G towers, and shut off those duplicate towers, and telco can refarm even more bandwidth for 3G and 4G.
joshhd
post Feb 16 2020, 03:39 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 16 2020, 03:28 PM)
Maybe all of them should roam on telco like maxis, basically what umobile is currently doing, I've heard that US/SG already shutoff their 2G network already

Yeah. Quite a number of countries already shut down 2G network.
And since 2G users aren't much anymore out there, operating and power up many 2G towers and antenna nationwide wouldn't make much sense and profitable.
Telcos might as well consider have domestic roaming from 1 telco/tower instead.
joshhd
post Feb 24 2020, 01:24 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Feb 18 2020, 08:02 AM)
Digi infinite (80/100) can download for more than 500gb (My relative have 80 with rebate 30 permanent)
Digi infinite (150) can download for more than 2tb ( I tried that)

Maxis One Prime can still download after 1tb of usage (with vpn)

For Digi Infinite, do you need any VPN to bypass 1TB FUP? Or Digi don't throttle your speed even after you used for more than 2TB?
For MaxisOne Prime, which VPN do you use to continue download/upload stuff after 1TB?

You may PM me to reply me.
joshhd
post Feb 24 2020, 01:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Agsx @ Feb 24 2020, 01:41 PM)
No vpn can bypass, VPN is just a place u goto so ur isp can't see where u going to browse. the 1TB usage will forever in digi database and u will be throttle for the month.
u better off get a fiber or change telco plan otherwise u are stuck with 1TB

How about DNS (like 8.8.8.8 or 1.1.1.1)?
Can ISP see see what websites you surf to (although it bypasses blocked websites)?
For Digi Infinite, what's the throttled speed again? Any exceptions on certain websites/services?
joshhd
post Feb 24 2020, 04:36 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Agsx @ Feb 24 2020, 02:38 PM)
Yes, Your ip and data aren't encrypted.
but they can only see some part if u use https like facebook.com
if u use http they can see everything like facebook.com/login facebook.com/gaywhatever

DNS only replacing ur original dns server(in your case from ISP) to google DNS server.

Technically it works because of malaysia ISP blocking website method is removing *ehem* porn xxx through their own DNS server..... which is really shit and easy to bypass

At least there's a layer of blocking there done by ISP, which is instructed by MCMC eventually.
which is really shit and easy to bypass
Shhhhh... just keep it to ourselves. tongue.gif
joshhd
post Mar 8 2020, 12:44 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(bension @ Mar 7 2020, 11:33 PM)
Umobile gx68 can't use the LTE? Because I changed the LTE can't access internet, must use the 4g

Whut?
What are you talking? Elaborate further pls...

Btw all U Mobile plans are 4G LTE enabled.
joshhd
post Mar 16 2020, 02:38 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ Mar 16 2020, 05:56 AM)
Now you have used all the big 4 telcos in Malaysia.

From the information you posted here, I still strongly believe that there is something wrong with your phone, if you are using the same phone within this period, or your using pattern.

Now you already ported in Digi. Hopefully no more such messages sent to you.

If not, you got nowhere to go anymore this time.
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 16 2020, 09:30 AM)
For this number, it went from celcom>umobile> Digi(issue started with umobile, Digi too early to tell)

Maxis is a different number( got Kena before but easy to resolve and block, don't even need mcmc report)

Still got another umobile number under the same account owner for MIFI( rarely used though, and where I dump most of my credit before port out)

What phone you're using?
Have your tried insert the sim card on other phone, and see if issue persists?
joshhd
post Mar 20 2020, 12:14 PM

7,799 posts

Oh well....

With all those network congestion going on like almost anywhere, I wonder how this 2x hotspot quota could mean much to them... hmm.gif
joshhd
post Mar 20 2020, 01:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 20 2020, 12:29 PM)
Mobile hotspot does not limit video-streaming to SD/480p = the 10GB hotspot data tends to finish fast, eg 1 hour of streaming 1080p video will eat about 2GB of data.

hmm.gif True also...
Most importantly, you guys would stay at home. blush.gif
joshhd
post May 18 2020, 06:31 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jerryng75 @ May 18 2020, 02:20 PM)
After I email to relevant Parties and Their Competitor, The Next Day U Mobile Team Called me.
The Lady listen to my Details and She's nice

However, Like I mentioned many times, Lies is always being throw around by U Mobile Team
She never came back to me as she promises me. It has Been 1 Week since her call
She said she will work out with her manager to compensate me.

I am a Consumer. If I am not happy with their Action, I will spread My Experience Every month to the whole world

I emailed to Below

customer.service@u.com.my,
tiffany.chew@u.com.my,
carey.kai@u.com.my,
edwin.koh@u.com.my,
hr@u.com.my,
skchua@singtel.com,
investor@singtel.com
support@celcom.com.my,
benedict.ng@celcom.com.my,
gisb.umobile@gmail.com,
peterk@starhub.com,
cassie@starhub.com,
philemon.foo@starhub.com,
xinying.chow@starhub.com,
ryan.jy.tan@starhub.com,
szehunn.hong@starhub.com,
philemon.foo@starhub.com,
feedback@singtel.com,
callcenter@ais.co.th,
investor@ais.co.th,
BIZCARE@maxis.com.my,
joachimp@digi.com.my,
ta@digi.com.my

Ermmm I won't do that if I were you.
Calm down first. Then write an long essay about your issue faced, then submit to MCMC instead. Make sure it is detailed enough.
Let them handle the rest of the job for you. https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 18 2020, 06:31 PM
joshhd
post May 18 2020, 09:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 18 2020, 08:33 PM)
Boss sometimes SKMM also useless...
No action would be taken..
Best they say some time target (by end of the year, Q3 etc. Like that). No concrete solutions...

Sometimes they take it seriously too...
At least if file a complaint to MCMC, there's a 'concrete' record/evidence in their system about your case.
joshhd
post May 19 2020, 09:50 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ May 19 2020, 09:14 AM)
Actually report to skmm is just escalating the poor service to government...
skmm doesn’t actually do anything since they only forward your complaint to a pic in umobile. If that pic replies to skmm your complaint has been handled, skmm would close case even though you’re not satisfied with the solution.

In the end, skmm just issue penalty to umobile based on amount of complaints they received. They don’t care your problem solved or not. Worst case is that because of the penalty umobile need to pay, that cost is then passed to users...

Even when MCMC says, telcos must not indirectly charge / burden the customers for the penalties, how far can we or they make sure that happens? hmm.gif

So are you saying that, there's no other better way to solve this issue if the complaint isn't being dealt properly by telco?
joshhd
post May 19 2020, 04:39 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ May 19 2020, 11:32 AM)
Bcz ultimately, skmm doesn’t get involved in what the telco needs to do in solving your complaint..

Consumer power is the most effective way...
Keep changing until you get the one that suits your needs..
Besides, telcos don’t reward loyalty...offers are better when you MNP...

Damnnnn...
That is so insulting (to the telcos), but yet so damn true 😥😥😥😥
Indeed, a harsh lesson that goes "There is no such thing as loyalty offer unless you want to terminate/switch to other providers". cry.gif
joshhd
post Aug 20 2020, 10:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Aug 20 2020, 09:42 PM)
[attachmentid=10555903]

600gb liao.. still stronkkkk...

won't it be flagged by the Umobile technician on the usage? i mean, wouldn't they suspect something is amiss?

Of course they would suspect something... It's a matter of they want to take action or not only.
If they make noise, later customer say, "I thought GX68 plan is an 'unlimited' data plan? Then why make noise when I use too much? I pay for the plan as advertised."

Hmm, try 1TB and see how la. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 20 2020, 10:05 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2513sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:03 PM